223371 User submitted reviews online!!
Wisconsin State Fair RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (414) 266-7035
CGID5641

Wisconsin State Fair RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
105
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   6   7   7   9   6   7   6   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$36
Girl in office felt quite disturbed when she needed to check us in and even more when I came back with some simple questions. Anyhow, quick check in with no problems, just not friendly. Several restaurants in easy walking distance, good location for a stop over. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$43
We have been here numerous times in the past. See my 9/13 review for a description of the park and its facilities. Once again we were able to get a reservation here during Labor Day weekend because there was nothing going on at the State Fair Park. Unlike a previous reviewer, the check in process took way too long. The pavement of the "parking lot" is asphalt, not cement as stated by the last reviewer. He also said that the hookups were easy - not true. Again, see my previous review describing shared hookups. Since that previous reviewer mentioned coming in after hours, I have to wonder if he was the $%^&*@! who woke us after midnight while he set up. Although there was nothing going on at the fair grounds, there was some sort of a Harley Davidson event locally, so there were enough inconsiderate bikers to disrupt the peace and quiet of the RV park a dozen times from 6 A.M. to midnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$42
This was basically a paved parking lot, but we liked this park because of its great location to downtown. The spots are large, but the hookups are in odd places (our spot had the electric at the very front for a back in site). Sewer hookups were slightly raised rather than flush with the ground which can be challenging. There is a racetrack nearby and we did hear the cars in the middle of the day, but usually we were out and about, so this wasn't a problem. Laundry facilities were excellent and great WiFi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$40
The only park in Milwaukee. Essentially a cement parking place, but easy full hook up, a laundry room, and helpful front desk. We were in a situation we needed to find a place late at night, the security told us we could park in an empty spot and pay the next morning, worked like a charm . We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$40
We had made reservations. We pulled in...they had our packet ready...in--out--done! Don't think I've ever been checked in as quickly or courteously as this place. Excellent service. Now, we know you're not gonna pick this campground for the scenery, but if you want to be close to downtown Milwaukee, this place really fills the bill. Nice people, adequate facilities, and close to downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$39
Since there were no big events going on at the State Fair Park, we stayed here the first Saturday night of September. We had a FHU, pull-through site. Because this is an asphalt parking lot, much of the asphalt is wavy. This means many sites are not level. There are now 22 FHU sites designated as seasonal. There are still about 50 FHU sites available for travelers. Additionally, there are over 30 sites on the west side of the park that are electric only. The WiFi worked well for us in the RV. That may have been because there were only 25-30 RVs in the park. There is no cable TV but there are lots of over the air channels and most sites are satellite friendly. I've always had a problem with the sewer hook ups here. They now have raised, 3 opening sewer pipes at every other site. One opening is vertical but the other two are angled. If you are lucking enough to get the alternating site with the sewer toward the rear and get the vertical opening, you are fine. If not, the sewer is too far forward, and you have to deal with the angled opening. The night we were here, several "dormitory" trailers with young workers were in an adjacent parking lot. This situation might bother some RVers who are overly concerned about security and safety. The only problem these kids created was a crowded bathroom on Sunday morning. The bathroom and showers are in the same building as the office. They are fine except for that first thing in the morning worker situation. The building also has a large laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$21
The place is well located and has very adequate facilities. At $21 a night, the price was right and we had full hookups, a level site, and were ready to go see the sights. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$39
Requested a pull through for 1 night stay. Forty foot motorhome towing. Gave us a pull through, but not long enough. None of the sites are. Had to unhook. Basically a concrete parking lot with hookups. On the Wisconsin State Fairgrounds. Only park near Milwaukee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$42
This is definitely a parking lot style RV park. There are lots of street lights so it's not dark at night. That said, the bathrooms and laundry are nice, but had no a/c. The location is great for anything in the Milwaukee area. The area is fine: no worries at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Location is a 10. We have stayed here a few times for work and to visit family. You can't beat the location. The neighborhood is fine. Not fancy but working class middle America. No shade and no privacy between spots. The spaces are large. No other place to RV in Milwaukee. Can be to a Milwaukee Brewer game in less than 10 minutes. Can be downtown in 10 to 15 minutes. You can get to the western suburbs in 15 minutes. Laundry is clean and fairly spacious. The sewers are in strange spots like others have said. Just check the site to make sure it works for you. Not that noisy but it does have a lot of ambient lighting which does bother me but not my husband. We will be back due to the location! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2011
$33
I agree with all said before but the location is great. It is a state fair park not a camping place in the woods so the parking lot feel is to be expected. I was leaving the park in early December it was 10 degrees out side. My truck was sluggish to start because of the cold. I asked the guy at the desk for a jump. He looked irritated that I interrupted his book reading. I asked him why not as I was a little stunned (most of us have needed or been asked to give a jump in our life time especially in such cold temperatures), He replied he didn't have any cables I informed him I had cables and I was knowledgeable enough to hook them up with out causing any damage to his truck. He then said no I'm not going to help you, and went back to reading his book and pretended I wasn't there. He didn't offer to call park security who might of helped I asked one of my fellow campers who was very friendly even though I woke him up refused the 20$ I tried to give him and wished me a safe trip. I will not stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
This was our third time here overall and first time in 4 years. Because there was no official event going on at the fairgrounds/race track on Labor Day weekend, we were able to get a pull-through, FHU site for 2 nights with all the hook-ups on the driver's side. As noted by others, the sewer receptacles are strange and on the "wrong" side at some sites. The park was maybe half full with about a dozen RVers there for a HD motor cycle rally in the area this LD weekend. Aside from some annoying late/early revving of motors, we did not experience any significant noise problems (parties, the bar across the street, or the interstate) during our stay. In fact, I-94 is several hundred yards from the closest edge of the park and recessed below the surrounding area reducing the traffic noise. While most previous reviews make valid comments about it being an "asphalt parking lot" and the noise potential when crowded, they also note that the location is great for visiting Milwaukee. However, I really don't understand the recent review that said the park was in a "not good area". In the course of my visits here, I have walked at least a mile north, south, and east of the RV park (the fair grounds are to the west). The immediate area is mostly middle class (and some high end) single family homes with several churches and schools. Suburban West Allis's downtown/main street is less than a mile south with shops, restaurants, and other commercial buildings. What's "not good" about the area? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Good: Was easy on/off; level sites; big rig friendly. Bad: VERY noisy. Several campers were still “partying” at 2 a.m.; not a great part of town; no trees. Basically just a parking lot with hook-ups. Would probably not stay again, but might in a real pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$39
We stayed here because of its location. Pretty noisy at night, but we had prepared for this by packing ear plugs. There were not that many folks staying here, so we had our choice of parking spots. We arrived after closing hours on a Friday night and checked-in/paid the next morning. We grilled out before a Sunday Brewer game. Even though we were not staying that night, management allowed us to keep the trailer at our spot until after the game. Will definitely stay here again for our next visit to Milwaukee! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$41
Only game in town if you want to stay close in - too bad as its not much more than a noisy overpriced and not too level parking lot. Try for a site as far back from the interstate as you can. You will sleep better. Management either cannot or will not enforce its own rules. They were allowing as what only can be described as a mobile crash pad to park. Their own published regulations prohibit anything other than fully self-contained RVs. It was housing 5 or 6 very scruffy individuals. We were awoken in the middle of the night (2am) by much loud noise coming from this group. Went on for several hours before I finally called security. Found out this was not the first incidence. We were able to move to the other side of the park fortunately. The person on duty stated he "really couldn't do anything" other than point out the rules to the campers. Would only stay here again in a pinch. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
Excellent place to stay when visiting Milwaukee in the off-season. We were here in mid-September and found it a great urban campground -- this is not Yellowstone! Spotless bathrooms/showers with lots of hot water, Ideal access to freeway into town. Complaints came from summer campers. I'd certainly stay clear when the fair or other summer events are is session, but that's just common sense! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
If you want to stay in Milwaukee, this is about the only place unless you want to be way out of town. The sewer hook-ups are kind of weird. You have to park the opposite direction of your neighbor and you share sewer and electrical hook-ups. That means that the sewer hook-up was at the wrong end of our RV and too far away. We had to go buy a longer sewer hose. The bar across the street can be very loud until late at night on the weekends. Still, it wasn't bad and we met some really nice people. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$42
This is a great campground for seeing the HD Museum and Milwaukee. The staff was very friendly, but there is no shade and the sites are big but all pavement. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
Easy access to park. Close to highway so convenient to all venues in city. Low noise from Highway but this is a fairground so can be loud if an event is going on. Helpful staff. Close to golf, great biking. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2010
$41
10 mins. from downtown Milwaukee. CG used to be a parking lot. Fair size spaces. Not very quiet, near freeway and road plus many carnival workers are housed in bunkhouse rigs. Currently they are setting up rides for the coming Greekfest which starts 6/24--we'll go eat there! The carnival folks have no campground manners. We have them walking under our awning and under the front of the 5W. Big party next door until 4 am. Management doesn't enforce any rules it seems. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2010
$50
This campground was fine, but it's extremely expensive. It's proximity to Milwaukee was its best feature. Not worth the high cost. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2009
$40
The staff is not much help in helping with parking and was rather rude by suggesting to my wife that the site maps were over there if she was interesting in locating our assigned site. The sites even though a giant paved parking lot were not that level and the Wi-Fi that a popular directory says exists, does not. The staff says they don't have any Wi-Fi. The bathrooms and showers were in serious need of repair and a thorough cleaning. The only thing going for this campground is its proximity to Milwaukee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Located close to I-94 and downtown Milwaukee. Sites were adequate and Wi-Fi worked better than most campgrounds. Sites were level; after all it is a parking lot turned into a campground. Staff friendly and helpful. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2008
$37
Basically a large parking lot turned into an RV park. Sites were not level. Only park in Southern Wisconsin that leaves the water on after October 15. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
This is not a traditional campground since it is connected to the Wisconsin State Fair Grounds. Thus, it was really an asphalt parking lot with hookups. That said, we enjoyed it and found it extremely convenient for touring Milwaukee, which we were there to do. It is very well lighted and there is a fence around it. The laundry has many washers and dryers and is very clean. The campground is staffed and these people were very helpful. We were able to log onto the WI-FI without any problem and found the signal very strong. We were not there during the State Fair but were there for the Wisconsin 4H horse show and enjoyed that thoroughly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Easy access. Good size sites. Satellite reception. Reliable wi-fi. Extra charge for spaces during special events. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
I agree with most of the previous reviewers' comment, but want to add a couple things. First, being next to a race track, and the fair grounds, there are numerous special events that pack the RV park, raise the rates to $50 for FHU, and make the whole area very congested. Call ahead if you want to avoid these situations. Secondly, check the site you are given before you finish registering. Some utilities are oddly placed (ie, some sewers are on the wrong side), so you want to be certain your assigned site meets your needs. As already noted, this is the only, but decent, place to stay if you want to be near Milwaukee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$33
Next door to Milwaukee. Works great for sight seeing. Restrooms & Showers in separate rooms but big and clean. Shower enclosed but no separate dressing rooms. Large Parking Lot - paved with a little grass around the edge. If you want an outdoor experience this is not the place. Sites were fairly level. Did have to put front wheels up about 2 inches for leveling. Sites were very wide. Not long enough to park home and trailer back to back but plenty of room for slide outs and park car and trailer along side. Area lit but did not bother us. There may have been noise but really didn't notice it. During the day we heard the cars on the track. Heard a couple of cars with the loud boom box going by but for a city parking lot it was very quite. People in the office were okay, warmed up after a couple of days. Park is well maintained. Will always stay here when in Milwaukee. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Although this is not the typical "campground" it is convenient and easy to park. Its great when you are here to experience the city, not spend time in the camper. Its easy to access (off Hwy) and level ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
This park is just what it claims to be: A paved parked lot with striped parking spots. Roomy but nothing to write home about. Nevertheless, it is the best (and only) RV Park in the Milwaukee area. If in this area again, we would stay in this park again for a short period. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$20
This is just a place to park overnight. Right off the freeway, so easy exit and reenter. Flat site, so no need for levelers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
This is a parking lot that has been equiped with sewer, electrical and water connections. There are some picnic tables. We were there the week after state fair and it needed work. There was litter everywhere and the bathrooms needed a major cleaning. We have stayed here in the past and it was much cleaner. It does not appear to receive the maintenace that is necessary. Staff stays in the office and spends no time on the grounds. Adequate for visits to Milwaukee but not much more. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2006
$30
On the good side it's clean and flat. On the down side it's a cement parking lot, with no pretense of anything else. It's right in the city, so perfect for sightseeing of family visits, which is why we were there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com