224206 User submitted reviews online!!
Elk Valley RV Park and Fly Shop was rated 9 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (719) 742-5533
CGID5735

Elk Valley RV Park and Fly Shop

Camp Information
Sites
23
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$35



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   10   10   10   10   10   7   6   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$35
What a perfect little RV park! We were in the area looking for an RV park, and our GPS showed this one. We stayed here 2 nights, but we could have easily stayed longer. The views are simply spectacular from the park. Across the road is a golf course in perfectly kept condition. The mountains behind are lovely. This place was so quiet with deer sitting on the grass outside the trailer when we got up in the morning. It was such a wonderful surprise to find this great RV park. It is small. but it has everything you need. The wi-fi was great. There are washers and dryers. It is a good RV park to stay at to explore the beautiful drive along the Highway of Legends (Hwy 12) from Walsenburg to Trinidad, CO. Will definitely go here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
This is our second trip to this park. We have stayed at the other two parks in La Veta and find this one the best for our needs. Elk Valley is the newest and nicest cared for. However, it is for sale and you can never tell if the new owners will be as nice or keep it as nice. The golf course is right across the road and great for walking your dog off the leash. There were 13 bucks in the RV park right behind our trailer the first night and 8 does the next morning. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$31
Stayed one night on our way to Gunnison. Quiet park, good place to walk at the golf course across the street. Nice grassy area for each site. Wi-Fi strength was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
The owner was very friendly and helpful. His RV park is very well groomed and the grass areas are beautiful. We made arrangements to stay again because we like the park so much. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This is a great park, nice sites and friendly staff. We'd never heard of LeVeta but will certainly go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
Great hosts, roomy sites, clean facilities and nice views. Would recommend it and will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$33
We stayed here a couple of years ago and came back for an overnight stay on our way to Lake City. Unfortunately this time, our stay is less pleasant than last time due to uncontolled barking dogs in the back corner by their clubhouse. Wi-Fi has been unreliable and Verizon cell phone is also not too good here. I hate to downgrade an RV park based on the above because it is an otherwise nice park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a very small park and is next to a VERY busy highway. A lot of truck traffic all day. If you were lucky enough to get the first pull-through site, you had a wonderful view of the Spanish Peaks. The other three pull-throughs looked at a construction company warehouse. And, as stated before, the pull-through sites were too short. The owners were very friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$34
We truly enjoyed this park for the four days we stayed. The park has 4 pull-through sites; however, they are short. You cannot fit both your RV and vehicle on the site. We had to park our truck in the visitors parking lot. The site is gravel, tree on each site and has beautiful grass between sites. Sprinklers come on nightly. Roads are also gravel. The staff is very friendly and they go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable. Their Wi-Fi was faster than our Verizon wireless. Our Verizon cell phone did not work in the trailer but did outside. The negative is they don’t have cable TV. Our satellite worked well. We definitely recommend this campground for short stays. We visited the Great Dunes National Park & Preserves and Lathrop State Park while here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2009
$23
Rate is for Escapees RV Club. Very nice park with excellent facilities. Views of the Spanish Peaks are wonderful. NO cable and very poor Verizon cell service. Across the road from very nice golf course. The park was for sale when we visited. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Rather than repeat all the accurate information reported by others, I'd like to add that this is a good place to board the La Veta tourist train that definitely is a 10 in our book. If you're looking for a neat, clean RV park with long, green grass (no weeds) to run around in your bare feet, this is it. We will return again next year for the train. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$25
Very nice small RV Park in a great location. If you are passing through the area or are looking for a unique location for a few days, this is the place. Family owned and operated, the Millers could not be more helpful from reservations to helping with the local sights. The RV sites are gravel, level and have a great view of the mountains. Lots of things to do in the area from road trips to antique shopping. Only downside, no cable TV and no over the air reception. WiFi worked great. Verizon signal worked at site (1 bar but it worked). Looked at the other RV parks while in the area and was glad that we stayed at Elks Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Small family run park with very friendly owners. Flat solid sites. Sites are a little short for parking toad. View of the mountains across the road is spectacular. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$25
This is a clean, new, convenient campground with level,gravel sites and amazing flat valley location for views of the Spanish Peaks. Walk to town,small grocery less than a mile away. Playground, communal fire pit & barbecue, nice rec room with laundry. No TV channels to speak of! Friendly town, friendly owners. Summer weekends you can take the train in the morning to the Great Sands National Park--all day trip (930-430 or so). Wi-Fi didn't work but the owner was working on it, Verizon had no cell signal on site but in town it did. Alltel cell signal was strong. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
This is a clean and well managed park. The sites are quite large. The road nearby is not busy so it helps in keeping the low key atmosphere. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$23
Excellent, clean park. Wonderful views in two directions of the mountains. Across street from golf course. River is on edge of park. Swings, slides for the little ones. Stayed a 3rd day. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$28
I wanted to stop in La Veta but the other parks were full due to a large group bike ride. I got a reservation here and was glad the other places were full so that I ended up here. It's small, but very nice and quiet. It's across the road from a golf course and has stupendous views of East and West Spanish peak. There's not a lot of recreation in the park, but you're only 4 or 5 blocks from town. Free Wifi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2005
$20
Lovely and clean campground. Plenty of elbow room for every camper here. It was a while back that we had stayed here, but i remember having a really good time. Especially since i love golfing and fishing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com