220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Checkers Welcome Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 56 user reviews. Phone: (507) 728-8811
CGID5669

Checkers Welcome Campground

Camp Information
Sites
44
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   7   8   8   10   6   10   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$16
We found this to be an adequate bare-bones park for an overnight stay that was very reasonably priced. We had a very long and level pull-through. Friendly staff. Large open field for our dog. Free Wi-Fi was strong and fast enough. Easy access from I-90. Recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$16
Rate is Passport America. What a little gem this is if you like small quiet parks. We stopped here just for an overnighter. There isn’t much else around so we didn’t even unhitch. The manager was very welcoming and took us personally to our site which was a long and wide, level pull-through with a shade tree that didn’t interfere with our slides, grass and a nice picnic table and fire ring. We had our choice of 30 or 50 amp and the water pressure was perfect. The Wi-Fi worked just fine. It was so quiet and peaceful there with big trees and lots of grass. There was even an area in the back where I was able to let my dog run off leash a bit. I would definitely return. This park is a favorite! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Very convenient to interstate. Nice shaded sites and park is well maintained. Great, helpful staff. Bathrooms need renovation. With Passport America you can't do better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Passport America rate. Stopped here for an overnight that turned into two nights because of bad weather. I almost didn't stop here because the 2013 Good Sam rating was low. Bathrooms/showers are dated but clean. This park under new ownership and they have done a fine job of updating and upgrading the campground. It's easy on/off I-90 but no traffic noise. Sites are level. Owners are friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi is good/fast. I'd stay her again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$15
Passport America made it worthwhile. Nice campground, very nice people running it. Would stay again. Strong Wi-Fi at our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$17
We stayed here overnight passing through the area. Clean, small park, friendly staff, we had long pull thru site w/50amp, roomy sites. We would stay here again in in area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
This could be a great little campground with a little TLC. It is easy on/off I-90 with little traffic noise. There are pull-through and back in sites available although there are issues with trees hanging too low at some of the sites. A little tree trimming would be beneficial. Sites were level and the utilities were adequate. Verizon cell and internet worked well (did not use their WiFi) and we were able to use our rooftop satellite. There are some long term campers. All in all this is good for an overnight stop. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
Easy access to I-90; good electricity & water pressure; nice, level, shady sites; relaxing atmosphere; friendly people; definitely would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
This is a great place to stay for a few nights to relax (there isn't anything in the general area). The sites are long and wide and most have very nice mature trees. The park is very basic. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
A nice family owned park.....most sites were pull through and about 90 feet long....perfect for our 62', plus car when outside the trailer. Grass in between sites, and if you have them, room for your slides. Plenty of shade without interfering with the satellite signal. We spent 2 nights here on our way to Sioux Falls, SD....easy off/on from Interstate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$18
We needed a nice quiet park for a few days rest and this place was perfect. I would have given it a 10 if the WiFi had worked better. The rate reflects PA discount. Will stay again We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$17
Rate is for Passport America. Long, gravel shady sites. Easy access off I-90. Not a lot of amenities but that's not what we were looking for. We were just looking for a safe, overnight spot. Lady in the office was friendly and we were escorted to our site. We would choose to stay here again on our way out west. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$26
Very happy with this location. Perfect park to stay at on way to South Dakota. Lots of shade, nice, big, level sites. Owners are very helpful and friendly too! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
This is a small, friendly, level, grassy, reasonably priced campground located right off route 90 surrounded by corn fields. There is good shade from mature trees. Welcome is a small, cute little town in walking distance of the RV park without a lot of shopping. About 8 miles east, the town of Fairmont offers a Wal-Mart, grocery store, liquor store, health club, mini-mall and pretty much any other product or service one might need. The spaces are wide and views of thecorn fields are pleasant. While we can see route 90, highway noise is not a problem. There is a train but the train whistle did not blow during the night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This is a great park. The sites are really wide; no problem putting out slides or awnings and they are grassy, not gravel which is much cooler. Great shade trees which along with the grass make for a very pretty park. Owners very friendly and helpful. Also, the park is nice and quiet. Another camper made a comment about migrant farm workers. We were here at the same time as that motorhome. Just to clear things up they are a large painting company that travel the midwest every year painting barns, fencing and houses. They are well known and eagerly awaited every year. Their sites were very neat, tidy, and they did not create any disturbance. They were in nice 5th wheels. I do not know why the previous poster had a problem with them. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$27
Site size OK. Seemed to be the home to transient farm workers. Not clean with garbage strewn about. Need a code to get into the bathrooms which were located in the back of a run down office building. I was refused the Passport America rate as the gal did not know how to issue a credit. My card had already been charged. They did honor the Good Sam's discount. We will not return to this campground in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Stopped here on our way to the Winnebago GNR in Forrest City, Iowa to do laundry, fill up water, dump tanks, shower, etc. Used our Passport America discount. First off, the owner is terrific. You pay her directly for the laundry: $1.50 each for washer & dryer. She told me of a great product for traveling: Purex 3 in 1. The only negative was the ladies room could use a little updating: fresh paint would be nice. Also turn up the water heater: it was very cool but once you're in the shower it's too late! I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
Agree with immediately previous reviewer. Our site was a long, fairly level, pull-through, shaded, but one end clear for good satellite reception. Very good 3G Verizon voice and data. Diesel available one exit west. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Majority of time you will be in shade. Nice little RV and food supply in office. LPG on-site. Uber-friendly folks. Quite a few traveling spray painters, all rigs nice condition and sites well kept, kids well behaved. Restrooms average. Utilities all worked good, Wi-Fi solid from inside the rig. Easy access I-90. Nice 1 mile walk to town of 686. Solid choice for overnight stay. Rate shown is PA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
This is a clean little park close to I-90, but quiet. The owners were very welcoming. We just spent one night while traveling west. The site was level enough that we didn't need to unhitch. The bathhouse was tidy, Wi-Fi signal and AT&T reception were strong, and there were full hook ups at every site. Although this isn't what you might think of as destination camping, it was a very nice park. We would stay here again. The price we paid reflects Passport America discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$14
Fabulous, helpful, friendly owners and staff, this park bends over backward to make you feel right at home. They are flexible and fun, full of information about the area and events. The baths are cleaned daily, the spaces are kept neat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$16
Small campground with easy access from highway 90. Good place for a stopover while passing through. PA rate mid week. Only a few sites for big rigs due to low hanging trees. We had site #21 and it was fine. Will stay here again in our motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$27
We stayed for one night while driving cross country. The campground is very convenient from the highway, quiet and clean, with level sites. Owner is very helpful and accommodating. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2012
$19
Rate reflects 1 week at $135.74. Nice rural farming area and we were the only campers all week. Elderly couple had just opened back up after the winter. The office and facilities are pretty cluttered and I'm sure they will get around to getting everything in order in time. Gravel sites are pretty level and lots of grass everywhere. All hookups were good and owners were friendly. Visit the Jolly Green Giant in Blue Earth while there. Good antenna TV. Verizon phones and Wi-Fi worked good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$15
This was a good find. Owners very nice. We were the only ones camping here because they were just opened a few weeks. We paid $15 nightly for three nights as they are a Passport America campground. Would recommend this park to people traveling through Minnesota on I-90, Exit 93, 1/4 mile south. Did not experience any interstate noise at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$10
Nice little park. Good place to pull off for the night. Nice size shady sites. Campground well kept (office, not so much). Great Wi-Fi, good Sprint service, some TV stations came in on antenna; good enough for one night. Level enough that we didn't unhook. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$16
This is a nice little park with easy access to the interstate. It is gravel roads and parking spaces with a little grass in between. There are trees that make it a little challenge to aim a satellite dish. The staff was very helpful and helped us find a site where we could use our satellite dish. The water, sewer, and electric were fine. The Passport America rate was $16. We would stay there again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
Checkers Welcome RV is owned and operation by a friendly, older couple who live on site. The interior roads and pads are gravel. The park has mature trees. If you have a big rig, you might request one of the open sites to avoid branches. The park entrance could use some tidying up. There might have been several long-term seasonal residents. If so, their rigs were neat, and they did not detract from the overall appearance of the park. The park has Wi-Fi but no cable. The major networks were available with an antenna. It is a Passport America park. This is a basic park at a very reasonable rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$15
Very nice park with very friendly and helpful owners. Nightly rate reflects Passport America rate. We had asked for a site that was a 50a, FHU site that we could use our satellite dish on the roof and this park delivered on all accounts. We have been promised dish usability only to find a tree and an attendant in the office that we swear has never set foot in the park. Gravel roads and gravel sites with lots of trees but the owner knew exactly where to place us. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$16
We got propane here as we were coming in. The price per night in the park reflects the Passport America discount. The owners are real nice here and led us to our spot and assisted us in parking. The utilities are adequate. They put us in a pull through that allowed us to access DirecTV. We have no problem with seasonal RVers living in the park; they seemed real nice. They keep some pull throughs open for people who only stay from 1-3 nights. You can leave your toad attached if you wish. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$16
Park was cluttered with various junk and long-stay residents. Though they had Wi-Fi, it was unusable in the coach. Even though we paid for 2 nights, we left after one night. Would not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$2
A well-maintained campground with good tree cover on most sites. About 20% of the sites were occupied by seasonal or long-term campers. Staff were friendly and helpful and willing to accommodate our request for an unusually late arrival, even selecting a site away from other occupied ones to make it easy for us to avoid bothering anyone early to bed. The roads are narrow enough and the turns tight enough that the largest rigs will have to be maneuvered with skill to park. About 1/3 of the sites are pull-through. Unusually deep stock of RV supplies at the office for a campground of this size. Propane for sale on site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Near freeway but noise is not an issue. Very friendly lady runs the place. Sites are level, a little narrow and well shaded. Rest rooms and laundry are for emergency use only. Good for an overnighter. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Clean park: excellent for overnight stay while traveling I-90. Gravel roads with mowed grass sites. Close to freeway yet far enough to avoid freeway noise. Not well suited for extended stay. Reasonably priced LPG. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$13
We have been on the road for 4 months. This park is positively the best value we have seen. Pull-throughs are pretty, long, wide, and shady. Very convenient to interstate but very quiet. Owners are friendly and helpful. WiFi is adequate. TV by antenna is minimal. No amenities but a great place to rest. Rate is Camp Club. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
I graded this CG an 8 but in the value department it's a 10. It is easy access from I-90. I'm in a large pull through with 50 amp, water and sewer. The rate I indicated is the Passport America rate. This is one of the better Passport parks we've stayed in. Don't miss this one if traveling on I-90 through Minnesota. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$12
Nice park on the way to Austin, Minnesota. PA discount. Has a book exchange. Showers were just OK. Friendly staff. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
This campground is nothing special. However, this is an ok spot to stop overnight. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Nice little town for a short layover. CG had nice level full hookup sites, good value with Passport America. Verizon cell was strong, but slow broadband due to lack of an EVDO signal. The CG WiFi was very good. TV via batwing was ok. Per earlier reviews the office and laundry are a bit messy and cluttered. Stop at Korte's Bar & Grill on CR 26. Very nice, clean, good food and happy hour 4 - 6. Monday's was $1 burger special. Rose Lake Golf Club in Fairmont was a very nice scenic 18-hole layout. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$13
This was a one night stop-over and for that it is OK. This park (?) has no office, only a small portable building that is not staffed. The sites are laid out in a semi-circle with a building in the middle that is home to a Popcorn Ball company. The owner came by about 8:30 PM to see if we came in and she was very friendly and explained that her and her husband owned a truck repair shop next door and they worked there during the day. Road had deep ruts and mud from recent rains. Rate was for Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
Messy office, messy laundry, owner not friendly, high price for bad firewood. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
We met up here with two other people for a mini-rally with our Bigfoot RVs. The sites are nicely spaced, and many of them have nice shade for part of the day. There is a mix of pull-through and back in sites. The sites are level and have full hookups. Our cost represents the Passport America discounted rate, freely granted. The park is very quiet and peaceful and although there are many transient visitors, there is no problem with noise. We would definitely stay here again, no question. This is a very nice campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$14
Nice park to stop at for a night or two. They charged an extra $1 for our older son, but we were already getting the Passport America rate, it didn't matter much. There are fireflies at the park which was a neat treat for us. The kids also enjoyed the playground and they have a game room. Sites were level and every space had a picnic table and fire ring. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$12
Great campground, well off the freeway. Plenty of grass and shade trees and pull-thrus which easily accommodated our 41' rig and 14' trailer. Full service hooks-ups and levels sites. The town of Welcome has little more than a gas station and bar and grille for services. There are train tracks just across the road but not much traffic. However, there is a small switching yard at that location, so when trains do come in, they are there for several minutes: blowing their horns as they go back and forth. Regardless, we extended our stay here and would definitely use this campground again. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$17
Rate reflects C to C "Good Neighbor" rate. A very nice little park. Friendly and helpful owners who guided us into the site, clean and well kept. Far enough off the hiway to avoid most hiway noise, some noise from the street/hiway it is on, but never bothered us. The town of Welcome is well worth a drive through. Lots of area to walk a dog. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$13
Yes, the office is a mess...but we don't stay in the office. The campground itself is excellent. Long, level, pull through sites, good water pressure, reliable electrical service...what more do you need? Verizon cell phone and broadband AirCard service was very strong. The owner was very helpful and directed me to the site. He even helped me hook up! There was a flea market going on at the CG that day and I found some really good stuff! The rate shown is for Passport America and even though the directory says that it is not valid on weekends, the owner gave me the site on a Saturday at the PA rate with no reservation. This is a great place to overnight right off of I-90. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$23
Agree with the comment about the extremely messy office. However, park was very nice. Nice grass and trees. Level spot. They only took cash or check. My rate was with Escapees discount. Wi-Fi worked very well. I only got 2 TV stations. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$15
Great place for an overnight. Just far enough from the interstate to be quiet. Easy in and out. Friendly helpful owners. Will stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$12
We camped here as this is a Passport America campground and it was wonderful. The lady in the office was very friendly and she sold home made cook books and greeting cards. She went out of her way to ensure we knew all the local attractions (definitely visit the Corn Palace!). The campground has lots of grass and trees and is very pretty. There is a shop just down the road: a lovely walk past corn fields. The internet worked well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2008
$12
When we walked into the filthy, messy office, we nearly turned around and walked out again. This park shows much wear and tear and very little maintenance and care. We did stay 2 nights, but mostly because it's convenient and cheap. Most of the sites appear to be occupied by permanent residents and are unsightly, to say the least. There isn't much good to say about the place, except that the Wi-Fi works. We wouldn't use the laundry because of the filthy appearance. The owner sits in front of the office, smoking, almost all day. We won't stay here again. The nearest grocery and other facilities are in Fairmont, about 9 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$25
A nice little park with good power and water pressure in large sites. Really nice people who own and run the park. Convenient stop just off I-90. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
This was a very nice park with extremely friendly, helpful owners. We used the park only as an overnight stay, but definitely would stay again if we were in the area. We camped here using a Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$13
Used CG as overnight stop. Large sites with full hookups. Was PA participating CG. Hence the low price. Management was friendly. They don't take credit cards but you can't beat the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$12
Owners are wonderful; they escort you to your site and check back later to insure all is well. They provided maps of the area, including good fishing places. Great place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$12
Nice park, level sites, lots of grass. Park needs some clean up, lots of area workers staying at this time, nice family running park. We stayed here on Passport America for 2 nights. If traveling through again we would probably stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
This campground is small, but was a hidden treasure. We pulled in late at night, after having some trouble that put us behind a few hours. It was raining, and as we stood in the rain, at 2:00 in the morning, trying to read the late check in instructions, the Manager/Host came out from her trailer, and escorted us back to a level spot. She said to sleep in, as it was late, and then to come in when we woke up, when it was light and dry to register and pay. We didn't even have to put any boards down, we were completely level. We paid $18 for water and electric, and would have paid $2 more if we needed sewer. Although they did not advertise WiFi, when we turned on the computer, we had a very strong signal. The place was not fancy, but the restrooms were clean, and the people were great. Sometimes that's enough! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com