214402 User submitted reviews online!!
St. Vrain State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 44 user reviews. Phone: (303) 470-1144
CGID569

St. Vrain State Park

Camp Information
Sites
87
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   8   8   8   9   9   5   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
A very nice State Park that has fully recovered from Sept 2013 flood damage. Beautiful pond-side FHU campsites, that in addition to level concrete pad, surrounding area is raked level and swept after each departure. Has u-pay showers and spotless restroom facilities. No wifi. A great park for birding; we had great view of Bald Eagle fledglings in their nest, plus saw Blue Herons, Canadian Geese, Red Wing Blackbirds and several species of flycatchers. In addition to nightly fee, unless you have annual park pass, you will be charged an $7 daily access fee. Would definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$26
Very nice, spacious sites. Each has a picnic table with cover. All have lake views. Very little tree coverage, but nice winds keep you cool! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
We enjoyed our stay here. We were very surprised by the day use fee that is NOT included in your camp fees which is different than most of the other state parks we have been in. Since we still had 2 vehicles, at $7/vehicle per night we ended up paying $40/night with full hook ups. We still enjoyed our stay, but thought it was a bit pricey. The noise from the Interstate didn't bother us too much, but we have a "white noise" device that we use when sleeping. We enjoyed all the walking trails within the park and the extensive water fowl. We enjoyed our stay and would stay again. We had good reception on our Verizon MiFi device. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$33
Nice and clean, but could hear the highway noise. Thirty three included the daily park pass fee of $7. Beautiful view of the mountains. Each picnic table has a shelter, which was nice for some shading. Paved level sights. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Very good interior roads; dirt, gravel mix. Pads are concrete with metal umbrella shade/wind protector over picnic table, fireplace with grill. Great satellite equals very few trees. Entrance to park is 1.5 miles off I-25, but CG sits very close to highway as you enter you loop back towards. We saw many people fishing. Good walking trails. Twelve miles to Boulder, 20 miles plus to Denver. Excellent big rig access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
This campground would have been rated a 12 if it weren't for the interstate running right next to it. To be honest, after the first two days we stopped paying any attention to the constant hum of traffic. The campground is immaculate thanks to the rangers and volunteers who patrol the place. Picnic areas are hosed off each morning. Campsites are groomed within minutes of the previous guest departing. Showers and bathrooms were very clean in spite of very heavy usage over the 4th of July holiday. Nice hiking and biking trails around the ponds, many species of birds. There are raccoons - but not a problem if you put your coolers out of reach. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
Nice place to stay. We were able to get a 'lake view' around Pelican Loop, on the NE corner of their whole campground. Some I-25 traffic noise, but not bad at all. We really enjoyed the various birds, mink, deer (unfortunately lots of moths), but we would stay here again. We camped in a 42 ft with four slides and had a cement pad, covered picnic table, electric only site, and the site was level. Great place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$28
We generally take full advantage of the CO state parks but this was our first & only time here. Negatives: Dusty, right next to I25 & traffic, bugs bad enought to not be able to sit outside, too many campers with barking dogs. Postives: full hookups in some loops, good bird watching, easy access to town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$37
Chose this campground to stay at for 2 nights for a business meeting in Broomfield. At first wasn't sure why anyone would stay here long term. We arrived in the heat of the day & found no trees & dusty gravel roads. But by late afternoon the cloud cover came in & was able to sit outside & enjoy the amazing view of the mountains (that you wouldn't see if there were a lot of trees). Sites are huge pull through (bald eagle point loop) & ours was lakefront facing the mountains. Absolutely beautiful! Lots of fishing & birding & walking paths are nice in the cool of the day. Though I wouldn't necessarily make this a destination, especially in July or August, I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2012
$20
Decided after a bit of cabin fever I would take my Camp-Inn teardrop out for a close by over nighter. This is a nice park north of Denver. Sites are HUGE. Probably at least 50 feet between sites. Most have a sheltered picnic table. About 50/50 electric or full hookup. Price this time of year was $20 for the electric only sites. First come first serve but plenty of open spots on a Friday evening. Only downside was that the main restroom facility is partially closed. Men/Women closed but the family bathroom open. Of course that means everyone is using one bathroom so if someone is taking a shower you are out of luck. On one of the other loops there is a vault toilet so at least there is a backup. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
Sites are paved, level and widely spaced so quite private. Each site has a covered area with a table and a fire grill. There are little lakes all over. It is semi-arr id CO so no lush green grass and not a lot of trees on the full hookup side. My only complaint is that they require a day pass in addition to the camping fee which makes it fairly expensive. However it's still the least expensive place in the metro area. CO is an expensive place to camp. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$26
St. Vrain State Park is a beautiful park located just off of I25 along CO 119 and is open year round. The I25 noise can be heard at some sites more than others. The ponds are routinely stocked and the fishing is very good. The facilities are well maintained and cleaned daily. The work campers take pride in their work and they are very helpful. What is really nice is all the site picnic tables are covered. The south side of the park still has dirt roads and can be a little dusty at times. All the sites have concrete pads for your RV. If you are an out of state camper, the fees are a little more. St. Vrain is a wildlife park and therefore you’ll see plenty of wildlife. There is a large number of nesting Canadian geese so you’ll have to get used to that. This park is a bird watchers paradise and you’ll see some beautiful species including Bald Eagles. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
Conveniently located a short distance from I-25. Sites are concrete and are fairly long pull throughs, easy for a 40' 5th wheel. Utilities are well located. The park has no shade at the sites and is quite windy and dusty. Temps vary. Near 100 the first day we were there. 80s the 2nd day. Level roads with walking path around the lake. A lot of people come to fish in the lake. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$32
There are two sides to the park: one is paved the other is gravel. Both have level paved sites. The gravel side has the full hookups and is very dusty. Very tightly controlled by patrolling park rangers. No bypass lane for registered campers so if you run to the store and get behind two or three campers at the gate on your way back you could wait a long time. We waited 41 minutes behind three campers. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$26
This state campground has excellent facilities with full hook-ups available. The daily rate does not include the Colorado state park pass that is required ($7-9/night or $70/year). The park is very close to I-25, so there is a lot of traffic noise and the nearby lights of billboards and signs are not attractive. The roads are somewhat dusty. If you wish to fish, the ponds are said to be well stocked. This is an OK place for a night or two, but I would not wish to be here for an extended stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
This is a simple but lovely campground. Great views of the mountains and decent fishing ponds. The camp spaces are spread far apart which is nice. Friendly staff and friendly campers too. There is no laundry and no Wi-Fi, but all the amenities of town are close by including Wal-Mart. Showers are nice but you must pay. Nice walking paths. Some highway noise, but for being close to town, there is a lot of nature around. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$26
The sites with full hook ups have nice paved pads. I like the great views of the front range. The big problem is that the roads are not paved and there is so much dust that you can't sit outside without choking. Our rig and toad were so encrusted with dirt that it took forever to get everything clean when we left. Everyone drives way too fast down the dirt roads, including the rangers and volunteer staff, which only kicks up more dust. Overall, we like this park, but will not stay again until they pave the full hook up section of the park. The non-sewer sites have paved roads so for a few nights stay we would recommend those sections. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$33
Unfortunately, we feel that this park is over-priced and over-rated. It is close to the interstate. There are several ponds if you are into fishing (after you buy a fishing license). What a dust bowl. Speed limit is 15mph (which no one observes) and they don't wet down the roads. No trees in the FHU section. They have a section with electric only at a lesser price and it is all paved (less dust). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Windy, and too near the highway, but otherwise okay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$25
Nice Park. I Liked the space between campsites, but it lacked trees for shade. I didn't like the fact you had to pay not only for your camp site, but an entrance fee, why not just lump it all together in one sum. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$22
This is a very nice campground that has terrific views of the Rocky Mountains. The sites are huge pull through sites with concrete base and a gravel area with picnic table and shelter. You are close to the interstate but the noise is not that bad. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Located almost half way between Denver and Fort Collins this park is way above AAA rating. Each site has large concrete pads plus very clean. The park is a little closer to I-25 than I would like the sound of the highway is not that bad. I does lack shade in over 80% of the sites however. Many well maintained walking paths around the three large ponds. I will stop here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
St. Vrain is a state park that "grows" on you. We stayed here just short of 2 weeks, and appreciated it more than had we just stayed overnight. This used to be a gravel pit, refurbished into a wonderful bird sanctuary. There are white pelicans, Canadian geese and herons as well as other water birds and red-winged blackbirds. Trails circle the 10 ponds that vary in size. Sites are well-spaced, with plenty of privacy. The newer section has full hookups (and no mature trees). These sites seem very barren at first glance, but again, we appreciated the park as time went on, largely because of the wildlife. Downsides include I-25 noise, as the interstate runs parallel to the park. Not sure what, if anything could be done to alleviate that problem. Goose droppings are prevalent and mosquitoes / gnats are present if there is no breeze. There is no bathroom on the newer side, but self-contained rigs mostly fill these spaces anyway. The bathroom building on the older side is clean, but bring your own soap. No washers / dryers. Lots of people fishing (need a CO license) and the park fills on weekends in the summer. There is a $10 fee to use the online or phone reservation system, plus that astonishing daily fee on top of the camping fee (we bought a $70! annual pass since we were staying awhile). Park staff is very friendly and pleasant. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We had to be in the Boulder/Longmont area for a week so this was a convenient place to stay. Reserve early since it sells-out quickly. All utilities were good, sites are level and spaced far apart so you have privacy. Each site has a picnic table with shade cover and fire pit. The full hook-up sections are newer and only have small (young) trees while the shadier section does not have sewer (not sure about the water), lots of trees but the site look closer together. This section also has a bathroom with showers and a tent camping area. We have a Colorado State Pass so our rate was $26/night. Lots of fishing here. We loved watching the white pelicans, great blue herons, red-winged black birds, plus some other water birds I did not recognize. Freeway noise is pretty obnoxious but we closed our windows and put on the fan each night to sleep. There are not many other parks nearby so this was our best choice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$29
We stayed at this place because it promoted itself as $22 for full hook-up and it was convenient to where we were going during our stay in Longmont. We got here, confirmed that the price was $22 a night, then she rang us up for $58 for two nights. Um, what??? Should just be $44? Oh but wait, they conveniently don't tell you until you've already paid, it's an extra $7 a day for the state park access. Lame. As for the setting, we took a spot toward the backside of the lake, and it was really pretty with lots of wildlife like rabbits and geese. Being so close to a lake also meant a TON of mosquitoes. The big issue we had here though, was not the price or the mossies (we could deal with both) but the loud noises and honking coming from I-25 all night long. Neither of us slept a wink over two nights, and we picked the spot furthest away from the freeway. It seemed to be a really popular spot with fisherman, so if fishing's your thing, this is the place for you. If not, I'm sure there are nicer campgrounds for around the same price nearby. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$27
Colorado is another state that charges extra for the vehicle. Very annoying. The CG rate is a bit pricey too for power only. The power only side is by far the nicest loop. The FHU loop is closer to the highway and is barren of trees. The park is in the process of expansion this spring. Highway noise depends on the direction of the wind. It can be very loud or nothing at all. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
This is apparently a new park (still areas under construction) built around old gravel pits (now ponds) and designed by someone who knows little about RV camping. There are two camping area - one has the restrooms but electric only with no water connections - the other has full hookup, but no restrooms. There is a constant drone from I-25 traffic. The $34 includes a $7 entry fee. For the price, we would choose something else. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2011
$38
This RV Park is just off I-25 & CO-119 east of Longmont. There is a little highway noise, but it is not objectionable. The location provides great views of Longs Peak and the Continental Divide and is situated among a number of small lakes. The rate is $24.00 for a full hookup site Plus $7.00 for your Coach Plus another $7.00 for your tow vehicle if you are towing. Even for a total of $38.00 a night it is a very nice park with large sites with protected picnic tables and barbecue fire pits. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
Rate quoted includes taxes but not the additional vehicle pass of $6/day (if you have a motorhome and tow vehicle you have to buy two). Consider the annual passes if you stay long enough to make it a better deal. Entry road is gravel and can be rough. Full hookup side has no shade trees but all sites have covered table areas. The toilet and shower facilities are all on the non full hookup side so if you don't want to use your own you need to drive over or take a long hike. Paved parking pads, walking/biking trails around the ponds. Lots of water birds and nature. Sites are widely spread apart and fairly private. Your best choice in the metro area for price and atmosphere. Fills up on weekends so reserve early or take your chances. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
Nice park and facilities. Cement pads are all 40' plus. Had plastic tables with covers, a 20x20 party room, and immaculate showers/restrooms. Was 75 cents for a 4 minute shower. Fishing with a licence. Read the DO'S/DON'TS list. The Ranger rides around every hour and will ticket you, starting at $52.50. Interstate 25 is within sight and sound. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Very nice park on several small lakes (formerly gravel pits). The newer part of the park has gravel roads but concrete sites. The north (older) part has paved roads. Thus the dust was worse. The only big drawback was the road in, which was an unpaved washboard. I don't know if it is park road or county maintenance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$18
This is a nice CG. There are two areas, the older area has electric at the sites but there is water available in the campground. Don't tote your water; the water there is good. The newer area has full hookups but no vegetation. I would have given this CG a 10 but the access road needs to be paved. Guess it is in the budget to be done. Big camp sites not cramped side by side. CG also has a dump station. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
We did 2 multi day stops at this campground. The first at the full hook up new sites, closest to the highways, the second at the water & 30A power sites. We much preferred the second area. Depending on wind direction, you may not hear the highways at all. Next time we will do St. Vrain again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2008
$34
We were surprised (and upset) when we arrived at the park. Our reservation was for 3 nights at $22 per night, which was a bit high for a State Park to begin with (IMHO), but the real surprise was being charged an additional $6 per vehicle per night. That made our cost $34 per night because they charged that rate for our toad and our Motor home. We could have been in a Full hook-up park just about anywhere for the same money. The full hook up area of the park has zero shade trees. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$28
This is a nice State Park if you don't mind being very close to Highways. There's I-25 on one side and 119 on the other side. It can get pretty loud during the day. We stayed at site number 66 which faced the one of the lakes however we could still see the highways. The site was very level and easy to get into. The full hookup sites were all new so it was pretty barren as all trees were still small. If you don't need full hookup, the electric only sites looked pretty nice. Fishing was an excellent activity as bass and catfish were in abundance. Another activity that we liked was observing the water fowls. You could see a lot of herons and pelicans here. There is no shades and or privacy between your site and your neighbor. The winds can get pretty strong too so watch out for your awnings. We will come back here for fishing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
This is more of a park for fishing. We mainly went to "get away from it all" for a weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2008
$37
The actual pad sites here are some of the best we have encountered. They are concrete, with a picnic table and shade shelter and are level. Unfortunately, you leave the nearby freeway and drive about 2 miles in a big loop on dirt roads that takes you right back beside Interstate 25 with all the truck and traffic noise audible all the time. The park is mostly barren, but does have some shade sites on the north side of the park. The fees charged by the Colorado State Park system are exorbitant. Our campsite cost $25 per night,but we had to pay a seperate vehicle fee for the motorhome and our towed vehicle of $6 each, which made the total per night $37. We will not stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2008
$32
This is a very nice and popular campground. There are large level sites with a lot of room in between sites. Numerous small lakes provide fishing and there is a lot of water fowl and birds for viewing. There are numerous trails in the area. Camping can get pricey with camping fee, vehicle registration, and online reservation fees. Since we brought our car and motorhome they added up. The dirt road into the park is very rough, and since it rained, it got very muddy as well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Huge paved sites, spaced well apart. Many small lakes with lots of water birds. Very peaceful. It is a state park so passes are required in addition to the camping fee. $6 per vehicle per day (which means $12 if you have a motorhome with a toad). It makes sense to buy the annual pass if you plan to stay 2 weeks. The older area has electric and some water and is $18. That side has paved roads. The newer side has good gravel roads. The main drawback is the dirt access road to the park. It is either dusty and rutted or a mud bog depending on the weather. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$28
Nice, peaceful park. You can see the traffic from the freeway, but it doesn't make too much noise. The only issue with this park is the dirt road you have to go over to get into the park. It was very windy when we were there and we wished we had a site facing a different direction. We stayed in the new area that as water and sewer, and it was very nicely done. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
Awesome state park with clean concrete sites situated around lakes, each with a picnic table, fire pit, and shelter. Trails for walking and very clean shower/restroom facility. The only downside is that, in the section we were in, only electric is available. Water and dump station located at entrance. Another section with full hookups is being developed, should be open by fall 2007. Only nice RV park in the Longmont area that we could find, after visiting the other two. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Well laid out with level concrete pads. Very good except for the mosquitos. Ha We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2006
$21
Campground is now under the city of Firestone and has recently been remodeled now with electric to all sites. The inner campground has also been paved with new blacktop and there is even a newer area to be built this spring with 40 more sites with full hookups. New campground hosts are friendly as well as firm on the rules. Campground is close to I-25 and road noise could be an issue to some. The road between the campground and the road to HWY 119 has not been paved as the old and new city owners are still fighting out on who will pay for that part to be paved. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
2004
$21
Campground was a big mud pit, staff was rude, camping fee and a add on daily use fee. Park refused to refund our advance payments. Will never return. Pop Up 2004 We camped here in a Tent Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com