219007 User submitted reviews online!!
Fries New River Trail RV Park was rated 10 out of 10 based on 52 user reviews. Phone: (276) 233-1178
CGID5706

Fries New River Trail RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
14
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Stream)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   10   10   10   9   10   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$38
Follow directions to park as detailed on park's website. We disconnected tow car in Galax and used 2 way radio with tow car as pilot car. Cell service (Verizon) is very weak. Park free internet is outstanding. We've stayed in sites 11 and 14 with no problems getting DirecTV. Sites are wonderful as well as the owners. Stream runs by each site. Interior road and sites are gravel with outstanding landscaping. Great shade morning and mid to late afternoon. Lot of things to do in Fries and near by Galax. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$30
We loved this campground. Small, but beautifully contoured up a little valley right in the small town of Fries. The owner is charming and the CG is his baby! Friends had recommended this place. If you like Bluegrass, it's close to the Crooked Road area of Virginia. Sites are covered in pea gravel and are level. Fully intend to camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
This is an awesome RV Park. The owners are friendly and helpful. The sites are large and very well maintained. The park is always clean and very well maintained. This park is not one of the biggest parks, but it is without a doubt one of the best RV parks - anywhere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
This is an excellent park. The drive to the park must be carefully driven, if you have a long RV. We camped in a 45 foot motor home towing a car. Follow the directions on their website to the letter. We would suggest to disconnect a towed vehicle in nearby Galax, if driving a long motor home. The owner's are wonderful. The park is beautifully located in a hollow. Nice fog in the morning burning off later. Shade is enjoyed for most of the day because the park is located in a hollow. Sat TV was not a problem. Included WiFi and digital cable TV worked well. Verizon cell was weak or non-existent. Park is very quiet except for the babbling creek right next to your site and occasional dogs barking in the distance. Fries is in the middle of bluegrass and old time music. Take advantage of it and the nearby Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2013
$35
Why can't all be like this? Because then this place wouldn't be special. If you read the other reviews you already know the owners are great, the place is manicured and clean, it is very quiet (and I am a musician so I am not a quiet freak) and we have a a true babbling brook next to our bedroom window. Our site was 11 and in this area the RVs are parked nose to rear so you never have a neighbor outside your window. We had turkeys in our picnic area the first morning we woke up. We are full-timers, but I still work from "home" and Internet is business critical. The wi-fi smokes. This is better than any park we visited. Our Dish satellite system works fine and I was told Direct TV works, as well. My company AT&T phone does not work, but our Verizon iPhones work with occasional dropped calls. Still not enough to lower the 5 star rating. While we have stayed many places before, this is only our 2nd stay since full-timing. We are doing month long stays in order to accommodate my business needs. Today was the first time we agreed we are happy with life on what we call our Magical Mystery Tour. We will always return here when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
Beautiful, well maintained park with the friendliest campground hosts you will ever meet! They provided a hotdog supper one evening and homemade ice cream the next evening. We met friendly campers and had a great time. The New River provides plenty of scenic views and was the backdrop for a free concert by a talented musician on Saturday night. Stop by the Caboose for ice cream. The camping sites are bordered by a small stream. Some have decks and porch swings. Bathrooms are spotless. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We've stayed here three times and would definitely stay again. I found this park looking for a place where you could camp and bike directly to the New River Trail. It is so much more than a campground! The owners welcome you and provide homemade muffins for your first morning breakfast. They often offer weekend social events, like local music or ice cream. There is a porch with rockers at the office that overlooks the stream and a water wheel. The bathrooms, always very clean, include a shower, sink and toilet. Since most people use their RV bathroom, we usually don't have to wait for one. I wish this place would remain a "best kept secret." We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
Had a very enjoyable time in Fries Park and the surrounding area. Campground was spotless as were the restrooms! Owner was sick during our visit, so did not meet him, but his wife was there and brought us delicious pumpkin muffins for breakfast one morning. A small campground that seems to have many repeat campers. Will definitely be back again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$35
I had made reservations and told the owner that we would be arriving around 3PM. The motorhome overheated with a broken belt (14 miles from our exit) and I called to tell him that we should cancel, because I wasn't sure if/when a repair would occur. At 10pm, we were ready to roll and I called asking if our site was still available and could we still come. Owner was pleasant and said yes then calling back and saying he would meet us in Galax as the road to the campground is dark and winding. We followed him to the campground and his wife had sent pumpkin raisin muffins with him which proved a wonderful late night snack. Our site was a pull through gravel base and was very level. Cable and Wi-Fi were and added bonus to the wonderfully naturalized site. We did not have AT&T reception for the cell, but the excellent Wi-Fi let us text to keep in touch at home. The park is in downtown Fries, and in walking distance to the New River Trail, town park, Fries Theater (great jam sessions on Thursday evenings) and a good Mexican Restaurant. Bring a bicycle as the trail is quite scenic along the river. Canoes, kayaks and bikes are available to rent close by. Dog walking was slightly restrictive but we had no trouble. This park surely is a classic form of Southern Hospitality and we will definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
This is one of the campgrounds my family loves. This is a very well-kept park tucked into a little valley. The location adjacent to the New River Rail Trail and the New River make this a great long weekend stop. There aren't a lot of other distractions so don't come expecting a lot to do. The hosts are very friendly and always bring by a treat sometime after check-in which is a great touch. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$35
This is a wonderful place to stay. The owner met us upon arrival and directed us to our site. We had a problem with our steps and he gave us the name of the RV doctor. The park is very well maintain. The owner was very attentive to any thing we needed. He even loaned me his cell phone as mine wouldn't get out. We stayed in site #6 which is all gravel. But was a great site, it had shade all day long. We loved this camp ground so much, we have already booked for next Memorial week. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$35
Well worth the effort to get to. The owner was wonderful, greeting us when we arrived with fresh pumpkin muffins. Handy to the trail and many places of interest. Park is small but beautifully done with roomy, level sites. Great TV and Wi-Fi reception. Bathrooms are clean and spacious. Nice roomy showers with lots of hot water. We will be back and spend more time here as there is lots to see and do. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Excellent park and owner. Very informative and friendly. Super location to New River bike trail. Could use a little more water pressure in the shower. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Excellent experience, great park! The owner was very customer service oriented. Peaceful, quiet and close to the New River Trail State Park. Highly recommend, we will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Let me first say, the website makes this park look amazing. It was right in the middle of downtown Fries. I understand there is a great bike trail close which we did not use. It is not an easy place and is not on a direct route. The owner is very nice and gave us muffins from his wife. The last site is probably the nicest. The WiFi was sketchy and we did not have a cable hookup. We will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
Its hard to add anything that has not been said before. Will keep coming back. Right next to the bike trail. Nice owners. Great park! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Wonderful! We have stayed here a couple of times and love it! It's quiet and beautiful. Small brook next to each site. Peaceful to drink my morning coffee and listen to the brook and the birds. Has terrific hosts. Everything is within walking distance. Also has near by bike, hiking trails and the New River. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Camped here for the first time this year and nothing has changed it's still our favorite campground! Management does a wonderful job keeping the place clean and friendly people to camp with! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
We camped here for the second time in April, 2011. This campground is quiet, has beautiful well-kept landscaping, and level sites. Cleanest bathrooms I've seen in any campground. The sites are very easy to get into and are a generous size. Wireless internet and cable TV worked great. We love sitting by the camper listening to the small stream that runs nearby. The campground is very close to the New River Trail, and we normally ride on the trail each visit. The owner is wonderful, very friendly and helpful. We will be back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Very unique RV resort! Absolutely spotless! We were on site 2 which has a waterwheel and a large elevated deck. Super easy to back into, and site is absolutely level. The owner is a genuinely nice person that really did an outstanding job of building this park, and his wife (didn't meet her) makes great muffins! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
A beautiful park! Was very clean and well cared for. One of our favorites. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is our third time to visit this campground because the facilities are so clean and pleasant and we love riding our bikes and hiking with our dogs on the New River Trail. This couple takes pride in their park and keep it well manicured with their personal touches. We camped in Site 5 which is in the front of the campground, but if you really want a beautiful view with a private swing and deck, ask for Site 11 or 12 in the back of the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$30
This is a terrific park! Exceptionally clean facilities, lovely landscaping and a huge amount of space at each site. Very quiet and peaceful surroundings. The owner met us on arrival and helped us get into our site. WiFi was perfect! Our cell didn't work but a phone was provided in the office for campers to make a call if needed. Only 6 miles from Galax and such a pretty drive past the New River and New River bike trail. We will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is the 4th time my family and I have camped here this year and we've throughly enjoyed it! We have two young children who enjoy playing in the creek, which is convenient for us because it's in front of the camper! The Wi-Fi, power, and water pressure are great! The manager does a wonderful job with everything! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
One of the better campgrounds we have found in almost 4 years of full timing. Gravel sites are wide and level; beautifully landscaped, some with patios. Very quiet at night. Sites are shaded and as smaller trees grow will become even more private. Cable TV and Wi-Fi are good. Owner is VERY involved, even delivers his wife’s homemade muffins to newcomers. They are constantly improving the campground. Another camper told us to go to the end of the CG to turn around. We barely made the turnaround. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is an idyllic RV Park. The owner goes to great lengths to see that his tenants are well taken care of. His wife even bakes delicious homemade muffins which are given upon arrival. All of the spaces are right next to a creek with no neighbors on either side. One of the best maintained and welcoming parks we've ever stayed in. We never wanted to leave our spot. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$32
Camped here again this year for a family reunion. This park is exceptionally clean and well run. Even the Wi-Fi worked great. The owners are very friendly and strive to exceed their customer's expectations. This park is near the entrance of the New River Trail which is 57 miles of a beautiful bike or hiking trail that is almost flat as it's on an old railroad grade. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$32
Everything worked as advertised. This was a great campground in town and we enjoyed the easy access to the New River Trail. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We camped here for a week in July and had a great time. We had site number 2 with the big, shaded deck and the water wheel. It was such a nice, quiet, relaxing experience. The owners were so nice and brought us warm, homemade muffins. They were helpful and always making sure we were doing okay. The internet was a little spotty at times and there was not a lot of space for the dog to go, but we managed just fine. It was also very convenient to the New River Trail. We rode our bikes on the trail and had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
You can hide away in this great campground. Most of the sites are by a small spring fed creek. You can sit on your patio and hear the water running. The owner and his wife are very friendly. The park is so clean. The owner is there everyday. The sites are gravel and every time someone leaves the owner rakes and levels the site. Just a short walk across the road is New River. We even had deer walking in the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This is a wonderful place to camp. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Our site had its own private deck with a waterwheel. The New River Trail is within walking distance. The owners even volunteered their bikes for us as we did not bring bikes. Don't miss the jam sessions on Thursday night in the recreation center in downtown Fries. Although the campground is almost in town, a deer came through the campground nightly. No real restaurants in Fries, but it's only a short drive to Galax. We will return to this small, intimate campground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
This is a wonderful place to get away. No pool or arcade but just a short walk to the New River Trail State Park. Very friendly people and the entire campground is very well taken care of. We will go back again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$32
Very nice park. Peaceful and quiet. Owners are very nice people. Beautiful area. Love the sound of the stream with ripples. Stayed at site 12. Just 5 miles from Galax, with several eating places, Wal-Mart. Will return here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$28
As others have stated, the owners are super nice and the campground is well kept. The website refers to its location as a mountain hollow but it's more like a gravel road between two ridges. The campground road dead ends to some other homes and there is some traffic going through the campground (kind of fast and dusty) to get to their homes. The New River Trail is a real attraction there but not much else. The town is an old run down mill town with little to offer. The people are extremely nice though. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$25
This is a great park to visit and spend some time, not just a stop over. The owners are fantastic hosts and really go out of their way to make you comfortable and welcome. It is just out of the way enough to be quiet and relaxing but close enough to be convenient. It is not hard to find or get to at all. We will definitely be going back, our winter visit was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$30
We stayed here for the entire month of October. The owner of the park was always at work around the park manicuring the park to perfection. Both the owner and his wife made us feel like family. They were constantly giving us ideas of things to do and see. The park is very close to the New River Trail for hiking and biking. There is so much to see and do in the area that we have made reservations for a return trip next year. The small quaint town has music every Thursday night with locals playing and singing. Thanks to the owners for having the foresight to create such a nice small park where one can have a quiet, wonderful vacation. This park has so much to offer it's hard to put it in a short forum. It must be experienced to appreciate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Stayed three days and enjoyed the Festival at the River in Fries. Excellent privately owned campground, well manicured and exceptional service from the owners. One of our favorite getaways as it is a quiet very relaxing atmosphere. Tom and Delieta are great hosts. Will be back soon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
It is located in the middle of a quaint, friendly little town nestled in a notch in the Blue Ridge Mountains. This is an ideal place to relax, unwind, and enjoy all the area has to offer. The New River and the New River Trail (biking and hiking) are just a short walk away from the park. There is an old time country music jam session on Thursday evening on the main street in Fries, and a concert at the campground on Saturday evening. The sites are level with full hookups and a good distance apart. There is a water wheel and a small stream running through the campground. The greeting room/office, or the porch are both good places to relax in a rocking chair. The bathrooms and showers are large, immaculate and beautifully decorated. The owners are so friendly and go out of their way to make you feel welcome. They provide delicious homemade muffins on your arrival. We have stayed here twice and hope to return often. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
This is an excellent small park. The only reason I didn't score it a "10" is because the road and sites are gravel not paved, and I personally reserve 10's for paved parks. It is nearly new and very well kept. It is located in a small "hollow", with a stream to one side and a road going up--most of the sites are between the road and the stream, one behind the other. The host is very affable, and the Saturday night sing song was very enjoyable. The area is remote, and the roads to get to it are winding and narrow, so be advised. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
We stayed here three nights and loved this RV park. It is quiet and we were in Site #12 with a wood deck beside it, overlooking the creek that runs through the campground. On Saturday night the owner, Tom Guy, invited all the campers to hear a local country/western singer, John Wesley Carpenter. He was excellent and sang or told us about himself and the area from 7:30 - 9:30 PM. Wonderful, unexpected entertainment. We bought one of his CDs, and were able to meet all of the others staying at the campground. Campground is within walking distance to New River, which we enjoyed, plus walking through a little town that probably once was very productive. We plan to return another year when the fall leaves are in full color. We camped here in a truck/camper, but the sites are large so motor homes would have no problems getting in or out. We usually stay in campgrounds that are pretty busy, so this was different and a great experience. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$30
Like the other reviews above, we found this to be one of the nicest RV parks we've ever stayed at. We took some scenic pictures of the park with the motorhome in front of the little creek that runs through the park. It is only 15 miles from Interstate 77 and well worth the couple of extra miles to stay away from the Interstate. It was really quiet both day and night. There is a lot of space between sites. Tom, the owner, is a walking Chamber of Commerce for the area. He was very helpful to us and made sure we had plenty of things to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
This is one of the best RV parks we're ever stayed in. It is a fairly new park and the owner continues to make improvements in the landscaping. While it is small, it is very well laid out and maintained and can accommodate large RVs. It is very quiet and peaceful. It's a great place to come to and just relax. The park is very close to the New River Trail for biking or walking and the river is just the other side of the trail. We have enjoyed riding on the trail, which is an old railroad bed, so it is an easy ride with great views of the river and mountains. The river is great for fishing, tubing and canoing. The park in located in Fries Virginia but is only a few miles from Galax and of course Wal-Mart! The park has wireless Internet service for those who need access and it has worked well during both of our visits. The owner and his wife have been extremely friendly and helpful to us both times we've stayed at this park. The area has beautiful views and we've really enjoyed traveling the back roads. We hope to make frequent visits to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
Campground is new, two years in operation, and is very well maintained. Owner Tom Guy exemplifies what customer service should be - friendly, helpful and available. Campground is convenient to the New River Trail State Park where we enjoyed bike riding and hiking. Tom and wife took a van load of us campers to nearby Galax on Friday evening to enjoy a bluegrass music concert - a nice amenity. There is no swim area and no playground, so children have to be entertained in other ways. Wifi service first night was shaky, but after Tom rebooted, service was very good rest of our stay. Campground was easy to get in and out of, and was very quiet. We look forward to returning to Fries New River Trail RV Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$28
This is a beautiful park in a pretty place with great owners. It's located a short walk from the New River where there is rafting and a great walking/bike trail. The surrounding mountains and parks are great for exploring and views and the Blue Ridge Parkway is a short drive. This was our second visit and we will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
Congratulations to the family for providing the type of camping experience we all desire. This immaculately maintained RV park is within 1/2 block of the New River and the New River Trails. This park is one of the finest privately owned, non-franchised parks that we have ever stayed in. The residents of Fries are friendly and the local business owners appreciate your support. The homemade muffins and occasional complimentary breakfasts are a great treat and extremely appreciated. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2007
$28
This campground is simply wonderful, and the town of Fries has the friendliest people around. Our site had a deck overlooking a small stream. The bathrooms are spotless. The landscaping is beautiful. The owners bring you fresh muffins every day, and are willing to chat any time. The location can't be beat. You're within walking distance of the New River Trail State Park for bicycling, and the New River for swimming or kayaking. You can put your kayak in at the town park 2 blocks away or go up the road 3 miles and rent a canoe at Riverside Outfitters. I wish we could have stayed longer! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
We visited this park again over the Fourth of July and had an awesome time. If you are in this area and are looking for a home away from home, then you need to check out this park. The owners are very personable and will go above and beyond to accommodate. We will definitely return as soon as possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
The campground is located in a little mountain river town with a very interesting history and at the trail head for the New River biking and hiking trail which extends for 57 miles along the river through gorgeous mountain scenery. The camp owners have created a "bed and breakfast" atmosphere and the campground is very, very clean and well thought out. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting them, visiting with the folks in the small town and riding the trail. The autumn leaves, rippling shoals of the shallow river, homemade quiche and muffins, and the miles of easy biking will definitely bring us back soon. We stayed a week in a Class B motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Nice campground. Owners are great. There is only one bathroom/shower combo for each available. Might not be a problem with only 12 sites but a potential line at the bathroom door is there. Children are welcome but there are no recreational facilities on site for them. Multi use path nearby (a few blocks) for riding bicycle and enjoying river views. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
Fries RV Park is unlike any other. My family cannot wait to go back. The owner's are genuinely nice, extremely accommodating and a true joy to be around. We were able to ride our bicycles along the New River Trail and take a canoe trip down the New River. We enjoyed the friendliness of the people of the town and were also lucky enough to get a private tour of downtown Fries. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$28
This park is new, just opened in May and the owners are exceptionally cordial and friendly. They go above and beyond the duty of campground owners; offering services that are exceptional. They campground is located in the small Virginia town of Fries along the river. There are walking and bike trails along the river for recreation and they owners have a cute building which can be used to socialize with them and other campers. Complete with rocking chairs on the porch to beautiful framed prints and homemade jams for sale. If you need to just get away from it all and relax, this is the place to go. Beautiful scenery and the Blue Ridge Parkway very close by. You can't get any better than this!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
The owners will make you feel like family. I cannot explain in this space how friendly the people in Fries, Virgina are. This area is great for canoe / kayaking on the New River, biking, hiking and horseback riding on the New River Trail. The campground is new and a lot of thought was given to the layout. This is THE place to get away from it all. We have already made arrangements to return in September. This would be a great starting point for the viewing the autumn leaves on the Blue Ridge Parkway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com