220808 User submitted reviews online!!
Gilroy Garlic USA RV Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (408) 848-8081
CGID5821

Gilroy Garlic USA RV Park

Camp Information
Sites
176
Date of Stay
September 2013
Latest Rate
$45



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   8   9   4   7   9   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$45
When we arrived we were handed a list of 36 rules! Within 2 hours of being there I saw 6 of the rules being violated without any enforcement. After that it got worse. There are many long term residents in this park - app 85%. They don't respect the space of the short term pull-throughs. We had people letting their dog poop on the small gravel patch that was our spot. Between the hours of 3:30 - 7 on weekdays and well beyond those times on the weekends, we were in the middle of an unsupervised skate park with 7-10 children of all ages running, skateboarding and biking through the streets and unoccupied sites. The long term people used the empty short term spots to park their extra cars and weren't happy about someone being in the spot. The office personnel was not friendly nor helpful. The showers were clean but spartan; only one hook and nothing else. The short term spots are all cement with a little bit of gravel separating some of the spots; not all. While each pull-through is long, there is only 7 feet between the spots so slides and awnings just miss each other. There is insufficient space to park one's car; so much so that doors are bashed into each other. This is not my definition of a "resort". The Good Sam rating of 9/9/8 is way too high for this park! Everything is a little insufficient in the park, but nothing is really awful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$42
We stayed here for a week while visiting family in the Palo Alto and Monterey areas. We had a pull-through site that was very convenient to the nice bath and shower building and small dog run area. Utilities at the site are up to date, but quite far from hookup areas on most RVs. The park is mostly occupied by full-timers, but all RVs were kept up nicely. They keep a center lane reserved for overnighters and we had a site at the end of that lane. This park is very handy off Highway 101 and Highway 152. The one detracting feature is the occasional strong odor from one or more of the Gilroy food processing plants. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
I always enjoy stopping here when traveling thru the area. Although the park has many permanent residents they work in the area and are very quiet. The manager was very helpful and friendly. Pullthrus were easy to get in and their showers and laundry are spotless. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$43
This is a clean RV park.The back in sites are narrow and really not long enough for 40+ rigs with 1 car much less 2. The park is probably 70% permanent. The parking for guests is non-existent since permanents with 2 cars are allowed to take all available parking for their 2nd car. The office personnel are rude. This park could be dynamite, but their parking situation is not acceptable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$30
Park is nice with all concrete and level sites, but sites do not fit big rigs very well and the trucks to pull them. Parking is an issue with notes on your car and threats that they will tow them away; yet there is no parking. Other than that and some families that have uncontrolled kids that run through your spot all the time, park is nice. Some staff is friendly and helpful while other staff is rude. I would stay here again as it is one of the nicer parks in the area, but there are some improvements that need to be done. The bathrooms and showers were cleaned everyday, and the pool was nice and cool. Also laundry is always crowded so be aware you may have to wait to get a machine or go somewhere else. Park is right next to all your shopping needs, so you never even really have to drive anywhere! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$24
The manager is very friendly, professional, and helpful. The park is in excellent condition. There are quite a few monthly tenants but the place still has a "resort feel" to it because sites are kept clean and mostly uncluttered. Interior roads are a little narrow in the areas where monthly tenants are, but they keep many easily accessible pull through sites near the entrance of the park for daily/weekly guests. Spacing between sites was better than average for most sites. For example, awnings were not touching the rig in the next space; there is adequate room for slides and awnings. One "back in" section was a little tight...the rear of one rig was a few feet from the rear of another rig. The other sections had more space between rigs. It was surprisingly quiet for being as close to the freeway as it is. The pool area was clean and inviting. They have activities planned for the community if that sort of thing is important to you, and they are a friendly bunch. Rate reflects a discount for monthly stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$45
First impression: WOW! There are a lot of kids here! We arrived around 6:30 pm and found the office closed. There were plenty of late arrival packets on the door. We found a good sized pull through that easily accommodated our 33 foot class A with tow vehicle. The overnight spots were surrounded by long term residents. I would guess the park is seventy percent long term folks. Most sites were well kept. We had full hookups available with 50 amp electrical service. The restrooms were mostly clean although some mildew was developing on the grout in the men's shower area. There was sporadic train noise, but overall the park was fairly quiet. The lady at the office was very pleasant when we were checking out. The park is fairly pricy at $45 a night for a pull-through spot but overall a decent place to stay. We would probably return if needed when traveling through the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
This is a great place for a quick stay over on your travels up or down the 101 hwy. Clean and quiet, staff was helpful, great shopping nearby plus a Costco for filling your tank. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$45
Clean, about half of park seemed to be used by long term occupants. Our pad had cracked concrete, but was not a serious issue. Cable TV choices are limited but covers the major networks. Overall was a good park. Would stay there again if in the area. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2012
$36
Rate shown 10% discount winter rate. Site concrete back-in and level. Attached pad, but no table. Utilities worked fine. Cable TV has around 20 channels. Wi-Fi was Tengo, but strong signals from three different sites. Friendly office staff. Handy to large shopping centers nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$36
This park is well maintained and landscaped beautifully. A portion of the park borders fields of bell peppers and food processing facility, another part backs up to storage facilities, and another part backs up to shopping. Yes, there's a train, always a train, and plenty of freeway noise. Along with all that comes the convenience of being close to transportation and shopping. A negative is that the sites are too small and don't allow for adequate parking of tow vehicles. But all the sites are concrete and look to be fairly level. There are many long terms (with kids), but their sites are reasonably maintained. The bathrooms are amazingly clean, although showers are awkward due to lack of bench or shelf. The pool is sparkling and there is a big outdoor kitchen for parties. We would definitely return if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$35
We stayed here during the Garlic Festival. What a great park1 The laundry room, bathrooms, and showers were clean, A+. This park was very clean, something that is very important to me. They escorted us to our camping site and offered to help us with our hook ups, very nice touch. During the festival they had a nice BBQ and live band. The park was packed during the festival so if you want to stay here book early! We also stayed an extra day, and the park was very quiet, and just perfect. I would highly recommend this RV park. There was so much to do with in an hours drive, we wish we would have stayed here longer, and will definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2011
$45
I don't usually write reviews on parks but, this park deserves the review I am going to write. The new manager is one of the most gracious managers we have ever met, her smile warms your heart. They deliver everything they say they will and with a smile! We went to the Garlic Festival and had a lot of fun, but we had more fun in the park to be honest. Friday and Saturday night they had live bands and fantastic food. We danced, laughed and won a raffle prize! The facilities were spotless and the pool was crystal clear and clean. We were able to walk to restaurants close by and ride our bikes to the outlets, none of the other local parks can offer that and with gas prices so high, thats a huge savings. We can't say enough about this friendly, clean park. Thank you for making our stay so much fun, we will be back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
February 2011
$60
Convenience to Highway a plus. Negative it is right in the middle of concrete jungle and shopping centers as well as utility poles. Not attractive. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2010
$39
We enjoyed our stay here. The park is relatively new. It has good Wi-Fi, clean washrooms and laundry facilities and provided us with a very convenient base from which to tour the area with easy access from Hwy 101. It is located very near to shopping centers and big box stores. The manager was very friendly and knowledgeable and she provided us with suggestions for touring the surrounding area - Monterey, Carmel, Santa Cruz Capitola, and Big Sur. We had planned to stay for a few days but instead we extended our stay to nearly three weeks as there was much to do and see. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2010
$42
We were in Gilroy for the Black Friday sales and thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 2 nights. The location is exceptionally convenient, in close proximity to major stores and restaurants and 1 freeway exit from the Gilroy Premium outlets. The sites were a little close to each other and did not have picnic tables provided, but hookups and Wi-Fi worked well. Not much grass around, but the deciduous trees in the campground looked wonderful in their fall colors. The park manager, Edie was very friendly and helpful and we are grateful to her for recommending a short trip to the nearby Casa de Fruta Orchard Resort, which we enjoyed very much. We will certainly return in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$36
We have stayed here frequently. The old manager is gone. He may have been a bit of a jerk, as previously discussed here in this forum, but he kept the place up well and made sure everyone was respectful of the park and the guests. Things have changed and it seems to be going down hill. It always has been concrete slabs and not much more. No fire pits or picnic tables. It's an RV park, not a campground. The new management is removing trees - they took out the palm next to our site and left a muddy hole there for four days before filling it in. Not sure why they are doing that - it's not like they were in the way or anything. The park has many residents. In the past, they didn't really "look" like residents. There were no decks or storage sheds there, but that seems to be changing. The quality of the residents is going down hill too. One guy recently tried to kill himself and burnt up his RV. A month later and it is still there - charred remains with caution tape around it. Our opinion of the residents is not only based on this one person. The grounds were always well kept, but again, that is changing. Maintenance seems to have stopped. Lights are out at the sites and they are not being changed. The park seems dirtier than it was in the past. It is close to shopping, and if you are on the east side of the park, there is little highway noise. It smells like garlic a good part of the year - but after all, it is the garlic capital of the world. Internet is good and free. Pool is nicely kept. It is the only thing for kids to do - no activities or anything like that. Laundry is clean, but don't do it on Sunday. One woman sits in there all day and says "oh, you might not want to wait because I have 4 more loads to do." And she does this every Sunday. Our biggest complaint is that they raised the rates. Earlier this year they were charging only $25 for the back in sites. When we returned at the end of the summer, they had raised it to $40. They discount "everyone" for a $36 rate, but there is no weekly discount, only if you do monthly. It's high for what you get here. We stay here frequently, mainly because it is much better then the dump down the road, and we have to be in the area. We are actively looking for a better place because we can see this one going down hill. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$45
This park does not encourage you to lounge beside your RV. No shade, all concrete (which makes tremendous heat and terrible glare). We used it as a stop over, so that didn't matter much to us. Also, there is non-stop freeway roar. All in all, we feel this park is a bit overpriced for what you get. Showers were clean, and there was plenty of hot water, but there is no shelf or bench on which to put shampoo, conditioner, soap, etc--and there is only one hook for your towel and clothing. It was frustrating! I looked at the bathroom cubicles, and 2 of them were not clean. The pool looked inviting and clean, and the park grounds were tidy. Wi-Fi worked great and was free. They have propane available for sale. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$45
This is a good park for an overnight stay. Sites are all concrete with no picnic tables. The sites are level and are easy pull throughs with plenty of parking for the tow rig. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2010
$45
Great location as the outlet stores are right here. Very clean and well landscaped in certain areas. Friendly office staff, but not many amenities. Very clean swimming pool. We enjoyed our stay here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$44
Park was clean and easy to maneuver into pull through site, which was all concrete. Wi-fFi was great, hookups easy and good. I marked it down because of all the concrete, if we were staying more than a day, I would want a somewhat welcoming spot next to my coach to put out my chairs and table. Spaces are narrow too, so not a whole lot of room for outdoor lounging. My club comes here so it can't be too bad! Staff very nice. Heard RR but didn't really bother us. Very nice grass area for pets and children. Right across street from Target and other stores, convenient! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$37
The manager was very helpful and pleasant. The park and its restrooms were very clean . Our site was a large pull through with adjacent young growing trees. We were near the outlet stores and a truck stop with diesel fuel. We had easy access to Hwy 101. The garlic smell from the nearby farms was pleasant. We were close to San Jose where our children live. The pool was immaculate and there were two meeting rooms with a kitchen and outdoor barbecue area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
Great place to stay. Manager was friendly and helpful. Made recommendations for local restaurant. Wi-Fi connection was great! Restrooms and showers were clean and well kept. When I visit Gilroy I will stay here again. Did not charge for a second vehicle that was in our group. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
The manager of this campground is the most rude individual I have ever met. When I inquired why I wasn't given the $29.00 rate advertised on the large sign out front, he shook his finger at me and invited me go to elsewhere. Since the office was closed when we arrived the night before, we were already unhooked so I just put up with the rudeness. He was really a little frightening. Would not stay here again. The park seems to cater to monthly renters. The wifi was slow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2009
$25
Nice for a night. New Wi-Fi (nomad) worked fine. OK at check in. Clean park. Level and quiet. Leaving in the AM. Would stay here again (for the night). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This park has changed a lot over the last 2 years and unfortunately not for the better. The new management has let anyone and everyone no matter what they drag behind them in. I'll stop and look this year when I am there and hope for the better. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$35
This is our third year staying here while on our winter trip south. Everything seemed normal until I got a frantic phone call at 8:00 AM on my cell from a male agitated office monarch who was vehemently complaining about my tow vehicle being parked (as others were) in one of the many empty spaces around us and threatened to have it towed away if I didn't move it immediately. How aboutL “Welcome to our RV Park, we hope you enjoy your visit with us and please do come back because in this economy we know you have many choices and we truly appreciate your business.” I moved the tow vehicle and never heard another word. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2008
$40
This park is a shell that looks great in appearance but lacks body. The manager was cool and appeared unappreciative. They will not accept mail for other than monthly tenants. The rate was not as published on their website. The excuse was they had just changed prices (a previous review noted the price for one size site changed a lot earlier). The showers lacked dressing area, hooks for clothes and shelf or other for shampoo etc. The floor outside the shower is slippery, an accident waiting to happen. The placement of the utility post and plantings at the site prevent using the slides and still be able to park the toad in the adjacent area provided. I will never consider stopping here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$45
A very good RV Park. I have stayed here 3 times now. Close to big box stores: Costco, Wal-Mart. Staff seems stressed. Maybe they need a couple more people in the office. They just raised the price to $45 per night for the pull-through sites: ouch. I will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We dropped in on our way south, never expected such a clean, well-run place in Gilroy. We found the pull-through site to be level, the staff was very helpful with our "after hours" arrival, and the facilities were very, very clean. My family agreed that we'd look forward to staying here again, for a longer period, as it's a very short walk to the outlet mall and some really great restaurants. Quite a great surprise. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Nice RV park if you need a base from which to visit Gilroy Gardens, Gilroy Garlic Festival, etc. The park is new and in excellent condition, although there wasn't much to do at the park. There is a nice pool but no picnic tables, no fire rings, etc. The trees are a few years old but don't provide much shade yet. The bathrooms are new, clean, and showers are roomy and well equipped. The camp store is OK. Staff was friendly and helpful in giving directions, etc. The sites are level and concrete. Hookups are new and worked great except the cable TV which was snowy and had limited channels. Plenty of shopping (Costco, etc) nearby, but you feel nicely isolated inside the park. This is a quality facility and a good value for a place to stay at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2008
$35
A good clean RV park. Not a campground. Big box stores nearby. Lots of permanent residents but not in the 'transient' area. Good pull-through sites. Some minor construction. They are replacing the dirt, which can get muddy, with gravel. I stayed here last year and will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
If you want to stay in a new park with a large mall right across the street, has small spaces, narrow access, no grass, no table and is noisy, this is the place. To top it off it's probably over priced. I believe there are better options in the Gilroy area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
Sites very close to each other, restrooms/showers not clean, no toilet paper in any stalls. Looks to be a fair amount of full-timers. Nice level concrete pads, wireless very good. Appears that this place could have some very good potential if they added some TLC to the laundry room and restrooms, added some grass to the sites instead of dirt where the grass should be. This park is just behind a shopping mall with industry on one other side and a dirt field to the east. Not a quaint setting. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$35
What a great and friendly experience this RV Park has. From the greeting we received to the free shuttle service we received to the Garlic Festival. Then a full barbecue provided and cooked by the owners of the park. The staff gave outstanding service. I would definitely make the stop at this RV Park many times again. Best park I have ever been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2007
$34
It is what it is! It is a very convenient stopover off Highway 101 with every restaurant and store imaginable within walking distance and an outlet center one exit north. Target, Costco . . . The staff is friendly, the sites are level and the restrooms are clean. I'd give it a 10, but it doesn't have a table on the patio area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$40
Preceding comments are generally accurate. This is a very nice parking lot behind a large shopping center. It was surprisingly quiet -- Highway 101 is just about a quarter-mile west, but the noise of the freeway is blocked by a large building. There's not much shade. If I had to stop in Gilroy again, I would definitely choose this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$35
Newer, clean, friendly and located near shopping. Not to be confused with other RV Garlic resort in Gilroy that is not as nice. Some noise and bad smells all night from local industrial site south of park which might be a problem in summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
This is a nice out of the way park that is situated off Hwy 152. It is quiet, and really pretty. The park is well maintained. Free Wi-Fi and cable TV available. It has been called Gilroy Country Garlic RV Park, but as you can see by the Website it is not under that name now. It shouldn't be confused with The Garlic Farm either, which is a separate park in another location. Restrooms are clean, as is office, laundry room, and grounds. It is a pleasant surprise in an otherwise very busy area. Restaurants, and shopping are within walking distance. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$30
This park should not be confused with the other park in Gilroy with a similar name. It is off Highway 152, and on a quiet side street behind a brand new Major shopping center within walking distance. It is very clean, very well laid out, with beautiful landscaping throughout the park. There are lots of different plants, and flowers, a wonderful clubhouse, and pool. The park is very quiet day and night, with the freeway noise being very minimal, and you really can't hear it although it's close by. Staff is friendly, and helpful. We're planning on staying here a while for family reasons, and this is the ideal place to relax or to drive out of to visit nearby areas. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2005
$32
Clean, quiet, friendly park. The sites were a little close together and narrow. Nice shopping area with restaurants just a short walk away. We visited this park on our way up north and then again on our way home. We would visit again and recommend it to others. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2005
$21
The sites had a concrete parking pad bordered by gravel areas with small greenery and large rocks strategically placed to protect the utility poles but rather in the way for slides given how narrow the pad was. The concrete part of the sites were level and long but really a bit narrow, the site overall was a reasonable width. We stayed here while having maintenance done on our 30 ft class A at Guaranty RV and it worked great for that. The nightly rate was discounted while we were having work done and you can't beat the convenience of having the RV wash, gas, scales and RV service and repair right next door. Some train and freeway noise; did not bother us much but some are more sensitive. We liked the paperback book exchange and found the bathrooms to be clean and modern. If we were having more work done at Guaranty RV we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2004
$33
Very new park. Nice friendly staff and very clean. Sites are long enough for a 41 foot fifth wheel and large Freightliner truck. Very little traffic noise and close to lots of shopping. Best place to stay in Gilroy. Actually, we think it is the only place to stay in Gilroy. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com