219848 User submitted reviews online!!
Johnson's Corner RV Retreat was rated 5 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (970) 669-8400
CGID570

Johnson's Corner RV Retreat

Camp Information
Sites
140
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   6   2   1   4   6   7   2   1   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$31
Price is with Good Sam discount. Spent two nights here, and by coincidence had spent one night a couple years ago. No major change noticed. It is a bit rough looking due to all the permanent residents, but everyone was friendly. Office staff was very nice, but we were not escorted to our site. Our particular site was plenty long for the pickup and 37' trailer, but as with all the sites, very narrow. Many of the sites would have been very difficult to get into. Used a restroom once and while old, it was clean. Pool looked good from a distance, but didn't seem to be used much. One site near the entrance had a party both nights and my only complaint was we weren't part of it. Nice young folks. Only real noise was from the adjacent interstate. I understand the more gentile traveler may find it intimidating. I do suggest management work harder to get people to clean up after their pets. We used both dog areas and picked up several piles left behind. Also, saw too many messes along the way. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$32
Nice setting with trees. A lot of RVs in the park for its size. Very close. Many permanent residents. Convenient location, reasonable price for services. Wouldn't use this park if RV over 35' due to space sizes and crowded conditions of residents parking boats, trailers, vehicles partially in the narrow streets. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
October 2012
$38
I have a hard time classifying this as a campground. Most the residents appeared to be long term, the campground has the feel and look of an old trailer park. Oddly enough, this was the only park we were asked the condition of our older MH (1997, fully reconditioned last year including exterior paint and trim)prior to allowing check in. The average age of the RVs in the park seemed much older than ours and rather run down in condition. Sites are gravel and very tight. Tried using the dog run but one the the residents was there with four large (shep mix) and very aggressive dogs. All hook ups worked properly. Stayed here only because it was close to a visit destination and listed as a "Good Sam" park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2012
$38
Worst RV park we've stayed in (out of 33 parks so far). Rude clerk at check in. Extremely tight getting in/out due to narrow sites and vehicles parked on rows. Park was crammed with permanents who make the park look dumpy. It was so bad, we paid for 2 nights but left after first night. I'd recommend you go anywhere but here! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2012
$37
This is mostly a place for full time residents. We were given a site in a row of full timers and if our fifth wheel was one inch longer we would not have been able to get in and out. Slide outs come within a couple inches of the trailers on either side. Basically a Walmart parking lot with hookups. The place is clean, no trash, and the people are very friendly. OK for a one night stopover, although you may think twice if you have anything longer than 35'. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$38
Sites are very tight. Park needs some updating. Lots of full time residents. Nice pool area. Lot of highway noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This park was packed with live ins. A few traveler sites were available. We almost had to unhitch our vehicle to pull out because the site was so narrow. The roads are narrow also. You can hear the interstate traffic all night; even with A/C running. Without going too far from the freeway, this was one of the few places to stay, but we will try to avoid having to stay here again. The restaurant is 1/2 mile away. We walked there. The food was terrible. We didn't eat our dinners. But the "world famous cinnamon rolls" were truly amazing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
I'm being generous and giving this campground a two - only because it has a couple of good points. Very close to and noisy I-25, but that can be a plus for traveling to nearby destinations, for vacationers like my family. Yes, primarily long term 'live in' people, but I met one amazingly nice couple up near the front. Biggest problems: the sites are on top of each other, dusty gravel roads, no shade (where we were), strange site configuration, barely room for our van even with a little pop-up and I have only once in my life seen a solid cement picnic table and benches! (in FL) OK if you're in a big RV and not going to use it, same with most of my other complaints. Also, the bath house was marginal at best. No A/C, no soap, no paper towels, small, and small shower stalls. The saving grace, for us, was the swimming pool, especially for the kids. The location was convenient enough to go to Rocky Mountain National Park, but I would go somewhere else definitely next time. The straw that breaks it for me was the office staff - they were indifferent at best and completely ill informed about the surrounding area as evidenced by both people at check in said that they 'do not know' how far it is to Rocky Mt. National Park!! That is the only reason we went there. Also, when I realized that they did not give us the code for the internet at check in, I called from my air conditioned camper to get the code so that I could search for a grocery store on my computer. When the woman in the office said she 'could not/would not?' give it to me over the phone, and that I had to come over to the office, I went in there and told her that I did not like my site and felt that we had been treated poorly. After that they came by on a golf cart and offered to change our site because they wanted us to be 'happy'. That's something anyway. But always check here first. Do not go by AAA, who gave this park a 3/3 rating. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$38
Awful. Sites literally overlap; neighbor's awning in space assigned to us so we could not open ours. (His space clearly too small also.) Neighbor's space looks like trailer-trash, dirty, multiple LP cannisters lined up. No table; or the neighbor has it. No space for a truck. Neighbor's truck extends into our space. Unfriendly check-in. Wi-Fi very limited and constantly disconnects. And for this, $38. (Had to stay as no place else available during Cheyenne Rodeo.) Worst ever in hundreds of campgrounds. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
This is one of the poorest campgrounds we have stayed in!! We should have read the previous posts first. Sites are so tight your slide outs almost touch and I seriously mean that. There are lots of permanent residents in trailers. We would never stay here again and can not imagine that anyone else would. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
The park is nice and nearly all sites are shady. The RV sites are small and very tightly packed. Because it is near the interstate highway it is very convenient but it is also very noisy with constant highway noise and heavy truck traffic. The park is pet friendly but the pet run was filthy dirty and poorly maintained and our dog refused to go inside. There are also numerous older RVs that have boards around them for skirting and seem to be permanent residents. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
Like the previous reviewer I found this park extremely congested. Some of the regulars even had tents on there site to accommodate additional family members who were apparently staying there full time. The noise from I-25 was round the clock and the trees prevented getting a satellite signal. The pluses were the roads were paved and the gravel sites were level. The laundry was clean. I would probably look for another place if I'm in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$34
This "Retreat" is the recipient of my first ever "Sardine Can" award. I'm not sure I have ever seen so many RVs packed into one place except maybe at a rally. My neighbor on the left is so close, I cannot open my basement doors. We also share "our" patio space with an old permanent trailer. The interior roads are paved, and our site was level. I would guess about 80% of the park's population are seasonal residents and permanent residents. Some are VERY junky looking. There is a lot of traffic noise from the nearby I-25. There are very tall trees strategically planted to where most sites get no satellite reception, that's why there are dishes all over the place sitting on the ground. The free WiFi signal strength is poor (in the SW corner of the park at least), and the Internet speeds are abysmal ranging from 45k to 100k download speed. At least my iPhone had a good 3G signal, so I could use it for email and browsing. I wouldn't stay here again if they gave me a site for free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
This was an OK campground but some of the "permanent tenents" left a lot to be desired. I could not get into the passenger side of my car during our whole visit here, due to neighbor's piles and piles of dog waste. I finally went to management and they promised to handle it. Other than that, it was a great place to stop just off of I-25. It is next to a RV dealership, restaurant, truckstop and such owned by the same people. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
I would definitely recommend this park. The staff is courteous and friendly. The laundry and showers are the best I have seen. The sites are large with grass and plenty of parking. They have a nice play area for children as well as put-put golf in the summer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2009
$36
Nice park with a lot of trees. Seems to have a lot of long term campers. Road to sites are narrow and site barely fit our rig and tow. We had to undo the tow in order to get out in the morning, the permanent rig next to us and in front of us where situated so we could barely make the turn out. People are friendly. No cable TV. We might stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
It is a nice campground but not worth the price if you stay only one night. They have quite a few goodies such as swimming pool and miniature golf but if you only stay overnight you probably won’t use them. The WiFi was spotty at best. We only had one or two bars most of the time and it was slow. The overnight spaces were next to the Interstate and it was noisy all night. The long timers were placed in quieter spaces but were rather close together. All in all it was adequate but about $10 too much. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$34
This campground would get a 10 for effort and for staff friendliness. However, it was incredibly busy, noisy and packed out. We could have shaken hands with our neighbors through our respective windows! We were camped between two permanent residents, one of whom had hogged the communal picnic table with his African violets, radio and ashtray. It has a nice pool and fitness center. The Wifi was encrypted and was complicated for some to access. They have a permanent resident who will help you access the Internet for $20! Why make it so complex? Ridiculous. We could not get above 2 bars at the campsite and the service did not work much of the time. I personally hate campgrounds who advertise free wifi and then it doesn't work well. We would not return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$36
Pricey but worth it. The good points: It is the best park in the area for the cost. They've got a great pool, rec hall and workout room. Lots of grassy areas and nice people, super friendly staff. The bad points; Tree shade here WILL block your satellite connectivity. They did just hire a smart networking guy who installed a brand new Wi-Fi system which works GREAT. So skip the dish and go right for the Wi-Fi, which is free. Also, sites can be really tight, even for us, in our 24' 5er. Otherwise though, we're glad we stayed. It definitely has a resort feel, and is nice splurge. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2008
$38
As mentioned before, this is like being in the middle of I-25. There are relatively quieter sites in the back row, but those seem to be all long-term stay. In fact, much of the park seems to be residential. Only 4 sites were available for overnight on a weekday afternoon in late August. Sites are long and mostly narrow, with sewer cap in the back end and water way up front, making it a tough hookup and wasn't level either. They have free Wi-Fi, a pool and rec room, nice large dog run, but very small laundry and only one dumpster location for 225 sites. Office guy was so uncaring , he didn't bother offering a park map nor the bathroom key code til asked. If you really have to stay here for an overnight, be sure to go see the open sites first and also decide if you can stand the road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Large beautiful trees are in the park. Sites are a bit tight, some a bit short, but the ambiance of the park makes up for that. Nice pool, family friendly, park. View of the Rockies on the I-25 side of the park. We parked toward the back of the park so the highway traffic was not a problem. From the back of the park, where we headed our motor home in, we had a view of lights across the landscape. We loved it here and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2005
$34
Park was so noisy I moved after first night. It felt like I was parked alongside the freeway. Wait, I was. My site was only 200' away from the northbound lanes of I-25. I recommend this park only to the hard of hearing. Also a lot of "seasonals" have taken the sites back in the trees where the sound levels don't hurt as much. Office is closed on Sunday. It is serve yourself for site selection if you arrive on Sunday but the only sites they seem to make available are "freeway" sites. My rating is based solely on the Freeway noise. The facilities are otherwise ok. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2005
$99
Stayed four nights in July of 2005. This place is fairly well kept up, except the playground. The sites are all gravel very small and very tight to get in and out of. They also forgot to mention in their ad or on their web site that they charge extra if you use a credit card. Or as they like to say "a discount if you pay cash". Either way it is not mentioned until you use your credit card to pay. Not even when you call to make a reservation, with your card. The entire campground is very close to the interstate if the ground shaking doesn't keep you awake you will need earplugs to sleep! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2004
$35
We had to be in the area for about 2 months and chose Johnsons Corner because of it's beautiful photos and ratings. We had to pay a damage deposit just in case if we ran over the sewer or took out a fence. But the problem with this is that the sites are so crowded that our bedroom slide was about 6 inches from our neighbors dining/living room slide. In the evening as we were setting up our barbeque, the wind shifted and we caught the putrid aroma of the feedlot that is across the highway that isn't visible to the campground. We were not able to set up our satellite because of the trees and they did not offer cable. We paid for the month, but we had to leave early because we were literally forced inside our rig because of the nasty cow smell. They do allow pets, but they have pet restrictions and charge $1.00 per day per pet. They charge an extra charge for the phone, but I found out that all campers had to share 3 phone lines so you weren't allowed to get on the internet and stay for any length of time to allow all users to be able to use the phone. We just wouldn't go back. They charge to use the exercise facilities which were minimal at best. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
2002
$25
Although big rigs can be accommodated in some sites, most are too short for parking a 24' 5er and a 3/4 ton truck. Separate tow vehicle parking is available but it is not convenient to your camp site. All sites are gravel and somewhat level. Satellite reception is spotty at best due to the many tall trees in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com