220873 User submitted reviews online!!
South of the Border was rated 7 out of 10 based on 72 user reviews. Phone: (843) 774-2417
CGID5750

South of the Border

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$33



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   7   6   10   5   10   7   4   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2014
$33
Rate is with AARP discount, 50 amp pull thru (both are extra). OK for overnight, but not worth the price. Of all the sites available, they put us in #171, between two trees that both brushed against our motorhome. There were quite a few sites without obstructions, so why not either put customers in those, or how about trimming the trees???? I'd say less than 20 sites occupied of 100. Convenient to I-95, but that's the only thing going for it. Will not return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2014
$36
Long pull-through gravel sites, pretty level. Some power hookups are pretty worn. Good for overnight stay, quieter than I thought it would be. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Being that a rating scale of 1 - 10, 5 being average, I give this CG a 6. Easy on/off of I-95, the sites are OK and the utilities were good. The power posts are very old, the 50 & 30 AMP connectors are well used and warn. Over the air TV channels were good also. Bath house #2, was very dated and needed a good coat of paint. Easy walk to all the activities of South of the Border. It is a gated CG, so you need a card to access the grounds. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$22
Rate is with AARP discount. Great set up, has everything you could ever need, gas, fuel food and shopping. Everything very clean and neat, saw nothing but smiles on all employees faces. Will make this a stop whenever we are in the area. We stayed in a fifth wheel We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
Easy park to get to from I-95 or US 1. For some reason, we were put in a back in site rather than pull-through, with dozens of PTs available...but easy enough to back in. Campground has a security gate and full hookups. No cable, and wi-fi did not work for us. Bath houses were not close..we didn't use them. This is strictly for overnight, and good for that, but the campground does not seem as well maintained as when we stopped a few years ago. However, most of the businesses in the area have been abandoned and are in sad disrepair. We would return if in that area and needed an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Really a nice place to stay. We did not like our first site so they gave us another. Lots of grass to walk our cats. Trailer Life directory said the sites were 15 feet wide but they seemed much wider. Lots of room, and we had rigs on both sides. Plenty of room to move around with our 35 foot rig. Would stop there again. Price was right, too. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2013
$38
We arrived tired, cold, wet, after dark, and hungry for an overnight stop. Easy access to I-95, simple check-in and a pull-through spot. We were able to eat and obtain some essentials without unhooking. We used it as an overnight stop, but would be good for a couple of days. Good handicapped access. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2013
$25
Stopped here on our way back from Florida. This park is showing its age and lack of quality upkeep. The site are OK with just OK hookups and the bathrooms are Old and need of updating along with better cleaning methods. Dogs were roaming the park unleashed and there didn't appear to be anyone checking on the campers, just a lone girl in the office to check you in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2013
$24
This is our second stay at this park. First time we were in a 30 amp spot and we found it a bit confusing pulling in, as we were given little direction from staff regarding how to pull in to these sites. We finally figured out: that depending on where your sewer was, dictated how you went into site. Second stay we were in site 175. Pull through and level. Both times we stayed while enroute to Florida. This is an excellent stopover. Lots of little stores to browse. WiFi available apparently in a central location, we had Mifi so that was not a concern for us. Very quiet park, staff during second visit very friendly and helpful. This place will always be an annual stop for us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Good stop on I-95 exit 1 South Carolina North Carolina border. Mexican theme travel stop and kids will enjoy. Agree with previous postings. Camp office behind red fireworks store at giant man, first thing you come to on left before gas station. Rate is for everyone to get you to stop and shop! Wide long sites section A near front, good Wi-Fi and has utility connections on both side so you can pull in either way and level. Would stay again to or from FL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$22
Easy on and off Interstate 95. There is no vehicle noise. The center "A" sites are the best if 30 Amp service will do. The 50 Amp sites are crowded and tight. Sites 175 and 176 are the easiest if 50 Amp is needed. The others will challenge drivers in a 40' plus rig. I like the the lighted site numbers on posts. This is a surprisingly nice place to overnight on this stretch of 95. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$25
Great little camp site. Nice small area to get away to. Take your time to move in and out. Shady area with lots of spaces. Very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2012
$24
Extremely EZ on and off I-95. The campground itself is clean and nicely organized. The office staff alto pleasant, must have never walked the grounds. We were the only customers the entire day and most of the sites were empty. But we were placed right next to the only other camper in the row in a site that had trees on both sides of the site with a telephone pole in front of the window. We're 45' with a tow. This was not exactly a pull through. The 30 amp sites are lovely, long and level. The 50 amp sites are tight and more of an afterthought. Wi-Fi not good. Surprisingly, we couldn't hear the traffic from the Interstate. So, it's a fine place to stop for convenience and the price is right but beware if you're a big rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$22
This is an almost automatic overnight stop for us on our trek down I-95 to Florida. The rate listed included our AARP discount for a full-hookup pull-through site, which was level and paved. The park decor is aged and a bit tacky - though freshly painted. The entire "SOB" complex may be undergoing a renewal or freshening. Free Wi-Fi is now available in the RV park and the motel offices. And some of the tackiest merchandise has disappeared from the shops. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$23
This is an easy access park right on I-95 and that is a big plus. The traffic noise was limited and not noticeable with windows closed. Campground was very clean, bathrooms spotless and our pull through site was long and paved. Security patrolled periodically and the gates were locked. There were hookups on both sides so it didn't matter which way you pulled in. I arrived early evening and left mid morning. Did not take the time to walk around the shops but there is plenty to explore. Price is acceptable for a full hookup. There are other facilities in the area that are cheaper but this was the most convenient stop this trip. I would stay here again for overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$24
It's not a great destination campground, but for overnight I love it. It's nice to walk around the shops after a day of riding in a vehicle. A little frayed around the edges as others have said, but still good, and you can't beat the price. I did find that the sewer connection was too far from the back of my trailer to be useful, though. I carry two hoses. I see this problem at more and more campgrounds, so perhaps I need to start carrying more hose... We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$23
We stayed here on our way through to Florida. For a stopping place it was just fine. Wouldn't be a destination. Road and sites are paved. Bathrooms are worn, but clean; as is the entire place. It is right on Rte 95, but the RV park is in the back. And there is the cultural icon of S.O.B. to wander through. We ate in, but there are several restaurants in walking distance, we enjoyed walking around and taking night pictures. For 1 night it was just fine. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
Older but well kept. Everything was clean and tidy. Maybe not a destination but a great overnight stop with easy on/off I-95 and just about everything you would need at South of the Border. One thing for sure, you can't miss it. Billboards for 50 miles either side of South of the Border. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
We received a 10% AARP discount on the standard rate. The campground was built ahead of its time, but at this point is showing its age, although it is kept clean and well-maintained. Pull-through sites are virtually always available, even on busy nights. The campground and adjacent shop, restaurant, and amusement area appear to have been significantly refreshed within the past 2 years, and the quality of merchandise in the "Myrtle Beach Shop" has definitely moved up a notch from the tawdry offerings of a few years back. This is still a good and convenient overnight stop. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$23
Easy from I-95, sites were almost level, price was great. Very quiet while we were here. Just a bit different, kind of like Mickey Mouse goes Mexican. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2011
$22
It's been 15 years since we've camped here, and things look about the same as they did then. The campground is very tired looking and is in need of some TLC. Nonetheless, it served our purposes as a one night stopover on our way to and from GA from VA. We paid $22 with the AARP disount (have your card handy, as they actually copy down your member number on the paperwork). Also, I had planned to pay with cash, but was told that although cash was accepted, they needed to keep a credit card number "on file". (?) I just charged the overnight fee each time. ***Don't forget to drop your key card at the office upon departure (there is a little box outside the door if you leave before the office opens at 10am). I'm sure you will be charged for it if it is not returned.*** The restrooms were very dated, but were clean. We would probably stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
This campground an I-75 E/Z on & off right at the SC/NC line. It is part of the South of the Border Complex. We were assigned to site #173 but the Surge Guard would not send power to the coach. We had to move to site #172. These sites are dirt and somewhat level. A recent rain had left mud on some of the sites. This place is long over due due for a makeover. The young lady in the office swiped my credit card while I was looking for my AARP card. She claimed she didn't know how to make the adjustment after the transaction was processed. I paid $24.53 This was our second time here and this time was worst than the first. We will not stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
Our cost was about $25 with full hookups and was cheaper with our AARP card. This campground is part of the huge South of the Border Complex. 100 sites, many pull-throughs that are paved, and other sites are gravel. Easy checkin in the new campground office. This is situated behind a gas station and fireworks store. Bathrooms are older but very clean and they leave out little soaps which is a nice touch. Campers can swim in the indoor and outdoor pools of the motel. The last time we camped here was 20 years ago and it is good for one night. A number of restaurants and shops to visit. There were 11 RV’s the night we were here, most were gone by 8:30 in the morning. But their busiest season is when schools are out. We did not have the smell that some of the other reviewers complained about. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$22
We normally stay here overnight to/from the Canadian Maritimes to/from Florida. This last stay we decided to stay the next day as the Tornados were coming towards us from the western US. Glad we did as we would have been on the road the next day and either into them or caught in the big rainstorms farther up the eastern US in Pennsylvania. We dodged the bullet in avoiding the Tornados even though they were violent & did a lot of damage south & mostly north of us. However it gave us time to look around the RV Park. We found out that staying at the RV park also allows one to use the pool at the hotel and this pool is very nice, also allows you to go into the rooms at the back of the lobby & use their Wi-FI. Also met some very nice campers, some staying longer. All in all we like this park mostly as it is easy to get to, a relative great value for $22 (AARP rate) and quite secure with gated access & some amenities not mentioned earlier. No trouble with electrical power even though the park was full, also very polite staff. We would give it a 10 except it is a bit dated. However great value for the money. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2011
$22
This a very convenient place for an overnight stop. The sites are long and flat. We have stopped here many times, but this time we had a serious problem with the power. At about 2 AM the power to our motorhome went off. The entire power box had no service. There were no employees on site to correct the problem, and nobody in the office the next morning to report the problem to. Because the campground was not crowded, we were able to hook up to another power source. We would not stay here if the campground was full. Also, avoid the sites near the sewage treatment plant as they are noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2010
$25
Good for an overnight. Long sites with easy hookups, gated for security. We were far enough from the Interstate that we could not hear road noise. We would use it again when passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
November 2010
$24
Pros: Secure gate, full hook-ups, easy on/off I-95, great photo opportunities of neon. Cons: Really depressing. Ghosts of what once were are everywhere. Noisy starting at 7AM--construction, trucks at the next-door apartments, etc. We will not stay here again (even though we were really looking forward to staying here as grown-ups after all the trips past here when we were kids). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Used this place as a midway stopover on our trip home from VA. Hadn't been to this area in over 30 years. Boy have things changed. I wish we had kept on driving. It was like a ghost town. The campground had about 5 overnighters here, including us. Our site was a good size. It was paved and level, but the grass needed cutting. The utilities were located on either side of the site for convenience. The bathhouse was old, but decent. Don't think we will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
Good location right off the interstate. The campground was clean and quiet. The bathrooms and showers were very clean. We did not use them but I always look inside when we walk around. It was a very short walk to the front where both sides of the road came to life. One could spend hours walking around the area. There were some sights to see. I would like to stay here again in season to get a total picture of the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$25
Stayed here one night enroute to an oceanside site in Myrtle Beach. Next time, I'll allow more time to spend here. Can't argue with the price for FHU. Has plenty of shops, and good food across the street. I don't recall seeing a pool, but it was too cool to have enjoyed it anyway. Will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$22
Also called "Pedro's Campground". We stopped both on our way south and then again a few weeks later on our way back north. Was an easy in and out off I-95, and the pull through sites were plenty long and level enough that we did not have to unhook. There were full hookups on both sides of each site. (I think the pull through sites are actually two back in sites placed end to end.) They are reasonably far apart, and since the park wasn't full, they were assigning every other site. The office was open until 10:00 PM so you can check in late. Easy walking distance to all the Pedro's stores, restaurants, and such, but far enough away to avoid the noise. I-95 traffic and an occasional train could be heard, but was not loud enough to be bothersome. Washroom facilities were older, but had fresh paint and were clean. Very reasonable with the AARP discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2009
$22
Our rate included the AARP discount. Once again, convenient large sites with full hookups in a well-maintained but well-worn park. There was no faint odor of the sewer plant on this visit. It remains a bargain stop at a location which makes it almost too convenient to pass by. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$22
The sites were fine--deep, wide, easy to get to. The utilities were properly placed and the pull through sites had left/right options on the sites so you could pull in from either side. Almost good security (the pedestrian gate wasn't locked) and lots for adults and kids to do at Pedro Land. The pool is available to campers and it's only a short walk to the hotel. We stayed here 3 years ago without our RV at the hotel and found it a wonderful retro 50's room--but clean, comfortable, and cheap. So we don't have a bias against the place. We also stayed 2 years ago with our RV and I gave them a 7. I had a better site this time, the trains weren't so bothersome, but the place is a bit long in the tooth, both campground and property for Pedro. They do not currently have the hot tub as patrons abused it and broke it. Ladies showers apparently had kids playing in them and water was standing in the changing area. We had shade, minimal bugs, quiet, and reasonable TV reception over the air. All in all , not bad. For a safe, clean, easy spot to stop on a long trip on I-95, I'd say take a chance and try. Just ask for a site away from the sewage plant (approximately #26-38). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$24
This is a very nice, well-kept park with nice sites. We had asked for 50 amp, pull-thru and were given a site facing the bush which was about 15 feet away.Next time I would go with 30 amp hook-up; the sites are much bigger and with no large over-hanging trees.No internet of any kind which was a disappointment. This campground is a bit difficult to find in the South of the Border complex; only one small sign on the highway pointing in a general direction. Access is thru the parking lot of the General Store with gas station out front. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$22
When this park was built about 40 years ago it was way ahead of its time with its generous pull-through sites and full hookups. With the low rates charged (the listed rate credited an AARP discount) and location, it has been a consistent bargain location for overnight stops for us since the 1970s. Despite the increasingly tacky merchandise in the shops surrounding the campground, the park itself has been well maintained. The facilities are in decent repair, although the basic park has remained unchanged for many years. Unfortunately, upkeep efforts cannot overhaul the long-term decline of some systems. During our stay this time, a faint sewer odor kept wafting over the park. If we encounter this again, we may have to rethink our potential future use of the facility. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$33
We stayed at this fun campground. Very, very safe for 55 and over. Very clean with all blacktop roads. There are long pull thru sites with tables at your door. You can wash and scrub your RV. Guess what, nobody complains!!! Off I-95 in Dillon. Everything handy. Great waffle house nearby and clean to enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$23
We were happy to find a place fairly late at night, that was still open. We called ahead, and was assured that we could get to a pull-thru. After we checked in, and got our directions, we headed to our site. The first thing that we encountered was those awaful Live Oak trees, that if not trimmed, and these were not, will tear your roof and paint to shreds. We went all of the way to the end of the park for our pull-thru. The going was slow, due to all of the low hanging, untrimmed branches. When we finally pulled in (we have a 42', and toad)and got hooked up, we just crashed after driving all day. When we went to leave in the morning, it was a fiasco. They put the lot marker posts out at the end of the site, making it nearly impossible to make the corner to leave. Some helpful neighbors helped my wife hold back all of the untrimmed bushes, so I could make the cut to get out. Then, of course, we had the long, slow drive out, because of the untrimmed tree branches. We were very unhappy, and stopped at the office to tell them, but no one is there until 10 AM. We did call the manager to complain as we were driving down the road, but who knows what will ever become of it. Just a warning to all that care about their coaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$22
Very nice campground. Fairly close to Myrtle Beach area. Sites were level and shady. Very peaceful. Sites were well manicured and campground is well cared for. We were there just for an overnight stop, but would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
Well manicured. Office staff very nice. Huge water pressure/flow in the showers. Laundry at $2.00 a load was mighty pricy and I never did find the pool at the motel. Its a shame how slow it was at the restuarants/shops. its all an easy walk from the campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2008
$23
Easy entry pull through for 38' motorhome towing a Jeep, and the campground itself is in good condition. However, the rest of the facility has become quite run down, and a number of the restaurants and snack bars were not open. Good overnight stop. Did not go into the laundry or showerhouse. The pools are at the motel and were not very inviting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$22
Excellent place to stop for the night, or more. An hour from Myrtle Beach and a lot less expensive. Good utilities, nice staff, clean, quiet, recreation is S.O.B. facility. I stop here every time it is possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2008
$28
Used as an overnight stop on I-95. You can hear the trains and the Interstate but they are not loud enough to be annoying. Site was clean and level. Would stop here overnight again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2008
$19
Convenient spot but a bit worn down. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2008
$23
Large, long, level sites with easy access to/from I-95. An older park that is a bit frayed around the edges but well maintained. Not a destination, but a great overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2008
$20
This park is perfect for an overnight stop off of I-95. It is very easy in and out, the sites are a nice size, and the place is generally maintained well. The rating is due to the lack of cable TV and Wifi. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2007
$23
This campground was ahead of its time when designed over two decades ago. Now, it is a worn, but well maintained and better-than-average overnight stop. The park is convenient and inexpensive. Our rate included the AARP discount & taxes for full hookups. We use this place every year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2007
$18
Good overnighter. The first site we were assigned didn't show a ground on the RV Park 30 AMP connection when I checked it with a polarity/continuity checker. I checked the site next to it and it didn't have any power. However, the third site was a charm. They did not charge extra to run the air conditioner. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
A good stop over when traveling north. Campground very clean. Restrooms clean. Person at front office was friendly. Restaurants close by. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$18
Nice clean campground, many shady spots. Never was told there was a pool. Laundry room needs work, bathrooms need plumbing work. Water is either scalding or cold. Has key card gates for security. Office open 24 hrs a day. One employee is very cold and rude, others very friendly. Good location for travelers on I-95 for nighttime stop. Corporate restaurants nearby with bad cooks and dirty looking restaurants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2007
$17
This campground is one of the best kept secrets around. Would I spend my entire vacation there? Well, no. But for an overnight stop, or a couple of days it would be great. Quiet, clean, and cheap. We usually stay there a couple times a year when heading to Myrtle Beach. We have always found the park well maintained, clean bathhouses, and good food within a short walk from your site. No credit card required for reservations is a plus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2007
$17
What would it take to give this place a higher score? The sites were fine--deep, wide, easy to get to. The utilities were properly placed and the pull through sites had left/right options on the sites so you could pull in from either side. Almost good security (the pedestrian gate wasn't locked) and lots for adults and kids to do at Pedro Land. The pool and hot tub are available to campers and it's only a short walk to the hotel. They even supply tools and have a changing room. (Bring your own lock for the locker.) We stayed here a year ago without our RV at the hotel and found it a wonderful retro 50's room--but clean, comfortable, and cheap. So we don't have a bias against the place. However, our site was right up against the sewage treatment plant and it was NOISY. Like camping next to a giant waterfall. (No odor detected, thank heavens.) And for security of the plant, they have large spot lights shining all night on the treatment plant. Then add the train noises. Apparently they are required to blow the horn prior to Pedro Land and keep tooting until they are well past. Perhaps because they had been backed up by weather, but the trains ran every 20 minutes all night. No, I could not get used to it. Yes, it cut through our artificial waterfall sound. If I had been in a different site, away from the treatment plant, where it was quieter and darker, I might have been tempted to give it an 8. But for a safe, clean, easy spot to stop on a long trip on I-95, I'd say take a chance and try. Just ask for a site away from the sewage plant (approximately #26-38). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$20
Ignore the tackiness out front. The campground is nice. Clean, level, well marked, paved sites with good spacing between them. Security gate to keep out the curious. Easy access from I-95 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2007
$19
We didn't expect much, but were very pleasantly surprised. This is a very nice campground with decent-sized attractive sites and full-hook-ups. We stopped here on our way to Florida and were very pleased. We didn't stay long enough to see the pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
This was a great stop over for traveling on 95. Very clean and friendly. Would stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2007
$17
This is a regular stop for us when we travel south because it is convenient and well-kept. South of the Border is incredibly tacky, but the campground is hidden behind everything in its own little world. The sites are paved and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2007
$19
The campground is very nice even though the laundry facilities are pretty rough. The sites are pleasant, and there are enough sites with shade trees for those who like them as well as enough clear ones for those of us who need a clear sky for satellite dishes. But the most striking aspect of this place for us was the aggressively rude woman who was registering people when we checked in. In our full-timing lives, this is the most astonishingly rude behavior we have ever witnessed. Later, it started to become funny as we watched another Pedroland employee floss her teeth behind the front counter of "El Drug Store"! If you arrive when a heavily made-up blonde woman is on duty, be prepared to enjoy some pretty amazing behavior. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2006
$19
This RV park was better than I expected it to be. After years of passing up "Pedro" signs I decided to give it a try. The rest rooms were clean, the sites were well kept and the office was professional. I will probably stop here on my way home. The price sure is right. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
This is a must on our semi-annual pass through traveling north or south. Where else can you find such easy access from I-95, generous site width, extra long sites with your choice of hookups, gracious staff, well maintained facilities all for such a nominal fee? If they would add free WiFi I could easily boost the rating to a perfect 10! They don't have cable TV but the local stations seem to cover the average traveler need for a night or two. We stayed there last year for 5 days before continuing our journey to FL and enjoyed walking around the grounds and Padroland! This park is a great stop, one we would recommend to others! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2006
$17
Great for what it is. We used it as an overnight stop on way to Florida. Don't know why others had problems with trees - can't see why it would happen. Paved roads made movement in campground easy. Many, many pull-throughs long enough so we didn't even have to unhook - great for an overnight stop. Plenty of room for our slideout. The comfort stations were very clean, room to change in the shower areas and plenty of hot water while we were there - and they even supply small bars of soap in the showers!! Campground is gated ($5 refunded deposit for gate key) and there is active security during the night. Campers have access to all facilities, including a big indoor pool at the main registration building - nice when traveling with kids in a car for almost 10 hours! Several different levels of restaurants available from a tacky diner (still in the 1950's - food was lousy there!), a decent sit down place and even a steak house. Wouldn't go out of my way for any of them, but good enough for a traveler who is hungry and doesn't want to cook! All in all, good deal for the money. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2006
$17
Clean, extremely quiet park. Transient type: we use it coming and going on our annual trek to and from Florida. Excellent and accommodating management. Just what one needs after 10 to 12 hours on Rte. 95. Tacky highway signs give way to a wonderful camping experience. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2006
$18
Quiet, clean and nice. This campground exceeded our expectations. The bathrooms were very close by and the sites were wide, paved, nicely set-up and easy to find. Had a wonderful overnight on the way north and will definitely stop again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2006
$19
This park greatly exceeded my expectations. From the time I began seeing billboards 200 miles away until I got there, I expected a mega-park with RV stacked together. Instead, I found a small park, lots of grass and shade, and plenty of room between sites. The roads were a little narrow but the sites had hookups on both sides allowing the RVer to face either way. It was surprising after all the miles of billboards that the RV park signs were somewhat hidden and access was behind other large buildings but that wasn't a significant drawback. Trash cans are located at every-other site--very convenient--and the showers and laundry were close. I wouldn't spend a lot of time here but it's a good park to stay in while passing through. Next time I'm in the area and it's time to stop, this will most likely be the place I stop at. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2006
$25
Good place to do a nights stop over. All the funky stuff you would expect for this place. Clean and easy access. Good for an early departure with I90 so close but no real traffic noise. Will use again going north or south. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2006
$19
I was pleasantly surprised this past weekend when we took our Pop Up to Camp Pedro for a winter break. Located behind the South of the Border - Rocket City, Camp Pedro was very nice. There are 100 campsites, most are pull-throughs with full hookups located on both sides of the pull-through. Three bathrooms/showers, a laundry facility, two playgrounds and a well stocked camping section in Pedro's Pantry. Metered propane was affordable (filled my tank for $12) and while it is winter, the campground was clean and maintained. I saw security come through several times, and saw the cleaning people too. There was very little road noise from I-95/301 throughout our stay, and the trains that were running weren't disturbing us at all. We visited the shops of South of the Border, and finally made the $1.00 trip in the observation tower. We enjoyed The Peddler Steakhouse one evening and breakfasted at The Sombrero, where they are still putting up sombrero name tags for $20.00 donations to the Shriners. My daughter enjoyed the indoor pool at 'the pleasure dome' several times, as well as the spa. And, of course enjoyed the Arcades. Most of the other campers during our stay were overnighters, but several were there for a few days and all said nice things about the campground. We made day trips to Myrtle Beach and other places while we were there. We had rain and wind several days, but there is good drainage in the campground, so it was not mud-city. I found it to be a very nice place, whether for a one-night stay or longer. It was a great winter's break for us and very affordable. All of the Pedro's (workers) were helpful and cheerful to us. We will return. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2006
$36
Despite the whole South of the Border Theme, this park was very nice. It didn't offer much, but it was handy to the highway and very clean. I don't think you could spend a week here, but the time we spent (2 nights) was just fine. I think everybody should stop at South of the Border at least once if they can. It gives new meaning to the word Hokey. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2005
$17
We only over-nighted here. The sites were paved, wide and clean. Doesn't look like there's much around the area other then PedroLand (which is kitch to the max). Based on what we saw there, it wouldn't be a good vacation spot for adults, kids might like it though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2005
$19
The rating is a bit high, but when looking at this campground for what it really is, a short-stop to rest while going to a long-term destination, it is very good. Full hook ups (no cable TV, but not really necessary), decent interior roads and easy pull-thru sites make this an easy place to get into and out of. Most sites big enough for big rigs. Don't know why the previous camper had so many problems. We have a 31' TT pulled by a Ford F350 with a combined length of over 50'. We had no problems at all. What makes this campground better than many for its best use is the easy access of what many campers want when 'on their way'. South of the Border has several restaurants, from a family, inexpensive, basic food type to a decent steak house. Pretty much anything you would like to buy, and overpay for, is there too. Choices of gasoline brands, bathing suits, groceries, fireworks, everything is there. What might be best, though, is the indoor pool located in the main registration building for the motel. The campground has a small outdoor pool, but our stay in October was past its time for use. We asked at the campground office when we registered and they told us we could just walk across to the indoor pool. It was clean, large and very, very relaxing. There is even a bar at the pool for a quick drink. A great way to unwind after driving almost 10 hours! Only suggestion I would make is to develop WiFi or modem access for so many of us with computer needs. The staff at is friendly, knowledgable and seem to work hard enough so it was clean. Impressive for a place so busy. The campground is not a place to stay for a week, but as a stop over it is wonderful. Thanks Pedro for thinking of us RVers. It's appreciated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2005
$18
Just passing through. Great one nighter. Super clean paved level pull thrus. Most pull-thrus had 2 sets of complete hook ups so you can face in either direction. Stopped on way to Myrtle Beach and FL. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2005
$17
Perfect overnight stop. Unlike all the cheesy glitz of Pedroland outside, the campground is a very nice wooded oasis. Long pull-throughs made navigation a cinch. Don't know what the first reviewer's problems were. It was clean and the landscaping was well maintained. Bath houses and laundry were older but clean and in good maintenance. Very nice grassy separation between sites. The only catch is that there is no sign on the road telling you where to turn into the campground. The campground office is behind the gas station and arcade on the left. I happened to see the word CAMPGROUND painted on a building behind the storefronts and that's how I got where I was going. After that it was easy. Don't remember hearing any road noise at all. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2005
$19
Used this campground for an overnight stay on our way back from Florida. Great for a quick stay, large pull through sites. The restrooms were very clean. Would definitely use this again for an overnighter. Didn't seem to be enough around there to stay for more than one night. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2005
$19
As an overnight only stop this campground is ok. The sites are large and pull through, and have adequate space to either side, though no privacy, as the trees are very small. The campground is surrounded by a chain link fence for security, which is nice, since when we visited, "South of the Border" was more like a ghost town for truckers. I do not believe that the advent of two adult entertainment lounges has improved the area. Restrooms appeared to be clean, and groceries are available just outtside the gates. The camping area was free of trash alothough the trash cans did not appear to be emptied daily. Restaurants are available just outside the gates also. There is a small pool, was not open at the time we were there. This area does not have much to offer except as an overnight stop while travelling down 95, I would not make a special trip for it. We had 40' motor homes on either side of us during our stay and no one appeared to have any difficulty. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$17
When I saw the Trailer Life listing for this resort with its "90-foot paved sites" and found out it was only $17 per night, I was beside myself with joy. But when I arrived and observed that only 7 of the 100 sites were filled on a weekend, I became a little suspicious. Bottom line is this: The sites may be paved, and a few may be 90 feet long, but it is obvious the owners don't own an RV, have never driven an RV, and know nothing about an RVer's needs. In fact, it almost appears that they hired long-term RVer's with instructions to design the worst possible campground as a joke. Power posts, water posts, site signs, and all manner of non-moveable items are directly in the way of turning a large motorhome. And, if you are lucky enough to get out of your site without destroying something, you will find that the ingress and egress turning radius at most intersections is virtually impossible to navigate, not to mention the low branches, overhanging limbs, etc., that do a number on your rig, or the sewer facility for the entire recreational complex that sits right next to the RV park. Trailer Life, of course, gave it a 9.0/6.5/8.0! Stay away. Park anywhere else, but give this place a wide berth. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com