220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Lithia Springs COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 13 user reviews. Phone: (217) 774-3951
CGID5828

Lithia Springs COE

Camp Information
Sites
111
Date of Stay
May 2012
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   7   5   7   8   8   10   8   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2012
$18
This is my second review of this campground. There have been some changes since last year. There are more non-reservable sites now. They have updated the restrooms and shower houses. The floors are not bare concrete anymore. They are painted and dry much faster after their daily cleaning. The only reason I can not give a 10 is because of the locals being allowed to take a NON-RESERVABLE site, and not stay here. This needs to be addressed. The best sites in the park are non-reservable. We spent 5 nights this past Memorial Day weekend and several of those sites were unoccupied at night until Friday. Great place to camp. We are going for a week at the end of the month. We love it here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Nice park but waterfront sites are few and taken by 4pm check-in time on Fri. Very tight turn around on 1 loop but were advised not to even go on other loop with 36' motorhome because we would not be able to turn around. No assigned sites, you drive through and find a site you want and then go back to report what site and pay. We had a back-in site that was adequate. Cement picnic tables at each site. Would not recommend this park for large rigs if you are looking for a waterfront site. Most were small sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$9
The park is not as nice as many COE parks we have stayed; however, it did provide us a beautiful place to camp. The campsites are electric only; however, fresh water is available in several locations and there is a dump. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$9
We stayed here over Memorial Day weekend and were surprised that the park was rather quiet even though fully booked.. We were in site 36 in the B section which we got our 38 footer into but not without some work. I would recommend the D section and the sites in the 100s for big rigs. Those are level, large and easy in and out. The restrooms were clean but old and in need to updating. The grounds needed mowing. The rate is the Golden Age rate. The marina area is quite nice and was busy of course over the holiday. We would stay again if in this area, but only in the D section. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2011
$17
Compared to other C.O.E. parks we have stayed at, Lithia Springs was somewhat of a dissapointment. The main reason was that the sites were small and not level. Perhaps this campground was developed back in the day when most camped with pop-ups or tents, but by today's standards the sites generally had short, narrow pads. Our 26' camper did fit nicely into site #6 (pull-through) but many others were too small. Although the full hook up sites were plenty big enough, there were only eight of them and two were occupied by campground hosts so I'd imagine that obtaining one of these sites would be difficult during busy periods. If you're thinking about reserving a "buddy site" do yourself a favor and just rent two sites side by side. The buddy sites are a joke as they look to be one normal sized site divided in half. The restrooms and showers were fairly clean but old, dark, and dingy. Also, there were only two shower stalls for each loop so that may be an issue as well. There is one playground for the entire park. The equipment is suitable for children 5+ years of age, in my estimation. There is no camp store but the town of Shelbyville is only three miles away and has a Super Wal-Mart and several other shops and restaurants. A generous bundle of firewood can be purchased nearby for $10. Ask the hosts for directions. Speaking of the hosts, we found them to be very friendly and helpful. The park itself is relatively flat with plenty of old growth trees and the beautiful Lake Shelbyville. The park is also pretty quiet with the exception of a distant freight train. If our travels take us to the area again, we will consider staying at Lithia Springs. However, we would not consider this place a destination, but rather a three day relaxation type of getaway, if that makes any sense. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$12
Our first ever in a COE campground. We were here during an extremely rainy week. Our site was very wet. Park was nice, camp hosts very friendly and helpful. Sites needed more gravel and in desperate need of mowing. But all in all, we would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
Agree with post from July 2008. They are doing work on the bathrooms, etc. Rest rooms and showers were semi-clean, kind of what you expect at COE. Have seen worse in private campgrounds. Grandkids had a great time at the beach and fishing. Sites are very large and have paved pads, but some are deteriorating. Our site (115) was very level. We will camp here again. Our rate was based on the America the Beautiful Senior Pass (half price). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$18
What a great fun campground. The best sites are the non-reservable sites. Great beach, clean shower and toilet facilities. Can get pretty noisy sometimes. Well patrolled by the Corps police. Most sites are pretty level but some are ridiculously sloped. We stay here twice a year. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$18
We stayed for 3 nights in the 100 section, very nice spacious sites. We saw one site that was so long it had a large TT, SUV, boat and second SUV! This leg also has the full hook ups across the road. We drove through the various loops and other area COE CG's, and we felt our leg was one of the nicest in the area, certainly the largest sites. There are plenty of toilet bldgs, but they are in need of updating and better ventilation, could be cleaned better. One shower house not too far, I didn't use it but hubby said the shower was good, nice pressure. Laundryroom too, didn't use it though. I liked the campground very much but the lake level was up 15 ft, so the beaches are closed. The playground is small and dated, so the kids were a little bored. No bike paths or hiking trails around, so activities were limited. I imagine if the lake levels were normal we could use the beach and fish from the shore, and the kids would have not complained so much. There is a very nice waterpark in town for only $4. The CG is convenient to town, and there is a very nice grocery store down the road from a Wal-Mart. No campstore in the park but nearby a little store sells ice, etc., and a house down the road sold large stacks of firewood for $10. I would definitely return. Fix the bathrooms and have more for the kids and I'd give it a 10. If you had a full hook up site and no kids you might just love it! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2007
$20
This is Corps of Engineers recreation area. Only part of the campground was open when we were here in early April. Only has a few full hook up sites. Sites were large with table and fire ring. Due to bad weather we did not see much of the rest of the campground, but what we did was clean and spacious. Camped in a 40 foot motor home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$7
It was a nice place. I would go back there except it was a long drive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
Nice big place with a nice beach and close to marinas, etc. Some spots are on water and very nice. At times it gets crowded. We camp here every year and will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2006
$18
Nice campground on Lake Shelbyville, IL. Paved streets, gravel pads and sites with picnic table and fire ring. Most sites are 30amp electric only, a few 50amp full hook-up sites are available. This park is a Corps of Engineers ru park. It well maintained, clean and neat. Lots of shade and lots of space between camp sites. There are close swimming beach sites, they are the first taken so reserve 14 days early. Adjacent to Lithia Springs Marina, a full service, well kept marina with 400 slips. They offer houseboat, pontoon boat, fishing boat and party barge rentals. The marina is privately owned and operated. The area is neat and well kept. 14 day mandated maximum stay. Great place to bring the kids and dad's fishing boat. For more information about the park call (217)774-3951 We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com