218180 User submitted reviews online!!
Tawas Point State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 19 user reviews. Phone: (989) 362-5041
CGID5671

Tawas Point State Park

Camp Information
Sites
210
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$29



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   8   7   8   8   10   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Again had sites along the playground and volleyball court, all grass, level, with good power. The lake is up but plenty of beach both on the lake and bay side. Boardwalk to the pet beach is underwater at parts but that is not a problem. Dog wash area is provided for those that get into the dirt after swimming. New grill at the beach has many menu items with a DJ on Friday so entertainment is very nice. Staff and host were very helpful with firewood available and can be delivered to your site if requested. The city, East Tawas with it's stores and restaurants gives this place a small town feel with big town conveniences. While the park with 3 mile bike trail to town isolates you from any of the hustle. We will return next year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$22
This is a very busy campground, with most of the sites occupied. We had one campsite for 2 nights, and then moved to another campsite for the last night. Most of the campsites are level. They have electricity, but not water. You can get water either at the point where you enter or at the dump station. There are two beaches, one on the Tawas Bay side and one on the Lake Huron side. There is a pet beach for your dog. On site also is the Tawas Point lighthouse. This is a very family friendly site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$28
Beautiful state park on Tawas Bay. Sites are all grass except for the ADA ones near the bathrooms and vary in levelness. We first stayed near the beach; however, the wind was so strong that the campfires blew into are rig. Moved to space 2, which is a large spot near entrance. Like most state parks, would not want to be here when full. Bath/showers spotless. Staff extremely pleasant. Strong Verizon cell/Mi-Fi signal. Kayak and bike rental. Great place for kite boarding. Would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
This is a pretty area right on Lake Huron. The Tawas Lighthouse and gift shop is easy bicycle riding distance from the campground. Camp sites are large but there appears to be no rules for how you use your site. RVs are parked all over the place and in every direction, sometimes very close to the road making it difficult to navigate. Sites have 30amp electric only and the water faucets placed here and there in the campground are the kind you have to hold on and a hose cannot be connected to them. You must fill your water tank at the check in office where they do provide a white water hose which is nice. The dump station is large and dump hoses are provided. The Lake Huron swim beach in the park is really nice with a nice walkway across the sand and food and drink sold on site. There are miles of bicycle trails both in and right outside the park. Lots of nice shopping and restaurants very close to the park in downtown East Tawas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Had sites 2, 4, 6, 8, and 90 with a group and everything worked perfect. Sites were next to field for dog walking and disc golf. The water level is down in Lake Huron, so walking the beach was beautiful. The kite-boarders were having a great time both in the bay and main lake. Bike paths were clear and ran all the way, 3 miles to the city. Restaurants and shopping were good as usual with crowds at a minimum. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$29
Our annual week was in sites 1, 2, and 3 that back up to the volleyball and playground. An advantage for walking the dog and watching units come in. Extremely hot weather made air conditioning mandatory and the park electric grid held up even tho the park was filled every night. Rangers and the Host made you feel safe and well taken care of. Having water at the contact station on entry and slinks at the dump make those two tasks go very quick. A nice touch at only a few state parks. The water in Lake Huron was low so the Piping Ploovers had taken over some of the beach area on the lake side and it was restricted from walking the shoreline. There is still plenty to walk and the beach was full. Visited Lumbermans Monument and Largo Springs as is our custom and access is easy from this park. The city had two concerts free in town with plenty of restaurants and bars to choose from for eats and drinks. We will return next year with more in the group. A park you don't want to miss. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
This is my favorite campground in Michigan. Most of the sites are very large, big rig friendly, level and grass covered. The sites closer to the bay are usually congested and are generally occupied by people with boats. Sites 142 through 207 are quite large and will accommodate most rigs. There are about 9 pull through lots that are very nice if you can book one. The park is located on a point with Tawas Bay on one side and Lake Huron on the other. The bay side is popular with kite surfers and is very shallow. The Lake Huron side has a huge sandy beach and the crystal clear but cold waters that are typical of the Great Lakes. The town of East Tawas is quaint and has many enjoyable opportunities for dining or shopping. Michigan has many amazing state parks and this one is a gem. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$29
Very nice park with great Lake view, paved bike path to town, lighthouse, nice beach area and nearby hiking trails. Very clean restrooms and large campsites. Would recommend to camp here if visiting Tawas or East Tawas. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
Tawas State Park is wonderful. Lots to do in the area. Swim in the bay or Lake Huron. Ride your bike to town or just the lighthouse. We love going to the Ben Franklin store in town. Had a big pull through site. We really enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$27
We really enjoyed our stay at this state park. The directions on the website were accurate. The campground host was extremely friendly and helpful. The site was clean. The location of the park enabled us to tour the surrounding areas easily. The Tawas Point Lighthouse is just a short walk away. The main roads in the park were paved. The sites are grassy and level and sufficient room between each site. There were no advanced amenities (cable TV, Wi-Fi) but the beautiful trees made up for them. The restrooms were modern, clean and each shower area was private: a real plus. We would definitely come back here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
Had a very nice stay at this state park. It rained almost all of one day, but there was plenty to do in town nearby. It also helped that the in-law's house was close. Other reviews mention a lack of shade, but I thought there was plenty. Some of the sites that they have listed for certain trailer sizes are sure a tight squeeze. That and the fact that everyone really is packed pretty close together were the only downsides. Didn't get a chance to get to the beach. I would stay again though. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Still my families favorite park. Had a pull through site with views of the bay. The beach and bay are great for swimming. Tons to do in town. Just a great place to go. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$40
Very nice campground. We were here during a hot streak (days in the low 90s) so shade was at a premium. Both mini-cabins are NOT in the shade and only Mini-Cabin 2 has any sort of tree near it for shaded parking. The mini-cabins are nice, however, and have a microwave and refrigerator. If you're planning to visit during the summer I would bring a fan, too. The campground was nice and family-oriented. No loud music or partying at night. Close walking or biking access to Lake Huron. Gorgeous clear water and sandy beaches. Also close access (2.9 mi) to Big Boy restaurant for breakfast bike ride!!!! We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2006
$24
Nice paved road out to this park, situated on a hook of sand jutting into Lake Huron. Sites were large and spacious, although many lacked enough trees for shade. The sites out by the bay can get quite windy. Lighthouse to walk around and explore and tours provided with great guides to answer all of your lighthouse questions. Enjoyed everything about this park except the rather high nightly fee. In November, there is no water available, except in the shower/bathroom area. Electricity was provided. This rate was charged to everyone, even tent campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$20
Sites are close but parks is clean and well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$29
Very nice park. Large shady lots. You can swim in Lake Huron or Tawas Bay. A nice lighthouse to visit. Fire rings at each site. Paved roads and sandy sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$27
This was a very nice, clean campground. You can swim in Lake Huron, or Tawas Bay. Sites were big, with nice fire pits, most were shady. The walk to the Light House was very nice. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Beautiful setting with 60' wide lots. Nearby sandy beach on Lake Huron. Fire pits on grassy sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$23
The campground is located on a "point" of land between Tawas Bay and Lake Huron with access to both beaches from the campground. The Tawas beach is basically a very long sandbar which makes swimming difficult unless you walk very very far out into the bay, but perfect for little ones. Lake Huron beach has concession (no lifeguard) but excellent swimming. We were in si te #51 which is in a cul-de-sac off the bay. Be careful of this area of the camp! We experienced a particularly bad straight line wind storm which overturned the camper next to us and slightly damaged ours. We were later told by locals and returning campers that this section of the campground is most hard hit by storms recurring every summer right off the bay. Because of the lay out of the roads the cul-de-sac was the main turnaround for that loop and the traffic was fairly noisy and heavy (especially the "gawkers" checking out the camper next to us that overturned--very annoying). The perimeter sites were roomy but the interior sites were somewhat tight with no privacy. There were a few pull through and paved sites for larger units. There are only 2 bathroom houses for the camp but were very clean. We lost power for 15 hours after the storm and the bathhouses were shut down due to being run on electric power. Outhouses were not very efficient and the DNR staff were pretty uninformed about the electric situation. We would return to this park. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com