220365 User submitted reviews online!!
Fossil Valley RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (435) 789-6450
CGID5668

Fossil Valley RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
50
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   10   7   9   8   8   8   8   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
Each person over 2 per site is charged an extra $2. We had to pay an extra $1 for cable TV. It's a Good Sam Park so we got a 10% discount. The park is on a busy 4-lane city street (a little noisy but not bad), however, once inside the park it is filled with large mature trees that shade all the sites and buffer a lot of the street noise. We stayed 2 nights. Grassy sites. A lot of people live permanently in this park. It has a trailer park feel. The manager was very nice and helpful. KMart is next door, as are dozens of other stores and restaurants. Wi-Fi was slow at peak hours. (6-9 pm) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$34
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Fossil Valley. We originally planned on staying 2 nights and changed it to a week instead. Blake is the friendliest, most attentive host you could find. The sites are well kept, each with soft grass and a large picnic table. There is a dumpster conveniently located as you drive out of the park. There is a new shopping area just a mile from the RV park that already has a Walmart & many other stores opening soon such as Ross & TJ Max. There is a Smith's Grocery across the street from the park and we saw many people walk or bike from the park to many local fast food restaurants. You could not find any place more convenient. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$33
Very crowded spaces, pay showers, gravel pads. Owner very helpful. In town with limited activities, excellent place for a stop over. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Best WiFi I've had and any RV park. 65 regular channels of TV and over 100 of digital. Every site has almost 100% shade. Very friendly office person. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$35
Very friendly host. Pull thru sites are gravel, level, easy to get in and out of with mature trees at every site. They are somewhat on the short side with my 37' RV and crew cab Chevy. I unhooked but couldn't pull very far forward. Site hookups are setup so 2 trailers can face each other if traveling together.They gave good directions to the campground over the phone but was still difficult finding the entrance while driving down busy Hwy 40. Pets are welcome but not many places to walk them. Plenty of stores close by. Quiet campground with many extended stay RV's. Not many amenities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$35
Very pleasant place to stay for a few days. Nice shaded, level, easy in/out sites. All utilities including WiFi worked well. Bathroom very clean. Folks at the office exceptionally helpful. US40 going by the front is quite busy which wasn't a problem because of noise but just getting out of the place was an exercise can be an exercise in patience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$34
Nice clean park, Wi-Fi was good and the cable was free at this time of year. Park owner was very friendly and gave us directions and things to see in the area. Although the park is in the middle of town, it was quiet and the traffic noise was minimal. Plenty of room and the sites were very easy to get into and out of, even while towing our Jeep. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$33
A really clean park with a jovial host full of information about the area. On the downside they charged for the showers and because it was downtown there was a lot of traffic noise and garbage trucks at 6am two days in a row. The WiFi was fine and proximity to shopping etc was great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Was only going to stay overnight. Park was so comfortable and owner so friendly we stayed 3 days. Utilities good and stable. Good Cable TV and a limited number of satellite friendly sites. Plus $1/day for cable for over 100 channels in analog and digital. Good, strong, fast reliable WI-FI. In town and close to local attractions including the National Fossil park. Really comfortable place for either a stay or overnight. Will stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$34
We stayed here 2 nights. The in-town location was convenient. It has shaded sites so we couldn't use our satellite; they had cable available for a nominal charge of $1 per day that we used instead. A lot of permanent trailers in the park. We would stay here again if it would only be a short stay, probably not for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$36
This is a small campground, but I was surprised it was easy to drive through the campground and park in a 41 foot motorhome with a toad. Sites are on gravel and shaded. This campground is in town with shopping and restaurants near by. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
Nice park, close to everything you would need shopping and food wise. Walk to almost everything. The permanent residents were in a loop to themselves so that contributed to the appeal of this park. Manager office was messy, but functional for him. Showers by the minute. Mostly grassy sites with plenty of shade. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
No security. All pull through. Easy access. Interior roads are barely adequate for navigation (big 5th wheels are challenged in the turns). Lots of "permanent residents" in RVs. Some are well maintained, some trashy and abandoned looking. Park is run like KOA (Keep On Adding). I told owner/manager we wanted only 50 amp and water, no sewer or dumping. He charged us for full 50 amp service, higher than his published price for 50 amp and water, and then he tacked on another dollar "for using air conditioning" (??? we were already paying for 50amps... what gives ???). We avoid the Salt Lake City traffic when going north/south but, in the future, simply avoid stopping in Vernal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
This is a nice little park with lots of grass and shade. The attitudes are laid back, they let you pick out your site and there's no long list of rules. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
In town; do hear traffic noise, but less farther back in the park. Small pull thrus. Not big enough for our 25 ft HDT and 35 ft trailer. However owner had us park on another site for no extra charge. WiFi is excellent. Didn't even have to put out our outside WiFi antenna. Lots of channels of cable TV. Paved interior roads and gravel sites. Grass that gets watered a lot between the sites. Easy in, easy out with our truck and trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$31
Small older park but nice pull throughs, convenient in-town, owner was helpful and friendly . Gravel pads but level, grass strips in between. All utilities worked fine. Stayed overnight but Would stay again . We rely on Wi-Fi extensively in our travels and are generally very disappointed in the service provided.. This park has 4 routers and antennas for the 50 sites, log-on is very simple, We got 3.5-4 Mbs download consistently. I'd rate the Wi-Fi here at a 9 out of 10. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
Friendly staff. Gravel but level site. Close to town so if you need anything. The permanent residents were fine. We would stay here again when in the area even though a bit noisy so close to Hwy 50. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$31
RV park is located in the city next to all you need. Walmart, places to eat, auto parts store, etc. The RV park has lots of trees which gave the place a nice feel. The park is 80 percent permanent residents but they were all nice and the place is not a mess. Check-in was easy and the staff was pleasant. We used the park as a place to stay while seeing the tourist sites. The park is small and there was lots of morning noise while people went to work. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
This park is right in town and an easy walk to a grocery store or fast food type places. It's also very shaded. Beautiful large trees between most sites. Great in the heat but not too great if you want to use a satellite. Cable is $2. Friendly folks own and run the park and it's perfectly located for dinosaur and Indian petroglyph exploring. There are a number of oil field workers that stay here so be ready for the 6am diesel start-ups. We stayed here 3 nights and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Not bad for a quick stay. 3/4 of the park are full time residents, but they weren't too trashy. The host keeps the transient campers together, so you probably won't see any of the permanents. Very shady and cable is great. WiFi is wishy washy and we could only connect to one of the 5 hotspots for some reason. One of the other reviews was right, the host is protective of his grass. Don't set up anything on it or you'll get a knock on your door. We'd stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Very shady campground located in the middle of Vernal. It is located on a busy street, but we didn't notice any noise since the sites a a few hundred yards off the street and behind buildings. The manager was very nice, but the sites are packed together. It is a mix between long and short term residents. The price was right. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$31
If great Wi-Fi and cable TV are important to you, this is a fabulous place. The cable even had an HBO station and every cable channel you'd normally run across. It is very shady. It is located fairly close to the main highway through town, but with the air conditioner running, it did not keep us from sleeping well. Also, there is a hair salon on the opposite side of the building which has reasonable prices. We all got hair cuts, and after two months on the road, we needed them!!! We will definitely stay here any time we are in the area. Best Wi-Fi and cable TV we have encountered! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
The park was clean and well maintained. If you want close to the showers pick a spot towards the front. If you want quiet, then pick a place towards the back. It is on the main street in town and has quite a bit of road noise. There is lots of shade. The showers are a quarter for a minute and a half. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
The sites are long enough to handle big rigs and are wide enough for slides. The parking pad is on dirt and they have sprinklers for the sparse grass. This makes mud each morning that gets tracked into the rig. There is a table at each site. Lots of shade trees so satellite service is not available. They have cable TV with many more channels available than you usually find. The Wi-Fi worked fine. There are a lot of permanent sites and only a few overnighters. The manager is not on the site during the day. He comes by in the morning and evening and that's it. The park is right in town but is quiet. It is close to lots of businesses such as restaurants. It is okay for overnight but next time we might look elsewhere because of the satellite issue and the mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Nice, well intended, owners. Major problem was with 30 amp service. Line voltage constantly fell below 108v thus tripping my AC breaker. Owner came by and said he'd report it to the power company. But our AC never stayed on for more than ten minutes and the weather was in the high 90's. Also, the showers are on a timer for 1.5 minutes $.25 per increment. Their marketing material indicates a playground, but there isn't one. On the positive side, it is walking distance to good shopping and dining. Many long term residents but clean and quiet. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$31
Good park in town, close to shopping, restaurants, etc. Roads are paved, sites are gravel with grass between. A little tight to get around in. Many large shade trees. Some road noise. Many permanents, but sites are clean. Power, water, and cell (AT&T) were good. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Very close to many stores. Close to a multiple large RV bay car wash. Owner very cordial. Park has many well-kept long term residents. Large Pull-through with high trees & picnic tables. Hair Salon in Front that gives great cuts for $15! Laundry Facility as well. Definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$31
Lots of tall mature trees with good grass between sites. Many permanent campers, some noise at night. Very poor Wi-Fi. Not pet friendly - no dog run. Campground is located in town convenient to restaurants and shopping. Would stay again when passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
This was a small RV campground. Was able to take pet to large open field next to campground to exercise. The owner was not friendly. Was setting up my satellite in grass next to RV and he kept telling me in different ways that he didn't want it in the yard. I moved it in front of the RV in the gravel to shut him up. That was the only interface I had with him after checking in. Don't think there is anything else in Vernal but would check before I would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
This RV park is located right off the main road in Vernal, making it easy to get to anything in the area. The cable TV and Wi-Fi worked flawlessly. Lots of huge shade trees and grass in between sites. The only negative was that the park has a high percentage of "permanent" residents and at least 60% of the RV's were derelict, taking away from the park's overall allure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$30
This is a terrific place to stay if you are in the Vernal area. The staff is friendly, helpful, and willing to assist with any questions. Restrooms are very clean and showers are excellent. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
We liked this park. Stayed a week and got one day free. Cable is an extra $1.50 per day. Wi-Fi reception is good near the front of the park but we lost our connection numerous times during the week. The owner's son was on site frequently and very nice and helpful. We never talked with the owner himself. The sites are not large but we had enough room for our 35' 5th wheel. Very convenient location for all activities in the area. The front of the park is much more visually appealing than the back. If you stay request a site there. There were too many trees to use our rooftop satellite dish. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$30
The park was surprisingly quiet in spite of being on the highway right in town. Level, gravel pull-through sites were easy to access. There are trees and grass at each site but no tables. Utilities, including Wi-Fi were reliable. We spoke to the host before arrival and were advised to choose a site and set up; that he would find us later in the day for paperwork. This worked smoothly and cordially. The rate reflects a Good Sam discount and an extra charge for cable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Nice place to stay for a couple of days and visit Flaming Gorge or Dinosaur Monument. Had a pull through site, my 34 ft 5er fit OK, but not much room to park the truck. Had to angle it and it ended up on the grass. WiFi worked great, cable TV hook up costs $1.50 but you get a lot of channels. Trees and shade were nice. Owner is rarely on site, you set up camp and check in whenever he gets there, usually in the evening. There is a gas station next door for ice, and a food store across the street. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Our stay at this park was so pleasant that we stayed a whole week. The weather was very hot and the shade provided by big mature trees was much appreciated. The campground is at walking distance to grocery, pharmacy and restaurants. As we were in 3rd row from the busy main road so it did not disturb us. We would surely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$27
Park appears to have a significant number of permanent residents which would explain the owners casual approach to park management. Sites are grass and gravel and appear to be level. Our site required no leveling at all. There are mature shade trees and they are spaced so as not to make entry and exit a problem. I was surprised that there was an additional charge for cable TV. This is a service typically provided as a function of nightly rate. Our cable service was less than satisfactory with the national feeds. The owner indicated the problem was with the provider, yet the non major channels were just fine. The WiFi was free, but tended to disconnect frequently. You should select a site close to the office for best signal. The park was next to the main route through town but noise was not a problem. The park is a good stop for the price. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
We enjoyed our stay at this park. The owner is pretty laid back and there is often no one on-site. Most of the time, site selection is self serve, first come first served. We had a nicely shaded spot. Satellite reception was a little tricky due to the tall trees. Cable is available for a small charge. There is a lot of traffic on US 40/191 through Vernal, but we did not notice it at night. The campground is close to downtown with restaurants, a Smith's market and other businesses within walking distance. The Maverick station next door seemed to have the lowest diesel price in the area. This was a convenient location for visiting Dinosaur National Monument and the Utah Field House Museum. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$25
I was in space 16 on the South End and there was no Wi-Fi signal there. Verizon 3G works great here however so it wasn't an issue. The large Aspen and Cottonwood trees offer great shade but they obstruct the roof-mounted dish. Cable TV is included with 1 HBO channel so it wasn't a real problem. It's a nice, well groomed and quiet place to stay. Also, there is a hair dresser shop on the property and it's a great place to get a decent men's haircut. Don't know about women's cuts? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$26
Very laid back park: just come in and pick your spot. We had some issues with leveling. Cable TV worked fine, Wi-Fi signal was weak as we were at the far end from the office. Nice big trees for shade. Works great for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$28
This park turned out just fine for us with our 45’ motorhome. The entrance, while a bit hard to spot, was easy to turn into and had no real grade to deal with. The in-town location was quite convenient and the city noise level was OK. Far from manicured, the park was still neat and clean. Access to the site was good and the wide spaced, mature trees were no problem with our four slides. Shade from the trees was welcome on the hot days we were there, but they didn’t block satellite reception. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
Pleasant campground. As noted, most of units are permanent, but not a problem. We had Verizon, so don't know about the WiFi. Cable was good. Level sites; big shade trees. I would recommend. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$29
The owner of this park is pretty casual and did his best to be sure we enjoyed our stay. The Wi-FI is spotty away from the office and the trees, while beautiful, will play havoc with your satellite but the cable is good. The sites have been angled in the past few years and it makes parking much easier. We had no problem getting in or out of the driveway so don't know what the past reviewer had as a problem. About 2/3s of the park is full time but we had no problem with any of them. We rated it down due to maintainence and Wi-Fi. Both could be easily remedied. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2006
$26
This is right in the middle of town, steep driveway, we dragged our bumper going in and out. We were only seven spots away from the office but could only get WiFi for a few minutes in the morning before we checked out. The manager told us most people come down to the laundry room to use the WiFi. The showers are pay showers, .25 for 3 minutes, and the laundry was $1.50 for a washer and $1.50 for a dryer. The Maverick gas station next door has good coffee though. There is a grocery store right across the street. We like to camp, not just park. This is definitely just a parking lot with trees and hookups. They charged us a dollar a night more than the price on their web site, and they charge for AC or Heater use. Children are welcome but they will cost you per head. This is one of those nickel and dime places that knows they are the only show in town so can add on all sorts of charges. We won't stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com