219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Riverview RV Park & Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 117 user reviews. Phone: (970) 667-9910
CGID572

Riverview RV Park & Campground

Camp Information
Sites
163
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$19



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   10   7   8   7   5   1   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
Rates reflect PPA wkly rate. We arrived at the park not knowing it had been a victim of the 10/13 500 hundred year flood. The plant overgrowth on the river's banks, that some companied about in the past, is gone, along with a good portion of the park. However, you can tell it will be a beautiful park again, and actually still is. We stayed in a riverside spot, which became quite muddy after daily afternoon rains, but the staff is working hard on the process of replanting. Beautiful drive to Estess and Rocky Mnt Nat'l Park from here. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$36
The negatives of the CG start off with Tengo Internet being the WiFi source and it is an additional charge. Verizon cell service is, at best, minimal and there is only one place in the CG where a Hotspot is possible. The picnic table and fire ring are wasted on the all dirt, cramped sites. The entire campground is mostly dirt with a lack of adequate gravel. There was a small fore/aft leveling issue with my site. There are lots of trees so sat. reception is minimal. The river view is only available if you are parked near it. It isn't deep, nor impressive. The seasonal sites are in the middle of the CG (mostly well kept). The tent area is all dirt/clay. It is not convenient for an overnighter due to it distance from the interstate and there are lots of stop lights on the road leading to it. The positives include 20 good cable TV channels, good utilities, two bath houses that were private and clean, and a large playground with pavilion. There is an off lease dog park that I didn't use (no pet). They have a nice propane filling station. The park is quiet. This park is difficult to rate since it isn't what I would normally choose. But, I've been here before and can say that this is probably the best (term used loosely) park in Loveland and much cheaper than those in Estes Park if you are going to visit Rocky Mtn NP. The rate is for two adults, two kids, and is a Good Sam discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2014
$30
Beautiful Campground right on the Big Thompson River. Close to town and to the mountains; was able to get in lot of good motorcycle riding during the day and come back and relax at the campsite. Employees were very nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$41
First site kept tripping 30 amp. Yes we are 50 amp but I know how to use 30. Late arrival, but fortunately office was closing when we had the problem. Put us on a 50 amp back in by the river. Had to drop the dinghy but not a big deal. Cable was all staticy. Payed a DOLLAR a day for WIFI why bother? EXTREMELY limited Verizon service. Booster at pavilion. (claim new tower in works.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$19
Be advised that the campground is located about 10 miles west of the interstate. There is a tight turn coming out of the campground. Campground is on Big Thompson River. Some sites are riverfront. Sites rather close together. Staff friendly. Some shade. Walking trail and fenced dog yard. Clean restrooms and laundry. Had to pay an extra $1 a day for WI-FI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$16
We enjoyed our stay at this campground. I quoted the passport america rate. We used this campground as a base camp for our exploration of the Eastern half of Rocky Mountain National Park. It had a good dog run, friendly staff, clean restrooms and laundry, and a lovely walking path around the park. The river sites were really nice, but we opted to stay in the 30 amp water and electric pull through site, which was more affordable. I would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$41
Pros: Nicely shaded; nice playground; mostly level sites with plenty of room for slides and awnings. Cons: RV sites are too expensive for what you get; only six washers and dryers available for all these campers with four in one building and two in another ($1.75/wash, $1.25/50min/dry; dusty dirt roads they occasionally water down; we were told there is AT&T cell service, but for Verizon, you have to hang around the playground pavilion and that is hit or miss; you can pay for Wi-Fi service ($1/day) but it is slow. Our Jetpack did OK, but we were near the pavilion - in fact that is why we are leaving early - just generally lousy phone and net service here. If you have switched your life to the the Internet, you have got to have decent Internet access! I would not camp here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$45
This campground has a NO REFUND policy. In my opinion, this is because once you pay and drive in, you will want to leave. It has been said that the roads are dirt and gravel. Well, they're 99% dirt. Dust everywhere. The permanent section is a dump, with trashy trailers and motorhomes. The first night we were there, five sheriff's deputies took away our neighbor. The front office personnel are rude and impolite. We had to leave three days early because of a family emergency. They refused to refund the difference and said the manager was unavailable. We will never go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
We have stayed here occasionally over the years and like it. We were guided to our river site and helped back in. Site was dirt/rocks but level and deep so we were back form the road. They have made some improvements and cut some trees to open it up more. Roads are dirt and gravel. When dry and the wind blows, it can be dusty, which happened one day. The next day it rained and there were a number of puddles in the low spots in the road and one area where the water ran down the road and pooled. So some maintenance could help. But the staff was great and treated us well and answered all questions. WiFi was from Tengo Net for $1 a day and worked fine at our site. My wife's AT&T cell phone worked fine at our site and my Verizon phone worked okay when I walked to the hotspot-the pavilion. Quoted price was with PA discount. We will return as we believe this is the best choice in Loveland. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$18
This is one of the few Colorado campgrounds that honor Passport America members in July. We stayed here 3 nights..best deal we've found. They have river sites, but we weren't fortunate to get one. Maybe next time. Very friendly staff. Big cottonwoods shade the sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
For wooded sites about 4 miles west of town, choose this park. Quoted rate is PA river site. Beware that camping along the river is considered "premium" and costs about $15/night extra which we weren't told when we registered. We were entertaining family, so didn't mind paying extra for the river view. Fire ban was lifted the day we arrived, so enjoyed a campfire. Nice fenced dog park. Large permanent resident section, but doesn't distract from camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$16
This is an older park with lots of different prices for the different types of site. We took a pull-through with 30 amps and no sewer. Under Passport America it was $16 per night. You are guided to your site as you would never find it on your own. Lots of mature trees and shade. Clean laundry room with working machines. Power was a bit low in voltage. Water was decent. There is cable, but some of the channels were fuzzy. There is Tengo Internet for $1 per 24 hours. Not a bad price. I've seen much higher. This park claims to have AT&T service only, but it doesn't. They have put an antenna of some sort in the playground for Verizon users. I was able to get 1x on Verizon and an intermittent 3G that was not very useful with my Jetpack. I did have voice service, and I guess, that's what's important. The park has a rule that you cannot leave your pet in the RV if you are gone. Our toy poodle got to go with us to Rocky Mountain National Park. It's a clean park and the maintenance is good, but too many kids riding bikes up and down the road in front of my RV. This is a "family" campground so every night we dealt with the acrid smoke of campfires. Management was very friendly and helpful. I don't think I'd camp here again because of the campfires and lack of decent cell phone service. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
I can't see why anyone would rate this place above average. It's dirty, dusty, and the trees needed trimming years ago and they dripped sap all over my toad and coach. It's way too expensive for what you get. I will not go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
Access off highway 34 is a bridge span across the Big Thompson river so be prepared for a tight turn if coming from the west. Rate shown is with Passport America discount for a site along the river. We had an escort to the site. Our site was a level gravel back-in. A table, fire ring, and a big shade tree were on the site as well. Some cable TV channels were a bit fuzzy. Wi-Fi provided by Tengo. It costs $1 for the first night. It was very slow at first, but got better later in the evening. The park roads were dusty upon our arrival, but staff watered them down well later on in the day. I would return to this campground if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Old, rustic Park approx. 22 miles east of Rocky Mountain National Park. You have to be led to many of the pull through sites by the staff since they back up to other sites, but not a problem. Roads and sites are gravel and well used. Staff is friendly and all services work well except cell phone and internet which for us were only available at the office and we were very close to it. Lots of permanent residents but quiet. We stayed a week and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$34
Rate reflects off-season and Good Sam discount. Rates are considerably higher during the summer and holidays. It seems management doesn't know the length of their sites. We were assigned a site that was way too short and it seemed to annoy them to put us in a longer site. This campground now has breed restrictions on dogs. So even if your dog looks like a certain breed, you will not be allowed to camp. Because of this prejudice we will not come back to this campground. There is only cell phone service up by the office. The internet is Tengo ($1 a day), but pretty slow if you are very far from the office. A bit of road noise from Hwy 34. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$38
We returned to a beautiful FHU back-in riverside site with private deck overhanging the pleasant river, and private campfire and “front yard”. Pleasant and very helpful office staff. Gracious owner authorized this repeat customer a discount due to a past inconvenience. A quiet and well run park. Bathrooms clean and cute little office store. Utilities all good. Verizon service very poor here due to the hills, but we don’t come here to be on the phone all day. Good recycling options provided. Tengo WiFi $1/day and not the speediest at times, but we were given a complimentary 24 hours by office. Bathrooms clean and cute little office store. An easy trip up the canyon to visit Estes Park. We didn’t bring our dogs this time but they are very pet friendly. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2012
$50
Our stay at this resort was truly less than pleasant. Management does not seem to communicate with one another. One will tell you one thing and someone else will come along and tell you something else. The "front yards" are joint / shared. You and your neighbor share the same area as they face rigs toward each other as opposed to all the same direction. Their "water front" sights are barricaded with trees making the river inaccessible from many of the RV sights. We have a pair of service animals and were constantly harassed about them and yet we watched other dogs run lose in the park. Internet is by Tengo Internet provider, which you pay $1 per day per device; half the time it did not work. There is no cell phone service nor do they provide a way to make calls. They say they have a hot spot yet I could not access it either. I would not recommend this park and as there are a dozen or more really nice parks in the area there is plenty more to choose from. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
Riverview is a lovely RV Park as described by others here on this review site. We enjoyed walks around the large property that offered shade and lush grass. Our dogs enjoyed a large, fenced dog area for playtime and river access to cool off in on warm afternoons. The sites were a bit close together and the staff was just fairly friendly. All and all, our experience was a good one and we would stay here again when in the Loveland area. We loved the cycling and hiking as well as the proximity to both I-25 as well as Estes Park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This place worked out great for us. We had a back in site but because no one was behind us when we arrived, we could pull through. As said before, there is no Verizon cell service unless you are outside on the patio by the office. We have a Verizon air card and were not able to use it, but their Wi-Fi was great! We were also located near the office, so this is probably why it was so strong. Also $1 for 24 hours is very reasonable. There is a little noise off Hwy 34 but at night it's not bad. The campground was extremely quiet otherwise. They try hard to keep the dust down and the staff is helpful and friendly. It's 11 miles from I-25 but okay for what we wanted to do. It's right on the road going to Estes Park & Rocky Mtn Natl Park. We were able to get satellite even though there were trees. Just a lucky spot. Site was gravel but level, and interior roads are wide enough for our big rig. Nice trail in the back for dog walking and very dog friendly. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, but would ask to stay in the same space. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$25
Our site backed up to a big creek. So, even though the park is adjacent to the main road heading to Estes Park and quite busy, the roaring creek drowned out most of the sound. Very level sites with lots of shade. As a result, portable satellite did not work. Cable was the only downside. Very snowy. Price was right compared to some of the Estes Park parks and proved very handy to major stores and restaurants in Loveland, yet close enough for day trips to Estes and Rocky Mountain National Park. Would definitely stay here again but would call to see if they had fixed their cable yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$44
Price based on Good Sam and fee for Tengo internet. Good news - site was shaded and level. Bad news. Only phone reception is a "hot spot" by the office which is same as picnic table area used by people for card games, coffee in the morning, etc. and they really don't want you there. WiFi was off more than on for our 5 day stay - one time for 24 hours. Staff gets really surly about it all. Says it really works fine but cannot, even themselves, find any of the towers on their office computer. I need it for personal and small business - so trust a place when I make a reservation and they say it is good. Water pressure went to nearly zero the morning we were leaving. We just left. Would not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$45
Quiet, well maintained, pet friendly park with friendly and helpful staff. Sites are level and can accommodate big rigs easily. You must use caution upon entering or exiting the park, especially if towing as there can be heavy traffic on highway 34 in both directions, and you must allow plenty of turning space to clear the railings on the bridge leading to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$46
This park is beautiful. It is located along the banks of the Big Thompson River and you can camp with the river in your back window. It's one of the best camps in Colorado. If you get an opportunity, stay here on your way to the Rocky Mountain National Forest! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Campground has good playground for kids. Driveway can be dusty, but they use a water truck to wet it occasionally. We camped when High Park Wildfire was burning and staff answered questions and kept us informed. Close to Big Thompson Canyon Hwy 34 route entrance going into Estes Park. River sites on gravel only, no grass. Small cabins did not have A/C when we arrived so relatives cancelled reservations in cabins upon arrival. Before our 9 day stay ended, they had installed window unit A/C's. Good campground to base from and drive to Rocky Mountain National Park or surrounding towns. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
Price was averaging standard weekend prices with five days at the Passport America rate for a 50 amp site. We had a back to back, back in site which was quite narrow. There are back in riverside sites which are more expensive. The park has gravel roads, but they water the roads once or twice a day. We were there during a period where the temperatures reached 100 degrees, and the power went out two days in a row, the second day for about 8 hours which was brutal. However, an electrician was called out and the power was repaired with no further problems the rest of our stay. The staff was helpful and friendly. No local channels available by antenna although there is cable. AT&T signal but no Verizon except for sitting on the patio behind the office. Tengo Internet available for a fee. We would stay here again. I lowered the rating a bit due to the problem with the electrical power. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
Rate based upon using PA and GS discounts, 7 nites. Great fun, family park. Dog friendly. Almost every spot has shade. Helpful staff. Wi-Fi strong. Half of park along Big Thompson River. Easy access to Loveland and Rky. Mountain Nat. Park. Dislikes: $1 per day per device Wi-Fi fee. $1.75 per load of wash. Pricey snacks. All pull throughs are companion style (you face each others' door). Lacked a pool. Overall, definitely worth returning to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$54
Park is gravel with fairly level sites. The middle of the park is for permanent residents only. I felt like the park grounds need a good going over. Park is located about 40 minutes from the Rocky National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$55
We were led and aided into our back in FHU site on the beautiful river. They have continued to improve this CG with additional landscaping, paths, and an expanded dog park. It’s always a pleasant stay here. We didn’t use the bathrooms or laundry, but really enjoyed the site’s new private deck over the riverside. The WiFi is Tengo now and is not free any more, but is only $1/day. WiFi strength and speed was OK. Verizon cellphone access was a little improved over previous visits but still rather weak. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2012
$28
We stayed here with our camping group. We were escorted to our site and also assisted when backing into our site. Large campground, great place for families, convenient to Rocky Mountain National Park and Loveland. There are many individuals that camp here year-round. They have a large meeting room. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$30
Stayed in the off-season of March when much of the park was shut down, but I could tell it was a NICE park. I enjoyed peace & quiet, good electricity and clean facilities. I plan to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$32
We stayed here with our camping club. They were very nice and escorted us to our site upon arrival even though it was a pull-through. Later I saw the same person escorting and assisting new arrivals backing up into their spots so next time we will request a back-up spot since those are by the river. They had a big meeting room for us to use. The park has cabins as well. 25 minute drive to Rocky Mountain National Park / Estes Park. We will come here again next year! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Seasonal visitors seem to have the best sites. Some places can be tight for big rigs. Lots of trees so satellite is hit or miss. Very busy campground with people coming and going en route to Estes Park. Only about 1/2 hour to 45 minute drive up the mountain to the park. Next time we visit the area we will probably take the rig into the town of Estes Park and find a campground closer to everything. Surprisingly this campground does take Passport America during the week so we were able to get a reduced rate for a few nights. We may or may not stay here again in our motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$30
This was our second stay here. Last year I had reported that the Internet access is terribly slow on weekends. I am happy to report that they have upgraded and it now seems adequate. If you need Wi-Fi you still need to be near the front of the park. Cellular service is still marginal for both AT&T and Verizon. All around, a great park; one of my favorites in Colorado. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This was our second stay at this park. The staff is always friendly and helpful, the park is clean and well maintained, excellent location for Rocky Mountain NP and Estes Park. This park is quiet and secure. The only negative is the TV service, it's basically unusable, the signal quality is very weak in all the sites I asked about. Other than that, this is a splendid RV park. I'll stay here every time I'm in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Just after we checked in and our transaction was completed, we were told that the sites in the back of the park usually got internet reception best in the morning and it was iffy as the day wore on. We didn't internet at all: ever. Also, the park had lots of full timers and most were in the back. I don't mind them if their sites are clean, but the one next to us had storage buildings and still had junk outside. The sites by the river were close and back in sites, but doable. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$17
It is conveniently located on Route 34 22 miles east of Estes Park, 2 miles before the Thompson Canyon entrance. We stayed here a week and were able to use our Passport America during the week and Good Sam discounts on the weekend. We almost didn't stay because Verizon cells or Mi-Fi only work in one spot near the office. We tried it for one night and the Wi-fi the RV park provides works well being only a little slower at night when everyone logs in. We were on the site closest to the Verizon sweet spot so we could walk over and use our cell phones. We stayed the whole week and enjoyed the location for conveniences in Loveland and the RMNP area. The bathrooms/showers were clean and worked well. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$34
Rating would have been 9 if Wi-Fi worked at our site and they had a pool. Rate reflects weekly rate for our long pull-through. Plenty of shade trees so we had no need for our awning. Site was clean and level, if a bit narrow. Very nice staff, prompt check-in with reservation. We stayed with a group of nine rigs, all campers were happy. Huge dog run was great and users kept it clean. Very nice pavilion with electrical outlets for hotplates, etc. Recycle bins everywhere. Ice/wood delivered to site on request. Located on highway about 23 miles east of Estes Park and RMNP, and comfortably west of the city of Loveland to give a nice rural feel to it. Big Thompson River borders the park and sounds pleasant as it roars along. Can't think of a negative. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$48
This campground is great, Close to Rocky Mountain National Park. The office was very helpful and very friendly. Someone will escort you to your site and help you back in and tells you where all your hookups are located. Had great Wi-Fi service all the time I was their, cable TV (even though I did not watch it as the beautiful red cliffs that I could see from my campsite was all I wanted as I relaxed outside and listened to the river just to the back of my trailer. Very relaxing! The campground was very quite even on the busy weekend. Enjoyed the breakfast on Saturday morning and the music that night. I will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$55
We think for what you get and the small RV sites this place was over priced. We have camped a lot of places in the area and this would be a choice but a last choice. I know it isn't their fault but it was so hot when we stayed and next time we will make the 20 mile drive up to Estes Park or in the canyon where its cooler. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
This park does a good job for what it is: a place with FHU reasonably close to RMNP. It is a big park with good management, clean, safe, and with good activities. We enjoyed the Kiwanis pancake breakfast on Sat. a.m. and the blue-grass band on Sat. nite. The dog run is huge and has grass that is alive and green. My only down side is that sites are fairly close but the neighbors we had were middle-age couples and quiet. We have stayed there before and will again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
We must have visited this park on a bad week as our stay did not reflect the last few reviews. We were on a week long stay with a collage student that needed Wi-Fi for collage classes. Our spot was at the back of the park and had no service. The manager of the park was quick to explain that the Wi-Fi service was not charged for and there was no guarantee that it would work, even though we had called ahead to check specifically about this. Ad was quiet rude about it. With the help of another woman in the office that was interested in helping we did manage to get another spot close to the front and could log on to the Wi-Fi, only to find out that we had almost no water pressure. We will not stay there again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$34
The Park is well-maintained. The staff is friendly and helpful. Tthe spaces were too close together. There was only enough space between our slide and the person next to us for the width of a picnic table. We felt like sardines in a can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Lovely campground and great friendly staff. Our dogs loved the huge dog run. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$34
Staff was very friendly and helpful. It sits at the base of the foothills just outside of town. The Big Thompson River runs right along the edge of the property with many spaces right next to the river. Wi-Fi worked well and the speed was good. Cable TV signal seemed weak on several channels. Being just prior to the Memorial Day weekend, the place was spotless and well manicured. Many shade trees throughout and each space seemed to have plenty of room without being too close to neighbors. We were in a nice pull-through with our trailer. AT&T coverage was very good – four bars. Bathrooms & showers were older, but were spotless. Staff dropped off some firewood for us to use. I checked the water pressure, and it showed 60 psi. It tasted good with a charcoal filter. We were here for two nights. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We arrived just as the office was closing, and the office personnel were in such a rush to leave that we did not receive the free WiFi code, and the escort to the site was a hurried affair over roads that need a bit of maintenance. Once here, it was a level site under very tall trees. Cable TV worked just fine. It's 10 miles from the interstate, but well worth the drive for the quiet. Next morning, the office staff was very curt that the office was closed (they were training the seasonal help that day), and bordered on rude until we reminded them that we still needed to pay, then they made a sudden about face in manner. Nevertheless, this park meets our requirements and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
Just an observation of PA members, they seem to complain about everything, want a half price rate, and a 10 star park. This was a very nice campground that is just on the outskirts of Loveland. The staff was very nice and courteous and always helpful and friendly. We were escorted to our site as the layout is a bit of a maze. Our site was level and we had plenty of room for our 40 foot rig. Nice playground for the kids. We would see deer in the mornings. The dirt roads could use a little maintenance, but considering it rained 9 out of 10 days we were here, not much could be done. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$19
This one was a Passport pick that I now regret. It is on the outer edge of a medium sized town where neither of the terms rural or foothills would specifically apply. The access road is dirt and has pot holes in it. Sites are dirt or gravel with very little space between many of them; mine included. There is an area for RV storage that is a part of the C/G and it distracts from the esthetics of the place. It also appears that there are more than a few long term residences. The office staff was competent, but was curt and had the personality of a brick wall. I got the impression that they didn’t appreciate the fact that I was getting a discounted price. The Wi-Fi was the speed of a dead turtle at a time when there would be very little broadband use of it. Verizon cell coverage was zero. One can read the other reviews and figure out that it would be a flip of the coin as to whether or not you would want to stay here. I won’t do it again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2010
$21
We moved our rig to this campground because we wanted to be rural and be in the foothills. It was quiet here and we got to see some wildlife. Staff was friendly, internet worked good. Bathrooms were older but as clean as they get. Roads plowed during snow storm. We stayed for a month, thus the low rate. We would come here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This is very nice RV park. We stayed here for 5 days exploring Rocky Mountain NP and the surrounding area. This park is a great location, it is quiet and peaceful at night. We could hear Elk bugling at night from our site. We had a long level pull through. The site was laid out very well, hookups in perfect working order. We were escorted to our site and the staff helped line me up. The office staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the local area. If I go back to Loveland, I'll stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We called Riverview the day before we wanted to stay primarily because it is a Passport America park. We were told by phone that they could only reserve a site with a Good Sam discount but that when we arrived they would give us the PA discount. Upon arrival the office refused to honor the PA discount. The office wasn't even apologetic for the misrepresentation by their employee, they just said "No PA discount". Had we not just driven 8 hours we would have gone to another park. Wi-Fi is slow (5.5 Mbps) and disconnects from the Internet frequently. The park does not appear well maintained. Park has many full timers. Some sites have reasonable spacing, but most, including the pull throughs, are simply too tight. There is little space between the slides of RVs in adjoining sites. Overall, the sites are very cramped, with a few exceptions. The park offers "river" view back in sites. The "river" is more like a stream but it doesn't matter anyway since the bank is so overgrown with trees the view is mostly obscured. Avoid this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$27
We called Riverview the day before we wanted to stay primarily because it is a Passport America park. We were told by phone that they could only reserve a site with a Good Sam discount but that when we arrived they would give us the PA discount. Upon arrival the office refused to honor the PA discount. The office wasn't even apologetic for the misrepresentation by their employee, they just said "No PA discount". Had we not just driven 8 hours we would have gone to another park. Wi-Fi is slow (5.5 Mbps) and disconnects from the Internet frequently. The park does not appear well maintained. Park has many full timers. Some sites have reasonable spacing, but most, including the pull throughs, are simply too tight. There is little space between the slides of RVs in adjoining sites. Overall, the sites are very cramped, with a few exceptions. The park offers "river" view back in sites. The "river" is more like a stream but it doesn't matter anyway since the bank is so overgrown with trees the view is mostly obscured. Avoid this place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$17
Price reflects PA and in our opinion a pretty good deal considering the proximity to Estes Park and the other options in the area. The grass/weeds were mowed when we were here. Dog run was huge and bags for clean up were provided. The roads are dirt so it got pretty dusty, but that is pretty typical for the Rocky Mountain area. The restrooms were clean and private: each with a shower, toilet and sink. We used the laundry and it was clean. We would stay here again if we got the PA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Restrooms and showers were very nice. Lady in the office seemed a bit pushy, but okay. We had a riverside backin which was nice hearing the river, but since we don't like dusty dirty places to park we will not be back and can't rate it very high. And as I look at the past review, I realize it is a Passport American park, so could have paid less and maybe it would have been worth the price, but not $38. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
Very nice shady park with level sites. They watered the gravel roads down each night to keep the dust down, and we appreciated that. We stayed 5 days, using the park as base camp for Rocky Mt. Natl. Park. Very crowded on week ends, as lots of locals come out from Denver. Wi Fi was slow; cable TV was terrible and could hardly be watched until about 9:30 at night when it suddenly cleared up for a while. We had no sound on many of the channels. We reported it to office for 3 days. Finally someone came out and said it was fine, that it was our cable at fault. Gee, what a surprise since our cable worked fine at the park before and also the park we went to afterward. Laundry machines were good, but the room was so narrow that there was only room for one person at a time. If someone was unloading the dryer, you had to ask them to step outside in order to get to the washers. Despite this, we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$17
We used this RV Park as a base camp while exploring Rocky Mountain NP. We really enjoyed our stay here and found this to be an excellent full service RV Park. We avoided the river front sites and ended up with prime back-in site, which we were able to use as a pull-through. A 30 amp site was sufficient for us because we were beneath large cottonwood trees. The trees did block Direct TV for us, but the RV park's cable channels worked out well. The Wi-Fi was excellent and performed without problems. The sound of Big Thompson River is a pleasure and though this is a large RV park it was very quiet. Access roads are dusty and there are many long term seasonal residents here. There was many open sites on the weekdays and were told the place is full each weekend. Our rate reflects the Passport America price, Sunday through Thursday, and we extended our stay by night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is a rustic park that is being allowed to go to pot! We stayed for a month, having made reservations 6 months prior. The only site available for us upon arrival was in the back among the permanents, site 134. It is almost ghetto quality back there, we asked several times to be moved but there never seemed to be a vacancy. We were not able to use the awning due to large trees too close and we could not sit outside next to the coach due to large tree roots. To sit out, we had sit next to the dirt road. Our site became very muddy during rains, we asked for some gravel and were told we would be put on the "to do" list. Never happened. If you are a permanent, you can change your oil, wash your vehicle and make noise before 7:00 am by starting and warming up diesel trucks, if you're not - you better watch out, as camp rules change with the mood of the owner. The grass was not mowed once while we were there. The workkampers are friendly and would like to be helpful but are not allowed to. The office staff can be very rude or nice, depending on the day and time. We only stayed because of family obligations but we will never return. This campground is highly overrated by travel directories, We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$37
We stayed here 5 nights in a site on the Big Thompson River. Staff were friendly and helpful. Our site was shaded, comfortably sized for our 40' RV with 4 slides, level. Had good WiFi and cable TV was available. This is a restful campground and we hope to return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
We live about 10 minutes from this campground, but love it. The water spots are great and hidden from the nearby road. The water noise drowns out any traffic and makes it very relaxing. We had space #5 that people have said was horrible. We didn't mind it. Yes it is tight, but the water is behind the rig, and being next to the water was wonderful. The staff was friendly. Late checkout available, and they delivered the firewood to the site. Couldn't ask for more. The grounds are very dog friendly with a large off leash area. WiFi was great and strong, but that was near the buildings, so it may be worse further back. The cable TV was definitely a letdown here. Was very poor quality with limited selection. They know about the problem, and should tell you upfront, and offer a discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
This is a sad old park in desperate need of TLC. There are too many full time residents so it is more of a trailer park than RV park. The grass and weeds needed mowing, and the trees needed trimming. We would not stay here again; it was very depressing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Okay place, glad for PA rate: paid $15.56 for W&E site. Cable TV would not work due to earlier rainfall, they claimed. WiFi was useless til after 10pm; crowded park with a rally group. Grassy, wet site not level but quiet and shady in the back of this park. Place has potential, but needs improvement. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$31
Price reflects Good Sam discount for 2 adults. They charge $5 a day per extra adult. We ended up paying $41.73 per night. Sites are long and grassy. The grounds needed mowing. This is our 2nd time here and both times it rained, making the roads very muddy. The longer sites are in the back of the park where several campers are stored. This could be a beautiful park with a little TLC. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
This park was quiet at night, no road noise. Had good WiFi. There is a park for kids, but not much else for them to do at the campground. Conveniently located to Loveland for modernity and Estes Park/ Rocky Mountain National Park (no mountain driving with trailer). We found it a good base for daily activities and to come back to sleep at night. Bathrooms were clean and there were a couple larger shower areas for families. Laundry area was nice. Most sites opened to small stones and weeds/grass. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$40
This is a pretty darned nice RV park. Were it not for the Internet issue (below) we would probably have become a monthly. With lots of big old trees and river frontage, this place is beautiful. It sits in a bottom so you hardly ever hear the highway, but there is plenty of mud in wet weather! The water is pure. The store is exceptionally well-stocked. Plenty for kids to do. Clean and well-maintained except for the monthlies, who need to be more diligent about keeping their area neat -- and quiet. Wi-Fi is well-engineered with good signal everywhere and Cellular signal is plenty adequate for voice; unfortunately the Internet connection to the outside suffers greatly all day Friday and running through the weekend. If it wasn't for the fact that my job requires high-speed Internet, I would probably just move there and live out my years. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
We stayed for a month. They never mowed our site the whole time we were here and it was needed when we got here. Grass was up to the seats on the picnic table before we left. Spaces were side to side and so tight we could not open our bay doors all the way or use our awning. The monthly fee was only for 28 days, we had to pay full rate for the other days, which was not told to us ahead of time. WiFi was marginal. The location is good to explore Estes Park, Rock Mountain National Park and Loveland. Office staff was friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$20
Price reflects Passport America discount. Poor WiFi and poor Verizon coverage but the campsite was level and full hookups worked well. Park has many trees and a beautiful river. Office was very friendly. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We stayed here for close to three weeks. Given the choice, we would probably never leave. Well, maybe by winter. Watch carefully if approaching from Loveland, as the park is on the south side of the river, over a bridge, and well treed. It's easy to miss, and a sign nearer the road would help. That said, it is a gem of a park. It's an older place, with gravel sites, which are reasonable size, and fairly level. We had a site along the Big Thompson River, which was literally 15 feet behind our coach. Beautiful (if sometimes messy) mature shade trees. Wi-Fi was excellent, with good bandwidth for uploading pictures to friends back home. Washrooms and showers were immaculate. Office staff was friendly and helpful. The park was generally quiet and peaceful. Short of modernizing, (i.e. re-surfacing the roads and sites, etc), there is not a thing to change here. And to be honest, I don't think I would even want that. It's an RV park, not a new polished RV resort. We absolutely loved it, just exactly as it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
A very nice park. Plenty of room to back in, drive into sites. Shade trees, well kept laundry. The Wi-Fi worked very well. Can't say enough about this park. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Pretty park located just a few miles from the Rocky Mountain Nat'l Park. Has lots of aspen trees for shade. Beautiful river views on a lot of the sites. Has nice folks in the office. Some sites are a bit narrow but we had no problems getting in and out. We would definitely stay here again. Rate reflects our 50% Passport America discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
Camped there for three days at the Passport America rate of $20 per day. Office staff was mostly friendly but busy. Well maintained level grass sites. Lots of tall mature trees in campground. We were assigned their most sought after site which was a corner site next to the Big Thompson River. We would stay here again for certain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
The management was extremely friendly and helpful. We found the map to our site just as they promised, because we arrived after office hours. We easily registered the next morning. Our site backed up to a lovely river with nice shade trees. The sites were a little tight, but a very good value in this region near Rocky Mountain National Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
We liked this park: decided to try it out even though we live only 10 miles away. The bathrooms were the cleanest we've ever seen. The staff were friendly and helpful. The kids really liked the Karaoke. The dog park is a nice thing to find. Our site was a full hook-up in a shaded area. THe Wi-Fi worked great. We'll be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$46
This is a very nice campground right beside the Big Thompson River. We called 2 months ahead to reserve a spot by the river. We told them that we have a 33 ft travel trailer and have extensions at the back as well as the side. They gave us site #5 and we were told it is a very nice site by the river. When we pulled into the park, we were very shocked to see the site. It was very-very small and narrow. Our sewer connection were probably less than 4 ft away from our neighbor and since it rained the second day we were there, we had to extend our awning out. Our awning was less than 2 feet away than the next RV. It was weird because they put a pop-up camper on site that was larger and wider than site #5. I wish the staff will make note of this and not put big rigs in this site. The other sites looked fine. The park and the playground were very nice and clean. Wi-Fi signal was very strong and reliable. I was able to stay on it for quite some time finishing up some work. I would come back again and will request a specific site next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$16
This park has a very comfortable feel to it, even though most of the sites are close together and some are hard to get in to. We enjoyed our stay here and would not hesitate to go back. The price shown is a Passport America rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$20
The staff was very helpful and we were escorted to our site. When the tree next to our site had branches hanging too low the fellow who escorted us immediately went to get a tree trimmer and came back and trimmed the tree. The pull-through sites are a bit close (two feet separated our slide-out and the next door neighbor's slide-out) and share adjoining utilities; and if the park were full, it would be very difficult for big rigs to exit. While we don't have a dog, the fenced dog run was the biggest we have seen and very nice. The roads are dirt but they water them frequently to keep the dust down which was nice. The power and water pressure were adequate. We stayed under Passport America for five nights and Good Sam for one night so the price was the average per night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$36
This was the first time I camped here and it was exceptional. An employee met me at the office and escorted me to my site, then guided me in to the space. I was in space 19 by the river. We had plenty of room for our RV and our toad in the space. The area was clean and well maintained. I had a minor problem with my RV while there and went to the office to ask for assistance. Someone was at my site within 20 minutes and solved my problem within about 5 minutes. There is very friendly staff. They came around later in the evening and made a check of my hookups to make sure everything was done right. I will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$33
If you're a little nervous about mountain driving, as we are, this is the campground for you. It's right at the mouth of the Big Thompson canyon, before the twists and turns start. Very convenient to Loveland, which is actually an interesting town because it's something of a center for the arts (especially sculpture). Beautiful trees in the campground, lots of shade, right on the river: which is wonderful. We thought the staff were reasonably friendly and helpful, and unlike some other posters, we didn't feel there was an overemphasis on rules. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Five years ago we became RV campers and this was one of our first campgrounds. We remembered it fondly and decided to stop again this year. Either the place has gone downhill or we didn't know much then (probably both) but we were very disappointed. There are some great things about the place (the river is great, lots of trees, good WiFi) but the negatives were disappointing. There are lots of rules - no canopies over our table, no portable pens for our dogs - small sites, an unkempt feel. We like rustic, but the weedeater would improve the overall look of things. We had site #5, right on the river, beautiful but very small site. The only outside place we had was directly behind our rig, about 10 feet between the back of the RV and the river bank. Luckily the sound of the river (which was loud enough we had to speak very loudly to each other) drowned out the sound of the traffic on the highway just above the river. I know the owners need to have rules to avoid lawsuits and complaints, but there is a middle ground somewhere I'm sure. Mostly the people are nice, but seemed to be always watching to make sure you're not breaking any rules. We don't need a lot of TV, mostly news and the weather channel, but the cable TV was really bad, in and out, with very few channels. I don't think we'll come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$19
Great sites right on the river. This was a quiet and restful campground. The sites were large and the facilities were clean. Staff was pleasant, and they accept several discounts including Passport America. The only thing that keeps this from being a ten was the cottonwood that was in full spray when we were there. This is definitely a keeper park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Nice park at the base of the Rockies. Beautiful view. It had rained a lot and the roads were very muddy. We were at the back of the park and the wi-fi worked great. Very quiet and peaceful. The rate is a Good Sam rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$33
This park has two personalities. It is a large park, with a number of permanents and seasonals. The former have their own part of the park, and the seasonals are intermixed with transient sites. During the week the park was partly full, quiet, and - unusually for a RV park - the WiFi was not only reliable but provided good throughput even during the evening hours. On a weekend night, the second personality showed. The park filled up, including tent sites with multiple vehicles. Noise levels increased dramatically, including music and barking dogs. The WiFi service also collapsed under the extra load. We would stay here again, but only during a weekday. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$17
3 nights at Passport America price of 50% off. Sites are cozy but we had no problem getting 37' backed in. Our site was next to office so WiFi was excellent. Trees blocked our rooftop TV dish so we used their 20 channel cable OK. The park was full this weekend with 2 club groups here plus weekenders. 25 miles from Rky Mtn Nat Park. Sprint air card and cell phones didn't work at park but did 4 miles east entering Loveland. An OK park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$32
We did not like this park. The river sites are very short and back-in only so fine for a fifth wheel but a waste for a bus or Class A. We had a pull thru site. The sites are all dirt (most of the gravel is gone) and very close together. Also the pull thrus are all buddy sites which we didn't like one bit - no privacy at all. The sites are also short so there was no room for our SUV once we took it off the trailer. There is no mountain view. They have many permanent residents. The office staff did work hard to find us a spot that we could fit into because someone else had given our reserved site away. (It was supposed to be a bit bigger for our size.) Wi-Fi was nonexistent - we used our air card. Satellite was fine although there could be problems in other sites. Didn't view the laundry. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
Beautiful setting especially if you are on the river. It is worth the extra money. Most of the sites are very close to each other and there are a lot of long term renters. The staff were very helpful and courteous and even cut half a tree down for us to get our motorhome into the space. There was a dog park, walking trails, playground, family/group settings. The ladies at the front desk were very helpful and nice as well. This would be a great place for a family to camp. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$39
We made reservations to stay at this campground as an overnight stay before driving into Denver to see our son off on a plane. Upon arriving late evening we were pleased to find posted at the office a map with directions to our site with a friendly note stating they'd see us in the morning after 8:00 am. The site was fairly level, clean, shaded with trees and next to the river as requested. It was raining hard so the interior roads were a little muddy with lots of water runoff. In the morning the office staff was friendly and helpful with advice on best roads and time to allow for in getting to the airport, which is about an hour away. The dog run was one of the largest we've seen yet. Nice tent area in back, very spacious campground for walking. Many interesting carvings can be found around the grounds out of tree stumps. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$38
Our 2nd visit to this nice and peaceful park. We were escorted to our site on the lovely river. Office and all staff were extremely pleasant and customer-oriented. Our back-in full hook-up site was gravel and quite level. Sizeable trees at back of site did not interfere. Entire facility clean and well-maintained, nice landscaping. I see multiple new young trees planted. Restrooms very clean. Nice playground for the kids. Pet-friendly and has fenced dog park. Roads dirt/some gravel, but watered daily to successfully control dust. Fun activities included dog parade, karaoke, Kiwanis pancake breakfast Saturday morning, ice cream social, church service available Sunday morning. No wild parties or clientele here. A couple kids did ride their ATV slowly, but unendingly around and around and around the roads all day long. Appreciated the recycling bins in addition to the trash. Grocery supplies limited at small store. WiFi signal usually ok, bit slow at peak times. Absolutely no Verizon cell phone or Kindle signal. Voltage always stable per our voltage meter. Water pressure got a bit low at check out time. Rate is peak season daily for 2 people, minus 10% AAA discount, plus $1.50/kid under 17/nite. We already have plans to stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$20
We have stayed here before but it has been a number of years. We were checked in quickly and guided to our river site. Employees were very friendly and helpful. Sites are gravel and it wasn't hard to level our trailer. Roads are gravel/dirt and can be dusty but they do water them daily. Park is well maintained and this work was going on each day. A number of the cottonwod trees have been removed over the years which has opened up the park, making it feel more spacious and helping us to use our satellite. We stayed three nights and the price reflects the Passport America discount. We will return in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
We were here 4 nights. Facilities are in good condition and well maintained, clean. Staff are very friendly. We were guided to our site, turned out to be small for our RV and via radio we were switched to a larger site. Pads are gravel, roads are still dirt but graded and watered down when the wind is blowing. Rate was based on PA membership. Small store with (limited) food, souvenirs, RV Supplies (better stock in summer months). We will call here again. Near Estes Park, without the resort pricing. The Big Thompson River was too high to pan (for gold). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$32
This is a nice camp on the Big Thompson River. The check-in is efficient and friendly, and we were escorted to and into the site. We had a river-side back in site where we able to receive satellite TV as their cable has 20 channels only. The large cottonwood trees give nice shade. The sites are a bit narrow but adequate. Price we paid is a combination of weekly and daily rates with Good Sam discount. Wi-fi worked well. The main problem with this park is the roads need to be re-graveled, they are basically hard dirt now and the passing vehicles raise dust. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
The office check in was efficient. Friendly staff. We were escorted to our site, and given competent aid to back into our riverfront site between very large trees at the head of the site. The many mature trees did provide wonderful shade during our stay. Our site was a little narrow in that next-site-over sewer hookup was under the edge of our awning, but that site was not occupied during our visit. The unoccupied site also seemed to offer access for multiple visits by other campers to walk into the riverfront – a little interruptive of our perceived privacy. The narrow site did delay our use of our sewer hookup on departure since we did not want to gross out our neighbors during their outside breakfast. Some sites to the east seemed wider. The noise of the river water was wonderful and the CG seemed very natural feeling. We had a picnic table and concrete fire ring. The free wireless internet was strong, fast and worked well. My Verizon phone did not find a signal. The cable TV had 20 channels. The bathroom was clean and comfortable, real mirrors not polished steel. 3 bathroom stalls and 3 shower stalls in the men’s. There was a Kiwanis pancake breakfast planned Saturday morning 0730-0930, which I unfortunately could not get my kids up in time for. The younger kids enjoyed the playground and the scavenger hunt. The campground atmosphere was very pleasant. Our rate for full hookup riverfront site includes $1.50/kid/night. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2008
$30
Rate is based on combination of weekly and daily back in site. Thinking the riverfront sites would be full, we stayed in an interior back in and rarely had neighbors. They were back to back sites and since most were empty we actually pulled through as did most others that entered these sites, which is not an option if they are full. Sites were fairly close and this worked fine for us. The only river access is from one of the tree lined river sites. If they are full you cant get to the small river. TV and WI-FI worked fine and many trees provided plenty of shade. It appears that the park is right on the edge of cell phone service. It worked maybe 5% of the time, but just up the road it worked fine. They have a nice enclosed off leash dog run and a small walking trail around the edge of the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$28
We were greeted by a friendly staff. There are a number of full-timers living here and the campground is clean and well kept. There are a number of limited sites near the river and there are a few 30 amp sites only. It is located about 40 minutes from Estes Park and the Rocky Mountains National Park and 15 minutes from Loveland. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$32
Helpful management, easy access for big rigs with some long pull thrus. Clean restrooms and laundry facilities. Overall the park is more like a campground setting, not very pretty with mostly weeds between sites with some gravel. Large trees will block satellite in most areas. Would stay here again though, as it was quiet and close to town, Estes park etc. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
We enjoyed our stay (3 days) at this park. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had a river site which was very relaxing and quiet. If I am ever in the area again I would return to this park!!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
Beautiful park on the Thompson River, waterfront sites available, nice dog run area, staff very helpful, nice. In the foothills of Colorado, easy drive to state parks, and other locations. Currently I am long-term at park, that is why the nightly rate. Would come back here again We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$31
Every once in a while you come across a park that is special. You need to stay here for a few days or longer to explore the Big Thompson River, Estes Park, and the Rockies trails and scenic roads. Our site backed up to the river, and we loved sleeping with the windows open and the sound of the river behind. This park also has a large dog run, and this was great for socializing with other dog lovers, and for the dogs to get a chance to meet and run together. More parks should have this. There were events constantly, and it is great to dance under the moon and stars even if it is Karaoke! We loved this park, and we will be back for longer! Techies: WiFi was great but cellular can be an issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$33
This was our second stay at this fine facility. Staff are friendly and helpful. Park is clean and orderly. In June, however, the large cottonwood trees can cause "blizzard" conditions. All utilities work well. One thing that bears mentioning. The ONLY cellular service that works in the park's location is AT&T. All others: nada! We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$31
This is a nice park with lots of big cottonwood trees. We didn't know anything about the park when we made our reservation, but if I were going there again, I would ask for a riverside site. They were large, lots of trees for the most part and of course, on the river. We were up near the office in a smaller space but it was OK. They have a water truck that keeps the dirt roads watered to keep the dust down. This is a busy park with lots of folks coming and going so the water truck was a plus. Friendly and helpful staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$28
Nice location. Sites are too close, but we were very pleased during our stay early season-if the campground had been full we might not have been so pleased. Fires next door would have been within feet of us. Spacious, clean restrooms and separate showers that were the nicest we have ever encountered in a campground. There were rooms with a stand up shower with glass door and sink, mirror, bench, GFCI outlet. Maybe a third of the campground is seasonal, but they are in a separate area. Riverfront sites are not but most of the rest are pull through. This is the last campground before you start up the canyon towards Estes Park or Rocky Mountain National Park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
Driving into park it looked crowded as sites were close together. Further in, the sites were larger and we had a fairly private spot. The showers were the largest we have had and had a huge dressing area. it was quiet and very peaceful. We will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$40
Great place. Great staff. Had a wonderful time. Would return there for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$36
A nice older park. We stayed a month. Only complaint is the sites are too close together, but overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
This is a lovely park that near the Rocky Mountain National Park. The drive on Hwy. 34 from Loveland to Estes Park is beautiful. We love this campground because you back your rig up to the Big Thompson River. The sound of the rushing river is like being in heaven! Yes, the park has dirt roads, but they do spray it down to keep the dust down. That's no problem. Beautiful cottonwood trees provide plenty of shade along the riverside. You need to request a river site if you want to be on the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$29
Our family really enjoyed this campground. There are permanents here but it is a clean park, not trashy like some. The office staff are very warm and friendly, however they were training a new woman at the desk and she was a bit brittle to the customers. The WiFi works best in the rec center. We enjoyed our stay and would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
Besides the fact that Colorado RV parks are old and crowded (most were built in the 80's or earlier), this place was a mixture of trailers (no Rvs allowed), privately owned cabins, and RVs. The setting is very pretty, but the park is dirt (with some gravel), large trees (some ill-placed), and very impolite office help (I encountered three during my stay). I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
We saw this park in Motor Home magazine and gave it a try. Sites are small and it's dusty. Cell phone (Verizon) had no signal in the park. Not what we would consider a destination park. I doubt we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$29
We really liked it here. Our site was perfectly level and all sites are shady. The river running through the park is beautiful. There's a playground, large fenced in dog walk area and basketball court (no pool, that's a bummer). We felt secluded even though the park is very convenient to any store and restaurant you could want. We ended up staying longer than planned because we liked the place so much. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2007
$33
Friendly and courteous staff checked us in and guided us to our site, making sure we got settled in nicely. We had a back-in site right on the river which was beautiful! The sites were a little close together, but that was more than made up for by being on the river. We enjoyed feeding squirrels and visiting with neighbors. The Kiwanis held a pancake breakfast in the park on Saturday - excellent quality and quantity and nice folks too. Beautiful cottonwood trees gave shade. Easy access to Rocky Mountain National Park and restaurants in Loveland. We certainly would go back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$30
Our second time at this park. Sites are close together but as this is an older park. Wi-Fi is available this year but has a weak signal. I just went to the office with the laptop. Have visited other parks here and this is the best one, in our opinion. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
Rural, beautiful, near Loveland. Quiet. We loved it. Nice place for a family gathering/reunion. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$30
Extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had a back-in site right on the river so it was nice to leave the windows open and listen to the water flowing at night. They do not allow any rv's older than 15 yrs. old but there are some permanent mobile homes set up in the park that are fairly run down. My only real complaint was that we did not have cell phone service while there and I normally have service just about everywhere we go. As we had no service and there is no phone at the sites, I felt somewhat out of touch with our family. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$26
Lots of shade. Sites level but too close together. Probably because it is an older park. Well situated to Rocky Mountain National Park, outlet mall, general shopping. WIFI available for a fee. Would return to escape the heat of the southwest. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2004
$26
This RV Park is more rustic with rock and packed dirt as the site base. Sits next to the Big Thompson River 22 miles down stream from Estes Park, and about 3 miles west of Loveland. Some residents fish the river. Sites come is all sizes including shaded, wide and long for the big rigs. Staff is very friendly and are mostly people who also seasonally live in the park. There are some permanent residents in the center of the park but no RV older than 15 years is allowed. Three cabins and several tent sites are available. LP Gas services are provided including external bottles for extended stays. Many of the residents are repeat customers that come back every year and are welcomed with flyers distributed to every RV. Old fashioned kid's playground with merry-go-rounds, tall slides, tall swings, and jungle-gym. Specific pet area for walking. Covered picnic area. Recreation and Game rooms. Receives a lot of weekend campers, especially on the river front sites. A very pleasant and quiet park to stay in. I have been there for over a 3 months in 2004 with a Long and Tall Motorhome fitting nicely on a shaded site. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$27
Not a bad park, large staff and helpfull. A lot of seasonals. River sites are on the river but you really don't have access to it due to embankment. The biggest drawback is if you are in the area to visit Rocky Mountain National Park, as we were, it ended up being too far away from park for daily ride into park, at least 35 miles away. Better choice for rv parks for visiting RMNP is Estes, Colorado. We would not stay here again as there are nicer parks for same price in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2002
$25
When you first drive in the site, you are greeted by very friendly folks. And it doesn't stop once you setup camp, you have a fantastic feel the whole time you are here. We went as a camping club, and they were very helpful in keeping us all together. They also made sure that the kids didn't get too out of hand, out of respect for those who didn't have any. And they did this is a friendly way. You would see the water truck go through the site on a regular basis, to keep the dust factor down. They would also chase down vehicles that were going too fast, to also keep the dust down, and help keep it safe. Very large shade trees, that helped during the hotter portion of the summer. Also had large forest fire going on in the area, and they kept folks up to date that didn't receive current news. The only thing that I can complain about, was the dry factor. But they had no control over this, since this is mother nature's area. And when we left, you are met at the exit, and asked if you enjoyed your visit. And the last you see is a smile and a wave goodbye. What more can you say. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
2001
$25
This camp has a 'permanent' RV area with 'no thru traffic', right in middle of the camp. also, some other trashy areas around the campground besides the trashy looking 'permanent' area. about 40 sites back up to Big Thompson River. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$24
Very friendly staff. A nice, rustic CG that backs up to the Big Thompson River. Lots of well-trimmed trees. More like "camping" with conveniences. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com