214562 User submitted reviews online!!
Gordon Howe Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (306) 975-3328
CGID5642

Gordon Howe Campground

Camp Information
Sites
135
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   7   9   10   8   8   10   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
One of the nicest campgrounds in western Canada. Park like setting. Have camped here in the past many years ago. The only problems I found is that they need to upgrade the amenities for the campers. The men's showers were in bad need of repairs. Two of the four stall were not working. Water always on floor outside of stalls, but overall washrooms very clean. Wi-Fi very very poor - hard to log on unless sitting outside main office. My advise to the campground is upgrade the campground with better Wi-Fi , fix up washrooms, put in cable TV and you would again have the best campground in western Canada . We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
We were disappointed that they did not offer full service sites, only electricity and water, but we decided to stay for 3 days anyway, and we were glad we did. We had a great site which was shaded and easy to back up in. The staff were very friendly and helpful in all manners. The wifi was good at times, but kept on loosing it every so often. Campsite was close to everything, and it was right in town, but out of the way. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
A nice place in the middle of the city. The campsites are a little small (I had to work a bit to get my 30' travel trailer into the site) however quite private because of the trees and bushes between the sites. The playground was very nice for the kids to play on. When driving to the campground it seems a bit out of the way and you drive through some sketchy looking neighbourhoods but once you're in the campground itself you don't notice anything. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
What a find. I would have given this a 10, except there was no sewer at the site. Otherwise it's a wonderful park. Lots of shrubs and trees make each site secluded. No satellite (too many trees. Very strong Wi-Fi. Sites are huge and easy to back into. Highly recommend this park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This park is just beautiful and worth every single dollar you spend. Our rate was for a back-in W/E site including taxes. Excellent park layout and very well maintained. Fair size, level sites with good hookup access. A lilac hedge surrounds the site and provides lots of privacy as well as a nice bloomy smell. Quiet at night. Excellent laundry facility, even providing an iron and board. Good reliable Wi-Fi. Just one dump station on the way out, this might be an issue when lots of campers leave at the same time. Water pressure is very high; you definitely need a pressure regulator. The friendly and helpful staff will remind you and sell a regulator in case you need one. Right now there is lots of construction on the way to the park. Ignore your GPS and take 11th Street to Avenue P. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We enjoyed our stay here just before Labor Day 2011. Gordie Howe park is run by the city and is very well kept and efficient. The staff is professional and friendly, and the store is well stocked including a freezer with local beef, pork and chicken as well as frozen dinners. The sites are almost secluded due to the landscaping and each site has tons of room, the hookups worked well, and using the one centrally located dump was never a problem. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Very convenient to town. Nicely landscaped – the campsites have tall hedges between them, which gives you a feeling of privacy. Good shower facilities. The manager was very friendly and made recommendations on nearby stores and attractions. If you like to be out in the woods, this is not your place. But it’s the best local park campground we have been to so far. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We found out about this park from the Woodall's book and the directions given were a bit sketchy to us as we're unfamiliar with the roads and the road signs of Canada. In our confusion, we ended up driving our "big rig" right through the middle of downtown Saskatoon. While this doesn't affect my overall rating of the park, it is something that would affect my consideration of choosing to stay here as I find it rather scary to drive through a large city during rush hour traffic. Fortunately, the park and the staff here are well worth the effort if you're looking for a place to get off the road for more than a day. Each campsite is surrounded with bushes to give it a unique kind of privacy. We were here too early in the Spring to see the benefit of this arrangement, but it's clear that the sites are laid out for maximum privacy. There are no sewers, only a dump station on the way out and a service is available on weekdays to pump out your tanks for an extra fee if needed. I would definitely plan to stay here again if I'm ever in this area although I would plan my arrival more carefully the next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
This place is a jewel. The place where we were reserved was not able to accommodate us due to standing water and Gordon Howe was available. The sites were very nice and the grounds were very well kept. The managers were extremely friendly. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone... A-1!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Wonderful private sites surrounded by mature trees and hedges. Has the best playground right in the middle surrounded by a beautiful grass park. We were really pleased with our campsite due to privacy. Laundry and showers were very clean and office staff were very nice. They don't have cable TV hookups but we had three TV stations (air) come through very clean. The only two downsides were that it didn't have a spot for campfires on the ground (it did have a standing bbq where you could use firewood), and it didn't have sewer at each site. However the sewer dump was easily accessable and clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
A great campground. I would have gotten a 9 if it had been in a nicer area of town. It really is an amazing oasis right in the city. It was well run, the store is well stocked and it is fairly quiet. A concert festival was going on across the river and we could hear that during our stay, but overall it was the nicest city park we have stayed in to date. Oh: the free Wi-Fi is smoking fast! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
This campground is one of the most pleasant places we’ve stayed to date. The playground had the most important feature that a playground can have: lots of other kids. The gravel-paved slots were roomy and very private with tall shrubbery between. The shrubbery, in fact, was so lush that we brushed it on all sides backing in. They only have back-in slots, but ours was on a corner, so it was easy to swing around and back in. Each slot had a grill and picnic table, and it was nice to sit out during the day. The bathhouses were clean and roomy, if somewhat industrial. The water tasted very good. This park is a hidden gem in the southwest corner of Saskatoon and convenient for shopping. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$27
The owners went out of their way to accommodate us when we arrived without a reservation. There are large sites, treed and lots of privacy. Only disadvantages: we had to use 15 amp (at least we had a site, and they said they would be upgrading next year to some 50 amp sites.) And, there were workmen living in the campground, so lots of diesels going to work in early AM. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
Beautiful place, have camped here 5 or 6 times and have always been treated well. Never have charged me to dump my tanks but they do charge if they come to your campsite and pump you. Quiet, no bugs, and very well managed. You would never know your in the middle of a city and it's also next door to a very nice 18 hole golf course. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Hi all: this is my second visit to this facility. It features back in sites with hedges between each offering wonderful privacy. Quiet time is enforced. The only negative is the $6.00 charge for sewer dump. However there are three free dump sites in the city. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
The GPS location is 52.10713 -106.69293. Water pressure is 100 psi, so be sure to use a reducer! There is a small store in the office and they do stock pressure reducers. The sites are paved, large and fairly level. There are hedges between sites with excellent privacy, a picnic table and fire grill included in the grassy enclosure. The Wifi is free and works well. No visitors are allowed after 11 p.m. The dump station charge is $6.00. There are free dump sites at both the Flying J and the Husky gas stations at the north end of the city. There is another free dump site at an Esso Station on the west end of the city. I was quite amazed that so many folks were already out in their RV's. The camp does have an overflow area. Some of the overflow sites allow generator use but some do not. It is owned and operated by the City of Saskatoon. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Friendly atmosphere. Cabin was clean. Management were very helpful. Will return. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
Very nice park in the middle of Saskatoon. Nicely maintained. Playground. Rate is for 6 people in the RV. Laundry room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$28
Park charges $5.00 for use of a portable sewage dump service. Park was immaculate with shaded very private sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com