218897 User submitted reviews online!!
Shady Grove Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (717) 484-4225
CGID5818

Shady Grove Campground

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$50



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   3   1   8   10   7   7   8   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$50
We have found our new base camp in Lancaster County, with the improvements we see here. We camped here at least five years ago, before the change of ownership, and the place was pretty sketchy, with lots of drainage problems. The new owners have done a splendid job of cleaning up, re-grading, installing lots of huge (2 cubic yard) industrial concrete blocks to create retaining walls that work. We pulled into the one pull-through site and found it was dead level (with one degree, as measured), with no need for adjustment. Probably 2/3 of the sites are seasonal campers, but all those sites are well-kept, and you don't see any tired old campers that need to be junked. Management of the place is very unobtrusive, but even when the office/lodge is closed, there always seems to be someone about the place, working on maintenance. It's easy to find and to get in and out of the place, and the location is about half a mile off route 272, the main drag through the Denver/Adamstown area. It appears there is one planned activity each Saturday and another on Sunday, and in between those the pool provides plenty of "kid" appeal. There are some sites near the pool, but from where we were, the noise from children at play could barely be heard, and there was not a lot of highway noise, despite the proximity to 272 and US 222, which carries a lot of traffic. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
The site was a gravel back-in and not level. There is a fishing pond on site as well as a pool. The Cable TV fairly extensive channels, though some were blurry. The WIFI worked fine. There was no grass on our site, but another level of campsites up the hill had grass. Some of the campers were on the noisy side. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2010
$40
Camped here once and will not go back. This campground reminded me of a big parking lot with large stones and gravel for their sites. They do have trees but there is no walking areas and it was very small and contained. There were some activities. Just did not seem like a campground at all. They did say new owners had bought it and were fixing it up but I really do not know what else they could do with the location they were in. Did not see grass at all!! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
I stayed here with my husband for a weekend and we'll never stay here again... we dealt with lady in office when we made our reservations and she was great! The downfalls of the park. There is no privacy in the shower area, you had to strip in front of everyone. There was also a lot of dirt/grime along the bottom of the shower stalls, quite nasty! We also noticed that the owner will only hang out at one site and that is it. Meanwhile there was kids running all over the place creating a lot of noise after 11pm, which was their quiet time. All in all we would not stay here again with all the noise that was going on and the owner did not care at all. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$42
We stayed here with friends and would stay again. Our children enjoyed the playground, fishing at the pond and would have enjoyed the pool, if it were open. Our site was level, the hook-ups were in the back of the site and in great shape. The only seasonals we noticed were friendly and their sites and campers were in great shape. There did not appear to be a ton of seasonal campers. It would appear that the new owners are spending a lot of time and money to fix up this campground. It shows. There was one activity for the children on Saturday, again, they had fun. One thing I would change would be to add some grass to the sites. Most sites were gravel only and I like to have grass at the site, too. Gravel under the camper is fine, but grass surrounding would be nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$38
Great place, great people. The new owners have made an unbelievable number of improvements in the past 3 years (the 1st time we camped there). Nice quiet place with all the amenities I need. We like so much we are going seasonal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$35
This was our second visit to Shady Grove in as many years. Last year we stayed here during the week of July 4th. The wife and I use this as our base for our once a year trip to the Renningers & Shupps antique markets. (Both are within minutes of the campground). It’s also a reasonable drive to the heart of Amish country. The new owners are doing a great job on making this the best campground in the area. The amount of work that they have done in a year’s time is amazing. Our site was level and clean. All hookups are new and in good working order. WiFi and Cable both work great for us. The pool is clean and kept in good shape. We don’t use their restrooms so we won’t address a previous writers concern. There’s a small stocked catch and release pond behind the office. If you can bait a hook you are pretty much guaranteed to catch a few sunny. My 15 year old caught a 3 ½ lb Bass here last year. This is a place that I would not hesitate to recommend to others. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
This place had large, level sites. All sites have w/e/s and free wifi. Only two complaints--1) only one bath house available for the whole campground, which had a relatively non-private setup in the showers and 2) there were not enough lights and walking around at night was rather dangerous. Especially as the pole light at the bath house was not illuminated. We camped in a Class B, so the showers/bathrooms are a little more important to us than the Class As might consider them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$35
Shady Grove is now under new ownership. In talking to folks who have camped here in the past and reading older reviews here, it is very apparent that the new owners are investing heavily in improvements all over the campground. The big rig sights were laser level with new and enormous (and buried) cement retaining walls installed. The roads have all been recently stoned, and have drainage swales and big drainage pipes built in. The swales make for some pretty big bumps here and there, but we pulled in during a vicious rain storm and the roads were not flooded or muddy at all. All hook-up hardware was brand new, and there are many new sights being built and the old ones that haven't been fixed up yet are scheduled to be. I would suspect if they keep up the work they have done so far that there won't be a leveling block seen in the place. There are a lot of seasonals but plenty of transients as well. I can say this campground is now far better then what the older reviews say and I recommend staying there. It did look like they were building a wi-fi infrastructure as well though I could not get a signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
The gravel roads are the worst aspect of this place. Campsites vary in size, depending upon where they are located in the camp. Those who are sensitive to campsite size will find most of them too small. We do not spend a great deal of time in camp when we are in Lancaster County, so it was unimportant to us. The camp's ad says that wireless DSL is available at the lodge, but we found it was accessible from our campsite as well. The owner styles himself as something of a roughneck, but is a responsible and good hearted fellow, beneath the gruff exterior. To his credit, he does NOT tolerate a lot of nonsense and misbehaviour from campers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$35
Stayed there over stormy Labor Day weekend, still had chicken bbq on Saturday under lodge despite rain. Also had to delay small fireworks show over pond until Sunday due to weather. Camp is 70% seasonal, everyone friendly, a little close together. Store/lodge had just basics, gave you the old time open friendly feel with honor system for cashier, board games, pool table & fireplace. Large market only mile or so away. We had the only pull thru site, angled & on corner with little privacy, mixed in with seasonal campers. Needed 3" under tires to level, so we had good drainage with rain & most sites are all gravel. Sewer drain was uphill a little. Shopped Reading outlets & mall, about 12 miles away, lots of antique shops in area. All RV sites are full hook-up, so only one small bathhouse. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2006
$32
We did not like this campground. As we were hooking up our "neighbor" called out of her permanent trailer to not step near her flowers! High percentage of permanent sites gave us the feeling of being outsiders here. Another "neighbor" let her dog relieve itself on the trees of our site several times. Very dusty due to the gravel roads. Sites were on the small side with no privacy. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com