224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Belle Isle State Park Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (804) 462-5030
CGID5688

Belle Isle State Park Campground

Camp Information
Sites
31
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   9   9   8   10   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$30
$30 for 50 amp and water and super huge level sites is a great deal. Wi-Fi available at camp store. All the sites are great and level. There is a beach for swimming, dogs can swim in it too. AT&T cell and data service two bars. Middle of nowhere, Walmart and Food Lion are 17 miles away, 30 minutes away, so bring all your food in. 3 motorboats available for rent but must have basic boaters safety license, and they sell out, so reserve boats ahead of time too. Canoe and kayaks available to all. Bike rentals too. Very rural, farm, swamp, and ocean like environment all in the same park. Laundromat at camp. Two dump stations. Super quiet. Highly recommended. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$34
This is a lovely State park and campground. The campground has pull-through and back-in sites with trees and foliage between the sites. Electric and water pressure were good (no sewer hookups). There is a nice lake where my grandson and I rented a kayak for half a day. We had a blast, especially when we saw a couple Bald Eagles. The park staff were friendly and the campground was clean and level. We will return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$35
This is the nicest, cleanest State Park campground we have ever stayed in. Had we known how nice it was we would have stayed longer! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$27
This was a very nice campground with very large sites. There were a number of pull throughs and we were in one. It seemed the sites were all separated by some form of foilage so you couldnt see each other. There were several sites that were next to each other that would have been great to share with a friend. The bathrooms were exceptionally clean and well take care of. We took our bikes and rode the various easy trails they have. The camp host and workers in the park were all very friendly too. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$27
This is a very nice park clean bathrooms. And a lot of beautiful sights. They have some signage about nature which was helpful to understand the environment We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Beautifully maintained and manicured park. Bathrooms and showers were immaculate. Staff was friendly. Would definitely come back; just wish it was closer to home. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Very nice campground in a VERY underused (it appears) Virginia State Park. As mentioned previously, there are lots of trails to bike, hike and ride horses on, you can kayak/canoe/boat from the park, and there is a variety of wildlife to see. Even after Memorial Day, the Camp Store hours are limited (closed on Mondays and Tuesdays). The contact station at the entrance to the park will alert campers as to where to register. There are no designated swimming areas at this park, which may be keeping some people away from the park. Nonetheless, we found our time here to be very pleasant and relaxing. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$25
Like most of Virginia's State Parks, this one is great. The campground is about five years old and was very well laid out with easy to access level sites. Lots of eagles and wildlife to enjoy, miles of hiking and biking trails. The staff is very attentive and interested in making your park visit enjoyable. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Great campground for a getaway from the busier VA state parks. The trip out to the northern neck is worth the effort. There are some 2-lane roads coming from I-95, but no low overpasses or narrow bridges to worry about. The campground was spotless and well maintained as are most VA state parks. It consists of 30 sites plus a group cabin. Most sites were pretty level with packed gravel driveways and loose gravel tent pads. The park has seven large pull-thru sites, though most of the sites appeared capable of handling even the largest equipment. Bathhouse was clean and well-stocked, and the individual shower rooms, laundry and dish washing sink were very nice. It was obvious that the friendly volunteer hosts worked very hard to keep the place nice and inviting. The camp store has standard oops-I-forgot-that items and also rents various kinds equipment. Firewood is available and stocked in the campground with an honor system. This is a nice, quiet park for a few days' stay and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
Just returned from camping at this wonderful gem with my family. Wow! What a great park and location. DO NOT go here if you are looking for cable TV, internet, game rooms, and the ability to stare at the back of your neighbors RV when you walk out of yours. Sites are very spacious, level and provide privacy. Electric and water seemed very reliable and sufficient. Bathhouse and bathrooms were very nice, clean and sufficient. While the sites DO NOT provide septic, the park does offer a site with two dump stations in the general area of the campground. The dump stations are roomy and pull through, which makes cleaning out a breeze. Water hookup is provided at the dump station, so a good clean out can be obtained with no issues. Take your bikes! Our kids loved the myriad of riding trails that were available throughout the park. Park offers a nice boat ramp with plenty of parking. In addition, several nice parking spaces are available within the camp area for people with trailers. There is also an additional kayak/canoe only launch area that seemed easy to get in and out of. In our bike and hiking adventures, we noticed several areas established for having a cookout/picnic along the river. We participated in a park sponsored educational presentation on bats in the area. The Ranger who presented this was very knowledgeable and great with the kids. I really have nothing bad to say about this place. It's camping and state preservation at it's best! My kids were occupied with bike rides, hiking and playing games in our spacious camp area. We left this park feeling refreshed and relaxed and that's all I can ask for We will be going back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$25
We stayed here 4 nights, and so far out of the many Virginia state parks we have camped in, this is our favorite. We are "empty-nesters" and we loved the laid-back, easy going feel of this campground. No big playgrounds, no lake for swimming, just beautiful forests, wetlands, Bald Eagles soaring overhead along with Ospreys. We loved the solitude. We go camping for relaxation and that is what this park offers. We rented bikes and did some trails out to Brewer's Point and Watch House. Lovely double-track trails on flat ground. Didn't get a chance to fish but next time we will. The sites were wonderfully roomy and private. The bathrooms were pristine, the shower rooms were also pristine. The staff is wonderfully helpful and friendly. We had no trouble with insects except in the woods at Brewer's Point and we just stayed in the clearing and no bother. This park is only 2 years old and we can't wait to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
As always - this is a nice, clean VA state park. The sites were good size, easy to setup, and adequately spread from nearby sites. We liked this park but found there wasn't much to do. There were 2 miles of biking/hiking trails but the bugs were horrible. They have kayaks and canoes for rent and use on the lake. The park is beautiful (I've heard lots of people speak about weddings they've attended there). Don't think we'll return - not because of the conditions, but because of the lack of activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$26
We arrived at the park in the midst of tropical storm Ernesto. Much debris could be found as winds calmed, but the debris was removed early the next day by the park staff and by the end of Saturday, the park was pristine - except no water or electricity (sites are served by a well). The staff again came to the rescue by hooking a generator to a well a short distance from the campground that was accessible to the motorhomes and trailers to fill their tanks. The electricity wasn't restored until late Sunday afternoon, but everyone at the park had a great time "boondocking". The Camp Hosts were just as friendly and helpful as the Rangers. The rest rooms and showers were spotless. What could have been a very unpleasant weekend turned out to be absolutely great. Since this is our follow-up report on this park, here's more info. The campground has 4 pop-up camping units available for rent at $74/night (includes site). These are very nice, new Fleetwood units with A/C. At the moment, there are no camping cabins available, but the Ranger indicated these are in the plan. There is no pool and the park is located in a fairly remote area, so groceries and other supplies are a half-hour or so away. There is no camp store. The sites are large, private, level and drain really well - Ernesto was a huge test. The interior road is new blacktop and the sites are easy to maneuver into. Several pull-thru sites will accommodate the largest rigs. The dump station was very easy to access and had an easy return to the campsites for those staying for an extended time. For paddlers, the park has a dedicated canoe/kayak launch area as well as both for rent. Launch charges are included in the camping fee. Several well-marked trails take you to various spots on the Rappahannock River (wear old, sturdy shoes). The trails can also be bicycled. Wildlife was abundant since this is a working farm. Heron, osprey and eagles were plentiful on the river. Summary, this is a wonderful addition to the State Park system and the attitude of the staff is tremendous - they take great pride in the job they are doing and in the park. During the summer, there are planned activities for the family, but this is more of a rest and relaxation sort of place. If the kids need constant entertainment, then this would not be someplace they would enjoy. We'll be returning, frequently. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
This review is based on our scouting visit to the park while staying at Westmoreland SP. This is a brand new facility on the Rappahannock River. The park itself is a working farm with a small campground. The sites are level and well-gravelled with table, lantern post and fire-ring. The interior road is blacktop. The single bathhouse is new and includes laundry facilities and separate private showers. The park has a deep water boat ramp as well as a dedicated kayak/canoe launch site with pier. We were so impressed, we're heading back over the Labor Day weekend with friends. Will write a more in-depth review then. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com