218848 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Vermillion Recreation Area was rated 9 out of 10 based on 12 user reviews. Phone: (605) 296-3643
CGID5867

Lake Vermillion Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
66
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   10   10   8   9   8   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$24
One of our favorites state parks on this 2 year journey RVing the US. Very clean park. Check-in was smooth and staff was friendly. Campground includes boat ramp, tent camping, cabins, kids playground and dedicated swimming area off the lake. Our campsite was level and site clean. Verizon phones got weak 4G. DirecTV (free standing satellite) had no issue getting signal. Campground is about 10 minutes from freeway (I-90) and 30 minutes from a decent grocery store. Our only issue is the late checkout time, which is 4 PM, so don’t arrive too early. Reservations available online for this state park. While at this campground we visited Falls Park in Sioux Falls and the Corn Palace. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$24
We stayed here one night. It is a very clean park with gravel sites. Electrical at the sites with a dump station in the park. The site was $18 with a $6 fee for out of state residence. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
I must score a 10 because I can find nothing wrong with this campground. the campground itself was immaculate. The comfort stations in the north camp (the new area) are huge with at least 3 that are sink/bathroom/shower combined (meaning one person can go in and PRIVATELY use all three. The staff are friendly and helpful. The sites are roomy with just enough greenery between sites to be private. We were here in 2002 and pleased to see it hasn't changed! We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$24
We needed a campground close to I-90 on the west side of Sioux Falls, SD. Lake Vermillion was only 5 miles south of the Highway, 30 miles west, and was easy to find. The people were friendly, the place was very clean, and we enjoyed having a picnic under shade trees overlooking the lake. This rate $18 plus the $6 fee. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$22
This campground was a stop on our way home from Yellowstone. Easy to find, very helpful, friendly staff. We had a nice little site right next to the lake, restrooms were clean. Overall a great experience. Lots of families and big trailers. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$24
Beautiful campground. Clean restrooms with lots of hot water. Electric only, no sewer or water. Sites are large and treed. Lake is very pretty and can be seen from many of the lots. Games are available at front desk. Kids played bean bag toss all morning. I would give this campground a 10, but for the lack of sewer and water. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$25
An oasis in an otherwise rather bleak countryside. Beautiful place. Nice big shade trees and large sites. Electric only. Great little lake with swim area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
The $22 per night includes the day use fee ($6). We stayed on the east side and this is a lovely campground, wide and deep graveled sites, many with shade trees. There are beautiful Blue Spruces all around and well-kept grass areas. There is a nice playground for the kids. Site #45 is the best, in my opinion, but all the sites are at least nice. My only criticism is that there are no water spigots around the campground. You have to go to the bathhouse and use the spigot mounted on the outside of that building. The lake is gorgeous. The young lady who checked us in was very friendly and efficient. We would stay here again for sure! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2010
$16
We stayed here on a Tuesday evening. I wish we could have stayed longer. This is very nice State Park. People were friendly, the park was beautiful, and everything was very clean. We stayed in the East Campground along the lake in site 43. Other sites I would recommend would be 44 or 45. If and when we get back we will try to get into site 45. We could see the playground from there and the kids could play and ride bikes. We pretty much had the whole campground to ourselves. Most of the sites had electricity but no water or sewer. Fine for us we were there only the one night. This park is very quiet; you will probably wake up to the sound of the birds singing. There is a daily park pass required that cost $6 and lasted from noon until noon the next day. The camping cost was $16 a day. Very reasonable for such a nice park. It is located about 6 miles south of I-90 and is well marked to get into. You register at the campground on the west side and if you choose a site on the east side you must drive about 1.5 miles around the lake to the other side. Well worth the drive. I really enjoyed this park and will strongly recommend it to all my camping friends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$14
We stayed two nights. The grounds were very clean; the showers and restrooms were spotless. The view of the lake was great. But the best thing about this park were the employees. We had trouble with our RV and the ranger was extremely helpful, suggesting places for the repair, checking on us and going out of his way to make sure we had as an enjoyable stay as possible. Not only would we return but would go out of our way to stay a night or two. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$14
This is a wonderful campground. We stopped here as an overnight on our way East. Park is located 5 miles South of I-90 and well worth the time. Very peaceful and very clean park with great lake views and fresh air. Saw lots of birds and water foul including a ton of pelicans. Sites are big with a lot of room in between. Site was pretty level and I did not have to unhook my tow vehicle from the TT. After traveling all day there was lots of room for the little ones to run around and stretch their legs. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
This is a very pretty park on Lake Vermillion; it has an east and a west campground. The east CG has more paved pull-off type sites (where your rig is parallel to the road and roadside slides seem a bit exposed) right near the lake and a loop of gravel back-in sites. The west CG has all paved sites many with nice lake views, the picnic tables have cabanas for shade and the sites are angled for easy in and out and fewer direct views of you neighbors. Some sites are a bit sloped. We had site #11in the west CG. It was spacious, level with 50 amp electric (no water) and a nice view of the lake; we have a 30 ft class A. The dump station is in the west CG but the two CG's are only about 1-1/2 miles apart. Dump station has two ports and potable water available. The staff was helpful and friendly and the hosts did a beautiful job of keeping the CG clean. Falls State Park in Sioux Falls is worth seeing (and free), we also took a day trip to Mitchell (45 miles) to shop at Cabela's and visit the Corn Palace. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com