214552 User submitted reviews online!!
Goose Island Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (608) 788-7018
CGID5766

Goose Island Campground

Camp Information
Sites
326
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$17



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   8   6   7   6   6   9   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$17
This was our second year of staying here and we were fortunate to avoid the major flooding problems in the park (150 sites closed). The site was not level and required adding additional steps to access the RV. The wi-fi was okay, but sometimes cut out. There is no sewer connections, so needed to pay $25 a pop for pumping. Laundry area very small and equipment doesn't always work well. Office staff very friendly. Memorial Day weekend was awful with excess drinking and noise. Even though police patrol frequently it didn't quiet down until about 3:00am. Will probably not stay here next year, would like something less wet,with sewer hookups and better wi-fi. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$26
Very clean campground with little activity during the week, but the weekends very busy. The 25 cent showers work sometime and hot water can be hard to find. There are 3 dump stations at the back of the park and gets crowded on Sunday. We enjoyed our stay here while exploring the La Crosse area. Gravel sites, good water pressure, good cell phone coverage. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$27
Nice county park just south of town. WiFi hotspot limits you to one hour every 24 hours. No sewers just dump stations. Friendly staff. Good TV on the antenna. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
This is our home for two months in the summer when we return to the old stomping grounds. There is no sewer hookups and the Internet only works if you're in the office. Even our Wi-Fi Ranger couldn't pull it in. The sites are large and grassy and the birds are abundant. If you set out feeders you'll have lots of them. The area is prone to flooding in the spring so you want to avoid the lower areas at all costs. The pump out service is $25 a pop if you don't have your own hauler. It's quiet during the week and the weekends can get very congested and noisy. But there isn't much in the area that is close to the city and it is affordable. We enjoy the wildlife and seeing the river nearby. We live full-time in our RV with two cats. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$24
Nice spot just outside LaCrosse. On the river pretty quiet, good Verizon MiFi. Didn't check the bathrooms or showers. They have a dump station but no sewer hook ups. Road into the sites can be a bit tight depending on how people park their cars. Lady at office was nice and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$27
Great County Park,with easy access from Hwy 35. The roads are paved and the sites are fairly level. There are some shaded sites. The staff was accommodating and helpful. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
We stayed here a couple times, each time at least two nights. We really enjoy the campground. Because of the weak Wi-Fi (hotspot) access, we stayed in sites 1 - 3 each time because they are closest to the office/store. With a repeater, the Wi-Fi worked fine. One of several playgrounds was right across the street from us, as was a nice beach on the Mississippi River. Beautiful. The manager is great, fun and super helpful. Since this is literally an island, new sewer hookups available, but the dump stations are somewhat convenient and well-maintained. It is a County of La Crosse campground, so there is a very limited number of seasonal sites. We will definitely be staying there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$21
Very nice park. If you are not tenting I would get a site in the south end of the park. These sites are on asphalt pads and have electric only but there is a place to fill up with water. Very large sites with table and fire ring. It would be best to have a reservation as it is a very popular park especially on the weekends. The rate is a senior rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
We spent Memorial Day weekend here. It was really fun and the weather was nice. The campground was very crowded. My family said the bathrooms were clean, but the showers were pay. However, they said it was only $0.25 for 7 min and that seemed like enough time. They could have used more shower stalls. The beach was very nice but could have been a little bigger because it was crowded. The only problem we had is that we had 5 sites and they were all in the "older" section (20 amp) and we kept tripping the circuit. This meant that only one of us could have air on at a time. It got annoying when we wanted to put the kids down for naps because we couldn't all have air. We plan on staying here again, but we will try to get in the "newer" part where there is 30 & 50 amp service. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$23
The park is now owned and operated by La Crosse County. Goose Island features a large picnic area on the north end of the island, a large campground on the center-west side of the island, and a nature preserve on the south end of the island. The Mississippi River surrounds the island and there are abundant opportunities for boating, canoe/kayaking, fishing, hiking/biking, and bird-watching. There are 3 lanes at the south end of the campground that feature newer, larger sites with electric and water. These are best for larger RVs. All in the new section are paved, back-in sites, some not as long as others, but there is very wide generous spacing between sites. The older section of the campground has scattered, smaller sites. Some are suitable for RVs and some are on the riverfront, but most are not paved pads. About 1/2 of all of the RV sites are occupied by seasonal trailers, but no permanent park models are allowed here, so it still had the look of a weekend campground rather than a seasonal park. Has nice dump stations and camp store. Has good cell coverage and OTA television stations from La Crosse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
Great campground but I echo the other comment about staying in the back part. Do not camp in the front part!! Complete with store (about a 1/2 mile from the back camping area) and friendly caretakers. Would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
The front part of the campground is crowded and smaller units - the back part of the campground is great for larger campers with hookups. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com