206915 User submitted reviews online!!
Prairie Acres RV Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 25 user reviews. Phone: (701) 572-4860
CGID5793

Prairie Acres RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
35
Date of Stay
September 2011
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   4   5   6   8   7   5   4   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Ditto everything above. For an overnight stop it is near perfect, big long pull throughs, no trees. There are NO amenities here. We parked with our bedroom away from the highway, and heard no road noise. They are limiting the number of long term people. Wi-Fi was great. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Utilities, including Wi-Fi, were very good. Sites were gravel, easy to access, level and generously spaced with wide grassy areas but few trees to provide screening. The park is situated next to a very busy highway so noise is constant and entry/exit is directly into heavy traffic. It seemed as though the office staff (owners?) were very unhappy to be there themselves and to see business coming in. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
The park has large grass sites that are fairly level. The road through the park is blacktop. Easy in and out. No restroom or showers, no picnic table, very little shade, right next to a busy hwy. For an overnight stay, this would be ok. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$25
Prairie Acres RV park is located 1 mile west of downtown Williston just past mile marker 17 on Hwy 2 and just before it junctions with Hwy 85. It is only about 100 yards from a very busy/ all night long noisy highway and does not offer showers/restrooms or laundry facilities. It does offer grassy, level full hook up pull through sites and a fair, free Wi-Fi connection. We used it as a base to visit the Northern Unit of the Theodore Roosevelt National Park (60 miles away) and Fort Union (24 miles away). We also used it as a stop over prior to pushing on into Montana. The owners are accommodating and they are willing to rent to travelers but not to those travelers/workers looking to homestead in the park. The boom town atmosphere seems to have artificially inflated prices: especially gas and diesel. We would stop here for a one night stay as their park and sites are easy in and out but with immediate access to Hwy 2 and plenty of travelers looking for nightly reservations calling ahead for a reservation is a MUST if you don’t want to be turned away. It is a family friendly park but there are NO playground or activities other than just camping. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$25
This park is one we have stayed at before when traveling through this area. Owners have gotten much more lax on both upkeep and enforcing any pet or speeding rules. They still keep some wide long 50 amp pull through sites open for travelers going through the area but minimal maintenance is evident in the the appearance of the park. Also dogs with no leashes and pet owners not cleaning up after their pets now seems to be ignored. The only plus is, this still remains the best park in this part of the state because of the influx of oilfield workers. The other parks are in this area are much worse. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
This park only accommodates self-contained units, thus the "No" rating on bathrooms and laundry. We agree with the previous 2 posts. The oil industry in the area continues to take off, so many RVs are workers. However, they have put a cap on the number they will accommodate. The park frequently fills every night so reservations are important. We saw many who thought they would be lucky and drive in, only to pull out moments later. It appears this park was a mobile home park at one time so the sites are wide and long to accommodate doublewide units. Power and water are strong at your site. Verizon and broadband worked well and no issues on satellite reception. If you are coming from the west it is easy to see the office, but take the second driveway by the office. Coming from the east, the park entrance is just beyond a little go-cart track but you don’t see the park until you are here. There is a state camping sign posted on the highway. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A very good roadside RV Park, adjacent to open prairie, on the western edge of Williston. In comparison to other RV Parks within 50 miles this was the best for us. It is well maintained, neat and clean. It offers safety and security along with spacious full hook-up sites. The grassy sites are long enough for any size rig and at least 40-foot wide. There are good panoramic views of the area including the Missouri River Valley. The Wi-Fi worked fast and without problems. Many of the sites are occupied by people working in the area. They are friendly, neat, and quiet. We extended our stay to 3-nights in order to visit nearby sites and would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
There is nothing hidden in the name of this campground. It is several acres and on a prairie. There is NO shade. Sites have plenty of room but no "privacy" foliage. The sites are in a depression (bowl) between the access roads. When the afternoon thunder storms roll in, the bowl fills up. We found ourselves surrounded by about 2 inches of water. It had pretty much soaked in by the next morning, but not completely. There are no facilities; no showers, no restrooms, so a self contained camper is a must. Kids entertainment is sliding in the puddles after a thunder storm. We will look for some shade the next time we're in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$27
Another park that could be so much better with just a little work by the owners. Road noise, but that is to be expected. Getting into the sites can be a problem with having to swing way back through grass. Utilities are all the way at the back of long sites, so you end up way back in the site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Positives-Large lots, good utilities, good water, easy access from highway, and a good experience with the office staff. Other issues-road noise from many trucks, no bathrooms, no tables, and limited playground equipment. Like other reviews, good overnight stop, we would stay again if in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
For a self-contained RV, this is a very good value for the money. The only downsides for us were the road noise and lots of mosquitoes. A big positive for us - with permission, we were allowed to wash our RV for no extra charge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$25
Easy in and out park, great for an overnight. Has grass sites, paved roads and good full hookups. Some permanents are here. The owner seems to monitor pet owners so they clean up after their animals, use leashes, and keep them from uncontrolled barking. We use it when traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
This park is just fine for self-contained rigs passing through. Yes it is a field, but a field with full 50 amp, water and sewer hookups and with very wide and long spaces that will easily accommodate the largest of the big-rigs and their towed vehicles for only $25. We were happy enough there to unhook our jeep, sign up for an unplanned extra night and visit some of the local historical attractions. We would stop here again without question. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
I agree with comments of other posters on this park. It is in an open treeless field of grass, & it's a little bumpy getting to the site, but they are all pull throughs. Main roads in campground are mixed paved & gravel. Easy to hook up, & we thought it was a great deal considering that it was full hookups & wi-fi. Can't comment on the wi-fi since we didn't have a chance to use it. Office doesn't open until 1pm central time, but we left a message on their answering machine that we were coming there, & they got it; all we left were our first names. Management was friendly. Mosquitoes are deadly, so bring your "Off"! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
A very basic campground. Unpaved roads and grass sites. Very hard ground so no problems getting in even in rain. Saw several big rigs so heavy rigs OK. Wi-Fi worked well. Close to town. Do have some road noise. Priced accordingly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
This is just slightly better than the local Walmart parking lot. The only reason it is better, is because it does have full hookups. WiFi did not work, and we were 50 feet from the office. Keep driving if in the area, or stop short of Williston. No showers or rest rooms. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$25
Very Basic RV Park. No shower room or bathroom. Easy on from highway. Open field, OK for one night only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$20
Easy access from freeway. Traffic noise not bad, minimal at night although park is adjacent to interstate. Former mobile home park so the sites are wide and long. Level sites, no trees. Big oil boom in the area but owners make sure some 50 amp, full hookup, pull through sites are available for travelers. Very good wi-fi ,water pressure and elec. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
The park is a no-frills field with full hook-ups. I don't think they had restroom facilities, but I'm uncertain. There was little to no shade, and the mosquitoes were frightening even to former Minnesotans. They attacked in broad daylight in the heat, and we literally had to plan our escape between the motor home and car at dusk or daylight. They attacked our car if we slowed to a stop in town. This city really needs to take some action. The sites are level and spacious. We would stay here again with lots of repellent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is a great park with wide open spaces and lots of room between sites. The water and electricity are good and the addition of Wi-Fi is great. We stop here every time we are in the area. It is not fancy, has no restrooms or showers, but has all of the basics. It can't be beat for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
Huge open, grassy pull-through sites with a paved access road. It is right on Highway 2. There is an Albertson's 3-4 miles up the road in town and a couple places to buy diesel even closer. Excellent 50 amp power and good WiFi. We didn't have any mosquito problem but it was a dry 104 degrees during our stay, so they probably all died from the heat. No bathrooms or showers. At $20 for 50 amp full hookup sites, it is a great overnight stop. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2007
$20
This is a no frills park and good for an over night. There are no amenities. The only thing they have are mosquitos and they will carry you away. We'd stay here again if we were to pass through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
Good overnight campground with wide open spaces on grass. Easy in and easy out for a big rig that is towing. Near highway with some highway noise but not a real distracting noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2007
$20
If not for the mosquitoes this would be a perfect park. We cannot go outside in the evening (or most of the day) and cannot open any windows wih out literally being swarmed. Don't know what if anything can be done about it, but don't see any effort at all. It's a nice, quiet park. Large pull through sites are perfect if you don't want to un-hitch. Owner/operator is very friendly. It's close to town, yet far enough away to not be noisy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$18
Good overnighting spot, especially for big rigs. Huge full hookup sites on an open grassy field adjacent to the freeway. Free WiFi worked very well. No restrooms or showers. Next to a big field where we could let our dog run. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com