218844 User submitted reviews online!!
Pagosa Riverside Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (970) 264-5874
CGID584

Pagosa Riverside Campground

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$39



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   9   9   8   10   9   7   10   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2014
$39
This park is old and not well maintained. It is only a gravel lot next to a dirty, mosquito infested pond. We were so disappointed in this park we wanted to leave immediately but knew we couldn’t find a park in the area because of the rodeo. The park is mismanaged with small tent trailers in the spaces that should be reserved for big 5th wheels and motorhomes with the larger RVs in tiny cramped sites. They also do not like long term customers and would rather cater to the 1 or 2 night people. The laundry was very old with only two dryers. I would not recommend this park and will never return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$38
Owner has been in business for a very long time. She is a very nice lady. Really liked this park. Our pull thru was located right on the river and was very level with a little shade and picnic table. Major renovations were being done while we were there but construction noise did not bother us. Did not use any of the facilities while we were there. We stayed here at the recommendation of friends and we were not disappointed. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2014
$35
Lovely, quiet setting just outside Pagosa Springs. Very friendly staff. Excellent WiFi connectivity and great laundry room facilities. Restrooms were immaculate. Fire rings and tables at each site. Sound of the rushing stream was soothing. Wish we could have stayed longer. Paddle boats for rent and fishing at the pond. A real Gem!! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$35
This is our third time staying here. It is a basic park in a great location, right on the river. Since our last visit, all power pedestals have been upgraded. Roomy and level sites. Office staff very friendly and helpful. We will stay here again next time we're in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$35
Excellent in every way! Great park, grassy, clean, friendly. Great owners. Nice campers, pet friendly, lots to do. They give you free ice cream, when when you get there, who does that? The best experience we have had yet! A must see. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$33
Nice older park on the San Juan River. Don't let the old sign on road mislead you. Quiet, beautiful and well run. 3 bars of Sprint signal, and very good Wi-Fi coverage. Lots of pull through sites, somewhat close together. 8 of 87 sites on river, so book ahead. Also, place is known, and fills up in July. We had a great stay for 5 nights (3 diff spots). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
This is a nice quiet campground & the staff are very friendly & helpful. Restrooms/showers were very clean. We chose to stay in a site not by the river because it was cheaper but had the pond to look at. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$32
What a GREAT location. "ON" a pond or the San Juan River. Most of the sites are on the water. Older, well established trees all around. Very nice people with an escort to your site. I only wish we could have stayed longer. We will next time! I have to rate this a 10 only because there isn't an "11." Good lineup of cable channels and Wi-Fi worked fast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$33
This was the second RV park we used in Pagosa Springs. This is a very nice, older park. It is very quiet. There are sites right on the river. The park is full of large shade trees. There is wireless internet and cable. This is also a good park for dogs. There is a lot of area to walk the dogs. There is also a lake for fishing. The park is a short distance (10 minutes) from downtown Pagosa Springs. Good value for the money and we would certainly return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$32
The positive aspects of this campground are that the staff is helpful and friendly, it is on the San Juan River, and convenient to Pagosa Springs. The campground has an assortment of tent sites intermixed with the RV sites, and the layout is strange and the sites are poorly defined. That being said, the prime sites are on the river, although they are very close together. It was quiet and they have a nice little lake with a path around it. Our Verizon service was a little weak but we did have a signal. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$40
Rate $40.46 for 4 adults included Good Sam discount. Campsite 16 was a little small for 30ft travel trailer. Pull through sites near the river looked better. First campground where they got my reservation wrong, but luckily I called about a week before we got here and got the dates I needed. My main concern about staying here again is the lack of amps. At times there was not enough power to safely run the AC. Good location to town and clean restrooms. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2012
$33
It is the most mismanaged and poorly maintained campground I ever had the displeasure of staying at. The young couple who manages it needs to find an occupation they are more suited for. Terrible attitude!! The wifi was intermittent at best, the swimming pool was laughable, and the fish in the adjoining pond were non-existent! The only good thing I can say is the work campers were kind and courtesy but even they left because of their displeasure with the way things were run! Save your money and find a campground that really is properly run! Safe travels! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$39
This was the first time we stayed here and we stayed for 3 weeks. We were in site #77 (pull through), and it was perfect. Beautiful view of the river, where my husband fished for trout. We could sit in our chairs right outside our RV and enjoy the peace and tranquility the scenery offered. This is a very clean campground with a very friendly staff. The only reason I didn't give it a 10, is because the Wi-Fi was iffy at best. It worked most of the time on our laptop, but for my Kindle I had to go sit by the office to connect. Not really a big deal. I definitely recommend Pagosa Riverside. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2011
$33
Nice little campground about two miles north of town on the river and with a pond. Lots of trees for shade. Has a laundry that's open 24 h0urs. The bathroom (men's) is old but clean, and I must say the showers are small. The staff is very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$43
Great location on the river and close to town. Park staff were very friendly and helpful. This is one of the best maintained and run parks we've ever seen. We'll definitely stay here again when we return to the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$38
Nice sites, many water view and shaded with trees. About 5 minutes from town. Quiet and well ran. Staff was helpful with an escort to site after hours. Campground Wi-Fi was very weak, usable sometimes depending location I guess. Cell reception (Verizon) and air card worked but had low bars. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
This campground is the best one in the area, mainly because of its location on the river and in town. Most of the park has been upgraded to 50 amp. We enjoy the ability to have campfires and to wade and fish the river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$41
This appears to be a former KOA with its A-frame office. It is an older park, but the camp is clean as are the restrooms. There are some spaces on the river, but be aware some of the best riverside sites are non-hookup. One negative is some electric sites are only 20 amp. We didn't need A/C so it wasn't a big deal. They do have some 30 amp sites. Also, if you you expect a resort, this isn't it. We enjoyed our stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
Second time staying here. Last time was in 2007. Stayed 5 nights this time. Excellent park if you are looking for a family friendly setting. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Close to town and all the attractions in Pagosa Springs. We love this area and will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was our third stay at Pagosa Riverside. It is convenient to town and the people are friendly and business-like. The road noise is barely audible especially if you are camped on or near the river. I highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$40
This is an "I am going camping" RV park with lots of kids, dogs and campfires. They now have good 50-amp service and run by very nice managers. There are more tent sites than RV sites. Wi-Fi did not work while we were here, but they were working on it. Very quiet and no night-lights to distract from the sky. Easy 5-minute town access. Some messy, junky areas but overall not too bad. Sites right on the river but not very picturesque. Very nice river sounds. Not good value for the price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
Beautiful riverside location away from highway noise with a very friendly, helpful staff. We stayed one night, but next time it will be longer. The river, private lake, trails, mountain scenery, level sites, clean facilities, who could ask for more? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$33
We will stay here again. We had a nice spot next to the river. It was awesome. The laundry room was clean and attended at all times. The management was very friendly and helpful. Its worth a stay. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$32
This is an old park with only 30 amp service, which is sometimes erratic. There are tables, but all grass and gravel parking and patio area. However, because of its location right on San Juan River and the wonderful people who manage the park who freely offer help for your needs, we have camped there for three years, a month long each time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$30
Older park but well cared for: kind of liked the rustic feel. Site configuration not the best but the location to the river IS the best in town. Very convenient to town, restaurants, etc. Excellent value for the money: most friendly staff! Big rig park close by wants twice as much per night and it is located right on the busy road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$26
This is an old KOA, probably from the 1960's. There was very low voltage in the sites by the river. There are some good sites in the other areas so tour first, then get a site. The owner died in Feb. '10 so the status next year may change. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$32
Kind of tough to get into. Old campground. Needs to be updated badly. Too many "stored" RV's on site. Not all sites have 30amp service. Beautiful riverside sites though. Kind of cramped together. Quiet for sure, and LOTS of water pressure in the showers and plenty HOT too! Would stay again as this is the best in Pagosa (except for a pricey, class A only campground there.) We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$30
The pull-through sites here are gravel and most are fairly level. The sites with a lake/river view are better than 1-4. Satellite reception can be difficult depending on site, but they do have cable TV. We found the folks that run the park to be very nice and helpful. You're escorted to your site. Laundry room is spotless. Location is nice and peaceful and only a few miles from town. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2009
$37
This park is conveniently located to town; however, it is the most discombobulated layout I've ever encountered. Sites 1-4, where we were, are such that you can only leave with the cooperation of your neighbors. Each morning there was the pick-up shuffle. I don't think I would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$35
This is a nice little park. We had a spot by the river with water, electric, no sewer, which is okay for a couple of days. Satellite worked great and Wi-Fi was pretty good. Kind of slow at times. We'd come back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$36
I realize that we all have different expectations when going to a campground, but I really don't understand the very high ratings for this campground. It appears to be a very old KOA. Roads/sites are gravel/dirt. There was a little rain this afternoon and while not a muddy mess, there were some muddy holes in the streets. I did not inspect the restrooms, but for the tent area, there were porta-potties. This campground is fine for a night or two while visiting the area, and we would stay again, unless we found something better. It got us off the road, and that was the object! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$38
Great place. Was clean and reasonable. Has the nicest owners in the world. We would come back for sure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
On a mountain stream with a snow-covered mountain in the background. Sites have limited shade. Staff and owners very friendly with a true small-town atmosphere. We stopped due to mechanical problems and would stop again. No fellowship hall or activities. This is just before (or after) Wolf Creek pass. Sites are gravel with some grass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2008
$26
The folks who run this campground are the best. They are very personable and helpful. The campground is clean and well kept. I would highly recommend this campground to anyone who is in the Pagosa Springs area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$33
The park is right on the San Juan River just east of town. It has FHU, cable, and WI-FI but the pool is above ground surrounded by a deck. Pool looked nice but incoming storms prevented us from using it. We got heavy rain for about an hour but the park did not turn into the muddy mess previously described. There are quite a few seasonal sites, but the overnight sites are adequate. Don't expect cement pads or patios with well manicured lawns, flower gardens, etc. There is also a small paddle boat pond on site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2007
$28
This campground has a lot of potential but has been allow to deuterate. The sites could use work and the whole area needs to be cleaned up. It rained while we were there and the campground became a sea of mud. The people seem to be very nice and helpful. This could be a very nice campground if some work was put into it. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$28
This is an older park but has a great location, if you get one of the pull-thru sites that front the river. We had excellent service from the staff and although the parking was a bit confusing we had little trouble parking our large 5th wheel. Not all of the 50 amp sites had sewer connections so be sure and check before arriving. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2007
$32
Very relaxed. Enjoyed our stay here. Will return. Staff friendly and knowledge of local area was excellent. Our site was next to the San Juan river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2006
$26
Pagosa River Campground in Pagosa Springs, CO came to our rescue when we were "kicked out" of the Alpen Rose RV Park in Durango, CO. Please see our comments about that under the Alpen Rose review. While some of the sites are better than others, the management worked with us on short notice and provided us with a nice spot. There are many sites on the river and we could have moved there, but chose to stay where we were at until we could go back to the Durango, CO area. The staff was extremely informative about various hikes and jeep trails that we were interested. We understand that the campground has been sold and is under contract and it is unclear whether it will be available next summer. We hope so as we plan to stay there again if possible. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2005
$19
We stayed here in August 2005 and had a good experience. Restrooms were clean and staff friendly. However if you are expecting a "resort", you will be disappointed. There are very nice riverfront sites and pond sites. Good fishing in the river. There are a few seasonal people here, but not many. The minuses are there are RV's stored in the middle of the camp. Also, the playground and pool aren't that great. Overall we were happy with our experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2005
$29
Spent one night here based on the very high ratings in the TL and Woodall guides. Employees were nice enough, but the campground was a dump. The pull thru site we were assigned was poorly designed and difficult to access with a fifth wheel. There were full timers right in the middle of the campground with unsightly junk and clothes lines. The advertised pool was one of those round, four foot, above ground backyard models. There were several old broken down cars and several old rusty trailers stored in the middle of the campgground. In spite of the negative points, there were a few nice sites located on the San Juan River. This place definitely didn't deserve the ratings. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
2004
$25
There were a lot of full timers in the park and their sites were not well kept. There seemed to be an excess of rusted equipment and vehicles in the park. The garbage cans were not emptied on a regular basis. We had booked several sites for a family reunion requesting that all the sites be together. This was not the case when we checked in. The owners were not very friendly to the younger members of our group. The swimming pools temperature was colder than the rivers running through the campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2004
$23
This appears to have been an older K.O.A., but has been very well cared for. Some sites are within 15 feet of the San Juan river, and others border the small private lake with paddle boats for rent. The staff was very friendly, as were the other guests. The park is very clean and quiet with no road noise or barking animals. There are plenty of sites with full or partial shade, all have fire rings as well as picnic tables. We have stayed here twice, and will go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com