220693 User submitted reviews online!!
Vernal / Dinosaurland KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 37 user reviews. Phone: (435) 789-2148
CGID5681

Vernal / Dinosaurland KOA

Camp Information
Sites
65
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   1   7   4   6   2   10   7   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  no  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$47
The woman who checked us in was friendly, not the fastest but we were not in a rush. The site was easy to find, large and level. All our gear fit nicely on the site, just note that in July it is HOT and I mean HOT. Bathrooms were clean and well maintained as was the entire campground, except the laundry room, which need a bit of cleaning. We would go back again, but not in July, or August, or June. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$38
Very nice park. Pull thru site that was level and had a concrete patio. Nice WiFi. People helpful. Would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2014
$50
Awful. Freezing cold showers. NO hot water either in the morning or at night in the bathrooms. Constant traffic alllllll night long. Be advised this rv park is attached to a trailer park and there is a whole lot of riff raft coming and going all day and all night. People pulling into and walking up to the bathrooms and showers all night long. Some look like transients. I would never ever stay here again and would advise absolutely nobody to stay here either. Don't let the cute exterior fool you. Once in the RV park this place becomes a nightmare. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$40
An older KOA with some renovations including one newer shower house in the cabin area. The other bathrooms and pool were closed for the season. Cable and Wi-Fi worked (we were next to the office), and it is a good location for visiting Dinosaur NM. I believe you are paying extra just for the KOA name here, but cost seemed high for the overall appearance and off-season feel with quite a few permanent residents. I would stay elsewhere if I came this way again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
Staff was very friendly when checking in. All sites are at right angles to the roads and all sites are very, very narrow. When my slide was out, it was within 2' of the neighboring RV. During a heavy rain, the roadway became a mud pit. In our site near the east end of the park, WI-FI was so slow as to be nearly unusable. Kept constantly disconnecting on both mine and my wife's laptop. Huge trees provide plenty of shade, but many roots are at/above grade, making for a very uneven site. Has many amenities including laundry, pool (closed for season when we were there), small store, etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This appears to be an old campground with pretty narrow spots for big rigs with slides. Very nice staff and everything (wi-fi, cable, power, etc.) worked amply, but staying here feels kind of like moving into a poor neighborhood. They have a pool and rent pedal cars for the kids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2013
$47
This place is really rundown. Definitely not equipped for big rigs. Small, tight spaces. Gravel parking if you can find it for the weeds . I don't think the grass has ever been mowed. Water pressure is good. Wifi very good. Utilities mostly bad. Quite a few people living here and trashy. Won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$32
We called on the way and the staff was great. Though not a member of KOA they still gave a discount for other options. Too late for the pool but did use the showers, laundry room, etc. The sunrise was spectacular Very friendly upon checking out. Will stay there again is in the area We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$34
This was a surprise, because reviews have been bad, but we found the office friendly. Sites had mostly grass, and after 10 days of sand and gravel it was nice to have some grass. Sites were extremely close, but pretty level. Dog park was also first one in 10 days that didn't have waste in it. Everything was picked up either by good responsible dog owners or the staff cleaned up. Close to the National park and town had lots to offer. Laundry was clean also. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2013
$42
Pull through sites are outdated and not wide enough for any modern RV with a slide, with the exception of very few updated patio sites (as shown on their website) for a premium price. Our awning overhangs the sewer hookup next door and we have no room to place outdoor chairs. Will NOT return. Tent sites, pool, playground, and bath houses are good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
We stayed at this campground for one night on our way to Colorado and Wyoming. The staff was friendly and accommodating on check-in. We were assigned a pull-through site. I'd hoped to leave the trailer hooked up to the truck to speed our departure the next morning. Unfortunately, the site was not long enough to accommodate both the 27' trailer and my Toyota Tundra. There was a large field behind the row we were in, where people parked their trucks and that's where we put ours. The campground has mature shade trees and grass. Traffic noise was not a problem. However, the sites are very close together, and I stress very. We had a motorhome in the site to the left and their awning came within 2' of our rig. Also, Wi-Fi is secured, which is not ordinarily a problem, but we were given a "coupon" with a code on it. At night I logged in using my iPad and got a connection. When I later tried to use Wi-Fi, it would not connect. In the morning, I attempted to use my netbook and got a message that the coupon had been used on another device and could not be used. As a result, I was not able to use Wi-Fi at all. In my opinion, the campground should not restrict which devices are used, but perhaps have a policy that only one device (iPad, computer, phone, etc.) per site can be used at any one time. Due to the small sites and Wi-Fi problems, I am giving only an average rating to this campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$71
A lot of people don't like KOA, and this is a perfect example why. Made my reservation on line, picked a spot that was claimed suitable for my rig (43ft MH with 4 slides) for $42 a night. When I got here, was told my rig would only fit in "Super Sites" at $71 a night. Since there wasn't much else in town I took it. In looking at the other spots I can see why I wouldn't fit in, if there were neighbors, they are extremely close together. The space itself is fine, has a patio with gas grill and seating area, but in the full sun so it is hot. So in short: spaces are VERY small and expensive but there isn't much else around. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
Have stayed here in the past and probably will again -- not by choice but by necessity, it's about the only game in town where you can get caught up on internet stuff. Sites are not particularly level, skinny and could be difficult for larger rigs to get into/out of. Managers/hosts are friendly and accommodating. Good spot to stay as a base for visiting Dinosaur Nat'l Monument or Flaming Gorge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
I don't know how any place could possibly have narrower sites. Everyone is right on top of each other. Definitely would not stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$50
We only stayed here because the RV Park in town was such a dump. KOA has gotten so expensive for what you get. This is an ancient KOA built before slide outs. The sites are right on top of each other, some couldn't even put out their awning. Very rutted and hard to level. Why the owners of these parks can't do a little work to make it more enjoyable for campers is beyond me, it must be the $$$$$. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2010
$40
Full hook up sites are very tight, no room for slides. Run of the mill KOA, nothing special here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Standard KOA, clean park, has a swimming pool and so on. Workers were helpful and friendly. We only did an overnight stop. Looked good though and we would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$38
This campground has such great potential. The tenting and cabin area is spacious, neat, and clean. There is a large, grassy area on the north side of the park that is spacious, neat, and clean. There is a great pool and pavilion area, and a great doggie play area. The pull through sites, however, are somewhat ragged and ratty looking, definitely need some TLC, new gravel, edging, etc. As pointed out in many of the reviews, the sites are too close together; they need to eliminate about every third site and space them out more. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Nice and friendly office workers. However, sites are extremely tight. Larger rigs have to jockey into the sites, and several had to drive around several times to get into position thus leaving their attached vehicles out in the road or in others' sites. If we sat outside at the picnic table, could reach the neighbor's RV. Very noisy, grass cut in the park before 0800. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
This was a nice park. There were lots of trees but they did not cause any problems with any of our rigs. Easy in and easy out. The street in front was quiet in the evening. Morning was very busy and noisy. The pool looked nice. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
We spent 4 days here while exploring Flaming Gorge and Dinosaur Nat’l Monument. This is a large park with grassy sites that unfortunately are very close together. Some sites are shaded by huge cottonwood trees and one row has cable TV although we got 21 channels with only our aerial. We camped in space #36 and our son was in premium (+$) space #37, which is the only one allowed to have both RV and tent. It is across from the pool, playground and mini golf that our grandkids loved, but near the noisy highway. The owners of the park went out of their way to successfully resolve several problems we encountered while staying here. The hosts were mostly friendly and helpful. Vernal is a nice, clean, small all-American town. You can find anything you may need within a few miles of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$27
This is an ok park. We stayed two nights while touring the national park and museum. The sites are extremely close together. The staff is friendly and helpful. We might try the other park in town if we should return. This one is nothing special. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$37
Sites are long enough but too close together. Nice park for family gatherings with a very friendly staff. Bathrooms are clean, as is the laundry room. Nice enclosed dog area. Close to shopping and restaurants. Don Pedro's north of the park is very good. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Office staff very friendly and helpful. Sites are narrow and close to each other. The campground is very busy and noisy in the afternoons and mornings. Too many people leave their diesels idling needlessly. Reservations are recommended as I saw several people being shuffled to the overflow area after 6PM. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Narrow sites; small showers; senior receptionists were very nice. The grounds are a paradise for dogs and children. Lots of acreage, playground equipment for children and dogs. Dogs have their own pen to play in. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
YIKES!!! $39.00 "Keep On Adding"! We were in a bind and had no other choice. We always avoid KOAs because the price is outrageous but this was just too much especially for the location. Typical KoA, 40 minutes to check in as new hosts were being trained but, they were pleasant. I should have parked on the street! I will next time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2008
$33
Office personnel were really great and friendly. The park had a lot of what appeared to be transit workers. The sites were very narrow and crowded. WiFi worked great. Good for an overnight sleep but too crowded for more than that; at least at the KOA price. Cable TV was $1 extra! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
This was a pretty nice park. They have a large green lawn we were able to walk our dogs on and a pet playground. The spaces rock not cement but each has a small grassy lawn with a picnic table. We stayed in a 38' fifth wheel and had just enough room. The only bad thing is that their laundry room does not have many units. Also, they won't allow you to have anything in front of the trailer. We had to put our truck in the shop and they wouldn't allow us to set his toolbox anywhere outside. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
Very small, tight sites - easy enough to pull in to but no good green space around. Has an OK pool. A good overnight stop but I wouldn't stay here long. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$33
Owners were friendly and glad to see me. Pull through spaces were short and tight for my 38' rig. They had a fenced doggie play area with agility stuff. My dogs were not very agile, but enjoyed all the smells of dogs that visited before. Plastic bags and a disposal can were supplied. The area was very clean. Highway 191 was a real challenge, with 10 switchbacks in 2.5 miles north of the campground. We found a Chinese buffet called Win On, which was the best I have ever had. Every item we tried was perfectly prepared. The town is beautiful, with flowers lining all the main streets. We enjoyed the visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Our site was long enough for a 40 foot MH, but hardly wide enough for our slides. We had to walk under our bedroom slide to get to our car behing the MH. Our cable connection didn't work so the manager put a spliter on our neighbors - then his didn't work. Like previously stated there were a lot of working people, but they were quiet and had little junk spread around. One reason I rated this park down is that people came from a back area and drove fast in front of us raising dust on the gravel road. The park was building a new bath house. It looked like there was a nice pool and play ground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
This campground was not too bad. As the previous reviewer stated, the sites are a bit close together and can be crowded if the park is full. The WiFi is intermittent at best as it seems they need to reset their WiFi hardware several times a day. Once their office closes at 8PM, the internet soon dies after that. Vernal is a booming town with all the recent oil drilling and homes to rent are hard to come by. There are a few "rough necks" (folks that work with oil drilling) who are camping at the site, but they are very quiet for the most part. The park seems to be very quiet in the evening with no loud parties or radio. Probably would stay again if ever in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
The new owner is very pleasant to deal with; they were having problems with their computer and she had us park and register later rather than stand around and wait in the office for the problem to be fixed. Sites are crowded together as is typical in areas with a lot of tourists. A major issue with the park is that apparently some big new pipeline project was starting the following week and a great many of the sites were being occupied by construction workers and their families who were going to be there for weeks or months, so the park looked and felt a bit too much like a low-rent trailer park rather than an RV resort catering to tourists. We were only able to get a site because our motorhome is a 20' Roadtrek; travellers in big rigs were being turned away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$31
Great location and the pool was very nice. Sites are a bit too close together, which takes away from the overall great place. Grass on the sides and lots of room for tenters. Our shade came from the 2 RVs on either side of us. However the staff was very nice and we'd definitely come back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$29
The grounds and buildings are well maintained and the staff was highly visible getting the pool and other things ready for the busy season. Depending on where you are, sites have either paved pads, gravel, or you are parking on grass. Could be a little tight if you and your neighbors have slide outs. Decent shade trees, which is rare in this area. Some road noise, but not too bad. Rest rooms were clean when I checked. No fire rings at the RV sites and the dumpsters were overflowing the two days that we were there. After driving by a few other parks in the area this is probably the nicest place you will find. Price listed is for a full hookup site without cable TV. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Friendly staff, clean park, nice playground. The pool was fantastic as we stayed there during an incredible heat wave. Wi-Fi was tricky to access. You needed to be near the office. This is definitely the best place to stay in Vernal. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$38
Expected a pool, but was not there. Sites are far from flat. Getting motorhome level is a hard job. Average campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com