223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Squaw Creek Campground (Linn County Park) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (319) 377-5954
CGID5829

Squaw Creek Campground (Linn County Park)

Camp Information
Sites
45
Date of Stay
October 2014
Latest Rate
$30



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   8   10   9   7   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2014
$30
Beautiful campground near a golf course and shopping. No WiFi all other amenities are top notch, kept very clean and serviceable. Two campgrounds in one here. Loop A is nearest the entrance to the park and has concrete pads with full hookups (except for a few sites that do not have sewer). Loop B is Water and Elec only. Loop B has a beautiful canopy of mature trees while Loop A has more recently placed trees providing good access to a satellite signal.(Loop B is hit and miss on the Sat signal). The reservation system is a bit of a pain but if you want to camp here reservations are necessary for Loop A. Loop B is first come first served. Go to the Linn County Parks web site and carefully read and understand how the reservation system works and know that all reservations must be made 5 days in advance!!! We are regular visitors to this campground and find it best to make reservations or enter the park mid week for Loop B. We will camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
This is a wonderful county park. There is no sewer hook-ups, but the water pressure is good as is the electrical voltage. The park has two areas, "A" and "B". The A area is the newest and requires a reservation, it has cement pads and full hook-ups and is $5.00 more per night. "B" section has gravel sites, mostly back-ins, mature trees, lots of room and is away from the road into the park. This section is on a first come first served basis. Weekends fill up starting on Thursdays; weekdays however is mostly empty. Some of the sites are a long way from the bath house. The area is rolling hills and is beautifully landscaped. It is about 5 miles to town and all the amenities that a person would need. I will be back to this park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$20
Squaw Creek has an "old" area and a "new" area. The new area has concrete pads and full hookups. You can only stay here 1 night at a time without a reservation; you could have to move any day. With a reservation, you pay $30 night. In the old area, you get mature trees with water and electric. We chose these at $20 a night. The sites in the back of the loop are not really walking distance to the bathhouse. The bathhouse is fairly new and very clean. We've been here 3 times and would come again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$19
Squaw Creek is a great county park to stay in when in the Cedar Rapids metropolitan area. The campground is divided in to two adjacent campgrounds: (1) a non-reservation section which has electricity and water with gravel pads, and (2) a reservation section that has FHU and mostly concrete pads. Everything else is the same for both sections. The interior roads are blacktopped and any size rig can be accommodated. Every site has a fire ring and a picnic table. The grounds are groomed and the trees throughout the park pose no problems. The new restrooms were clean. We will stay here again when in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Full hook up, pull throughs with a cement pad for motorhome, are the pluses in this well maintained park. Sites are open and very close together are the minuses. Easy access in and convenient to Cedar Rapids. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
This is the most visually pretty campground we've seen in a long time, on a par with our other two favorites, River Park Campground in Menominee, Michigan or the Rockport State Park in Washington. No Wi-Fi, no laundry, no kid's playground, no store, no newspaper stand and no map on-site (which made it tough for us to find Loop A), but it is a delight. We wish we could have stayed two weeks and soaked up the serenity. Very spacious sites. We stayed in Loop A, with a full hookup site and enough room to set up a suburban home. Dirt road, paved site and paved patio. $25 if you arrive without reservations, $30 if you make reservations on-line. Loop B (no sewer) is $19/night. This county park is wonderful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
This is an excellent park. Well taken care of with spacious sites. Do need to be careful on choice as not all are level but many work well. We camped on and off here all summer. If had FHU it would be a 10. They are in the process of adding 20 FHU sites to be open next summer. Can buy a coupon book that reduces the cost. It is a bargain. We will be back here when we return to the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$19
Paved roads into park; gravel sites; on hills and hard to level. Very clean and quiet. Dump station was one of the best we have seen. Has trails, and long pull-through sites. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2009
$19
We discovered that Iowa has an awesome County Park system which has lots of campgrounds. Check out "mycountyparks" to find these various parks. Squaw Creek campground is a spacious campground with lots of trees. Sites have lots of space and were level. It was less than 15 minutes away from downtown Cedar Rapids. We will definitely stay here the next time we are visiting family in Cedar Rapids. We chose this park as family was on the east side of Cedar Rapids. If you need to be on the west side of Cedar Rapids, consider staying at Morgan Creek Park, another Linn County Park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$19
We stayed here two nights. They have big roomy spaces, relatively level, with lots of room between campsites. Lots of shade, but still got satellite reception and our Verizon Air Card worked well. There are paved access roads and interior roads. A clean, very quiet campground. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$17
Excellent CG. We were in Cedar Rapids to do emergency flood relief, so we left our site at the crack of dawn M-F and we were draggin' when we got back each evening just before dark! We only used it to sleep in, until the weekend, when we had some free time. We found it extremely pleasant and pretty. Lots of trees and grass. We pulled through site 37 and found it more isolated than many others, which was exactly what we wanted. They are building a new shower building near the main entrance to the Loop B electrical sites, but as of Labor Day weekend, it wasn't even completely roofed, so it obviously won't be in service this season (2008) but I'm sure it should be by next season. If it had been in service, we surely would have given them a strong 10! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$17
Stayed here last year and rated it "9" then too. Additional comments: Rate this year is $17. Presently they do not have showers, but they are building a shower house which looks like it will be ready for next year or very late this season. Arrived at 2 pm on Friday and got the last site, so getting there early, or on Wednesday or Thursday, is essential to maximize your choice of sites or to even get one. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$15
Stayed here two nights while visiting family in the area. Will definitely stay here again. Both electric and water hookups, although no showers. Sites have fine gravel, almost paved. Very spacious campsites. Most sites will require leveling blocks. No reservations. On weekends, it seems to fill up fast. Stayed in B20 which is a nice shady site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$15
This is a great county run campground. 50 amp & water at sites for only 15.00 nightly. The roads and sites are paved and accessible to big rigs ( we are 41 feet )They have restrooms but no showers, A playground for kids and several hiking trails. Dump station is easily accessible and cities of Marion, Cedar Rapids and Iowa City are all close by. Some sites are more level than others. We showed up on a Friday evening and only had 3 sites to chose from, none of them level. We were able to move on Saturday and by Monday the place was half empty. They are very liberal with the check out time - anytime before 8pm. Also, you can not save sites, they must be occupied by the 'camping' unit. We will definitely be staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2006
$15
All sites at this park are first come first serve. There are some nice spacious pull-thrus and each site has water and 50 amp electric but the park has no showers. Some sites require leveling aides and some are more shaded than others but the park overall has some trees and greenery. Even though the greenery doesn't afford any privacy all sites are angled in such a way that you don't have to look directly at your neighbors. We liked site #1, it was level, more than large enough for our 30 ft class A and had no neighbor on one side. Park was quiet even over the weekend that we were there. Marion is a nice little town and there is a relatively new Wal-Mart Supercenter close to the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com