214825 User submitted reviews online!!
Brookville Mounds State Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (765) 647-2657
CGID5661

Brookville Mounds State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
388
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   10   9   10   10   10   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  no  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Very large state campground. It was not busy during May but it gave evidence that it can be very busy with boats and multiple vehicles during the warmer months. Restrooms and showers are older and well used. While they are kept relatively clean, they are not in very good condition and could be updated. One wonders how they must be during a busy time. We stayed in the one loop of full hookup sites. While the parking spot is paved, the living area is not and shows signs of heavy use. During our stay it was wet and the living area was always flooded and/or muddy. We first stayed here 35 years ago and the trees have grown up nicely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$26
Our first time at the Brookville Lake area. There are three state-park campgrounds around the lake and we chose Mounds SRA. The park is beautiful, the beach is very large and very clean. There are multiple areas to fish from the bank, boat rentals, and lots of trails through the park. The campground is very large, but only a one area with full hook-ups. The rest are electric only. Our site was in a high-traffic area, but the place quieted down pretty nice after about 11:30. Lots of kids and families and lots of activity through the park. Great camp store, too! We love the park and will definitely be back. The only thing that is poor is the quality/age/condition of the shower house. It's pretty well worn down and could use a remodel or a rebuild. The staff tries to clean it, but the chipping paint, old fixtures, and broken shower doors are not 'cleanable'. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$23
We camp here about once a month in the full hook-up "C" loop. Each site is large enough that we have our trailer, a screen tent, our bass boat and 2 vehicles. Each site also includes a picnic table and fire ring. Almost every site in the "C" loop has at least one tree. This campground is well maintained and very clean. There is also access to a camp store, a beach and boat ramp within this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Beautiful state park. Very family friendly and many people camped in tents. Only a third of the sites have full hookup but others have 50 amp power. The weather was hot and humid but the lake supplied a refreshing change. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
The camp sites are the largest sites we've ever seen (and we've camped in quite a few states over the years). There were several large trees for shade but did not hamper anyone's ability to back into the sites. The sites are on a large 'loop' and the inside of the loop is all nicely mowed for a big open area. We were right across from the 'host' site and they were very friendly. The entire campground was very clean and very well maintained. We would highly recommend this campground and intend to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
We loved this State Park. The sites are large and spread out so you aren't camping on top of each other. This was camping with full hook-ups. Nice alternative to RV parks. The full hook-up area did get busy over the weekend but never full. On Sunday afternoon you could watch the tail lights leaving the park and during the week there were only 5 or 6 RV's in the full hook-up area. The park is clean, pretty, and helpful, friendly staff. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
We stayed here for five nights, beginning on a Saturday. It was fairly crowded Saturday evening but with the large sites, it was quiet enough. The sites are indeed quite large. We had room for our 25 foot trailer plus a large tent, plus the provided picnic table, plus all our other gear. The campground was impeccably clean. Staff was very nice. The beach was a short drive away, but what a beach! One of the nicest we've seen at a lake. The only negative thing I can say is that there were more trees needed at the beach. Other than that, everything was wonderful. Don't miss the fishing area with dock before you get to the beach. Wild cranes and other birds can be seen, and it's quite serene. We will definitely be back. This was one of our best camping trips ever!! Oh, and don't miss nearby Metamora. It's like stepping back in time. One thing to remember about visiting Metamora, it's best to go there Wednesday thru Sunday. The town has few open shops on Monday and Tuesday because the canal boat does not run. You are also just an hour away from two different casinos, so if the camping life gets boring, you can go there! This is a great area and so beautiful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$26
This is one of the best campgrounds in the state. The beach and campground was well maintained and the staff was friendly. The sites are large and most sites have decent shade. The design of the smaller loops creates a quiet setting even though this is a larger campground. We are planning our next trip to this campground already. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
We were very pleased with this park. It is well maintained and the check in people were friendly! Even though it was late in the season, we enjoyed the beautiful surroundings. There is a nice beach, although it was closed for the year. Our full hook up site was shaded. There is good fishing in the area and marinas where you can rent boats. The camp store was not well stocked, but there are several grocery stores and restaurants in the towns nearby. We will stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
We loved this campground! We had never stayed there before but we will definitely go back! The majority of the sites were excellent! We stayed on site # C56 in the full hookup section. We felt this was the best of course! The park was clean, attractive and had well placed trees to give you just the right amount of shade at each site. The sites were also huge. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$26
All lots were paved. Very clean restrooms. Great beach and boat dock. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
We stayed in the full hook up sites, which are very nice, most have good shade, and a lot of room. This is a nice campground, with lots of sites, it has a well stocked camp store, and a boat ramp for the campground only. There is also a very nice beach, which is not really inside the campground area, but it is inside the Mounds area. It is a little far to walk to from the campground, but is a very short drive. This is one of our favorite places to camp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$34
Excellent State Park camping experience. All sites spaced nicely with paved, mostly level, back-in spaces. The full hook-up section seems to have the most shade. Easy access to the lake with boat ramp for campers only and picnic area on the lake. Camp store, playground, and hiking trails. Price listed was for a full hook-up site on weekend rates. Prices lower on week days and for electric only sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com