206669 User submitted reviews online!!
Kettle Moraine SF Southern Unit was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (262) 594-6200
CGID5835

Kettle Moraine SF Southern Unit

Camp Information
Sites
254
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   6   9   8   9   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$27
We stayed at one of the Lake Ottawa campsites for 2 weeks. Very good park as they've just upgraded many sites to 50A -- important in the Summer heat. As a previous reviewer said, MANY CHIPMUNKS! Verizon phone and 4G service was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
This is our second visit to this park. We found the park very clean and friendly. The staff at the ranger station were very informative. We swam at the beach which was well kept by the camp hosts. There were free books on loan in the laundry room as well as plenty of toilet paper. Quiet hours seemed to be observed in our area, so no complaints here. I would stay here again! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
We stayed three nights at this campground and it was very nice. Sights were secluded, private and quiet. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$48
We very much enjoyed our stay here. Kids enjoyed the beach, campsite and all the CHIPMUNKS! The park calls them ground squirrels, sure whatever. They are much more entertaining than seagulls or raccoons (the usual filthy scroungers). My only complaint is the bathrooms. The bathrooms could use a cleaning twice a day, and they smelled very strong of urine by the evening. Apparently the volunteer hosts are not required to clean the restrooms, the park staff do. What the hosts do is a good question. We were here two days and saw them driving around in a cart the morning we left. The park was quiet, and we will return. The lower rating is for the bathrooms. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2010
$11
Although the park wasn't manned during the week, prior to the regular season not yet started, the campground was fairly full. Easy self registration and accessibility to open camp sites. Close to a state highway, but not noisy. Sites were fairly level. Campground was clean, considering campers must monitor their own cleanliness. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$20
This is a nice state park with lake, small kiddie playground, fishing pier, boat launch and hiking/mountain bike trails. Sites are good for big rigs but need some trimming. Road noise from highway along northwest sites could be bothersome but after first night we didn't notice it. Mosquitos were out in full force, but they are everywhere in Wisconsin at this time (July). Bring lots of spray, foggers and coils. Site was level and had picnic table and fire ring. Firewood and mosquito repellent for sale in office and staff was very nice at check-in. Walmart and groceries 10 mi. away. Dump site and water fill is convenient. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$14
I wanted to go camping close on Friday night (I had a very full weeekend and deserved a break). I noticed how close Ottawa Lake State Forest was, and decided to try it out. The service was outstanding, and I was able to get my site and annual sticker all at once. I asked for a site that was shady, and he picked me out the perfect spot. Bathrooms and showers are very clean and well maintained. Very easy access to all the sites, and the lake/boat pier/beach is just a short walk away. An excellent campground to relax and enjoy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2007
$15
We stayed a whole week at the end of the season. We had bought a new rig and had to break it in, and learn all the systems. The hiking trails nearby were fantastic and close. The lake was a beautiful, rustic addition to the area but a bit cold to enjoy at the end of the season. The park rangers were most accommodating and very helpful and friendly. The site s are spacious and some very private. Plenty of shade and excellant roads and accessability. Will stay again for sure! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2007
$17
This is a really pretty park... I really liked everything about it, except they have a lot of restrictions on dogs. Don't expect to go anywhere other than on the paved park roads with your pet. No access is allowed on the trail heads for dogs, which was totally unexpected for us since we went there to hike the trails. That being said.. the sites are huge and there is a wide variety of them to choose from. You can be tucked back into deep woods or out on a grassy hillside or anywhere in between. There is a bit of traffic noise from a county hwy on one side of the park but off that one stretch it is very quiet. I would certainly stay here again (but without my dog!) We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$34
Loved Ottawa Lake! The campground was hard to find. Do not use mapquest directions! We got lost for 45 minutes trying to find it...once we arrived, check-in is a pain...We paid an additional $20 for entrance fees...for a 2 night stay! No campstore, you have to drive to Eagle (if you can find it) for supplies. They sell ice $2 and firewood $5 bundle at the gate, but that's it. All that aside, I loved the campground. The beach was "swim at your own risk" because e-coli counts were up. But the sites were spacious and the facilities very-very clean. Plenty for the kids to do. We could have shared sites with our family members but we did not know that having not seen how large they were beforehand. The outer circle sites are the nicest but they don't have electric. They are the shady ones. The others have some shade, but are still very private as there is lots of brush/growth separating sites. I would stay there again, it's a very nice state campground, despite the expense. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This CG has changed a lot in the last 20 years! More trees, more shade, more privacy. Sites are huge, with gravel pads, fire rings & picnic tables. Nearly all the sites around the edge are non-electric; most private sites are better for tents than RVs. This park is busy and popular - reservations needed for weekend stays. Despite being full, it was relatively quiet. Young staff at check-in station were pleasant, friendly & helpful. There's a small lake with swimming beach, playground, and fishing pier, and amphitheater for ranger presentations. Also a handicapped-accessible cabin with bathroom & kitchen facilities (for disabled visitors only - reservable by calling the park directly). Bathroom buildings older but kept clean; laundry facilities (washers & dryers) at one bathroom - rare for a state park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com