221664 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Farm Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (608) 242-4576
CGID5648

Lake Farm Park

Camp Information
Sites
54
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$28



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   8   7   7   9   9   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$28
We had a great pull-in sight. The only downside is that there is no water and sewer hookups, but there is a dump station. There were a few homeless people there, but they never bothered anyone. It is convenient to many things in Madison including a wonderful bike trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
Just too many extra fees for an overnight stay. Small campground with electric only. For the cost we paid to overnight with 3 dogs less than 15 pounds, we could have stayed in a nice place with full hookups. We thought we might ride the bike trail but it was very busy with folks that seemed to be professional bikers that were riding for speed or endurance. Since the trail was narrow, we decided not to ride. Fees for the trail were an extra $4 per person per day. Geez. Camp host answered all questions when asked but was not particularly helpful with any additional information. We probably would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
A quiet retreat just minutes from the heart of Madison. Wi-Fi is good, showers are excellent, bike trails easily accessed here, and wildlife areas surround. If you have a big rig, there are a few nice pull-thru's. If you're lucky, you can park in reach of a water faucet which are only at the end of the aisles. A senior discount is available. A nice dump station is available. If you don't have reservations, you can only stay 4 nights, and then hope no one else has the site reserved past that. My only complaint was that obvious "non-campers" were lurking around the restrooms to use theWi-Fi. And other "non-campers" from downtow, were coming in with suitcases only to use the showers. The camp hosts need to keep a better handle on this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$27
This is a nice county park, but only has electric with no water or sewer. There is a dump station and water fill station available though. Sites are a mixture of grass and gravel and most are not level. Wi-Fi appeared to be available, but is password protected and you must get that from the camp host. Verizon cell and broadband worked well. Most sites are satellite friendly. There are some tight turns so if you have a big rig, caution is required to miss vehicles parked close to the road. The camp hosts were wonderful. A bit pricey, but for a metropolitan area what can you expect. We would return if in the area again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Not enough trees, and the water did not taste good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
We had plans for a visit with relatives over a hot August weekend and decided to try this park. We're glad we did as the park is quite nice and very convenient. It's compact, but there is good room on sites. We had one of the few sites with some shade part of the day. Electric service was good on the site and the campground host was very helpful with biking information for the area. Wisconsin seems to love extra fees, so there are fees for nearly everything. $20 gets an annual pass for biking on any of the state's trails; the trail network around Madison is excellent and fascinating for its variety around and through the city. The park is only ~3 miles from downtown, so is very convenient for visiting Madison. The Saturday farmers' market around the capitol building was extensive and lots of fun to explore. The rate shown included a $2 senior discount, available to any senior whether resident or not. The $10 non-refundable reservation fee was disappointingly steep. We enjoyed our stay at this campground and will stay here again when visiting the area. We probably won't reserve beforehand, however. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Twenty four per night was the senior rate for 50 amp electric only at this well maintained county run park. Many recreational opportunities are available in the local area especially biking/hiking trails (permit is required for bicycling the courses and trails). Campground is very close to shopping areas. Spacing between sites was roomy and most sites were level. Most RV sites were in full sun. The tent sites had more shade. Water is available throughout the park (we were close enough to one water spigot to hook our hose to it and fill our tank) and the dump station is located at the entrance/exit area. We received four bars of LTE on our AT&T cell phone and free Wi-Fi is available in the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
I would have given this campground a 9 or 10 if they had water and sewer hookups. A nice county park campground very close to downtown Madison. Very roomy spaces. Trees provide a little shade. Tent area is very shady. Excellent satellite and local TV reception. Wi-Fi was good most of the time. Water fill and dump station easy to access. Bike trail runs right by the campground and it's an easy 5 mile ride to downtown Madison. Free air compressor at the building (95 psi max) for filling bike or car tires. Mosquitoes can be a problem so be sure you have repellant. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
We always camp here when staying in the Madison area. Great county park located about 5 miles from downtown and 2 miles from the beltway. Beautiful grounds and clean facilities. No water or sewer hookups; however, the dump station and potable water fill stations are easy to access. Two week maximum stay. Fills up on weekends in the summer. Internet reservations are recommended for summer weekends. The Dane County website also shows which sites can handle big rigs (half the sites in the park). We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$25
The Good: Nice smaller county park just outside of Madison, WI. Larger sites, nice bath-house facilities, and connected to lots of biking trails. The park has Wi-Fi but our Verizon air card speeds were better. The Bad: Electric hookups only, which seemed odd since the park also has Wi-Fi. There is a dump station as you come into the park. We were able to string a hose to the spigot & refill our tanks. Note: Since the park has no entry gate or fee, is connected to bike trails, and offers bathrooms/showers/Wi-Fi there was a small contingent of traffic coming from people who weren't camping there - some looked to be homeless or living in their vehicles. No bad issues, everything was quiet and low-key, but just something we noticed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
We always stay here when we need to be in Madison, if 2 week limit is enough. Lovely big sites, most satellite friendly. Electric only, so fill your water tanks. A few sites can reach a water spigot w/ a long hose, for refill only. Very clean bathrooms. About 8 private shower rooms plus a family room. 2 nice playgrounds, on a bike path, a mile from Lake Wabesa accessable by road or trail. RSVP online. Very busy football weekends. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
This is an adequate, clean and quiet County Park. It is an electric only park, there is a dump and drinking water at the entrance. We were charge an extra $10 to make reservation on the phone, and an extra $10 a night for 2 small dogs. We felt $35 a night for electric only was a little high. But it was convenient to downtown, sites were large and mostly level. There was a little daily traffic riding through. Our Sprint phone/Wi-Fi worked well. So this was difficult to rate, many good points, a couple not so good. But we would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Excellent county park. Would be a 10 if they had on-site sewers and water. Good location about 7 miles from downtown Madison. Plenty of room for big rigs. Fills up on weekends in the summer. Reservations taken via website. Highly recommended when visiting Madison. Will camp here again in our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This is a lovely well-maintained park in a convenient location in Madison. Right down the street from a Wal-Mart, but it still seems far away from the city. The park is on the Capitol City Hike and Bike Trail, and there are also trails in the park itself. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
This is a great park located close to the lovely city of Madison. There are numerous bike, hiking and walking trails and you can easily enjoy all that Madison has to offer while staying here. Only reason we didn't give this park a 10 rating is because of the lack of full hook ups. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
We moved here after an FMCA Rally. Big back in sites with lots of room on the sides. Convenient to downtown and lakes. Really nice walking and bike trails near by. Walking trail heads are at campground. Water is available from several spigots and the dump station is easily accessible. No Wi-Fi but good At&T signal. $2/nite discount for seniors making it a really great deal. Quiet- very little road noise. It has a tremendous website for reservations showing availability by site number. Lots of good golf nearby. Madison is a nice city with great restaurants. Would a love to come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
No water or sewer hookup. I would have rated this park higher if it had full hookups. There is a dump station and water faucets are scattered throughout the campground. Fairly level gravel sites. Good location for exploring Madison and surrounding areas and right on a bike path, but it was too hot to bike while we were here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
Nice clean campground with wide, spacious sites, lots of grass in a quiet area. Fantastic bath/shower facilities. Electric sites only. Immature shade trees. No Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
This park is right on the Capital City Bike Trail. Some in and out traffic from bikers stopping to use the bathroom or get water. The sites are large and level. The showers are large and each is in a private area. This is an excellent location for biking into Madison. Also quite close to major roads into the city. There is no water or sewer at the sites but we did have 50 amp which was great in the 100 degree record breaking heat. Water fill stations are spread around the campground. We would consider a longer stay next time to further explore the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Easy access from interstate. Electric and Wi-Fi both were good. Sewer at site would have been nice. Bathroom and shower were very clean. Have stayed several times and will come back again. Also, has great access to one of the many bicycle paths in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2010
$21
Wi Fi worked. Lots of TV channels. Easy access to Madison. Sites are large. There is a $5 per day fee for a dog which we think is way too high. Paying that much makes us not want to pick up our dog waste. Do not get excited, we did. But that could be the attitude of some campers. Nice walking paths. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a Dane county park campground. It provides electric only. Sites are large and easy to get in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Nice campground: not busy during week and not completely full on week-ends. The hosts vary month to month. No easy access to ranger or hosts; and would have preferred full hook-ups. Weekly rate of $171 included a dog fee. Dog owners: if you are staying or plan to stay, please, please do not leave dog droppings on the side of the grassy areas, in the back of your space, or in the designated “Dog Walk” area. It is disgusting to come upon another dog’s “business” while walking mine. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$23
Overall this is a great park in Madison. The reason I only gave it a nine was no water hook-up. Great hiking a bike trails, wide level sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$22
We found this to be an excellent campground having gravel sites with a picnic table on each one. It was right on a major bike trail and we were able to bike into Madison itself and around Lake Monona. The showers were clean and had locked doors for each stall. There are no water hook-ups but there are several water faucets spaced throughout the camp and one was close enough to our site that we could hook up to and refill our water tank without having to move. This campground was quiet, clean and the host was very helpful with suggestions. We certainly would camp here again and were sorry to have to leave but I had to return to work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Agree with other positive reviews. Lovely, peaceful, well maintained campground. Minutes from downtown Madison, yet has country atmosphere. Convenient and well designed dump station w fresh water. Paved roads, gravel sites. Table and our favorite low, steel fire ring w grate at each site. Gets soggy but not muddy after heavy rain. Small trees don't provide much shade, but can't come crashing down during frequent thunderstorms. Very friendly and helpful staff and host. There is a marvelous farmer's market (the best we've seen) surrounding the Capitol buildings on Saturday. Frank Lloyd Wright's Monona Terrace on Lake Monona within walking distance from Capitol. About 15 miles from Camping World. We'll come here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$25
Dane County Park. Restrooms & Showers nice and clean. Sites were level with gravel. Park roads were paved. Nice size sites both length and width. Very little outside light and no noise. Nice park would stay again. We paid more because we were out of state. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
Very nice, clean and level campsites. No water at each site, but hookups are scattered about every 40 feet. If you bring a reasonably long hose, you can fill your tanks right from your site. Satellite accessible from every site. $22 a bit expensive for county park, but more than acceptable seeing as the campground is a few short miles from downtown Madison. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2006
$22
We camp at this park at least twice a year. We've been camping here for 5 years. We love this campground. It is clean and well maintained, the camp hosts are great. The parks department employees are helpful. Location is the best thing about this park. It is minutes from downtown Madison, but out far enough that you feel like you are hours away from a city. The bike trail connects to this park, which makes it easy to bike into town too. It is a young park, so no established trees with shade, but that is great for getting a clear view of the sky for satellite. If you want shade and trees, check out Mendota County Park or Babcock Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com