218820 User submitted reviews online!!
Sugar Loafin' RV Campground & Cabins was rated 7 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (719) 486-1031
CGID566

Sugar Loafin' RV Campground & Cabins

Camp Information
Sites
98
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$41



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   1   6   7   5   9   8   9   4   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Very clean restrooms. The sites are a little tight, as others have noted. The season is very short and I guess they need to make their money while they can. Owner separates taxable site fees from non-taxable 'people' fees, so the total cost can be a little confusing. It all works out and the owner does it so campers pay less taxes. We did have to pay $6/night for an extra vehicle. Very helpful staff in the camp store. Fun golf course a mile away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2014
$41
Had a so called pull- thru site. the TT next to us was so close that our sewer hose was under there slid out.Pull- thru sites were so tight that we had to ask our neighbor to move his truck so we could make our turn to pull out. Asked management if they could trim a few tree limbs that were rubbing against our unit. I was told they do not trim limbs. Other sites had limbs that were trimmed. All in all a very negative experience. In 25 years of RVing this park is in the top 5 worst we have stayed in. Save your money stay else were. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$41
The biggest negative is tightness of the sites. Big fifth wheels will have problems parking if the place is full. No Wi-Fi. Wired Internet service is in the rec room and it's fast. Mosquitoes can be a problem in June. The office staff was helpful when we needed to extend our stay one night. The location was right for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
Interior roads are gravel and there are concrete strips for parking, picnic tables and fire pits at sites. Water, sewer and electricity worked well. It is a ways away from any major highways so no traffic noise. Sites are a lot closer than I prefer and noise from neighbors could easily be a problem. No Wi-Fi or cable TV. While we were there the park was very quiet, but also a long ways from being full. Part of the park has numerous pine trees. We were given an escort to our site. All the staff we contacted were friendly and helpful. On clear moonless nights the altitude allows for a great view of the sky. Note there is a $7.50 per person charge in addition to the $34.00 fee per site We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
The sites are very small so it can be a problem if the neighbors dogs do not get along with your pets. Just not enough space between them. Overall the campground needs some tree trimming and grass mowing. The was a horrible mosquito problem which could have possibly been helped had the grass and brush been trimmed. The dog walk area was nearly unusable due to the overgrowth of sage brush. It is now just a single file trail through the brush. The bathrooms were clean and the showers were hot. The camp staff was friendly and the ice cream social was well worth the $1.50. Not sure if we will return this could be a really nice campground with a few changes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
The rate cited reflects a monthly rate including electricity and all taxes. They were able to accommodate our 43 foot rig though there only a few sites that can handle this length and also only about 7-8 50 amp sites. However, the weather is so cool at this altitude (10,000 ft) that we would probably have been fine with a 30 amp site since one so rarely needs air conditioning at all. Scenery is fantastic and access to the many wonders of the area is very convenient. The owner and staff are super-helpful and friendly. This is really a campground, not an RV "resort." Think of it as a cross between a Forest Service campground and an RV park and you'll get the picture. We would have gladly stayed the entire summer, but alas, my wife had problems with the altitude and we had to leave early. This is not uncommon in Leadville, especially if you're a senior. Nevertheless, we would stay here again in an instant if we could and we highly recommend it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We have stayed at this RV park several times over the last few years. It is a great park to use as a base camp to explore the area. No TV or Wi-Fi but 3G and cell is available in the area. Restrooms are reasonably clean, and the folks at the desk are very accommodating. Some of the spaces can be a little tricky to get into, but once you're settled, they aren't bad. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
A helpful and friendly staff combined with a beautiful location make for a pleasant stay in Leadville. Clean bathrooms and laundry facilities, a large off-leash pet walk area, and nightly ice cream social add up to even more camper comforts. Although the sites are a bit small and uneven, Sugarloafin' Campground has our hearts. We look forward to another long-term visit. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
I would not recommend this park for any rig over 20 feet. Sites are cramped and backing a big rig is hard. Owner is not on site. Dogs ran free to use the bathroom. Any notable wind filled the air with dirt. We will not return here under the present conditions. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
We got there after dark and the young lady behind the counter to check us in offered us the use of her cool flashlight to help us park. Very helpful staff. There are lovely trees at the site. It is only 1.68 miles to a great trout fishing lake. You may store boat trailers for free on a special site they keep just for user storage. Our site was not very level, but we got the second-to-last one available because it was a very busy weekend in Leadville. Other sites looked better. Be sure you have something to lay outside your door or you will track a lot of dirt into your camper (like we did). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
If you are over 40' would not stay in this park, concrete runners are hard to stay on and you have to watch that jacks are straight. Poor electricity, not very well kept. Would not return, left before our time was up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$31
Our main concern when going to campgrounds is how clean the washrooms and showers are, since we only camp in a van and have no such facilities. This place did not disappoint. The sites were a little close, but we did not notice because of the shrubbery in between our site. The campground was a little more rustic than others we have stayed at, but being surrounded by mountains fit the mood. The site personnel were very friendly, and they have an ice cream social every night for $1.50. The hummingbirds put on a nice show also. Overall we enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$40
Really enjoyed our stay at this campground. It is a more rustic campground, not an RV Park. Surrounded by beautiful mountain scenery. Staff was friendly and helpful. Concrete strips to park on were nice. We will return, as we love this area of the state. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$39
After having stayed at the nice RV Park in Creede, we were really disappointed in this run-down park. We stayed here two years ago and it has gone down-hill since then. I think the owner doesn't know how to use a hose to water. All the grass is dead and the only thing surviving are the weeds. We were lucky, we got a spot with concrete pads for the wheels and jacks. All the big rigs and big fifth wheels across the way had just dirt, which was really dusty. The rather young staff tends to put big rigs and big fifth wheels down this last row where it is hard for them to maneuver. The spaces are narrow, but there was enough room for our slide on one side and the awning on the other, but not much left over after that. We paid $30 a night for a beautiful RV park in Creede and $39 a night for a run-down, over-crowded RV park in Leadville. If you have anything over 35' you'll have trouble in this park. But it is better than the other place in town. We decided this was our last trip to this park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
An excellent park to soak up the beauty of Leadville, CO. Just three miles from downtown, this very charming and peaceful campground with friendly, knowledgeable staff has so much to offer. Every evening, there is a all-you-can-eat ice cream social for $1.50! The busy hummingbirds in the park are an added bonus for free entertainment. Yes, the sites are a little tight and not perfectly groomed, but this campground feels like home and it's well worth the location so close by to Turquoise Lake's myriad of outdoor activities. The tent camping sites are beautiful, perfectly level and well shaded. We found the bathrooms to be spotless and the campground store well stocked with helpful supplies. If you have dogs, this is the place to stay when in Leadville because the off leash area is vast and the campground is next door to a National Forest. We look forward to our next visit here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$40
Super friendly staff. Appears to be family run. Great spot for ATVers to call home base. Trails close by and Leadville is now ATV friendly so you can ride them on the public roads legally. Park is a little old and in need of some maintenance. Sites are dirt and weed patches. Fairly level for RVs but lots of holes and patches to twist your ankles on. Needs a good tractor raking and gravel to get a better rating. Sites are very dusty when dry, very muddy when wet. Fits big rigs, and has 50 amp service, but it's more of a rustic campground than a nice RV park. We would stay again if some site maintenance is made. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
Great Colorado mountain campground in the forest. Campground has beautiful views, next to a mountain lake, 3 miles from Leadville. Fishing, hunting, ghost towns and the full mountain experience is available. Leadville has good restaurants, a Safeway and several business offering service needed for the area. Owners are great to work with. Satellite and phones work well in the campground. Campground was close to full, recommend calling ahead. Limited 50 amp, but we never used air conditions for the month of August. East in and out for big rig. Would love to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This is a very rustic campground at 10,000 ft. with some sites under trees and others out in the open. Pine trees are scattered throughout the park. Our site (back in) was located at the back of the park near the dog walk area. We felt the sites were wider and less cramped compared to the pull throughs. Also, the road was paved in this area. They have laundry facilities, a rec. room with a pool table, arcade games and a book exchange. Our site wasn’t level but we were able to level out with no problems. Water pressure was 40 psi, power was steady and we encounter no problems with the sewer. Our Verizon air card and cell phone worked well here and if you have a cell phone antenna and booster you’ll get a great signal. We were able to use our dome satellite. It rained every other day while here and we didn’t have any problems with mud puddles. Each site has a fire/grill ring along with a picnic table. Like I said this is a very rustic campground, not an RV park but we were pretty comfortable and really liked the people who worked here. The Mt Massive Golf Course is only a few minutes away. Follow the signs to Turquoise Lake you can’t miss the campground. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We were checked in by the founder's granddaughter who was very efficient and provided great customer service. Our reserved spot was still full so she showed us around and gave us the choice of spots. Very dog friendly. Ice Cream every day at 6:30pm. Loved it! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
We spent a total of 26 days parked in this camp, from 7/9 to 8/3. It has been here a while and could use some more gravel on the interior roads and many of the sites, but even with rain each day we had no problems. the sites are rather tight, but our 40' motor home and 1 slide fit nicely. Parking for the car was manageable. Views are spectacular, plenty to do and see in Leadville. The electric was fine, water excellent and the camp personnel were always available. I think it is a great place to stay and will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
The staff was friendly and helpful. The sites are spacious and well laid out. The mornings are pleasant and mosquito free which cannot be said for the evenings where we were inundated. The view from the campgrounds is stunning looking out at Mount Elbert. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was one of our favorite campgrounds so far this summer. The manager is a professional, friendly, young woman whose grandmother founded the campground 45 years or so ago. She gave us good directions. (Our GPS didn't recognize it. Just use Turquoise Lake as your destination; the campground is on the way.) This was a spontaneous overnighter that was a very pleasant surprise. Beautiful place to relax by the campfire. Magnificent views (near the highest point in CO). Great playground. We would definitely camp here again. Not very close to town but close to Turquoise Lake. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$31
Park needs some attention. Dog excrement all around. Staff was friendly and attentive. Rustic park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We've been staying here since the 1970s and will continue to come back. Be sure to have a reservation in August for Boom Days week end and the bike race the following week end. Some of the sites have concrete runners; some do not. There was rain this year and Site 31 has a terrible mud hole, as well as others. Some of the sites have tree branches which might interfere with awnings--be sure awnings are tied down. We have seen them ripped off here; it can get quite windy. No Wi-Fi but high speed DSL in the rec room worked very well, and there were several desks to use. Laundry is a bit pricey, and the baskets to move clothes over to the table for folding have been removed. No TV at all--we used to have TV there before the digital conversion, and we were told there was no TV. We later went to another campground in the area where we were told to turn off our converter box to pick up analog (we're supposed to have both on our boxes but it only worked with the box off). We wondered if Sugar Loafin might have been on analog. The grounds are not quite as manicured as they once were here, but the scenery is still gorgeous. A word of caution--many people have breathing problems here since the altitude is at 10,000 feet. Some people get a prescription from their doctor for oxygen; the company will bring it out to the campground for you to use at night in order to sleep. The ice cream social at night is a bargain, with all you can eat for $1.50. Many beautiful drives and hikes are close by, but this campground doesn't have a lot for kids to do--just a playground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$40
We were forced to move from another campground because our dogs "offended" another camper. Sugar Loafin took us on a last minute basis for the remainder of our stay (3 more nights) and even allowed us to early check-in so that we would not miss our white water rafting trip scheduled at mid-day. This is not a concrete/asphalt type of park, but we loved the spacious sites, friendly staff, clean facilities and absolutely wonderful views! We wished we'd picked this one first! They "saved" our vacation! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
It is an older RV park. The entire staff were very friendly and easy to work with. We asked for a late check-out as we only live a 3-hour drive from home and they graciously reserved us a spot that did not have a reservation the following night. We got a pull-through spot with 30-amp power, water, and sewer. It had a concrete pad to park on and they were positioned in a manner so you weren't side-by-side with your neighbors. The bathrooms were spotless and there had a huge field next door with trails to walk your dogs on. They had a playground for the kids. There is great fishing is nearby and we'll definitely be going back for an extended stay so we can catch some of those large trout. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$38
We stayed here in 2004 and nothing has changed since then. It is getting beat up from no maintenance. It seems the owners are out for the profit and not the look of the place. Roads are bumpy and dusty. Part of the park is not open for rental as the water line needs repair. The sites are level, the tent sites are pretty, way back in the trees, but most of the RV sites are in the open. You are fined $100 if you cut off a branch, so we had to park way forward in our site so we could get our awning out and that made the water hose a real stretch and left no room to park our SUV. The owners don't enforce the ten o'clock noise curfew and a big group of campers sat around the fire drinking and making too much noise until midnight. Poorly stocked store, mostly tourist junk, very few supplies. The pet walk area is the field next to the campground, where the sage brush is full of ticks in June. Lots of pocket gophers running all around digging holes everywhere so watch your step so you don't twist an ankle or break it. It was very buggy (mosquitoes), too, but if the weather stays dry they will disappear. The best part of this campground is the view of Mt. Elbert, the highest in Colorado and the other mountains of the Continental Divide. You are just one mile from Tourquoise Lake for fishing and boating and three miles from Leadville, an old mining town where millions of dollars of gold and silver were taken out at one time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Pretty good place. I'd recommend the Ice Cream Social even if you might feel a little weird about participating. People are nice, and they had shaded sites and open sky sites depending on your preference. It is also close to historic Leadville if you don't want to cook one night, like us. : ) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2009
$42
If you like rustic--this place is for you! It's their 42nd year as a rv park and not much has changed. We left after 1 night of a 4 night stay. Our site had good mountain views. This place needs a lot of TLC. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
This campground could indeed use a bit of TLC. While the staff was very helpful at check-in and showed me two potential sites for our 42” coach, they then informed me that half the campsites’ water supply had tested positive for E. coli. One of the remaining sites was adequate, but rough and narrow. The setting for the park is great, with wide views of the mountains and occasional wildlife, which also includes mosquitoes much more than occasionally. It is about 15 minutes from downtown Leadville, which was VERY busy when we were there. Overall, the park seems overpriced for the quality, and I found their policy of a $3.50 surcharge per person per night annoying for self-contained units, but it is nonetheless nicer than the park downtown. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
I read a lot of negatives about this park, but found none. Very nice staff, walked around with us and helped pick best site for our desires. Then helped us park. Gravel, wide, level sites. Some with beautiful views of mountains. No electrical problems, no problems at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$35
We have camped here many time before in a Pop-up Camper. The sites we used then were treed, grassy and level. This time we camped in our new Travel Trailer on a full hookup site. The site was unlevel and It was full of ruts. the whole campground area is full of gophers, which drove our dog crazy. The campground is falling apart year by year. I will stay here again, only because of boom days in August and it is the only campground in the area with full hookups. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$35
The campground is one mile from beautiful Turquoise Lake. That is the nice part. Needs extensive repair. Before booking, make sure your site is not a mud hole. Only concrete runners on a few sites. Will not hold a 35 footer or larger. Needs upgrading drastically. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2007
$36
We made a big mistake camping here, it is the only one available but not worth the time or the money. The owners are ill and unable to manage this big place any longer. Way over priced. They need to sell it and get a make over. The city of Leadville is a nice stop over and they have a wonderful 11 mile bike/run loop through the old mining area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$24
Overall a pleasant camping experience. They offer all what you would expect at a campground. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2007
$34
I agree with previous reviewers that this campground has an overall run-down and shabby appearance. It’s too bad, because it is in a wonderful location with mountain views and lots of trees. Because it’s several miles away from Route 24 in Leadville, it is very quiet. The grounds are unkempt and not maintained. Tall grass and weeds are everywhere, as are potholes that quickly fill with water when it rains, which it did while we were there. We had to dodge muddy water just coming out of our door. The mud is tracked into the restrooms. We did not check out the laundry or showers. The campground lacks amenities such as 50 amp, Cable TV or WiFi. Because our Sprint Broadband card did not work there, we had no access to the Internet, which was very frustrating. The owner has several DSL connections installed in the dingy rec room, but we were unable to get it to work with either of our two computers. There was no one available to assist you. The owner apparently isn’t interested in installing what most of us wants, which is WiFi so we can work on our computers at our sites. Two of the days we spent at the campground were during the Labor Day weekend. The park was packed with local people, many in tent trailers and tents, who partied outdoors and were very noisy. The nightly rate was much too high for what you get. We would not return and we do not recommend this park. Unfortunately, it is the only private campground in Leadville. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
After reading the excellent reviews on this site, we made an online reservation for three nights (we didn't receive a confirmation but had to call for one). Upon arriving and paying for three nights, we were assigned a different site than we had originally been given. We were escorted to the new site - a corner back-in site between a motorhome and tent - and discovered a large tree growing alongside the site that would have severely scratched our aluminum Airstream had we tried to back in. We asked the young lady who escorted us to the site if she could check to see if any other sites were available. She said she would and drove off in a golf cart. After waiting over ten minutes for her to return, we proceeded back to the office, where she rudely told us we should have tried to back in anyway, there were no other sites available (even though the campground was about 60% full), and that she had not intended to come back to tell us that. We explained that if they could not accommodate our rig, we would be happy to get a refund and make other plans. Another employee then claimed that the site would accommodate us; we explained we measured it, found the new clearcoat on the Airstream would be severely scratched if we tried to back in, and we would be happy to have a refund and move on if they didn't have any other sites available. To make a long story short, she refused to refund all three nights - keeping the first night's fee - and was very rude, explaining she couldn't make any decisions without the owner. The customer service was the absolute worst we've ever experienced. Another guest in the office at the same time told me outside he had a similar experience and that experiences like that were common there but that there was little choice in the Leadville area so one had to live with it. We didn't and moved on to Breckenridge. On top of that, the place looked really, really run down. Weeds were growing everywhere; the sites were uneven, overgrown, and shoddy; the women's bathroom (checked while we were waiting) had mud tracked all through it and was generally dingy. Overall, it was a highly aggravating experience at a depressing place, and we reached the point where we just wanted to get out of that place whether our money was refunded or not. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
This is a very busy campground on weekends when it practically fills up. We had a problem with low-voltage at our site when the campground was full. During the week the campground empties out and is seldom more than half full. It is located less than a mile from the Turquoise Lake Recreation area and hiking and biking opportunities are abundant. Leadville is about 4-miles away. Most of the sites are quite close together but since the campground is only full on the weekend it is not too bad. Views from the campground are spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$30
Don't know what's happening here, this is our third year and the park is looking shabby, tall grass and weeds, basically unkempt. Staff still friendly, location good if you get on the outer edge, big field to run the animals, reasonably quiet. Visually, it needs help to keep it from looking cheap. Probably won't be back until I see a positive report on the improved appearance from someone else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a great campground. It can be a little muddy in wet weather, but its still nice. Bath houses are heated and clean. Staff is friendly and willing to help. They gave us some great advice on where to fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2004
$30
Great campground. Plenty of trees and a great area. Did have one problem with electrical though. Whenever we would plug in our pop-up to the 15A power it would trip the circuit breaker. Our friend camping next to us tried to plug into the same outlet with the same result. Talked to the office people and they said they would not be able to fix it at that time as they would have to shut down power to a whole row of sites. This would not have been feasible as the campground was packed (this was during Leadville's Boom Days celebration). They did let us borrow the necessary hardware (adapters and splitters) so both my and my friends pop-up could plug into the same 30A outlet. Staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2004
$35
Wonderful campground, staff friendly, grounds kept clean, even had the trash pick-up on the 4th of July. Access is great for big rigs. We have a 40ft Bus Conversion and had no problems at all getting in and out of the campground. We stayed for the 4th of July weekend and Leadville is small town America with 4th of July events, parada, ice cream social at the Fire Dept, fireworks in the evening. Turquoise Lake is just up the road from the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$22
Nice campground with nice views. Turquoise Lake is about 2 miles away. Golf course is just down the street. They say it is the highest golf course in the U.S. This camp is about 3 miles outside of Leadville. Some sites had nice concrete pads to park on. Very nice pet walk area. We were in a 35 ft. motorhome. We had plenty of room, but be sure and let them know what room you need. Many sites would not accmmodate a large rig. We were looking for a place with cool temps in July to escape our heat in the south and found it here. We had to run the heater a couple of nights. We were able to visit Breckenridge, Aspen, Vail and do many off road drives in the area. There are a couple of free trout lakes closeby. We really liked it here. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$23
Very nice campground in an incredibly beautiful area of Colorado. Excellent views of the mountains around Leadville. Good paved interior roads and nicely laid out campground, with good sites for big rigs, tenters, and everyone in between. Very nice, clean restrooms in two buildings, very well maintained. Away from town, so lots of peace and quiet, but easy to get into town. At over 10,000ft you can be guaranteed a cold night, even in the middle of summer, but that's part of the charm of the Leadville area. Only thing missing here is a swimming pool! Very nice owners and staff, with the usual ice cream socials in the evening -- and they don't skimp on the ice cream! Incredible hiking and fishing available in the Leadville area, as well as 4-wheeling. We camped here in a 2000` .
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com