220497 User submitted reviews online!!
Woodchip Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (616) 878-9050
CGID5786

Woodchip Campground

Camp Information
Sites
122
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$32



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   8   5   8   9   6   2   9   7   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$32
Close to Grand Rapids. Very family friendly..great playground. Lot of seasonals. Many daily sites border the playground which gets very loud but does quiet down well at night. CG entry would be very tricky for large rigs..sharp right/left turn just as you come off the main road. My site was difficult to back into...tree on both sides and car parked on the road (and owner just sat in a chair and watched me struggle). As I was next to corner sites, I had two rigs back right up to my awning/picnic table. Strange water/electric. Water shared by up to 3 sites and was in front/right, while electric was way in the back/left. Stayed here to attend the AQS Quilt Show, so worked well for that. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Excellent location to downtown Grand Rapids, 15 minutes. Great neighborhood, many HOA type communities around. Also, the turns inside the campground were tight for our 43 motorcoach towing SUV. The yellow stones at each corner need to be removed, they can cause serious damage if hit at the wrong angle, also the worn log at the first corner inside should be watched out for too, when heading to site. Otherwise, the campground, playground, pool, and jumping pillow were indeed beautiful. Our 50 amp full hookup premium site was level and backed to trees. The Wi-Fi is marked as unavailable, because it did not work. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2013
$16
This campground is geared toward seasonal campers. The seasonal sites are on the outside ring of the campground. The interior back-in sites are sold to travelers passing through. Most of the interior sites have low limbs, we were traveling with friends and finally found 2 sites that didn't have tree limbs touching our side. It is OK for big rigs, but interior roads are gravel and not level. Our site was not level, but we only stayed one night. The Wi-Fi is free. We would stay again if in the area, but only for one night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$15
This is busy campground with a fair number of tenters, and seasonals. Sites are average in size with most of them shaded by trees. Sites are grass with gravel roads. Dust is relatively minimal with 5mph limit in the park. Lots of families with kids. However, all was nicely quiet after 10PM. Our site had a picnic table, and fire ring with 30amp electric, water and sewer hookups. WIFI signal was excellent. Staff was friendly. We stayed for two days in a 36ft motorhome. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$37
Older campground but well maintained. Owned and run by a local church pastor. Very family friendly. All new playground equipment in 2012. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$23
Speed bumps and terrible holes, EARTHQUAKE CITY! Stayed during a VERY DRY time. Our site had no grass, just dirt, dirt and dust. Sites were small for regular site, although "Premium" sites were available for extra fee. Park would have been nicer had it not been so hot and dry. Lovely landscaping, nice pool, friendly people, social activities: root beer floats, movies and popcorn. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$31
The pool was nice in the hot weather, but that was about it. This is a very small campground with mostly dirt sites. Nothing to do here but camp and swim. Staff was okay, but nothing to write home about. They did not go out of their way to make you feel at home, or thankful that you chose their campground. Plenty of other campgrounds in the area for the same price that would make a better choice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Nice campground. Staff very friendly, grounds and restrooms very clean and neat. Sites are pretty narrow, but lots of grass and open space behind/ in front of most sites. Our site backed up to playground and was fairly level and lots of grass. Looks like the pool could be really nice in the summer. Very good free Internet, also good Sprint and AT&T phone service. We got a couple TV stations--not many on our antenna. Everything in very good repair--we had a brand new picnic table! Lots of nice plantings in neat beds around pool. Stayed here with Passport America, but would come again and pay full price on a week-end. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
Level sites. Interior roads decent. Full hook-up sites extremely narrow and short. (And, we only have a 33' motorhome.) Wi-Fi works very well. No cable and trees cause spotty satellite reception. Many late arrivals (1:00 a.m., 2:30 a.m.) and people working on their RV's after dark, caused this to not be a restful stay, especially since the sites were so close. While the area has many interesting places to explore, we will find another campground for our next visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$37
The campground is quick to get to; just a bit west of US 131. There is a small Camping World store just on the other side of 131 and a CAT scale nearby if you want to weigh your rig. The grounds are well maintained. They have a new playground for the kids, that our 3-year-old enjoyed. The pool area is clean. We stayed at one of the premium sites which are at the front of the campground with full hookups and lots of shade. The sites were tight, however, with all the big-rigs that were here. The staff wasn't incredibly friendly, but not rude either. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$33
Good location for visiting Grand Rapids. Tight for big rigs. Many sites are unlevel but the sites toward the front of the campground seem better and easier to maneuver. Lots of trees so satellite reception might be an issue. Will stay here again only in the off season as it may be too tight if the campground is crowded. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
March 2009
$37
Park is close to US-131 just south of Grand Rapids. Full hook-up sites at park are open year round. We stayed here late in March because it was one of the only parks near Grand Rapids that was open this early in the year. Sites are grassy and the front full hook-up sites are not very level (they slope down toward the road). I had difficulty hitching and unhitching due to the slope of the sites. It was rainy the weekend we stayed and the sites became extremely soft and muddy. Office was not open the entire weekend we were at the campground and there was no instructions for how to check in/pay. We ended up putting $37/night (advertised rate on website) into an envelope and slid it through the mail slot before evening. While the location of this campground is convenient to Grand Rapids, there are nicer campgrounds in the area and I would probably choose a different campground on a future visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
This campground is shady, with well established trees. It is definitely a campground, not an RV parking lot. Sites are close together, but have enough room for a picnic table and a fire ring. Showers are awkward, as they are set up for the pool more than anything else. They are clean, but there is no room to dress. You step out of the shower into a common area. Management was incredibly helpful and accommodating. Although they do not advertise WiFi, the owner beams a signal in for his own use, and allows campers to use it. This is an alcohol free, family oriented campground. Clean, quiet, friendly, they even have a church service on Sunday morning if you are so inclined. We would camp here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com