219099 User submitted reviews online!!
Limon KOA was rated 7 out of 10 based on 60 user reviews. Phone: (719) 775-2151
CGID567

Limon KOA

Camp Information
Sites
64
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   6   9   8   9   7   5   7   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Nice park, staff was friendly and helpful. Everything was clean and well maintained. Good pizza delivered right to your door. Price was with Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$43
The hosts seemed indifferent to our choosing to stay at their KOA. Sites were level enough to where we did not have to unhook. Electric power was marginal according to our meter, but water pressure was quite high. Use your water regulator here. We might have stayed elsewhere, but there isn't much else close by. We'll probably come back next time through as it is good enough for overnight. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Good TV and WiFi. We stayed here after MH broke down with bad turbo - which was replaced by a local diesel shop - superb written in RV Service reviews. Owners and staff of KOA were pleasant, helpful and overall great folks. Pull thru allowed Direct TV and early am escape to get on our way after 2 days of MH repair. We would stay here again. Level gravel sites and well placed garbage receptacles. Thin crusted pizza by staff was excellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$39
Very surprised how quiet it was being so close to highway. Level sights. Friendly staff. Great WI-FI. It was a nice overnight spot. We would definitely stay here again. BTW - Yes - I am rating a KOA with an 8. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$34
Nice owners and campground. Gravel/sand sites, but they are good size and fairly level. Nice pool, laundry, and bathrooms. Had the pizza and wings from the campground delivered to site and they were good. Great place to stop and rest. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$41
We couldn't find anything near or around Denver so we stopped here early. Very nice owner. Typical dirt and gravel sites for the area and windy. The area approaching the campground is very disheveled; but once inside the gates, it's fine. A local restaurant, Ruby's was good and the museum was interesting. That's what's great about RVing: each town has its own character and there's something interesting about each one. WiFi marginal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$45
Typical KOA. Nice folks own it, but you wouldn't want to stay more than a day/night. Too many old and broken down full time rigs... don't even want to walk by them. Stop and go...too expensive for what you get. No dog park and little to no shade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
This campground is right off I70, so there is some traffic noise. Convenience does come at a price! Sites are all gravel/dirt but pretty level. Thank goodness it didn't rain. But that's the desert climate. Our fifth wheel & truck fit nicely into the pull through spot without unhooking for the night. The roads were easy to maneuver in. There was a tiny bit of grass and a good size tree on our site for some shade. Nice pool. Nice people. Very accommodating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Seemed a bit pricey, but it is the only game in town. Hook-ups all worked well. Gravel site was quite level and the pizza delivery was a welcome touch after having a long day of engine troubles. Very windy location, difficult to keep the water heater going. Laundry was open 24/7. Quiet spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$39
Easy access off I-70 in a high desert environment. Friendly staff, easy check in. Hard pack gravel roads with gravel sites. Not much shade and although the weather was dry and calm during our stay , rain could make it muddy and wind could stir up the dust. Long sites with average room between sites. Electric, water and TV conveniently located and worked properly. Sewer is at the “rear” of the site and can be a long connect depending on your sewer location. Mine is towards the front thus it was a long run to the sewer connection. A minor inconvenience. Showers and restroom small but clean and a little old. Good overnight spot and would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$21
Nice campground, long sites, and some shade trees. Convenient to I-70. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$52
This Limon KOA was okay. Not my favorite, but the staff was nice. Lots are level. The whole area is gravel. There is not really a good playground for kids. We stayed one night as we passed through. It was a good place to stay one night, but I would not have stayed long term. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$38
Easy in and out, dusty gravel sites. Basic high plains, older campground. OK for one night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Dusty, rough access lanes. Sites not quite level due to poor maintenance. So-so Wi-Fi. Except for one very nice lady (perhaps an owner) the staff looks and acts like they really would rather be someplace else. I didn't try the pool, but it got a lot of happy activity, so I'll assume that it's well-maintained. This is mostly an OK overnight stop, but not much more than that. I'd stay here again if I needed to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$36
Still an ok stop even if pricey. But its a KOA so that's to be expected. Staff is better than ok, Wi-Fi might be worse if there were more users than the few they had the night we stayed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Had it not been so late when we arrived, we would have continued on. The area outside the park is run down, and we did not feel safe walking around in the evening. The park itself is just a lot with dusty gravel sites. We would not stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
We have stayed at this park on two occasions and found it to be a very nice place to spend the night. Our sites have always been large enough to pull in and not have to unhook. Electric, water, and cable all up to standard with good wifi. We will probably stay here in the future as we will be making yearly trips to Colorado. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$33
Good for overnight if traveling on Hwy. 71. Very dusty. Wi-Fi iffy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
I arrived after dark in a new RV that I had only set up one time prior to my arrival at this KOA. Their signage is lacking on the main road as I went whizzing right past it. Once there, the people were very pleasant to talk to. The campground was clean but there was no escort to the site which left me a bit nervous especially setting up in the dark. Sites were level and well maintained. Tree overhead was nice. I got an easy in/out pull through. There were designated areas for trash. I only stayed one night as I was on a road trip back to Florida. I would use this campground again if the opportunity presented itself. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
There is a saying that KOA really means "Keep On A going." If you have any real choice do so. Unfortunately if you are tired and need to stop and you are in Limon, KOA is the only choice. Site is level, power is good and water pressure is low at 30 psi. The real issue is the lack of grounds maintenance. The pool is empty and looks to have been for awhile. The grass is either dead or dying and weeds galore. Pet walk? NOT. Frankly, the manager was not overly friendly and smelled like old cigarettes. He took the money, handed us a sheet with the spot marked and headed back to his trailer. It is just one of those places that has no curb appeal and even less effort to make your stay a good experience. I would have gone with a lower rating but since the sites level and the utilities are good. I don't care if we have to park at the Flying-J down the road, we will NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Although the camp sites could use some TLC, the restrooms, showers. laundry were very clean. Also, the personnel could not be more accommodating. We had an emergency and they were more than helpful, contacting a local veterinary clinic to stay after hours to help us. Great people at the Limon KOA. When in the area we will stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$37
Sites were gravel with dead grass between sites. Roads in park were full of potholes which caused my coach to rock back and forth severely. I don't think I would stay there again. Their rates were too high. For $40 I could stay in a motel down the street and use their sheets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
This was a so-so campground. The pool was very murky. It is right on I-70, and very noisy. We told one person working their about a maintenance safety issue, and he looked at us like we were crazy. I do not think we will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$44
This park has unpaved roads with large potholes and much standing water (it had rained earlier, but the drainage was obviously poor). Some of the sites were in standing water. Very few trees. The sewer was stopped up as I learned when draining black water tank. This created a real mess and the man on duty had to come auger it several times to open it. Also, we have never seen so many houseflies. In all, it was over-priced and was occupied by a number of workmen who had little regard for others as they yelled and laughed loudly early in the morning. Would never stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
A well kept, clean campground. Everything worked. Level. Don't expect a grassy site in this water sensitive area. A nice inexpensive pancake breakfast is provided onsite. A pleasant, some goofy, staff. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Small park in the middle of town. Nice pull throughs but lots of dirt being moved around by staff. Ok for an overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
Not an inspiring setting but convenient, relatively quiet, clean and comfortable. Great folks in the office. Yes, pizza is good. WiFi worked well for us. Didn't see too many long-term folks when we were here. On check in, they tell you they have high water pressure but if you've got a regulator/restrictor you'll do ok. Kind of pricey but with truck stops being the main option in the area for an overnight, what are you going to do? We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$32
Easy to get in and out of. Convenient to I-70, but some road noise. Wi-Fi was VERY slow. The cell service good. This is a very old KOA and could use some clean up/spiff up. The park itself looked a little "ragged," maybe id the term. Buildings and facilities were in good shape though and clean. Showers were a little lacking in water volume and pressure. LOTS of long termers working on wind farms nearby. Limon itself is a dirty little town with very little if anything to see. Slowly dying. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$37
Park offers Hunts Bros Pizza, and a very nice breakfast on site. The very pleasant attitude of all the staff was noteworthy. The sites were flat, gravel and level, and we didn't need to unhook to use the site. An out of the way campground, that is nice to stay at. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2010
$36
This was for us just a place to spend a night. The sites and roads are dirt and very close together. On the positive side, the people were friendly, the sites were level and the cable TV was excellent. They have HBO and Cinemax included. We would return for a night's stopover again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Gave them a higher score for the Hunts Bros Pizza they have, and the great breakfast! The very pleasant attitude of all the staff helped a lot! The sites were flat, gravel and level. An out of the way campground that is great to stay at! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$45
Same as other comments- this is an older KOA that needs work. Very pricey based on the quality of the product. Come to think about it, not much different than many KOA's We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
Not much to talk about. Dirt sites and pretty unkept. Very dusty. Did not have any trouble finding it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$41
The strength of this campground is the gameroom, where we played pool and video games. Also, we enjoyed the Pizza Hut, which was an easy walk from the campsite. The bathrooms were clean. The weakness of this campground would be the pool, which is dated and was not very clean. The staff was friendly, and check-in was quick. We would probably stay again for an overnight visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$38
An older KOA that has been maintained and upgraded. Offers all of the standard amenities plus pizza in the office and free coffee in the morning. Gravel interior roads and sites which are level. My only comment is that it is a bit pricey. It seems that all of the KOA's are at the high end of the rate scale, that's why we avoid them when we can. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
A little difficult to get into. Off of interstate but behind some other business. O.K. for overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$28
The road to the campground was quite dusty, but once we were parked we had no problem. The owner gave us an easy site to leave early in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
This was an emergency stop due to car trouble. Very accommodating and helpful on the phone with locating a repair garage who handled my problem without charge - George's Repair. It is comfortable and appears to be used a lot as a stopover on I-70. The pool was inviting and rabbits came out to inspect visitors. Some highway noise but the A/C drowned that out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
This is a nice little park to spend a day or two. The flying J mentioned in the previous review is now closed. There are severe nice sites for big rigs with slides. This is our second visit. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
A wide spot on the road between here and there for a few hours rest but this KOA has little more going for it. The access road from the city street is past a busy Flying J truck stop and very rutted. Once in the park there is nothing but a small pasture between you and I-70. Our site was level but just long enough for our 56" length. The park felt safe with no traffic once people were parked. The WiFi worked well and after a long day on the road a Pizza Hut just outside the gate saved us from cooking that night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
This KOA is located near the interstate and a truck stop, which provides plenty of noise at all times. The sites are narrow. My rig and another almost touched slides. Motor homes with towed vehicles will barely fit the length of most sites. The access road and sites are rutted dirt. There is no shade. Bathrooms were clean. Wi-Fi is free and signal good. There is a pool. Water pressure was 95 psi, which is 30% over the normal limit and can damage RV water lines. The staff, to their credit, notifies everyone of this issue at check-in. Take a pressure regulator if you stay here. Most KOAs are just average campgrounds. This one is below that standard and well overpriced. Other reviews listed deficiencies, but still rated it high. Don’t know how that could be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$60
The two room camping cabins was new and well maintained. The owners were very friendly. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$42
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$34
This KOA is gravel and we had a drive thru. There is a truck stop on the same road coming into the campground. It is a good overnighter. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$37
The sites are narrow but this is an adequate place to spend the night. The staff was friendly and courteous. There is a truck stop on one side and the interstate on the other side; however, noise was not excessive. Surfaces in the park were gravel and there was a light coat of dust on the vehicle the next morning. Trees were small, but this is an arid part of the world. We would stay overnight again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$29
The road to the park was a dirt road with a few washboard areas. The park is directly behind a truck stop, but the owners placed us in a space quite far away from the trucks so we didn't have to listen to the engines all night. The pet walk are is very narrow with quite high grass, but it isn't far from any spots. The spaces are typical KOA narrow and gravel, but they are fairly level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
Very friendly and accommodating. Convenient to highway but nice and quiet. They've made a very decent park in a drought-ridden area. Bathrooms clean and pleasant. Showers very nicely designed with plenty of hooks, shelf and bench. Most trees not large enough for a lot of shade. The dust seemed to be from traffic at the Flying J and not in the park, but you do have to drive through that area to reach the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2006
$34
In a word - dismal. Pee gravel sticks to you shoes and gets in everything. Expect to wash your car if towing. Very dusty. My pull thru on site 17 was not long enough for my 40' rig and car. Limon is a dismal, small town. The Flying J has only 4 pumps. I will never stay here again - especially at $34. This is a stop if you are desperate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$33
Great staff, very friendly. Very clean facilities, level sites great playground and pool for my granddaughter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$33
As previously stated, KOA's have a purpose in life that is normally for short term and over night stops. This KOA fits that bill well and the staff was very friendly. The parking lot for the Flying J on the other side of the fence does create a lot of dust during windy conditions. The roads and sites were not dirt, but were lightly gravel covered. The rate is with a KOA card. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2006
$35
We were just unhappy about them charging $35.00 for a few hour stopover. If they charge that during the off season I wonder how much they charge during the regular season? Or they just like to soak people all year long. But that is the KOA's! There sights were narrow and very noisy. There are much better choices! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$27
The Limon KOA is highly recommended. Owners were very friendly. Even though the campground was not "officially" open for the season, the owners greeted us and let us spend the night there. In fact, we were the only ones in the campground! The restrooms and showers were spotless, as was the rest of the campground. The owners filled our propane tank the next morning and we were on our way. A great campground for an overnight, as there isn't much to do in Limon. No reflection on the campground at all, but the Flying J (near the campground) is certainly NOT up to the standards of other Flying Js that we have seen across the country. The store was cramped, and the gas pumps are not big-rig friendly at all. We were a nervous wreck trying to negotiate the maze of cars and trucks as we worked our way to the gas pumps. As Flying Js go, the one in Limon was a dump! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2005
$31
Very friendly management, but this place is set on Dirt, and after a heavy rain it's miserable, then big ruts in the road and the entry road is behind a gas station which is also on a dirt road. Very dusty when dry. Sites are OK. Water pressure is extremely high and could blow out your system if you don't have a regulator. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2005
$30
Great overnight spot! Easy on and off for I-70. New owners very nice and eager to make your stay better. Pool didn't open until 1 PM, but they went ahead and let the kids swim after they cleaned. CG itself very well maintained, we'll be back next time we're in the area!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$31
We stayed here overnight while traveling to Denver and found the campground to have very nice owners and a clean restrooms. I would like to comment on the previous comment who got upset and complained about being charged for quote using campground for only a few hours. If he checked into a motel for just a few hours should he not pay, when he checked in to the campground that spot was his until posted check out time. He chose to leave after only a few hours We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2005
$25
Dirt sites and roads, some grass between sites. Good CATV, pool. Fairly good spacing between sites. Near highway, but not too noisy. OK for overnight stay. Wendy's nearby. Small town of Limon has a few restaurants, stores. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2005
$28
A young couple now owns the place, and are trying hard to please. They keep it clean & picked up. The laundry room was great. We agree there is nothing much in town! Right now construction along the Main Street causes some confusion. Is behind a Flying "J". We spent 3 days here due to a TV breakdown. Would overnight here any time! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2004
$25
Sites being renovated - Electrical improvements seen. Clean. Very friendly staff. Had a 'free all-you-could-eat' pancake breakfast - very well handled. Was noisy (right off the interstate and behind FlyingJ so got heavy truck noise from both sides) but tolerable. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2004
$28
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Nice place to stop on the way somewhere else. Not much in Limon to look at. Nice staff at the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com