206790 User submitted reviews online!!
Springfield KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 34 user reviews. Phone: (217) 498-7002
CGID5773

Springfield KOA

Camp Information
Sites
61
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   5   10   7   6   9   6   7   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$34
Although this campground is a few miles off the Interstate, the drive is extremely pretty and the large, full-service pull-through sites are neat. We used it as a base to explore the Springfield, IL area. Staff very friendly and during the off-season check-in when the office is closed is a "piece of cake". We'll stay here again when we revisit the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
Four rigs with reservations arrived to find the office closed. It doesn't matter what amenities a campground has if you can't talk to a host. This is not what we expect from a KOA campground. Access road is narrow and in need of resurfacing. Sites were long; utilities good; location was quiet. Route from the South is marginal to unacceptable for big rigs towing due to angle of turns. Should recommend using exit 94. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$30
Hard to get to at night due to narrow roads, but worth the trip. This was by far the quietest campground we've ever been in. No trains, no Planes, no Freeway noise. Almost spooky quiet. Nice lady runs the place. We may go back just for the peace and quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
This is a decent park among cornfields and woods, but is technically in Rochester not Springfield. It is about half-an-hour to the Abe Lincoln attractions in Springfield and about 10 minutes to a very nice public park on Springfield Lake. The roads going to the RV park are narrow and in need of resurfacing. Roadways and sites in the park are gravel and in pretty good shape. Sites aren't perfectly level but we had no trouble leveling our trailer. Bathhouse is okay and clean, Cable TV is adequate, but Wi-Fi and my connection using a 4G phone were marginal. Previous reviewers criticism about a lack of enough signage is valid. There are several ways into this KOA and it seems that only one of them is marked. My GPS got us there, but via an unmarked back way. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2013
$30
Staff was very friendly. Park was quite away from Interstate and entrance needed repair. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$18
We stayed at this campground for a month while visiting family and friends. The owners were very friendly and accommodating. The location is peaceful and we will stay here when we return to the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Once we got off the main road (East Lake Drive). the other ones to the campground were not good and in need of paving. The Wi-Fi, which was free, wasn't very good and kept knocking me off. I was able to download e-mails but not much else. Very frustrating. Otherwise there was no problem for an overnight stay. There aren't many RV parks in the Springfield area. This was recommended over another one we considered. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
This is an older KOA and is difficult to find: more signage needed, in our opinion. It is definitely way out in the country! The upside: little to no road noise (and surprisingly not much train noise either). The downside: small roads on the way in. A few sites will accommodate longer rigs: check with the campground first. A few seasonals, but they weren't loaded with junk & stuff in their sites. Bathrooms were clean but smelled a little mildewy. Friendly staff. Good for an overnighter, a weekend, or a base camp for visiting Springfield & historic sites. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$33
Very clean washrooms and lots of hot water. Site was level. Nice clearing for playground and play field. Staff was very helpful and went out of her way to suggest alternative route for our return. Road in was windy and narrow, and we wondered where we were, but in reality, it was only 7 miles... which has an upside...it was very peaceful. But get your groceries before going. There is a camp store with the essentials but a real grocery store is 10 miles away. Overall, I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$42
Quite a few turns to get here but you'll be rewarded with a very quiet campground! Sites are ok spacewise but the really big rigs should stay away because of the trees. (We had no problems with our 34' 5th wheel.) Trash pickup service every morning was nice. The hookups were in ok shape, while the picnic table should be replaced. Wi-Fi was good. We didn't use washrooms or shower. If you look for some quiet place and don't mind to drive a few miles to a shopping mall or museums, this KOA is for you. The posted rate is without KOA membership card. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
Rate is for WE on a shared site but since there was no one else on the site it functioned as a pull through. Sewer was available at the site but since we did not use it we were not charged. This campground charges for running AC, too, but we did not need AC. Level site. No boards needed. Wi-Fi .31 down, .32 up. Water connection did not leak. Nicely spaced sites with mature trees. Well off highway and deep in woods and fields. Dark and quiet. Real camp feel. Amazing display of fire lighting bugs in an adjacent field. Well graveled roads. Tricky to find from the highway but GPS took us right here. Those with reservations were called well ahead by camp admin to warn of public road flooding in area. Shower mats needed. Nice play area. Downgraded for insufficient signs to camp from Hwy 29, showers and lack of utility sink for dishes (sought by cabin users), We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
This campground is not that easy to get to, and the roads on the way aren't great, but we found it to be quaint and quiet. Could use a bit of improvement on the upkeep, but the price is right! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2010
$32
This Park is off the beaten path. Several miles from the Freeway turn off. The road leading to park is uneven with huge dips, a roller coaster ride. Also very narrow and has ditches on both sides. If you meet any vehicle coming opposite way, you are in trouble as there are NO turnouts . There are also large tree branches over the road to catch on the antenna. The entrance to this KOA curves and is steep. You then have to navigate the entrance post. We were here in a 45 ft coach with a pull vehicle. This is one of our worst experiences to a KOA: they do not warn you of these hazards, when booking. When I mentioned the road conditions in the office . I was told, we have tall profile. My question is: why advertise Big Rig sites? What you mean is Short, small rigs are better. BIG RIGS DO NOT GO HERE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
This is a small park in the middle of farm fields. The sites are pretty wide. I was in a back in spot, but I was able to pull through because the two sites were set up as back in spots. The owner was very helpful, driving me out to the site so I could take a look. They kept the store opened later on Sunday because it was Labor Day weekend. You definitely want to map to get to this KOA, but there are signs on the road if you are watching and coming in from Lakeshore drive. The owner even called me on the phone to let me know there was water on the road so I needed to take a an alternate route to the campground to avoid the water. I also got a break on the rate because the weather had cooled to the point where the A/C wasn't required. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$39
We camped here for one night on our way out west. Our site was a back-in with a bean field/farm field behind us. The bean field was provided a nice view in the evening and the morning. The bathrooms were above average. This campground could use better maintenance, upkeep, updating and better grounds keeping. It has a pool but my boys took a look at it and decided not to swim, very unusual for my boys. The campground location is a few miles from the highway so it is quiet. With better upkeep and some improvements this campground could easily rate higher. The owners need to consider it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
This was our first time using our own large pop-up camper and we choose this campground because it was a KOA, a name we trusted. While driving back to the campground we noticed that the roads were somewhat rough, especially when approaching from the east. Upon checking we were refunded $3.00 for our site because it was 30amp instead of 50amp. The owners were friendly during check-in and when they heard we had a blown fuse they gave us a box of fuses they kept as spares to see if it would fit our camper. The site was level but it needed more gravel as there was a fair deal of mud when we arrived and after the heavy rains we had a lot of mud outside our camper, as did our neighbor. The water and electric hookups were just fine but a water filter is a good thing here, the water is not great. The sewer hookup is sub-par and is simply done by dropping the line in, no adapter would fit our site. The camp store has snacks, ice cream, some supplies and small souvenirs. The pool was in good shape and well maintained and the playground and large trampoline were hits with our kids and other kids that were there, it was a very family friendly campground. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
We were disappointed in this campground that didn't hold up to the KOA's we usually camp when traveling. It seemed run down and the people here seemed like they weren't happy to be here either. Seasonal(?) campers have let their RV's become overgrown with weeds and left in disrepair. WiFi was slow and inadequate. The campground was rundown in so many ways. Since we were in Springfield for a week, we spent 1/2 the time at the fairgrounds first and 1/2 the time here. It was a mistake to move from the fairgrounds. This could be a great campground with owners who want to provide customers with a level of service and not be put-out by it. We generally can "go with the flow" and don't expect a place to be the Ritz Carlton: as a sign said that this place wasn't. Poor demeanor and attitude of owners made us feel unwelcome. This was, by far, the worst KOA we have been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
We stayed two nights at this park. The directions to get to it from the west were pretty convoluted. We saw our first fireflies at this park. No Wi-Fi, no cable. The sites were manageable, we were in a pull thru that accommodated our 35' fifth wheel. It was a several mile drive into Springfield. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2010
$29
The owner here is friendly and helpful. The park is in very poor condition. We were given a grassy site that was quite muddy and needed gravel. While clean, the bathrooms showed wear and tear. There was a junky motorhome parked a couple sites down. Cannot understand why KOA allows this park to be in such poor shape. WILL NOT stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$48
Turned out to be a "terrible" choice for what we thought to be a Class "A" campground. Should have taken the hint when first call was asked if they could call back, second call (when they did not return call after an hour) was hung up on and third call succeeded. Arrival the road was narrow and rough and assigned site 85: found no 50 amp service. Owner was approached and he was very rude and noted I must be mistaken. He checked and indeed no 50 amp service. He suggested I use the 30 amp for my coach in the 90 plus weather, or move. He directed me to go around and come back up the row however his directions had me making a turn that a 35 footer would have trouble with (I have 41 ft Dynasty with toad). Took a shortcut across grass and he became very angry (indentations were about an inch and grass was laid down). Owners wife came over later and delivered wood: all wet and would not burn. She remarked that, "Oh, so You are the one!" Left early this morning and will NEVER go back. The road into the place was flooded about 8 or 10 inches and owner wife watched us leave and never mentioned this to us. For a KOA I expect far, far better. Must place this one as probably the 3rd worst campground I have ever visited. Their charges were for extra adult, extra 2 children, extra for 50 amp AC and extra for AMP. I cannot expound further. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
As with most KOA's the showers are really small, but very clean. This KOA is 9 miles from Springfield. It is a lovely drive into town. We liked this KOA because it is out in the country, quiet and dark. We were able to get our dish to work here. We would stay here again. People were very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$25
We were here in early November and the campground had only 3-4 visitors. There is plenty of space, excellent strong wi-fi, very friendly owner. We thought it was lovely, lots of grass, quiet, no road noise, close to downtown Springfield (10 minutes to the excellent Lincoln Museum). We did not see bathrooms or laundry. The owner, was exceptionally cordial and helpful. We usually use KOA only as last resort but we were pleasantly surprised with this one. Right in the middle of cornfields, but nice big trees too. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$29
This Campground is out of the main roads and noise areas. We wanted to go to the Lincoln Presidential Library and the campground isn't that close to downtown Springfield. The sites are nice and graveled and spaced o.k. There had been a leak in the roof of the laundry and one machine was out of order. Actually looked like the leak had been going on for some time. We asked when we checked in if we could get an open site so we could set up out Direct tv. The staff was very accommodating and helpful. There is a nice doggy run with grass and shade. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
Far from I55 on fairly narrow roads that had excessively low trees over them. There is also had a one lane bridge. The sites were adequate. All sites are gravel. All roads are gravel with many low spots with standing water. Be sure to bring your mosquito repellent. Water pressure in the evening dropped to less than 20 pounds. WIFI in the evening was so slow as to not be useable. In the early morning Wifi was adequate. Some sites are satellite friendly. I would probably stay here again if there were no other options. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Nice Campground. Staff very helpful. Big Rigs supported, but Lots of road construction, low hanging trees and a single lane bridge to cross. Nice facilities, and recreational activities on the site. It's a long way from the Interstate. Very Quiet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
Overall a nice campground with nice level sites. Way off the beaten path and thus, very quiet. Only problem was that we went to see the Lincoln Museum and when we returned, there was someone else in our site and we were told to move to another site. If it weren't for this, I would've given a much higher rating. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2009
$30
It is in very bad need of updates in both site and park roads. The bathrooms also outdated. It can be very noisy on weekend. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This campground is really off the beaten path. While they claim to be 20 minutes from downtown, it is really closer to 30 plus to the Lincoln sites. Long pull throughs, level and fairly easy to maneuver around. Wi-Fi slow. Laundry room was like a HOT sauna. No AC or fans. Very uncomfortable. One lane bridge on the gravel road to the campground so you don't want to meet someone coming the other way especially if you can't back up. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
Campground is located well off main road so it is quiet but not easily accessed. Showers and restrooms are badly in need of renovation. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2009
$25
We came here after discovering Mr. Lincoln's Campground was closed and calling. The staffer said technically they weren't open but she could hook us up. There were about a dozen RVs there when we arrived. It's a quiet place with lots of grass, out in the country. The bathrooms were clean. The Wi-Fi wasn't working but it was probably just temporary. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2008
$36
Call before making your way to this campground! We didn't and had to unhook the car and back up our 31' RV down a one lane road because the road in was suddenly covered with 2-3 ft. of water! The host was very nice as she guided us down backroads until we saw that yellow KOA sign! The park was very water logged. We had to wear waterproof shoes to walk our dogs around the park. The bathrooms and showers were clean. Overall, it's nice, but I don't think we'll trek in to this particular campground again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2008
$38
This KOA is a small one located out in the country. It is one of the quietest we've stayed in for city and highway noise. The sites are close together yet it seemed that the owners take that into consideration as they make site assignments. The bathhouse and campground are showing their age. The pool was clean and had a playground and mini golf course nearby. We noticed several tent campers and lots of families with children on the weekend. The bathhouse ran out of paper towels mid afternoon one day and had not been refilled mid morning the next day. We had Wi-Fi connectivity all but a few hours one evening yet it was a slow connection. Our power cord was not long enough to reach the electric hookup and the owner lent us an extension cord during our stay. When storms came through and the tornado sirens went off, the owner came out in the storm to let us know that we could seek shelter in their basement. The owners were very much on site and available during our stay. The KOA appears to be a weekend family destination. We were able to find the campground with a map and by following the KOA signs along the way once we left Interstate 55. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2007
$28
Small, but clean pool. Dirt/gravel sites were badly in need of gravel. We arrived while it was raining and encountered lots of mud. Trash was picked up at site each morning. WiFi was broken the first several days we were there. I am not sure we would have been able to locate the campground without a GPS. Electric for adjacent site was two feet from our front door, limiting the minimal privacy available. We will try the Double J next time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$27
Spent forever trying to find this park. Waaayyy off the highway in a remote area in the middle of a corn field. I reserved a 50 amp spot (I always make sure I verify that this is available before reserving a spot) and upon finally arriving in the dark, was told by the host/owner, that they didn't have any available because I didn't reserve one (per his wife, the lady I spoke with to make the reservation). They were not really rude, just abrupt. After much discussion, he agreed to loan me a 30 amp adapter for the night although he reiterated that he could really charge me for it. The park was ok, the amenities, ok, etc. Roads were not paved, slots were not paved, but it was shady and pleasant. There seemed to be amenities for the kids, but because it took us forever to find this place (scary driving down small two lane roads with limited areas to turn around) that we didn't arrive until after dark. We left early the next am so didn't have time to use facilities. Doubt if we would stay here again unless no other places were available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com