224208 User submitted reviews online!!
Bear Head Lake State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (218) 365-7229
CGID5740

Bear Head Lake State Park

Camp Information
Sites
76
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$26



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   10   7   9   9   10   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2014
$26
Very nice park with limited big rig access. Restrooms / showers were clean. Park staff was friendly and helpful. Good fishing on the lake. Lots of good hiking trails. Lots of wildlife viewing. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$24
Very nice State Park. Sites are private with good screening in between. Some sites are a bit tough for larger rigs. Bathroom / shower buildings are clean. Boats / electric motors as well as canoe's and Kayaks can be rented. The lake is clean and the fishing excellent. Dump station is easy to access. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$25
Beautiful, family friendly campground. Sites are small, but fairly private with brush and trees separating each site. Roads are gravel and narrow. A large rig may have trouble. Bathrooms with flush toilets and showers were relatively clean and well maintained. Because this is such a beautiful and popular destination area, there were many inexperienced campers who did not always know or follow campground etiquette. (Unsupervised small children wandered into our campsite several times.) The trails and lakes are beautiful. You can rent a canoe or boat, or hike many wonderful trails. We recommend the Norberg Lake hike (3miles) and, outside the park, the Kawishiwi River Falls (1 mile) hike. Both have beautiful scenery and are relatively easy hikes. The swimming beach is wonderful. The small town of Ely (pronounced e-lee) describes itself as the coolest small town in America. With all the unique shops, they may be right. Don't miss the Brandenburg gallery. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$24
We camped here over the 4th of July but have been here before. Sites 51-73 now have electricity (25-50 are were already electric). However, sites 51-73 are pretty small and would probably only accommodate tents or pop-ups. Most sites offer decent privacy (I almost wish ours #47 had less because our view out of the site was almost completely blocked). We were able to pick blueberries and raspberries, fish, hunt for crayfish, and swim at the nice swim beach. Bathrooms are nice and water was warm and abundant. We rented a boat and electric motor easily and had a great time on the lake. There is so much to do here. Ely is still about 15 miles away. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$20
This is a very nice campground. Has clean showers and is quiet and remote. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2007
$22
We've camped at Bear Head 1 or 2 times a year for the last 3 or 4 years. They have a good selection of electric and non-electric sites; the sites on the non-electric loop are a bit larger and roomier. The shower/restroom facilities are very good. The lake is great for canoeing, boats are limited to 10 mph. There are plenty of hiking trails to explore. It's great relaxing and enjoying this lesser traveled state park. Ely and/or Tower is only about 20 minutes away to get your 'town' fix or if you need supplies. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2006
$22
We were disappointed when we drove through the campground as the majority of sites were quite small for a larger motorhome - just fine for tests or pop-ups though which is what most others were using. Sites were pretty wooded and the roads and sites had low hanging tree branches. Sites 51-57 look like they are along the lake front but many trees prevent a good view of the lake. Only electric loop is sites 25 - 50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$19
Very nice state park with lake access. Campground has some electric sites. Non electric sites seem a bit larger. Good space in between sites. Park offers boat rentals with electric motors. Good fishing lake. Dump station and water are available. Enough room for truck and 26 foot trailer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com