219004 User submitted reviews online!!
Seligman Route 66 KOA was rated 6 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (928) 422-3358
CGID5854

Seligman Route 66 KOA

Camp Information
Sites
73
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   6   4   7   5   9   4   5   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Other people have rated this campground lower because of the gravel but most campgrounds have that. This was very nice and convenient right off the I40 but far enough away not to hear the freeway noise. It is right next to the railroad but all you hear is a rumble now and then and we were in the row right next to it and did not have a problem. Staff was super friendly and helpful We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
November 2013
$38
We recently stayed in Seligman for two days, our original plan was a simple overnight stop, but a windstorm prevented us from continuing our journey. Our spot was nice, it had full hookups (no Cable) and the bathrooms were clean. The Wireless worked, barely, and the laundry room had some older machines. For almost $40 a night, I would have expected more. It was a very basic RV campground at a high price. Would I recommend this park? It is perfect for an overnighter. Will we come back? If we are passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2013
$36
Nothing special and overpriced. Park is within 100 yards of a major, high traffic, train line, with trains coming by multiple times a hour. Fortunately, they do not have to blow their horns so you just hear a rumble. Park is desert, with the sites being dirt/gravel. Sites are level, long and have nice spacing between them. Wi-Fi was free and worked great. Town is small and mostly just Route 66 gift shops with a couple of restaurants. OK for an overnight stop, but you must be OK with the trains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2013
$38
It was late when we pulled in and other campgrounds were full due to the winds, if not we wouldn't have stayed. You couldn't step out the door without getting shoes and dog full of stickers and then on top of that there is a train track beside it very close which run it seemed all night long. The host told me welcome to 70 miles from nowhere. That should have been a giveaway.:) I emailed KOA and received a very nonchalant reply. It is definitely not KOA standards We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
Easy on easy off for I-40. Staff very friendly and helpful. All gravel and sadly does have a rundown feel. Sites quite spacious. Restrooms very clean. No cable but understandable as population of Seligman is only 465. But WiFi the best we have ever had. Be aware that gas prices in Seligman are very high. Have to say again that KOA have become expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$38
The only thing typical of KOA was the price - over priced. Lady in office very nice and helpful. Utilities worked fine, but no cable. Gravel is sparse so there is dust blowing around. There are very few trees for shade and none for big rig sites. There is no landscaping save some small native desert plants here and there. Most trains are barely noticeable, but some rumble right through the leveler pads and there are many of them day and night. The tracks were right in front of our coach. We have stayed at much nicer parks across the country for much less and cable included. Not likely we would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$42
We stayed here only overnight. It is a very nice campground with level, gravel sites, but no shade. The trains were close but not noisy. All the amenities of a KOA were present, and the staff was very friendly and courteous. There was no cable and no antenna coverage, but satellites will work well. The park has beautiful scenery and is close to the Grand Canyon and other places of interest. Nearby Seligman has good restaurants. The access from I-40 is easy and far enough away from it to not hear the traffic. The park has free and fast WiFi. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2012
$40
Convenient location right off I-40. The host is very nice. Easy to get level even though it is all gravel. Trains run all night at the edge of the park; however they travel slowly, and it is not much of a bother. There is no cable TV and certainly no channels available over the air. We have used this campground in the past and found it quite acceptable. This time the electric was weak and wobbly; we could not run more than about two light bulbs before everything started flickering. We were very concerned about losing power overnight or having something blow in our rig. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2012
$35
We stopped for one night and the people were very friendly and helpful. It was a good stopover point. The trains were not so bad that they interrupted our sleep, but they were there. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$36
The park was clean and was what you would expect from a KOA. Person at the front was courteous. I asked for a quiet spot. She put us in a row closest to the trains. And the row was almost full while the rest of the park was mostly empty. The trains were loud and ran all night and the ground shook. Never here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$32
Quiet, pride of ownership reflected. Clean restroom/showers. Easy access from hwy. Don't be afraid of the train tracks. You can hear, but it doesn't rattle the ground and I found it far enough away to not be bothersome in the least. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$42
Very friendly and helpful staff. RxR tracks very close but didn't hear them during the night. Clean, well-kept park that we would visit again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$36
A very dusty and basic campground, not very well maintained. Had a level gravel pull through site with a patch of grass, a small tree, picnic table, barbecue, and a fire ring. Has old but clean bathrooms. The Wi-Fi is good, and there is a small pool. Although we could see and hear the trains they did not bother us. The town is small but has lots of interesting shops, all full of mementos of Route 66. It's quiet at night but during the day the tour buses roll into town and soak up the nostalgia. This is fine for a one night stopover and we would stay here again. However, like most KOA's it was overpriced. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$35
Rustic campground with lots of trees. Had a bit of difficulty finding a site that could be leveled adequately. Cook shack on premises which was nice. Dog friendly. Indoor pool. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$32
A good, basic park for over night or base to explore the Grand Canyon area. We got here via historic Route 66 from Kingman to Seligman which is much nicer than I-40. As mentioned, the BNSF train traffic is pretty intense, but no whistle for a grade crossing. We enjoy hearing the trains anyway. It has Good Wi-Fi (free), clean bathrooms. We would stay here again. The rate reflects KOA member discount plus taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2011
$35
Older, adequate place for any overnight - which is more than enough time to see Seligman (not someplace we choose to come back to). They were working in the laundry so don't know anything about it; nor did we use the restrooms. Pretty much of a large gravel parking lot. Office was closed but met by a work camper and the information for our site was taped to the door. Did not know of any discount for Gray hairs like us as we made the reservation online. Fine for an overnight though and we would again if needed to. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2011
$33
Road was fine for our Motorhome. Snowy and very cold, but it was December after all. Trains? Ah yes, trains. About every 20 minutes or so. Good indicator of how the economy is improving. We were very well greeted and made to feel at home. You can get a small discount if you're a senior citizen. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
First, the owner is awesome! She was extremely helpful! She filled our propane tank and then drove it to our site. She also recommended the Lila Cafe on Route 66, which was good. We had an amazing slab of homemade carrot cake there, which I don't even feel guilty eating because it was sooo good. Laundry facility was great and is open 24 hours. This made our arrival back home less stressful because the laundry was already done. There is some train noise, but there is no crossing nearby so they don't sound their horns as they pass. We still got a good night's sleep. If you have your heater on, you probably won't hear it at all. This was a great place to stop for the night, dump and do laundry. If we were to pass that way again and need to stop for the night, we would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
The gravel road to the entry is in very bad condition with many potholes. The entrance road is only in fair condition but inside the park the roads are fine. The site was long and level but nothing except gravel. The mentioned trains run about every 10 minutes with only a slight decrease in the number during the night. I put in ear plugs and was able to get a good nights sleep, but my husband who has impaired hearing was awakened several times during the night. There appeared to be several "long term" residents but their sites were maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$39
It was a nice park with friendly owners but the trains made it very hard to sleep. Just when we fell asleep another train came through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$40
This place has everything you need at the end of a long drive across I-40. Water, electric, sewer and a level spot to land. Late night check-in procedure was quick and easy. Had info packets available with WI-FI codes and TV channels listed so you could use the amenities even with a late arrival. The owner was a jewel and was careful to see that all was good with our stay. Yes, lots of train noise, but who cares when you are dead tired and just need some sleep. The dog park was good. Fenced and with plenty of room. Great location for an overnight. Calm and easy-going park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2009
$36
Very pleasant owner/operator. She has obviously done considerable improvement over the last year or so. You are very close to the railroad and there must be 100 trains that come through each night. It's not too bad if you play a little old Hank Williams on your CD. It certainly didn't keep us awake, but we were very aware of them. An excellent place for an overnight stay. The wireless very good, but we couldn't get T-mobile signal. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2009
$34
Rather overpriced considering no TV (not even local), pool not open even though it isn't end of season and they advertise pool open. Trains do run constantly (like every 3 - 8 minutes or so) but they don't blow their whistles, so its not bothersome. I'm quite surprised by how quiet it is. Dust and gravel sites with a little sage in some places. Keep doors and windows closed for easier breathing. Easy in/out for our big rig with tow. I can't imagine wanting to stay here more than a night, but for an overnight, it's OK I guess. Owner very friendly, but if that's all you have going for your business, it makes sense that she would give it all she has. One last note about the trains, because they are so quiet, it was a nice replacement for troublesome evening news. We were front row nosed to them, so we had an interesting show. Railroad enthusiasts would love this place, I think. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$37
The campground is one mile from I-40. There is a railroad route nearby, and the trains pass day and night. The office gives out key chains that say: "You survived a night of 1000 trains". After a downpour, most of the gravel sites were flooded, and it took an hour for acceptable drainage. The laundry and bathrooms are impeccably clean. The town of Seligman is a trip back in time, everything "Route 66". Fun stops and good photo ops. Because of the trains, one night was enough for us. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2009
$25
This campground is DIRECTLY between route 66 and railroad tracks. Route 66 being approximately 6 feet from the campground and the railroad tracks being approximately 15 feet from the campground. Though at night, there are fewer cars (about one vehicle every fifteen minutes to half hour). These railroad tracks are quite busy (about one train every 7 - 10 minutes). They have to blare the horn about five minutes before they get to the campsite because there's a crossing nearby, so you'll hear both. ALL night long. The tent sites are very, very dusty. The dirt in the sites is so fine that just walking around sends dust clouds flying in the direction of the wind about 10 feet. The entire campground smells like sewage which I'm assuming has something to do with the RV dump not being emptied regularly since the bathrooms have plumbing (not pit toilets). About the restrooms I will say that they were kept very clean. There were showers as well and all looked in good, clean condition. The pool that is advertised is inoperable and looks as if it has been so since route 66's heyday. I won't make that mistake again. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
October 2008
$36
This park is acceptable if you are just passing through. here is no grass and little gravel. The dirt turns to mud quickly with a bit of rain or spilled water. The railroad is VERY close and VERY active, but it bothered us less than we feared. Access for a big rig was pretty good and the pull-throughs were long enough. I can't imagine spending any time outside in this park, there is just too much dirt and dust. It also seems quite overpriced for its location and condition, but of course it’s a KOA. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$30
Gravel spots with, no grass, a few trees and some cabins. There is a small convenience store on site, and restaurants within walking distance. Bathrooms were very nice, and staff was friendly and helpful. The reason I took off 4 points was the fact that the railway was right next to the camp, and trains were passing and honking throughout the night. I was exhausted enough to get some sleep anyway, but wouldn't stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2008
$30
We rented a space for 3 nights, and stayed here the first and third nights. The second night we stayed at the lodge at Supai Village having hiked there to see the Havasu and Mooney falls(well worth the muscle-aching hike both ways). When we were checking in at this KOA, the lady asked what we would be doing while in Seligman. We told her about the hike, and she said that the rate for the second night’s stay would be cut in half since we would not be here. That is some service! As for the trains, they are close by and they are long but the only loud part is the sound of the first four engines. After that the rail cars just drone on by without clickity clacks. Also, they do not blow horns. Bring earplugs just in case. All sites are pull-through. The bathrooms are dated but clean. There is no CATV but that just forced us to create other ways to amuse ourselves. Priceless! Nightly rate includes one extra person, KOA discounts, and taxes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2008
$35
We only stayed overnight, but I was impressed with the improvements made to this little campground from a few years ago. We talked with the owner, who was very friendly and obviously has worked hard to make this a nice place to stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$30
I was not sure of a 6 or a 7 but gave the 7. This is not fancy but definitely suitable. The restrooms and laundry were spotless. The pool was not open but looked like it needed work before it could be. The owner was very nice. We used this as a stopover between Pahrump and the Grand Canyon and would do so again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2008
$35
Stayed overnight on our way west. The staff was very friendly and the park was "OK". I thought it was a little spendy for being out in the middle of nowhere with no amenities unless you want to count the constant passing of trains a very short distance away. They didn't wake me, but when we were awake you could very easily hear them and they came through OFTEN. I doubt I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
May 2007
$30
I was a little disappointed in the park in general. On the plus side, the owner/staff were very friendly and helpful. Other than that, perhaps we were early in the season or something. The pool still had its cover (full of dirty water) on, and there weeds growing in areas that I don't think there should have been. Next time we will probably bypass this one in favor of Williams or Kingman. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2006
$31
This KOA park was a good stopover halfway between Vegas and the Grand Canyon. It had good points and bad points. The good outweighed the bad, but the bad were annoying enough to leave a bad taste in our mouths. NEGATIVES: The woman running the place had a lot of good ideas and welcomed our pets with complimentary treats. But she was just a little -- how shall I say? -- mettlesome. Like having your 5th grade teacher watching over you or something. She acted like she was concerned this was our first time staying in a campground, but we were on a 6,000-mile trip. We were not doing anything uncouth or against the rules. The park advertises WiFi at all the sites, but unlike at most KOAs, the WiFi is not free. You are supposed to be able to purchase a 1-day or 3-hour card at the office, but they didn't have any. So we had to sign up for an account online with our credit card and purchase some Internet time. The outdoor pool seemed okay, but looked a little iffy. It was too cold to use. Our site was supposed to have a picnic table, but someone had moved it, so my husband had to haul it across the lot. There were quite a few loud trains coming through. There were some middle-school aged kids running around unsupervised. POSITIVES: This is one of the only campgrounds we visited in six weeks that had a preschool playground separate from the big kids playground. There was some Little Tykes plastic equipment with slides and doors. My daughter enjoyed it and I was relieved to have somewhere safe to play with her. It was a good place to stop between Vegas and the Grand Canyon. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2006
$28
Don't let them fool you, behind those trees not 50 ft away are constant trains: loud trains! Without the trains it is tolerable for a one night stay. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$23
This park has been taken over by new owners and they are making some very positive changes to the park. It was a very enjoyable experience and we would stay there again We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com