218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Okatoma Resort & RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 36 user reviews. Phone: (601) 520-6631
CGID5712

Okatoma Resort & RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$23



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   6   8   7   5   5   7   5   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$23
This is a nice place to spend a few days but a bit hard to access for an overnight stay. One-way gravel entrance and exit roads that could be a little dicey if you encounter heavy rains (which we did). The paved road (Lux exit) is narrow enough that you hope you won't meet another large RV before arriving at the park entrance. The park facilities are well maintained. There is a nice size fishing lake in the heart of the campground and a couple of others that are close but harder to access. Pleasant office staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$13
Rate reflects Passport America discount. Long winding road to get here and due to all the rain, there was water everywhere. Nice park. We had site #1 a pull-through that was quite long. Check-in a little unique - pass through the club house into office. Beautiful park - well maintained. Very helpful staff. Would stay here overnight again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2014
$13
Site not level. Bathhouse needs to be updated. With a few updates park would be great. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$13
This is a very nice park in a beautiful setting with plenty of amenities like pool, lake fishing, pool table, indoor and outdoor grills etc, etc. We only stopped for the night but wish we'd had more time to spend here. Owners were very nice and helpful. Rate reflects Passport America discount. About the only negative I could see was the dust. By the time we reached our site, the RV and towed car were covered in dust even though I went as slowly as possible. We would definitely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$13
Park is out of the way, a little hard to get in, steep and norrow roads, navigate slowly. Park is on dirt sites mostly, not muddy but close when it rains. Lots of ducks and fishing lakes. With Passport America we paid $13 a night. For the price it's a good deal. We used their laundry room and it was good. Didn't use the pool since it was closed for the winter season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$13
Rate was a Passport America. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. The park is on a lot of land with 5 lakes and could be a very pretty country resort. Coming off Hwy 49 the road to the park was narrow but paved. Once you arrive at the park entrance the road to the sites is one way and narrow. All roads are dirt/gravel and very dusty. The sites were also on scraped dirt/gravel with little grass in sight. The sites were level and water pressure good. However,there was one problem with one leg of the 50 amp which dropped to 113 at night. This meant we had to cut back on some of our electrical usage to keep the surge guard from kicking out. This park has great potential if some road maintenance was done and all electrical posts kept in good operating order. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2014
$13
This park could be a really nice park with a little work, but in it's current condition I could only rate it a 5. The staff are very friendly and helpful; however, the park needs some improvement. The roads into the park are dirt and full of potholes. They also are very narrow and cross the lake making entry very nerve racking. The pull through sites are just dirt areas in a parking lot with no grass and no shade at all. If it was raining it would have been a muddy mess. It seemed to me that the Passport America visitors were parked in those sites because after I arrived a full price customer arrived and was put into a pull through space that was a lot nicer. I guess that is what you get for half price. Like I said, with some work and a lot of gravel, this could be a nice park. I will not stop here again. The rate shown is the Passport America rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$13
Rate was Passport America. Convenient access off Hwy 49, asphalt road to entrance then dirt/gravel road to park. It was dry so no problem. This is one of those parks you wonder about as you are driving to it, seemed a bit out of the way going in but worthwhile. Host led us on tour of park while showing to site. Site was sand/dirt with grass. Good pull-through site and utilities. Easy-out next morning. Sewer connection a tad higher than desired. Cable connection was on post, could not remember if they advertised cable, did not work. Several channels via coach antenna. Friendly park manager came by later in evening to chat. Seems he is in process of cabling sites for satellite, won't have to use your dish, just the receiver. Interesting. This park has something you don't often see, a lighted pet walk. Fenced area was grass and clean. Pull-thru sites are convenient to pet walk, nice touch. If traveling through area, this is a good overnight stop, maybe even for several days. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2013
$13
We used this park for a one night stop-over on the way to Gulf Shores. I suppose it's an "OK" place for a one nighter, but our stay there started out on the wrong foot. As I was checking in, I was asked if I had dogs. I said yes, we have two German Shepherds. Since there is NOTHING on their website about breed restrictions, NOR was it mentioned on the phone when I made the reservation, I presumed everything was fine. The check-in person informed me that Rotties, Pits, and German Shepherds are not allowed at their park. She said she would make an exception in our case since we were only staying for one night, but we must NOT leave our immediate campsite with the dogs, no matter what. We did not use the restrooms or showers, so I cannot comment on them except to say the building looked somewhat run down. The roads are gravel, and are alright. The water, electric and sewer all worked as they should. Since we could not leave our immediate campsite, we did not get to do any exploring around the campground to get much more of an impression of it. We paid the PPA rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$20
We camped here with our local Coachman club. The owners went out of their way to make us welcome. A very nice campground just outside of Hattiesburg, MS. AT&T signal was fine. Their Wi-Fi worked great. We plan on coming back with our grandchildren. The lake is pretty with lots of ducks to feed. Our site was right on the lake with shade from an oak tree. Sites were level on gravel. Our dogs loved the fenced in dog area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$23
Overall nice park for overnight stopover. Need to improve park interior access road.; narrow and very rough. Grading, widening, and 33C gravel would improve the road a lot; paving would be even better. Staff was helpful and friendly. Escorted to site and assisted with parking at site. Pet friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$13
This park is a little off the beaten path, the roads in/out are narrow and a bit challenging for a large rig. The park itself has gravel roads that are generally easy to navigate except one turn at the end of the pond is a little tight. They are currently renovating the park and the pool was not up and running during our stay. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The campsites are grass and some are more level than others with picnic tables and fire pits. The pond is pretty with a lot of ducks and wildlife. We did see a snake in the pond so I would watch children and pets closely. We camped here as a over nighter and found it very relaxing. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2013
$13
Nice level lots-unpaved. They were very friendly and the lots are a nice size. The rates would be even higher, but they are a bit off the beaten path for just an overnight stay. Looks to be a great place for families. Rate reflects PPA rate. Utilities all worked great. Did not use the Wi-Fi or bathhouse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2013
$13
Hwy 49 north, right on Lux, left on Okatoma River Road, the entrance is on the left. About 2 miles off Hwy 49. This park was a nice surprise and a very pleasant place. It’s a little rustic but well kept. All utilities worked fine and the management and staff were very friendly and accommodating. This would be a nice place to stay for a couple of days with a site on the water and a fishing pole. Rate is Passport America for a 50 amp, full hookup pull-through. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2013
$23
Quiet park. DEFINITELY NOT a resort. Use coordinates for GPS, NOT address. Trailer life directory directions are correct. TL calls the road off of US49 Lux while GPS calls it Lucy. They are the same. About 2 miles of very narrow paved roads after leaving highway then some narrow gravel into campground. Campground is gravel which has enough dust in it to be quite sloppy after a rain. Utilities good. Staff was friendly and helpful. This was an old membership park which was allowed to run down badly. New owners have made many improvements but much remains to be done to make this a resort. No difficult of access with a large motorhome. While this is, to us, not a destination park, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2012
$13
PPA rate. Very friendly owners/managers. Sites are a bit dusty, but not to bad as long as people don't drive to fast. Coming in on a one way road, but no problem for us. Large pond with many ducks. Campground was quiet, but it was slow season Wi-Fi was slow. Great for a few days or overnight. Be sure to get good directions. We will come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
We stayed one night in a pull through in a 40' MH. To start with I think the term "Resort" has been loosely applied in this case. It's a nice enough park but it's not a resort. We had some difficulty getting our MH into the area where we were supposed to park. The roads into and around the park are really narrow. It was really dusty, there are low hanging trees and narrow bridges and cars driving through the park kicked up a lot of dirt. Access to the park off of the main highway is also difficult...very narrow, dirt roads. Our MH and jeep were covered in red dirt when we left. We didn't use the pool or any of the facilities but there were a lot of people in the pool. They have a small lake for fishing and there were people fishing in the lake. It was just a little too rustic for our tastes and we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$25
Hard to find off of US 49. Not on GPS so it’s a little tricky to get here. Best to call and get directions. Super friendly staff and everything worked as it should. Gravel roads were OK. Wi-Fi worked at the camp site but was slow. No cable TV. Over the air reception worked fine. Did not use the bathrooms or laundry facilities. It had rained for several days and there were muddy spots throughout the campground. All in all a good camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
The pluses: The staff is very friendly and the park seems to be well away from highway traffic, considering the length of the entry road. Wi-Fi is available, but I chose to use Verizon broadband, which offered a strong signal. Several major TV networks are available over-the-air. The minuses: Almost all the sites are occupied by full-time residents. This campground is much closer to a trailer park than a “resort”. The site I was assigned was almost entirely dirt, and offered neither a picnic table nor a fire pit. There is very little grass and very few trees in campground. The entire park is very dusty – my tow vehicle was covered with dust after driving to my site. And the part about being away from the highway? Not true. You actually are quite close to busy US-49 and can hear its traffic noise. Bottom line: Okay in a pinch, but check other options before deciding to stop here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2012
$14
We stayed here the month of January and wished we had not. Sites not level and when it rains your site is mud and standing water. Bathrooms, laundry and pool area is in need of much work. Internet is so slow it wasn't even worth trying to use. In stead of fixing the existing area they are trying to add more sites. Also interior roads were full of holes that they would attempt to fill every couple of weeks. We could not leave early because of a policy of no refunds under any circumstances. Friends of ours was ask to leave because of his complaining and they refused to refund them any money. I could write much more but you get the idea of what the place is like. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$26
Mile off the highway, but it was worth it. Real nice park. Owners are real nice folks. This park will be a great one to consider. Not far from the river walking distance!! Will stay next time for a few days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
This was a nice park. The owners were very nice and helpful. We used Passport America, thus the lower rate. My husband used the bathroom and shower and said it was clean. I don't know why others gave it such low ratings. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$12
Good for an overnight stop. The showers and restrooms were clean, but in dire need of an update. Four layers of different colored paint visible in the men's and women's showers. Well off the highway, so there was no noise. Unfortunately, no over the air TV service. This is a Mom & Pop run campground that is the first stages of being updated / renovated. Price reflects Passport America (cash) rate. Very courteous campground owners. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2011
$24
Located in Hattiesburg, Mississippi, 3 miles on narrow partial gravel road from the main highway. 7 miles north of Hattiesburg. There was a pool, laundry room, club house and lake. Bathrooms were old and not as clean as I would have liked. We took a pull-through with full hook-ups. There was no picnic table or fire pit. We were told it was a dry county so no booze outside of your site. There was no shade and we were out in 90 degree sun. This was too secluded and hot for our taste. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2011
$12
The roads are terrible. The water went out several times during our stay. The sites are not close to being level: they are low and hold water when it rains. And the electricity is very poor. Stayed here for several months due to work assignment and will not stay again. The owners don't even have the proper equipment to maintain the campground. The name and website are very deceiving. This is not what I would consider a resort. There were people living in tents under a gazebo leaving trash and belongings scattered about. It was not a good experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2011
$24
We stayed here for 3 months actually, January through March. There are several long term campers here, mostly working in the area on different temporary assignments. However, this is a very beautiful and quiet campground. The owners are super nice and accommodating. There are several improvement projects going on and this park should see some nice things happening in the future. The lake is beautiful and is home to several ducks and a couple of geese. They allow fishing on the lake for catfish, brim, carp and bass. However the bass is catch and release. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$15
Nice, clean, peaceful campground. Owners were friendly. We were here during a drought so ponds were very low. Stayed an extra week and did some work camping for the owners. Paid for 1st week $110. If rate on P.A. site had been correctly quoted at $11 per night it should have been $77 for the week. (No 4 day limit on site either.) We notified P.A. , and they corrected. Always call ahead. Pool is drained for maintenance(10-25-10). Would recommend very highly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$20
Friendly owners, decent sites and value. Mix of long term campers and some permanent residents as well as regular campers. The driveways in and out of the park need SERIOUS ATTENTION !! Once you are in the park the driveways are OK. Stayed over night and would stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$20
Stayed here for about 5 months, site was very peaceful. (except of the 4th of July) Has coin Laundromat, pool, showers and pond. Has meeting room (clubhouse). For what I wanted it was great. A place to park the travel trailer without fear it would be missing when I would return. Peace and quite for sleeping. Lake for fishing when work was slow. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$10
Passport America rate. We went in for 2 or 3 days and spent 8. This was a nice find. Very quiet area but close to Hattiesburg and stores. Great value for 50 amp back in with water and sewer. New Owners are doing a great job. Our Verizon broadband flew here, TV via Batwing had great reception with about 7 - 8 stations, NBC & CBS were local. The clubhouse / office was nicely redone, pool was being worked on for upcoming season. Sites do fall off towards the lake, just don't back in too far and you will be able to level. Only negative we saw was an area on the road coming in (one way in and out), this area had the 'red' soil and got real slick after a night of rain. Ride the crown if it is wet. Owner was working on grading while we were there and part of the road in has been paved. Mag's across the road on US-49 was a nice little local watering hole. We will stop again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$10
This park has reopened under new ownership. New owners are doing a great job. They got rid of the geese mentioned in an unfavorable previous review. Friendly and accommodating. We were told to just select a site and they would come to us to sign us in. Rate represents Passport America discount which they accepted even though we were there over the Thanksgiving weekend. Roads are mostly dirt with too many pot holes. All sites are a combination of grass, dirt and gravel, and not level. Park was quite empty so plenty of space. If it were full, I think they would be a little close together. It's a beautiful property with plenty of trees, but most of the sites around the lovely pond were open enough for satellite. I could see they had a beautiful swimming pool, although it's off season and the pool is now closed. Very nice clubhouse. Free (yes free) laundry with 3 washers and dryers. Only negative was low water pressure. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
January 2009
$1
This park is now closed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2008
$30
We enjoyed our stay at Okatoma. We stayed for several months and our son became good friends with Bucky and Marie. Nice place to stay and not to close to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2006
$28
the park was beautiful. comfortable with other campers. had a great time loved it. will return in summer months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2006
$22
We went to campground with our children and grandchildren on Aug. 28,2005. We were looking for a safe spot away from hurricane Katrina which was headed for our home in La. We had planed on a two day stay and had to stay for four weeks. Since we could not return home we helped out at the campground with cleanup of downed trees and blocked roads. It was not a vacation but we all worked together and had a wonderful time. People were here from many places and all were very friendly. We had a great time meeting and talking to everyone. The grandkids did not want to go home. We bring them back as often as possible to have fun. They really enjoy feeding the ducks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2006
$22
By the time we got to the park, most of the debris from Katrina had been cleared. The sites are close together and there is no shade. The sites are about 1/4 miles down a dirt road from the office and are surrounding a lake. Since the road is not paved, you either have dust or mud. But it gets worse. There are ducks and geese everywhere and there is no way you can avoid getting excrement on your shoes, just getting from your vehicle to your rig. The ducks will bed down at night but the geese roam and if they decide to bed down by your rig, you will have them honking all night long and there is no way you can sleep through their noise. While we were here (for a few weeks) they had a sewer problem and black water was backing up out of the ground. A trench was dug where the sewer line ran but it was left open and since the problem was not fixed immediately, some campers drained their black water into the trench so you had human waste and paper floating in the water in the trench. The smell was bad enough, not to mention the health hazard. After some campers complained, the whole septic system was dug up and repaired. The pool area is in bad need of some improvements and a good paint job. There are park models here that the owners rent out to military from Camp Shelby in nearby Hattiesburg. The park has a leash rule for pets, but it is ignored. While we were here, a couple came in with two large Rottweilers. They allowed the dogs (who were not friendly) to run free and when a camper complained the owner told them to keep the dogs on a leash. The owners of the dogs would tie them up if they were inside but when they were sitting outside the dogs still ran free. One of the owners of the dogs was a small woman and there was no way she could have controlled the dogs if she needed to. But the worst part of this park is the owners themselves. They are unfriendly and basically seem to think they are doing you a favor letting you stay here. The park was full of contractors working on Katrina clean up so I guess they felt they could be choosy. The husband seems to be overwhelmed with the work that is necessary and the wife is just plain rude. If this was the only place to stay near Hattiesburg, we would park in a Wal-Mart lot before we ever stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com