206517 User submitted reviews online!!
Colorado Heights Camping Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 33 user reviews. Phone: (719) 481-2336
CGID577

Colorado Heights Camping Resort

Camp Information
Sites
204
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$1



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   8   7   8   2   7   9   10   6   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
Very nice large RV resort with paved roads, gravel sites with table and lots of trees. Roads are paved, narrow and steep. Have partial and full hook up sites but only a few sites with 50 amps. Separate tent area and rental cabins. Game room, club house, pool, mini golf, kids play areas, small fishing pond and small store. Lots of kids in the summer and holidays. Scheduled activities on weekends. Free password protected and strong Wi-Fi. Good Verizon cell and 4G signal in the park. Satellite TV signal in only a few non tree sites. local TV on antenna in most sites. Staff friendly and helpful and accepts pets. Campground geared more for families on weekends but OK for full timers. Two laundries rooms, small and clean. Closes for season on Oct 1. Five miles outside of Colorado Springs. Would stay there again. Membership park. Cost listed is for ROD. Accepts C2C but not RPI or PA. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
Rate quoted is for Coast to Coast members. Friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant on-site. Lake VERY low in August. Roads paved, concrete pads. Easy to find. Quiet. Nice landscaping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$11
Nice large park but tough for large rigs. Sites are typically not level, Wi-Fi is too weak, and the water pressure is low. It is crowded with sites too close, and noisy in the summer. It is rated as Coast to Coast Premium-but should be Classic. Only one 50 amp site available in the main park with old wiring. 50 amp available on the hill (called the parking lot) in all of the sites there. A pool available but is small and crowded. Hot tubs (2) work some of the time. No fire mitigation in the park even with two major fires within 10 miles in the past year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$11
Large park, some freeway noise, good power, AT&T signal good. Unlike prior poster, we had no problem with either the water pressure or Wi-Fi. We stayed on the upper lot, out of the trees. Stayed here in a 40 ft MH, a little tight getting to the top lot. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Water inconsistent pressure from 0 to dribble. WiFi also inconsistent: rarely good connection. Rental unit we saw had matted and stained carpet, stained furniture, ragged curtains, and the windows didn't work. One very rude workkamper. The hot tub was lukewarm and so cloudy we couldn't see our feet. If we had known then what we know now, we would never had purchased a membership. After a couple of letters to the owners, we have not received a response to address our concerns. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Drive carefully around this site. RVs are packed in tighter than sardines. Pleasant stay. Upside: easy access from the highway, amenities were plentiful, host were helpful and pleasant. Very clean. Downside: Highway noise kept us up at night, not a good place if you are expecting a private, quiet location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$10
I wish we had more time to spend here - stopped on the way north. Nice view of Pike's Peak from the site, very friendly and helpful staff getting us settled in. Overlooks the I-25 but you don't hear to traffic due to the abundant trees. Was here in the spring - may come back in the winter when there is snow. Site was sloped but that is what levelers are for and the view made up for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$10
What an extremely clean park: the bathrooms shine. The staff was great. They lead me to my site and helped me with a leak at my water heater: no charge. He spent over an hour working on it with me; also gave me parts out of his own supplies. The streets seemed narrow, do to a lot of trees. But there was plenty of room to get in with my 40 foot rig. I would love an opportunity to return to this park when the season is going. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
Stayed under ROD - put up in the northern flat gravel area - even though lots of spaces were empty in other areas. Roads are AWFULLY narrow, take time getting in. Branches overhang the roads - lost a black tank vent on one of them trying to leave. Also exiting the top area was difficult because of erosion and people parking cars out in the road and the staff doesn't care. Road traffic is very loud. Not sure if we would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
Camped here under ROD; I understand that this park is no longer selling ROD and may no longer accept ROD members. Time will tell. Very large park on top of Monument Hill (over 7000 feet) right on I-25 with constant drone of traffic. Was surprised that all activities were already shut down for the season as well as all restrooms except the one at the entrance. Sites were assigned but they were very accommodating when I asked for a different site so we could get satellite TV. Dirt sites with trees and picnic tables. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
I liked the fact that the spaces were not on top of each other. No one seemed crowded. That was excellent. The water, sewer and electric hookups were all good. The place was clean as a whistle. Each space had a clean picnic table. They did have a lot of activities, putt-putt golf, pool, playground, BBQ's, bon fires, breakfasts, tons of things to do for young parents and their small children. It is a hilly parking lot: not a single blade of grass in the entire place. Just gravel and pine trees. Not a single level space. Walking around we saw many brave attempts at getting RV's level. There was one RV up on several two by fours under the tires on one side. We stood here trying to figure out how on earth he got it up onto the boards. It looked precarious at best, especially since the 2x4's were narrower than the tires. Ours wasn't as bad, but it did take all of our leveling boards to get it close, but not quite, level. While walking around the campground, we encountered numerous whiffs of sewage at the Southern end. The staff was friendly although I'm not sure I would have put an older couple next to the playground with screaming kids. This campground is right next to the Interstate highway. The highway noise was worse than you would expect since the highway at that point is going up a fairly steep grade causing the semi trucks to shift to lower gears making for even more noise as they climb the grade. Other campgrounds, please take note: older adults usually do not care to listen to screaming children. We did it when we were younger and once was enough. Do not assign spaces next to playgrounds to older campers! There was no cable TV or Wi-Fi. Using the antenna and antenna amplifier, we could only receive two English speaking stations and six or seven Spanish channels. One of the English channels was PBS, the other was NBC in Colorado Springs. This is a private resort campground, but it came up short of our expectations. When our adult child was younger I think we might have enjoyed the place with all of its activities for children. As older Baby Boomers, it just wasn't quite our style. We are after peace and tranquility. This place was anything but peaceful or tranquil. It was more like camping in an amusement park. I have nothing against small children: I was once one myself, so I'm told. I just don't want to pay to listen to them scream for hours on end. The place had a lot of pluses, but none we would enjoy. I can’t complain too much since we were staying for free (I had to enter $1 since this website will not accept a zero). It was part of a 90 minute membership presentation. I think some of our disappointments might have been more because of our style and age, not so much the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Came in under ROD membership. Nice park, lots of beautiful trees.. Clean bathrooms.. Really great staff.. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2010
$10
This park had some negatives. We had a site for big rigs, 50 amp, full hook up, some gravel but mostly dirt. The entry and interior roads are really tight for big rigs. Narrow, winding, a lot of trees, our site was in the back so a lot of driving through the entire park. Our site backed up to a hill and we had to back up into the dirt in order to fit. It rained and there was a lot of standing water up there. Also, a lot of road noise from 1-25, not peaceful. Although the park is open all year, they were turning the water off for the winter the day we left. Although the park worked out for us, we would probably not return. Would not deal with the hassle of the tight roads and sites again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
The view from this park is awesome. Roads to the sites are a little narrow with a lot of pine trees. Pool and hot tub was closed for the season. About 10 miles from Colorado Springs, plenty of things to do nearby. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
Resort of distinction with a friendly staff. Clean and convenient to Colorado Springs, USAF Academy, Valley of the Gods and Pikes Peak. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
This was a Membership Park (ROD) so we didn't have to pay anything, but put in $10. Was charged $3.00 for 50 AMP. Been here years ago, was very happy to see they put in new sites for the Big Rigs. Has no trees, and is easy to get in and out of. Great location. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
Very nice RV Park, secluded but near everything. Stayed a week using Coast To Coast at $10.00 per day, could of easily stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This is a very nice campground. Enjoyed our stay completely. Narrow roadways but, no problem navigating through with our rig. Traveling West for the summer, hope all the campgrounds are this nice. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
C2C price. Roads were half blacktop and half gravel. Gravel roads and the sites need a little more gravel. WiFi was poor but our MiFi worked very well. We usually got a good WiFi signal from Colorado Heights, but no connection to the internet or mail. Got TV from Colorado Springs over the air ok. Altitude is 1000ft higher than Colorado Springs, so be prepared for more drastic weather patterns. Park is very convenient to visits to Colorado Springs or Denver. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
First, our cost was $0 because we are ROD members and this park is now part of the ROD park system. We were parked in a newer section up on a hill which concerned me as we were backed up to the hill which had been cut away and was a big pile of sliding dirt. I could foresee this being a big mess after a long, hard rain. Interior roads are very tight for long rigs and several sites would not be suitable for rooftop satellites due to the trees. However, this is a great base for visiting the Colorado Springs area, is close to shopping, restaurants and golf courses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
50 amps sites #s N113 to N122 were located in the upper part of the campground. This area was quite muddy after snow melt and rain, just not quite enough gravel. The road leading to this area was almost impassable after the rain as well, we slipped a lot going up the hill. Sites N10 to N122 are facing the wrong direction for 5th wheel and trailers, you have to back up on your blind side. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$1
Nice "new" addition to the ROD net-work. We arrived at the end of the season so there were several sites to select at this CG. The CG is very wooded but not as dramatic as reported by others. But, you do have to pay attention to what your are doing, (you can see it by the marks on some of the trees). We like interior paved roads for walking our pooch. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$3
This is a new membership campground for Resorts of Distinction and we only paid for 50amp each night. The water pressure was very low and we used our pump most of the time. The big rigs are put on the top where there are no trees but getting there was like threading a needle getting through the trees in the lower area. One fellow had to move his truck so we could maneuver around the trees to get out. It would be nice if the park cut several of the trees that make it too close to maneuver: there are big gouges in many trees where rigs have hit the trees turning corners. Since this park is close to Colorado Springs and all the exciting things to see in the area, it makes a good 'base camp' and we would probably stay here again when we are in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
We stayed as guests of members. A nice park with sites laid out almost randomly providing a surprising amount of privacy with all the trees. Access road is tight with a large rig but doable with care. Wi-fi would be nice to have & more big rig sites in the old section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
We stayed here under Coast to Coast for 2 weeks, hence the $10 rate. Site are ok, but could use a little work - it was hard to get our 40' MH level in our pull thru site. We decided to stay in the non-50 amp section as it was up a hill and all gravel with no trees. Wi-fi was spotty - used our Verizon instead. Staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay here again unless they drop Coast to Coast like were told they may do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$13
We stayed here under Coast to Coast - rate was $10 a night with additional $3 for 50 amp. We stayed in the newer 'big rig' section up top which required driving through the entire campground and maneuvering around several large trees, do-able but would be easier if they would remove a few of the trees right on the roadway. ( they even warned us about one tree at check in that they said was a 'mirror eater' ) Nice park with all the amenities. The newer section is pretty stark - basically a large gravel parking area with the sites being pretty close together. Conveniently located to Colorado Springs and all that it has to offer. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$10
Not a bad park if you want to visit Garden of the Gods, USAFA, Pike's Peak etc. and hit the many local restaurants. Yes the park has road noise and the water pressure is very low but acceptable. We were on the upper level and had no problem fitting into a back in site even with our 41 foot length. Being escorted to the site would have been helpful as their road signs are not very visible. As Coast to Coast members, the price was wonderful and we'd stay there again. We did find the pool, hot tub closed for the winter but we were comfortable during our week at the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$10
Coast to Coast Facility; Stayed in the newer section of the campground which was used for larger RV's. This section is very stark with no trees or landscaping vs. the other portions of the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$10
Coast to Coast membership park. Newer area available for larger coaches. Lots of trees at the entrance road and in the older section. This can take some maneuvering to get parked and level, however, it is worth the effort. Amenities include a pool, hot tub, adult lounge, mini golf and a stocked fishing pond. We enjoy staying at this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$8
The park is situated right off interstate 25 and there is a continual drone of traffic. Sites are very small; it feels like a giant parking lot. We were directed to a site that was loaded with dog messes and filled with mud. On 3 separate days we suggested that it might be a good idea for the maintenance staff to put a little gravel over the mud. No one ever responded during our stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2006
$8
This park is close to Colorado Springs. The park is however very hard to drive a large motorhome. We have a 40' and was fearful of losing a mirror because of all the trees and small roads. Lots are small and not all level except for the new section up top, which costs extra for 50 amp. This is a coast to coast, the cost is right. This would be a nice park for smaller campers, but large motorhomes are hard to maneuver We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$8
A bit hard to maneuver in a motorhome. Most sites are very unlevel. Our front tires are off the ground. I-25 noise diminishes at night. Great access to local attractions! Park information indicates that the park is open until Oct 15th but we were told upon arrival that the water was being turned off on Oct 6th and now Oct 10th. We occupied one of the "N" sites with good clear view of the southern sky for TV and Internet access. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2004
$8
This is a Coast to Coast park about 1 mile off I-25. It is a membership park. Sites are gravel/dirt. Most sites are not level & very hard to get in to. Some roads are paved, others are not. There are a lot trees making it very hard for a big rig to get around. Electricity has low voltage. Laundry & showers were clean. This park is not big rig friendly. We would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com