206561 User submitted reviews online!!
Heart Of The Rockies Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (719) 539-4051
CGID585

Heart Of The Rockies Campground

Camp Information
Sites
70
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   6   9   5   4   7   9   5   8   2   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$15
We stayed here 6 weeks. The setting in the Rockies is beautiful. Few trees, but we prefer sun and views. There is good fishing 10 minutes drive away. There is a nearby county road that provides good, lightly trafficked walking or biking. Sites are reasonably spaced. Management is friendly and helpful. There is a pleasant community room. The park is 12 minutes drive to WalMart and 16 minutes from downtown Salida. We plan to return in a month for another few weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$26
The website definitely oversold this park. There were no prices listed online and the pictures indicated an A++ park. What we found was basically graveled sites situated on the side of a hill in a park that has seen better days. But we were tired of looking for a park, so we took it. The manager was nice enough, nothing special, as was the park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$28
We stayed one night without a reservation, but it was a weekday. Seemed to be a popular place to stop, and reservations are recommended normally. It really is in the heart of the rockies, with beautiful scenery all directions. Good showers, and Wi-Fi would work at the closer full-hookup sites, but we stayed further back in a W/E only site, so Wi-Fi did not reach. However, they have a lounge room with couches, TV, books, games, etc where we used the free W-iFi. Would come back again! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2012
$30
We stopped here without a reservation on a holiday week. We got the next to the last pull through site and were happy to pay the price. This is a rustic campground with gravel roads and parking spaces. It was hot and everyone was running their a/c's. With only 30amps, it was necessary to watch your voltage meter carefully. We would stay here again if we were passing through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$30
Not sure what some reviewers saw. This campground needs lots of TLC. Sites are hard to get in and out of if you are very long. Roads are rough and the campground it terraced so there are humps to go over. Staff was friendly. Several full time residents here. Price was out of line for this park. There is a laundry and showers, but we did not use. Just okay for an overnight stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$32
Great people, easy access! Water pressure very low though. Office staff stated that water is gravity fed. They said owner was aware of the problem. We've stayed here before and the pressure was never that low but there were many more RV'ers this time. Power tripped when we first hooked up. Really nice gentleman came and helped us find the correct power box and, once reset, no problems for two days thereafter. Water hookup also leaked upon hookup, didn't notice it but another gentleman noticed and came by with tools to fix it. Corrected in 5 minutes and all was good. Stream was dry this time. First time we've seen that. The park doesn't have much in trees but makes up for it in space. So many of the full-hookup campgrounds around that area pack RV's in like sardines. This one doesn't. We would stay there again just for the great people! However, they really need to do something about the water pressure. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
Great pull through sites. This is a nice place to stop when driving from Denver. Friendly folks in the office. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$30
I would consider this a stop over park. The water pressure in almost nonexistent. WI-FI might work if you are close to the office, but we had trouble and were about 3 rows from the office. The staff was very friendly. Campground policy is to make a copy of your Drivers License, which I don't like. Nice views and a stream runs between RV sites & tent sites. Would stay here again as a stop over only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2009
$28
Nice manager, Deanna, gave us a private site in back. Gravel pull thru was perfectly level and hookups were good. Small trees offered no shade but was cook and rainy so didn't matter. Baths are old, but clean. Was a very quiet night's sleep and we will return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
1999
$25
Park was in much need of repair. Outdoor heated pool was a joke. There was a miniature golf course that hadn't had any maintenence in a long time, and it still cost to play it. Office staff only there a few hours in the afternoon. Absolutely love the area, but many other campgrounds in the area rate much higher than this one. We camped here in a camper.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
1998
$23
Very nice campground in the heart of "fourteener" country -- incredible views of the mountains and the Upper Arkansas Valley. Terraced sites with some shade, there's a small stream running thru that separates the tent area from the main area. Good, level sites, some a bit close together, though. Nice clean restrooms, very well maintained. They also have the only outdoor heated pool in the area. The campground is located about 10 miles west of Salida, and there is a hot springs pool in Salida, as well as up the valley at Mt Princeton Hot Springs. Heart of the Rockies is a very good base camp area for the sites of the Upper Arkansas Valley, the Monarch Pass/Ski area, and the upper San Luis Valley. There are incredible hiking and 4x4 trails in this area, probably the best in Colorado. And if you are in to river running, this is absolutely the place to be! We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com