218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Camp Sandusky was rated 6 out of 10 based on 30 user reviews. Phone: (419) 626-1133
CGID5811

Camp Sandusky

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   6   4   3   5   6   4   8   6   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$45
We stayed here 5 nights during the 4th of July holiday. It was crowded but we had no problems with any noisy campers. Even though there were a lot of campers, the restrooms were very clean during our entire stay. Yes, there is some background noise from the highway but for us it served as "white noise" in the background. We also brought our own fan for the cabin. So between the highway noise and the fan we slept soundly at night and could not hear what was going on at any other campsite. Our cabin was spotless also. I did bring bug spray just in case. We also brought an extension cord and 6 prong outlet as there was only one outlet in the cabin. We also brought our own small mini fridge. I recommend bringing all of the above equipment to make your stay enjoyable. The pools were well maintained and while we were there they were installing a new brick walkway and putting in some lovely flower beds. The only negative about the park is that there is an area behind the office, and spilling over into unused sites, of just plan junk! They have old RVs, bits of metal, concrete, etc in a visible area. They could improve the park setting greatly by having a fenced in area of their construction supplies. People do not want to look at that and that is a shame. If they cleaned that area up a bit they would get a higher rating. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
We stayed here 4 nights in August. This camp is located within a few miles of the shores of Lake Erie and The Cedar Point amusement park. It is a camp people come to because of what it's near, not for the campground itself. Our $44 back-in lot nightly rate reflects the camp's location, not its amenities. The campground itself is clean, well kept. Spaces are tight together, but I've seen tighter. WiFi reported that it was present with an excellent signal, but connection speed was as always as disappointingly slow as an old dial-up connection. I was able to use my private 4G hotspot without problem. Treed lots made for a pleasant, wooded, atmosphere, but satellite TV was out of the question, and no cable access in the area where we camped. Pull through spots were available at $66 a night, but were no wider than back-in spots, so other than being “pull-through”, and possibly offering cable (?), we could not discern why they were rented at a rate 50% higher than back-ins. A big plus for the campground is it is very socially active, there are gatherings and events for campers to mingle. A big minus is most of those gatherings and events take place in a large central pavilion – but the campground does not have access paths to the pavilion, so campers have no choice but to cut through others' campsites to get to the pavilion. The lots were close together as it was, and it quickly became very annoying to have a constant parade of people walking two feet from my chair on their way through my lot toward the pavilion. Were it not for this, I would have given a higher rating. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2013
$40
We arrived after dark and were assigned the first site past the office. The site was next to a falling down Park Model and had an old utility trailer half parked on it. The site was a literal mud hole. Went back to office to tell them and they seemed somewhat surprised, but assigned us to another site. Sites are all grass and swampy due to recent rains, but our new site was solid enough to park on. You could see quite a few sites where campers had buried their trailers in the mud and looked as though they had to be towed out. Sites are very close together and set up at an angle which is not marked, leading to confusion when backing in. Showers were outdated, but clean. There are not walls in the stalls, but a bunch of shower curtains attached to pipes separating stalls. This Campground is definitely not a destination park, but tolerable to stay at to go sightseeing, if weather conditions are dry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
This was our second stay at Camp Sandusky; we chose it again because our first stay was adequate for our purposes of going to Cedar Point. I do not think we'll choose it again. The Wi-Fi signal was strong, but the connection was so slow it was absolutely unusable (at various times of the day, not just evenings). Our site was near the shower house which got worse since our last visit. We expected the highway noise, but it was drowned out by drunk tent-campers howling for the Karaoke night in the nearby pavilion. There was a severe storm (probably the same referenced by recent reviews) and the standing water was so bad I had to walk around and take pictures. Travel Trailers had to be removed by a backhoe/front-loader. I understand Mother Nature is beyond their control, but adequate drainage is not. From my observations the camp is run by several older couples, possibly as a retirement investment, and not proactively managed. We actually prefer state parks and are used to bugs and messy shower houses but this was far worse. I'm disappointed because our first stay wasn't great but good enough to come back, but after this last stay I believe we'll look elsewhere. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2013
$55
References as the Cabin Capital of Ohio for a reason. Lots of cabins and tent campers, so they really don’t accommodate the big rigs much. They pride themselves on level, grassy, pull-thrus, however, after a very rainy season, their grassy pull-thrus were mud, mud, and more mud. When we encountered about getting some sand or gravel to fill in the major mud puddle we had when setting up, we were basically told it wasn’t going to happen. I understand that now since they were busy turning their grassy sites into gravel. It was very noisy. They have fruit trees between the rigs so very messy and lots of flies. They also are very low if you have a big rig (ours is 37 feet with 3 slides). Just stayed overnight, however, would not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2013
$38
We arrive the morning after it rained most of the night before. It was a muddy mess. Our site had dried out some before we arrived, but still has to use 4 x 4 to keep from spinning the tires on the wet grass. Wi-Fi was so weak at our site it was unusable, cable TV was so-so. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This should be a last resort place to stop. The Wi-Fi was weak to none. The spots are on grass and they are wet when it rains. The office is nice, but that is about all I can say good about the campground. The bathrooms and showers are too far away to be of any use. Think they were placed for the cabin rentals. I would not stay here again. The rate is based on a weeks price. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$33
Overall, very nice campground. All amenities (showers, pools, WiFi, etc.) were in good condition. Shade plentiful. Roads narrow, but manageable. Office staff was fine. Pricing was disconcerting. Highest price on-line: $49. Arrive at CG, it is $66. Humm. So Passport America rate is 1/2 of $66, not $49. "Premium" site did not include cable, so why is it premium? Because it is simply a pull through and can't get satellite? Would still consider returning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$28
The rate is a weekly rate. The roads are narrow and in bad condition. The sites are narrow. The laundry is 2 washers and dryers in the pavilion. There seemed to be mostly tents and pop-ups here. Staff was pleasant. They have 2 small pools which are well maintained. Cable is on a limited number of sites. Not satellite friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$30
The $30 reflects Camp USA rate. They have dirt roads, angled back ins, but close to Cedar Point. They check-in was not friendly or helpful. Might stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
I have nothing but good to say about this park. We have camped in many parks around the area and this one is the best. The sites are nice and shady. they have the potential to be a little tight, but when we were there, they made a point of not putting folks on top of each other, and it seemed as if they left some spots vacant just to give everyone more room. The pools and playground were great. The owners were wonderful. We had a camper malfunction that required us to leave our camper on the spot for several days in order to get it repaired. The owners were gracious and worked with us and let us leave it there without charge until the repairs were done. We will definitely return. This campground had everything we needed and is close to Cedar Point, and the Lake Erie Shore activities. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$45
The grounds are clean and very-well shaded, but that also makes maneuvering tricky. The showers were state-park quality (read: bugs) and offered little privacy (only curtain walls) and most dudes don't have wandering eyes so it wasn't a problem, but the girls in my family weren't happy. The sites don't look to be paved or gravel, but I didn't look around too much so I can't speak for the whole place. The highway noise was very noticeable and would be unacceptable for a "destination park" or for tent camping (IMHO). My kids loved the playground and raved about it each time they returned. The sites are very close but not more-so than most commercial parks. The staff was very nice; I got sick and left before our scheduled departure date and was given a refund for our missed days (we did not see the "no refunds" sign until after we asked, but they did so without complaint even though they would have been well within their rights). This would not be a "destination park" but a jumping off point to other destinations so in that function it performs well. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
We stopped here for a couple nights, on our way to MN, and took kids to Cedar Point Amusement Park. We didn't use the showers and bathrooms, so I don't know how they were. It was a nice campground, but sites were very close together. I would stay here for a quick over nighter again, but not a long stay. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2011
$53
We went to Camp Sandusky during the July 4th weekend. Therefore, the rates were a little high. We like the staff and the camp site. They added another pool, but both pools are very small. One benefit of the park is that they have a nice playground for the smaller kids. Also, they offer a pancake breakfast for less than $4.00, we did not get a chance to try the pancakes. The camp ground has two bathrooms/shower buildings. One of the female bathroom/shower buildings had a clogged sink and one backed up toilet. The other bathroom/shower building was more functional, however you had to shower with the natives(spiders & mosquitos). It's possible that because of the holiday weekend, the staff was stretched thin. Overall, i would revisit Camp Sandusky again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$32
We used this park as an overnight stop. The check in staff was not very well informed. We had requested a cable TV site. We needed to move three times before we had a correct site with cable TV. The site was relatively clean but the grass needed to be cut. The main roads in the park were gravel. The sites are grassy and level and sufficient room between each site. The cable TV was very good but the Wi-Fi was spotty. There are several lovely trees in the park. The pool was closed as it was under repair. The park is very close to the highway so you can hear road noise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$30
This is a decent park. It is very busy in the summer, but we got here a day before officially opening. A call ahead did the trick. There was only one other rig in the area. We got a cheap rate since all the amenities, namely WiFi, picnic table, weren't set up yet. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again during the less busy season. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
We have stayed at this campground many times. This is a nice park swimming pool nice bath house are cleaned every day. Well stocked camp store, close to everything. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
If Sandusky and/or Cedar Point Amusement Park is your destination, this is a great campground. Yes, you are right next to Route 2 and you do hear the traffic but after awhile, we didn't even notice it. And, during the hot weather, your A/C will cover any highway noises. Our pull-through site was long enough for our 40' fiver and truck and we had no problem with the location of the trees at our site. However, due to the location of a tree at the exit end of our lane, I could foresee a problem for people pulling a fifth wheel so I mentioned it to the managers and the owner. Thank you, Owner, for listening. The back-in sites along the edge of the field look to be a bit shorter and most of them are hard to back into due to the many trees but those are the sites where the cable is, and those are the sites where everyone went and no one hit a single tree backing in. We were here over the Labor Day weekend and it does appear to be tent city but everyone was having a good time and that’s what camping is all about. There is a huge playground for the kids and it was well used over the holiday weekend. The pools were sparkling and probably could get crowded on holidays. The Wi-Fi is not free and at times ran slower than my Verizon card did. They do not have picnic tables but each campsite has a fire ring for those social “around-the-campfire” sessions. The proximity to Cedar Point makes this a great campground for the vacationing crowd who don’t want to park in the amusement park. We stayed here via Passport America and wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$34
We camped here as part of a rally of fellow Montana owners and were treated very well by the campground management. Our site was one of the cable sites and was very tight to get into because of trees although ours was probably the worst of the sites in this respect and it just made it an interesting challenge. It is very handy to Sandusky and all its attractions. It is busy on the weekend with lots of kids but they didn't disturb us. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
We made a reservation in advance and when we arrived at the park the space was too small for us, so we were given different site to pay difference. The power was on and off during our stay, the water line was accidentally cut so we had no water for hours. I looked out my window and thought I saw a cat, but no it was a family of rats living under the third cabin in front of us. At night the skunks spray their perfume. There are lots and lots of trees, so many it may hinder you from entering and leaving your site. The water tasted like bleach so we used bottled water the whole stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$50
We gave this campground a try even with the so-so reviews of previous RVers. We stayed for a full week and needed a full hookup. They have pull through sites, but they are just big enough. They also now offer a "double-site" at special price. This is what we did and glad of it as sites along the back corn field are tight. Big rig and trailers will have a tough time. Too many trees. Read the other reviews, and they are pretty much "right on". OK but would look elsewhere next time in that area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Camp is very noisy since it is on top of RT 2 Freeway. The place is crawling with kids and teenagers which is greatly reduced during the day when they leave to go to Cedar Point. A little muddy and tight on the sites but on the most part all is fine. We would return here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$26
This is a nice park and they accept Passport America, the reason for the cheaper rate, staff was friendly and helpful. My only complaint is my site was tight to get my rig backed into between the trees, I could have asked for another site but I made it. We would stay there again but check the sites. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
Tree limbs on pull through grass sites make it tight for rigs with slide outs. We had to pull forward into an empty site in the next row where we were finally able to extend all four slides but they still touched the tree limbs. This campground was heavily populated with campers in tents while the pull throughs were almost empty. An inexperienced lone staffer at our check-in made the process excessively long waiting for her backup to arrive to issue a credit for an overcharge. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$50
We stayed here for the 4th of July. It was full of tent campers. We were at the back of the campground. The pool was very small! The larger playground was out of order due to painting. The smaller playground looked like it could collapse at any minute. I can see why people nickname this campground: cabin city. There were tons of small cabins all around the campground. Because of the high volume of tent and cabin campers, the bathrooms were always pretty full. There are two bathhouses: a front one and a back one. The back one had two sets of restrooms for the women. This way, even when it is being cleaned, one set is always open. They claimed they had free Wi-Fi, but we were not able to get any reception. The TV reception was not very good either, it was not worth watching. They have a small camp store with very little supplies. They do have a basketball court, volleyball net and corn hole rental. This was a very quiet place and was close to amenities, such as Kalahari, the mall, etc., but we still would probably not go back because of the lack of kid activities. Oh, they do have a daily pancake breakfast available for purchase. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$36
This was the first time I've stayed here, first impression was alot of shade trees, and the site we had was VERY close to another camper. The pull-through sites had more room than the site we had. Our stay was for 3 nights and the CG might have had 25-30 campers. Very good location to Cedar Point, only a 15 min. This would be a very noisy CG if your A/C is not running. Close to the highway and your in the shadows of the golden arches, so Mcpuke in the morning. Bathhouse was not very clean, could be updated to the year 2009, didn't look in the shower had my own in the camper. The people were very nice and helpful. Bottom line, I would come back here cause of the location to Cedar Point, Sandusky town and the ice cream shop on SR 101. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2007
$45
Premium sites along the corn field were small, but pretty nice. The bathrooms and showers were filthy, and often not functioning. Highway noise was an issue, even though we were on the opposite side of the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
A better name for this place would be "Sardine City". RV Sites are uncomfortably close together. They recently added several (way too many) cabins taking away what could be a little extra "elbow room" from RV campers. A large percentage of the cabins were empty on Memorial Weekend while the rest of the CG was packed to capacity. This could be because the cabins themselves weren't much more than backyard sheds with bunk-beds in them. Extremely rustic to say the least. That being said, the rest of the CG was relatively well maintained though the roads throughout the park could use repaving and or additional gravel. Before arriving our kids were excited when we told them there was a bunny farm at the CG (per their web site). However their "farm" consisted of 3 full grown rabbits that hid from view most of the time. The pool would've been nice had it been open prior to the weekend. It was being filled as we arrived. Consequently it was way too cold to actually swim in. A little foresight in this regard should be expected especially since Memorial Day weekend is historically busy for them. The shower house looked pretty gross. I believe they only clean it once per day. It could use some serious updating along with additional hand dryers (there was only one for the entire mens shower house) There really isn't much to do/see at the actual CG itself. However it is right in the heart of several area attractions (islands, Cedar Point Amusement park, several water parks, etc.) It's an OK place to sleep and eat, but that's about it. The CG offers an all you can eat pancake breakfast each morning. There is also a McDonalds directly across the street. The staff was helpful and friendly at check-in. The camp store was minimally stocked. So if you forget something, you'll likely have to run up to one of the area stores to get it. Warning: If you like a quiet place to sleep at night this probably isn't the place for you. The CG sits right next to the highway (Route 2). The exit ramp runs about 20 feet away from a row of cabins. If you camp in one of those you'll have the pleasure of hearing all kinds of vehicles speeding by 24hrs per day. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$27
Was a very friendly park. The only problem we had was the last night we stayed here. We had to call the sheriff to report some drunk and disorderly campers who woke up the whole park. There was no staff to report to at 12:30 at night. That being the exception, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back here. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$35
The campground had a very friendly staff. The sites were nice but nothing special, we normally stay on sites with pads. The best part about the stay was the pancake breakfast in the morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com