206886 User submitted reviews online!!
Boulder County Fairgrounds was rated 7 out of 10 based on 20 user reviews. Phone: (303) 682-6762
CGID568

Boulder County Fairgrounds

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   8   7   6   5   8   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$25
This is a nice park in Longmont. Sites are various sizes with some that can hold a 45' motorhome and toad. There is a dump station at the park. Some sights have electric/water or just electric. Park is located within driving distance to the Rocky Mountain NP about 1 1/4 hour. Sites are gravel, sand, and dirt, which can be messy if it rains. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
Sites are very close together, luckily most of the time we were there the park wasn't full. We were here for 13 nights due to needing to get some work done on our truck. Nice feature is that this park is within easy walking / biking distance of the St. Vrain Greenway trail for recreational opportunities. Weekends are busier with all the activities at the Fairgrounds, but overall it's pretty quiet at this park. Our Verizon MiFi worked well in the park. We took advantage of the many, many shopping opportunities to restock and refurbish a few items in our rig. We'd rather stay at a state park or a park with a little more room between sites, but overall our stay here was okay and was a reasonable choice given that we had to be in the area for the work on our truck. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$25
This is a great park. We have 2 dogs and it was a perfect place with acres of land around to walk the dogs. There were trails and ponds nearby. Although there is no sewer hookup, the dump station is available for that and it worked out fine. There's no Wi-Fi, but there are many "hot spots" around the area at restaurants and coffee houses. We had to be here on business and it was a good place to stay for 10 days since it is not expensive. The park host was very, very nice. We are definitely coming back here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Ended up at the Fair Grounds after our previous RV Park did not work out. We were visiting for a wedding and since the last park didn't work out, we were getting desperate. The Fair Grounds are a no frills place, but everything was clean, quite and secure. We stayed for 3 days. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$25
Previous reviewer comments still valid. $25 fee is for water and electricity, $20 for only one of them. A mixture of campers -- tents to motor homes. Pull through spaces too short for RV & car, but plenty of extra parking available. Nearest laundry is on Main street, not too far. Over-the-air TV reception very good. Verizon MiFi worked well. Best to carefully choose your spot, rather than have the host assign it, as some are narrow, short, and have trees in the way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
This campground has a variety of sites, some are suitable for 40 foot plus rigs. There is electricity and water but no sewer hookup. Flies are a problem, probably attracted by the horses that seem to be there most of the time on the fairgrounds. Many of the water spigots on the campground leak, apparently poorly maintained. The dump site costs $5 but that does not apply to campers. One must drive out of the campground and then re-enter so It is extremely hard to drive into. We would stay here again if the options to other places were not available, but this place barely passes as being a suitable place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$25
Most sites are less than 40 ft. long and 20 ft. wide so be careful, as they are all mixed in together. There is a dump station and some sites have water, electricity, or nothing. Again, be careful. While it was once covered with gravel, the park is now mostly dirt and this would be a problem when it rains (not during our visit, though). However, given that there is little alternative between here and Golden to the south if you are visiting Boulder, it is your best choice. Be aware that being next to the fairgrounds, there are times when events make the park crowded so be sure to check the schedule. You can make reservations but the variation in site amenities could make this tricky if you have not been here before (E1 is good as is F5 as far as a bit of shade and extra space is concerned). The shower and bathroom facilities are well care for and you can see a selection of dogs up for adoption being walked along the front by volunteers from the Humane Society shelter down the street. We had to park our truck in a vacant site because there was not room for it on our site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
As mentioned before, this is a decent spot for a stopover. The $25 doesn't include the dump station. It's an additional $5. It's quiet here and peaceful. Lots of tent sites available. I'd stop here again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Clean decent place to stay while visiting Boulder. Located about 15 miles from the campus and downtown area. Only sites 1-10 can handle big rigs. Filled on weekends. Electric and water only but a easy to maneuver dump station. Located right next to the humane society. It was interesting to see the many dog walkers pass the campground each day with every breed imaginable. Close to shopping and bike trails. Will definitely camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
We tried this campground when we couldn't get a spot at St. Vrain State Park. As previous reviews have stated, the campsites are a little tight in that you can't fit your tow vehicle in the spot, but we were able to park it in the site right next door. The sites are dirt, so we could see that there could be a mud problem if it rained. And yes, there were lots of dead weeds around. The campground was fine, though, with a pleasant host and fairly nice surroundings. There were horses at the fairgrounds and we we could hear them whinnying but they weren't close enough to evoke an odor. The Humane Society is next door but we weren't bothered by noise or any problem there either. We did see HS staff walking and training dogs. We did hear a train, but that's Longmont, not the campground. No sewer hookups, but the dump station is fine. We arrived after hours, and the host confirmed our site over the phone verbally (no requirement to pay ahead of time) and had the site reserved and marked for us upon our arrival. By arriving late we didn't get the code for the bathrooms until the next day. Overall, it's a pleasant alternative to the state park, and it seems to not be very well-known or hugely busy although I imagine it could be heavily used when there is a scheduled event at the fairgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2010
$18
Only park available in Longmont-Boulder area. 'Big rigs' will only fit in one row with 10 sites, so be sure to call for a reservation. 'Big rig' sites are about 50' long. May have to park tow vehicle and/or towed vehicle in adjacent parking area. There's some shade in the sites for smaller rigs and/or tents. Bathrooms are clean. Water and electricity available at each site; dump station requires a bit of maneuvering. Beware when camping when it's wet! Sites are not well-graveled, and become a slimy, muddy mess! Far enough off major roads that it's not too noisy. Shopping center nearby (walking distance.) Lots of activities (horse shows, etc) at the fairgrounds throughout the year, so it's a good idea to call for reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
Neat, clean with personable management. It is very near everything RV'ers need to "replenish" the supply. We stay at this park twice a year - it is on our "route". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
This is a no frills campground. The spaces are so tight you can't park the tow vehicle in your site but there were lots of empty sites so I parked the truck in one of them. They keep the grass around the edges nice, but there were tall dead weeds in the sites. I had clippers and cut mine down and tossed them away. The $20.00 rate is for electric only, water would have been $5.00 more. All that said, it's in a great location for Longmont, Boulder, Loveland Eastes Park and Rocky Mountain National Park. I ended up staying for 10 days. There's also a nice dog park along side the airport, a very short drive away. Also, the lady who was the camp host was lovely. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Rest rooms and shower rooms were clean but the paint was missing or flaking from the walls. The roads and campsites were of dirt and the campsites were narrow and needed weeding. The one dump station was locked from 4pm until 8am (not conducive for early departures). The location is very good, Verizon reception was very good and the over the air TV signal was also very good. I would stay here again as long as heavy rains were not forecasted that could turn the streets into mud. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
The facilities are OK, the rest rooms are clean, flies can occasionally be a problem. This is one of the few places to stay that is within striking distance of Boulder, and that is the best thing about this RV Park. Although the park is OK, we never find it a particularly attractive place to stay. One plus is that there are some rather nice walking trails to the north of the fairgrounds. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
I would not want to be there during an event at the fairgrounds. Sites are barely wide enough for slideouts to open without touching a neighbor. Lucky for us nothing was on during the 2 four night stays we did. The CG was virtually empty each time, less than 10 sites occupied. No grass anywhere but some shaded sites. Minor negatives are the charges for dumping & for water fillup. Just power at sites. It suited our needs while in the Longmont Boulder area & we would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$25
Well, what can I say. We were able to maneuver our big rig - but make sure you go in the right entrance. Very dusty and quite expensive for what is offered. Dump site is fixed. It was convenient for our purposes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
December 2006
$20
Make sure you call 1st before you arrive as the restrooms and showers are closed for the season. We showed up in our camper almost a week after a blizzard hit the area. We were forced to back out the same way we came in because NONE of the sites had been plowed by the city and all the water was shut off! Called the main number which tells you to call another number and so on and so on.. Finally a human picked up the phone who could care less that the sites were covered with 2.5 feet of snow and that no one could get in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2005
$12
This park is attached to the local fairgrounds and is basic in nature. But, for the price it is located just where we needed it to tour Estes Park, Denver, Boulder and many other parts. It was clean and not overcrowded. The management was very helpful when we needed questions answered. Plan to stay there again this fall. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$25
Basic facilities in a dirt and gravel parking lot. Water and electric only at sites. If you need to dump your tanks you must drive to the dump station. The place is full of "goatheads", a nasty sticker that will flatten bike tires, stick to your shoes and get all over your pets. Watch out for the low hanging tree branches! And, make sure you have plenty of bug spray. There are several ponds in the area that harbor mosquitos. Don't plan on peace and quiet or a good nights sleep. The Fairground has a party room across the street. When we were there, a loud party went on until midnight. Oh, and trains pass through town all night long, blowing their loud horns. Boulder County should be ashamed to charge what they do for such a dump. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com