206628 User submitted reviews online!!
Waterloo Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (734) 475-8307
CGID5745

Waterloo Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
136
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   9   8   8   8   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$25
We stayed at the Portage Lake Campground. Very nice facility, clean and updated. Electric is the only hookup, but water was close by. Twenty thousand acre recreation area with a lot of walking/hiking trails. Nice clean sandy beach for swimming, when it is warm. We would definitely return. A Michigan passport to use a state park is required. Yearly non-resident fee is $30; daily rate is $8.50. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$22
This is a really nice State park. Most sites are a good size. We only saw a couple that looked small. It has a nice beach and lake for swimming and boating in. Our kids loved ridding their bikes around the campground and playing in the playground. The only downside was that the mosquitoes were horrible during this trip. We have been there a couple of other times and the mosquitoes were not this bad. We plan on going back again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
The campground is called Big Portage Lake and is part of the Waterloo Recreation Area in South East, Michigan. This park includes a great swimming beach, great campsites, extremely friendly and helpful staff, great bathroom facilities, hiking and biking trails, and a great recreational lake for boating and fishing enthusiasts. We will definitely be spending more time at our new found playground. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$24
Generally, sites are large and roomy. Most are shaded. Reservations for holiday weekends must be made well in advance. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$22
Had a great time at this campground. Nice swimming beach. It is not large but did the trick. Boy had a great time fishing from the dock and shore. Campground was quiet and very clean. Only complaint is there is not much to do in the area. Closet town is about 11 miles away. Nice place to go and sit back and do nothing. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
We camped here for a quick weekend and found this State Park to right on par with the other State Parks we have been to. Sites range from grassy to pretty much dirt based on the amount of trees. Our site was pretty much dirt but we wanted the full shade. I love the wooded feel of the park and the facilities are kept up to about average. I think my only complaint would be about the number of dogs.. actually, i think my complaint would have to be directed at the owner of the dogs. Seems most dog owners were either oblivious to their barking dogs, or just didn't care. The Beach was really nice even though it was still a bit too chilly to enjoy the water. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
This was an awesome campground. Very hilly and quiet. Like being up north without the drive. The beach is a walk from the campground but worth it, very clean and sandy. Great fishing dock and store. Had a wonderful time. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com