214919 User submitted reviews online!!
Fort Yargo State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 26 user reviews. Phone: (770) 867-3489
CGID5698

Fort Yargo State Park

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
October 2013
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   10   10   9   10   7   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$30
Clean, well managed Georgia State Park. We arrived on a Saturday afternoon in October a day late from our reservation. There were no issues even though the campground was at capacity. The Camp Host (Super Nice Fellow) took us right to our site and made sure we were all set. He told us his name and made us feel very welcome. Our site was shaded, super flat, clean with a nice long driveway and pad. They have sections 1 and 2 for RV's, we were in Camping Area #2. The 8x8 wood timber borders they use were extremely flat to the ground, allowing our patio mat to lay flat. Our dog loves the small aggregate rock the State uses on the sites, it's easy to walk on. The camp was occupied with well behaved campers. The nights are quiet and very dark. We went on the walking trails the next day. Those are well managed, too. We are planning on staying here again. Bravo! State of Georgia for a real gem just 45 minutes north of Atlanta. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$29
Very nice park just a short drive from our home. But worth it to pack up and go; it's like you're in a different atmosphere when you camp in this state park. Sites are level, clean, and well maintained. They just built 2 new washrooms and also have laundry facilities. It is actually 2 separate campgrounds with a walking trail that connects the two. Campground 1 has the most lakefront sites with awesome views of the lake. The only reason I would not rate it higher is that like the majority of GA state parks there is no hookups for sewer. This can be aggravating as you may need to bring along a portable tank to drain your grey water and then take it to the dump station. Not a problem for those who use the campground showers, but for me personally I bought a camper so I could use it, including my own shower when I need to. I'd like to see ALL Georgia state parks do what Don carter (the newest state park) has done. They installed an in ground bucket with drain holes in it, on a buried bed of rocks, on each site with charcoal in it and allow you to drain your grey water from your rv into this. No need for expensive sewer drains and plumbing, just do this. Cheap, easy and effective way to handle grey water! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
Even though we enjoy full hook-up, the sites made up for them. This park is so beautiful and we found the camp host a pleasure. We were there for 4 nights and would have stayed longer if we could have extended departure date. Beautiful setting, friendly people, and safe campgrounds. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2013
$30
My husband and I fell in love with this park and wished we could have spent more time here. It was delightful. Almost every site we saw was level. The parking pads are constructed of crushed stone and all have a picnic table and a fire ring/barbecue. Almost all of the sites are separated from others. There are bike trails and walking trails throughout the park. There are docks near the camping area. Everything was clean and peaceful. The campground hosts were especially friendly. Our stay was idyllic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2013
$25
Secluded sites nestled in trees with easy pull through access. Discounted off season rate. Beautiful lake with easy fishing from banks. Historic old fort. Great mountain bike trails, and hiking trails well marked. Friendly helpful hosts and ranger staff. Well paved roads, very clean bathrooms, showers, heated, and laundry. Close to quaint town with shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$18
This is a beautiful park on a large lake. There are nice hiking and biking trails. It is a rather small and popular campground so it would be wise to make a reservation. There are some large speed bumps so travel slowly. The Yurts are very interesting and might be fun to rent. They are right on the lake with their own docks. We did not have a reservation and we were lucky to get a site on the water. We would stay here again. We camped for just one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$28
We were in this area for two days only on family business...cold and rainy. The park would be a great place to be if you had the time and were there at the right time of the year. Very nice place. Showers were fine...laundry (washer and dryer--takes quarters) available. Would stay there again for sure. Next time, we plan to come for more fun! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2011
$29
A beautiful, well maintained campground convenient to Athens if you happen to be going to the University of Georgia. The staff and host were extremely friendly and efficient. They actually delivered the fire wood I purchased at a very reasonable price to our site. There are only three things keeping this park from being a 10 instead of a 7...too many very large speed bumps that aren't really needed, not having 50 amp service at their most beautiful lake side lots and not having any full hookup sites. We will stay at this park when in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Great park overall - had wonderful stay. Be careful when booking - park is very popular and can book fast, especially lake front sites. Pro: Sites VERY level and well kept, attentive and friendly office staff, camp host very active and friendly, gray water dump sites located around park, good shade trees, large firewood bundles at good price (even delivered), quiet lake. Con: Front office closes by 5 PM, only garbage site is at front of campground (so those in back have to drive their trash up each night), separate cost for parking pass. We ended up joining "Friends of the GA State Parks" program - a reasonable donation gets you free parking passes and 1-3 nights stay for free in state parks. You may want to check it out. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$28
This park was very nice. There was plenty to do for everyone. This was a holiday weekend, so it was full. The bathhouse was clean and for a change the firewood quantity was good for the price. We look forward to going back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is a clean park with level, shady sites. I rated it a 7 because of the hassle factor. It is apparently very popular in the nearby towns. We camped during spring break week and on Friday morning had car after car driving through at 8am tagging sites to occupy later in the day. We also had a problem with finding a site when we arrived even though we had reservations. The host said they probably overbooked. He ended up removing a tag on a site with no camper for us to occupy. This was not the relaxed, stress free environment that we go camping for! I doubt I'd camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
We checked in late at night and camp host came by and greeted us. He told us all about park and asked if we needed help setting up. Couldn't have been nicer. The next day we rode on the real mountain biking trails and then took a dip in the swimming lake. Our only complaint was the water was like a hot tub, but that's nature. We highly recommend this Georgia State Park. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. We will return to this park We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$28
This is a great park, clean, well kept and camper friendly. There are lots to do, bring your mountain bike if you have one, great trail system in the park. Nice level sites and spead out so you are not on top of the camper next to you. Would camp here again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
This is a state park! We never expected such a GREAT campground. The private owned should take note of how a wonderful campground should look! I highly recommend this as a place to set back by the campground and enjoy the outdoors. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2009
$23
The people in the office are very friendly and polite. The campground is very well maintained. The showers are very clean. It was very quiet during my stay, and it rained so I didn't get to do as much walking as I would have liked. The site I was in (13) was so level that I simply had to pull up and I was level both ways. Even though we had very heavy rain, there was enough pea gravel on the site to prevent mud. With two dogs, mud is a problem so a well maintained site is appreciated. The lake is beautiful. Several deer were in the campground in the early morning. The campground, itself, is quite a ways down the road in the park. The location is very convenient to restaurants in Winder, and within a half hour of Athens which has many nice specialty shops. We would have spent more time in Athens had the weather been better. I would camp here, again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2008
$27
We stayed only one night as we moved through Atlanta. The park is beautiful, the sites are immaculate with defined borders and lots of pea gravel. The pull thru's were large and easy to maneuver in and out. Excellent tables and utilities. We didn't use the dump station. I wish we had more time to spend several days in the park. Forget the urban parks in Atlanta and stay here if you can. Fantastic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
We had a great Time. The camp hosts were very helpful. Our site was easy to get in and out of. The sites are very clean as was the rest of the park. Restrooms were well kept and convenient. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2007
$24
We camped there as part of the fall Georgia RVers Rally. We were in site 3, which was large and fairly level. We heard rumors that the horrible speed breaks were going to be replaced before long. Other than the speed beaks, we really enjoyed the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
We camped here for our very first adventure with our new travel trailer. The campground was clean and felt private. There were a lot of trees and we had a great view of the lake. The sites were gravel, but the gravel was kept neatly contained by railroad ties. There were really easy to use and clean campfire/BBQ rings. They also had a permanent pole near the picnic table on which to hang a lantern. The dump station was well-maintained. We would return again without hesitation, if only they had sewer hookups! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$22
Campground is a little older appearing but nice. We had a site on the lake. Very close to the city of Winder for restaurants or anything else you would need. The bathrooms were not sparkling clean but okay. Be prepared for the monster speed bumps located over the entire campground. We even bottomed out on the pick up truck! Great mountain bike trails! Still liked this campground to say that it would be a great weekend get-a-way, but still have civilization close at hand. We will camp there again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
If your a mountain biker, Ft. Yargo SP Campground is a great place to stay. Many miles of trails to keep you busy for all levels. The lake front sites are hard to come by and are very close together. The non-lake sites are spaced far enough apart to give you plenty of privacy. The drive to the campground after you enter the park is a few miles, but this means your usually far away from the day use people. The park entrance is in the city of Winder which offers plenty of grocery shopping and restaurants. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
Our first trip to Yargo was highly enjoyable. A short drive from Atlanta, this is a great, quick getaway without blowing the bank on gas. Campsites were large, fairly level and well-spaced apart. We were in Site 18 - one of the pull-through sites - and didn't have to use anything other than the tongue jack to level the trailer fore and aft. We enjoyed the area around the lake and spent several hours on the Bird Berry trail where my wife - a birder - picked up a couple new species. I, the photographer in the family, had a lot of fun with some tiny wild flowers growing along the trail. We will definitely be returning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
This is an EXCELLENT state park. The sites are wide and surprisingly not too far off level (only 1 of our 4 jacks were needed). The facilities were clean and the staff were very friendly. Although there are no full hookup sites for campers, there are places scattered throughout the park where you can hookup to a gray water dump if your hose is long enough. The $19 rate we paid reflects the senior discount off their regular $24 rate. Ft Yargo also features scenic hiking trails, miniature golf and non-motorized boat rentals. We would certainly stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2007
$22
Many of the trees are down and crowd the camping area making it look very un-kept. Some of the sites were updated and some are not. Roads were easy to navigate and wide enough for my 44' of truck and trailer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$15
Very peaceful. Saw deer and birds. Some sites larger than others. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$19
Appears run down, not very scenic. Site are long way from camp office/store Not one of Georgia's best State Parks We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com