221734 User submitted reviews online!!
Grand Isle State Park was rated 9 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (985) 787-2559
CGID5724

Grand Isle State Park

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   8   8   8   8   10   9   9   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2014
$20
The campground for this beautiful park stretches along a high levee that separates it from a wide beach and the Gulf of Mexico. There are many paths across the levee along the campground. The campsites are laid out in diagonal rows. They are level and the water and electric hook ups are convenient. The bath houses are very new. The laundry facilities are free. The camp hosts are the most helpful and present of any park we have seen. The park also has a lagoon area where we took our kayaks. The only thing we didn’t like about this park is that you cannot take dogs on the beach. The town of Grand Isle is a collection of fishing “camp” style houses. There really isn’t any beach community vibe to the place. That didn’t matter to us, because we like the less commercial, more natural settings. We stayed here four nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2014
$26
$26 the first night and $20 after the first night. We really liked it because there were not very many people there. Great for fishing and biking. The maintenance guy was extremely kind and friendly. The beach was good except the sand was hard and not as clean as other areas of the gulf. The sites were nice and roomy and the grass was green. One negative thing were the gnats. The laundry is free and restrooms are nice. Overall it was a really good stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2013
$24
Great location to Gulf. Sites are paved pull-throughs, but out in the open. Nothing much to do (other than fish and sun) here in Grand Isle, but if that's what you're looking for this is the place for you. Lots of weekend/summer homes in the area so summertime may be more active. Would have given a 10 if sites were shaded and more secluded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$18
This is a beautiful campground on an island seemingly at the end of the earth bordering on the Gulf of Mexico. The seven mile long island is connected to the mainland by a bridge and a long viaduct (LA-1) with a toll of $7.50 one way only, for a motorhome towing a car. There is no toll for north bound vehicles. Rangers and staff are all very friendly and helpful. The campground consists of two rows of pull through sites, widely spaced and separated with grass and palm trees, all well maintained. There is 50/30/20 amp power as well as water but no sewer at each site. A very good dump station is available on the road into the campground. Roads and sites have excellent asphalt paving and are smooth and level. Unfortunately there is a 15 to 20 foot high berm separating the campground from the Gulf with numerous walk through paths for access to the beautiful Gulf waters. The recent hurricane (Isaac) has closed the long fishing pier and lookout tower pending repairs but modern showers, toilets and laundry are available. Verizon cell phone and MiFi are very good as is satellite service. However, if you’re not a fisherman or birder, there is not much to do here unless you are looking for peace and quiet at a reasonable price. By the way, the Louisiana State Park system does not honor Golden Age Passports unless your home state honors the Louisiana cards. Seems fair enough! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2012
$20
Pros: The sites are next to beach the and Gulf of Mexico. FREE laundry with modern machines. Many hot, clean showers. Nice hiking trails around saltwater marshes with wildlife. There is a long pier over the Gulf and a lookout tower w/360 degree views. And you cannot beat the price. Cons: There is a loud, low rumble from fishing boats nightly from 10pm - 1am just as you are trying to go to sleep. The night sky is lit up from nearby oil refineries. And though this was likely a glitch, the 30 amp fuse was broken at our site, so we had to move. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$18
We loved this park. What more can you say. Huge sites, and well maintained. The beach was closed during our visit but I understand it is now open. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
Great park. They are working on second bath house. The current bath house is new and very nice. Fishing pier also looks new and is great. Staff and hosts were wonderful. Beach is cleaned daily, but you still pick up some tar balls on your shoes. Pelicans and dolphins daily. Wi-Fi was solid. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2011
$18
A really nice state park. The site are excellent; all are pull through with asphalt pads, picnic tables, and fire rings. The sites are level making for easy setup. Both 30 and 50 amp service are available. It is a way from interstate 10, and it takes awhile to drive down there. I would certainly make reservations before going. We stayed there 6 nights in a 5th wheel. I would stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
The sites are suitable for large rigs. The Bath house was very well maintained. However the fishing pier, lagoon, lookout tower and crabbing pier remained closed due to BP still occupying all of these areas. Fishing was allowed on beach only by boat. The park security was very good making rounds quite often through the park. The only minus is the grass could of been cut more often and mosquitoes were very bad. Overall we enjoyed our stay and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
Love the park but really upset about the OIL CRISIS! The pier is finally finished and looks great, just can't fish! People have always been nice, the hosts are always nice. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
This is a great park, the fishing pier is one of the nicest piers that i have fished. The bathrooms/showers were spotless. The campground has fire rings we were told that they didn't have them. Overall its a great park with nice clean beaches and a laid back atmosphere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
Nice state park! We were there during very bad weather, so we did not get to do very much exploring, but the park was nice, and we would recommend it especially if you enjoy fishing! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$19
All large pull-through sites with 30/50amp and water. No waterview sites, but the Gulf is directly across the sand dune from the park. Clean, peaceful and relaxing, we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2010
$18
Lovely park. Only problem we had was the signage was almost non-existent and we arrived after dark. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2009
$18
This was a very scenic place to camp at and the drive there was interesting too. They were allowing overnight campers to access the beach because they were still working on the levee after hurricane damage. The only negative in my view was the lack of any shade but suspect the hurricane had a part in that. There was only 2 other units camped while I was there and the quiet along with the endless beach was priceless. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Campground was recently reopened since hurricane Gustav. The fishing pier was closed, but work was ongoing to repair it. One shower/bath house was open and was very nice and clean. 60% of beach access was open and very nice. Instead of keeping it closed during summer they are going to rebuild the levees and close beach access during the winter months. (Now someones thinking with their head!!) Sites are paved and very well kept considering the amount of re-construction going on. The fee is excellent considering it costs $40 - $60 per night for camping sites anywhere else on the island. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Great quiet location. Coming back from hurricane Gustoff. Beach access. The park has palm trees for shade that are new. This is right on the ocean. People are friendly and welcoming. This is not a commercialized area, though there are restaurants and groceries and a souvenir shop or two. You want quiet on the ocean...you got it! I would come here again in a heartbeat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$16
The park was nice. However the fishing pier is not rebuilt yet. They are doing work to the beach at this time so the beach access is closed at the campground. However we were notified in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$16
Still no electric sites available yet(due to hurricanes). But have enjoyed camping there in the past. Great beach. Very nice shower houses. Bring a canopy! No shade, not any. Not far from park you can pick up fresh seafood to cook. Very handy. Great boating, jet skiing, and fishing(from boat). Pier hasn't been rebuilt yet. So close to ocean but your going to want large amount of mosquito spray, unless you are on the beach itself. Not sure I'd recommend it for the very young, due to no shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$18
Very nice park for the money. A stay of more than a couple of days is a little tough since you would need to unhook and empty at the waste station since there is no sewer hookups on the sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2007
$16
The park has come a long way since Katrina. The staff is friendly . They sprayed for mosquitoes every night. It will be good when they get the fishing pier built back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$18
This was our first visit at the Grand Isle State Park. The sites were level, paved and spacious. The two times I visited the restroom, it was dirty. There was sand all over the floor and in the showers. The showers only have cold water. I tried all four of them, and no hot water. The mosquitoes are terrible in the afternoon, at night and early morning. The sand dunes are really pretty with lots of plants and flowers. The sand on the beach however is filthy. We had to keep shoes on the whole time - on the beach and in the water - so we wouldn't get cut on glass, etc. I saw the grounds keeper go around large debris on the beach - what looked like a motor, and something really big and plastic. They were too heavy for him to lift of course, but he could have hooked a chain to the junk and hauled it away with the tractor. There are several nice covered picnic tables on the beach side of the dunes. The kids enjoyed finding LOTS of hermit crabs, and playing in the water where there are almost NO waves. My husband and I did a little surf fishing but didn't get anything we could keep. There were many other visitors who put out crab traps and caught some each day. We were really disappointed that the piers have still not been repaired since Katrina (almost 2 years ago). The pilings are still up. I believe the plans are to construct a concrete pier. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
The campground is nicely situated with dunes between it and the ocean that reduce the wind considerably, though not entirely. There are several breaks in the dunes, so the beach is still readily accessible. It's not a manicured swimming beach. There is very little human litter but you'll find driftwood, seaweed and the usual things you'd expect on a natural beach. Its been several years and a couple hurricanes since I was here last and efforts against beach erosion have been very effective. It was rather cold most of this visit but during the few warmer evenings, bugs were a problem. They sprayed the surrounding area and that helped somewhat. Sites are all paved, level pull throughs. Each has some grass and a few have trees but there is still a slight parking lot feel. They've done an excellent job coming back from the hurricanes. The fishing pier, one of two bath houses and one of two dump stations were still out of service. They started work on the second bath house while I was there. The town of Grand Isle is tiny at its peak and this is the off season. There is a grocery/hardware/general store that has most anything you may need. The Sand Dollar Marina has a laundromat that was brand new, open 24 hours and rarely used this time of year. Anything else is quite some distance away. I had a sudden need for a veterinarian. There was one about 30 miles away that refused to even talk to me. The next nearest was over 50 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$18
Very nice park right on the Gulf coast. Clean sites with clean restrooms and showers. Still some hurricane damage visible but coming along nice. Park ranger very friendly and helpful. We spent 3 days here and loved walking the beach. Bring lots and lots of bug spray. The mosquitos are unbelievable. Once on the beach and in the wind you could relax. Getting to and from the beach was another matter. The park did spray the last night we were here so don't know how well it worked. Other than the walks on the beach and trips to the town of Grand Isle, we stayed in the RV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2006
$18
This is a LA State Park on the coast. One of the two bathhouses was completely destroyed by Hurricane Katrina in 2005. All sites are large pull-throughs. You have easy access across the sand dune to the surf. Activities include surf fishing and crabbing. Charter boats services are available for both near and off shore fishing trips. Fresh seafood is abundant and available everywhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com