223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Lake Pueblo State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 23 user reviews. Phone: (719) 561-9320
CGID587

Lake Pueblo State Park

Camp Information
Sites
401
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$34



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   7   2   9   6   4   5   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2014
$34
I was very disappointed in the pricing of this park. Let me begin by stating the site was OK, we barely fit but it was OK. We are a 50 amp rig, we had the 30 amp adapter and it worked OK, the 15 amp circuit did not work at all. The host told us it would take a week to get it repaired. The site was not level and it is somewhat a dog leg to the left. My issue is this is a State Park, we paid $20.00 for the site and then had to pay an additional $7.00 per vehicle. Therefore we paid for the bus and the Harley that was towed in a trailer. so in fact we paid $34.00 per night for very limited services! The showers are pay showers. We would have stayed much longer but decided to go to a RV park with all of the amenities, plus 50 amp service for much cheaper. By far the most expensive bare bones State Park I have ever been to. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
Lake Pueblo State Park has at least four campgrounds about the lake. We stayed at Northern Plains, which has widely separated paved sites and roads. 30 amp at site with a nice picnic table with a curved wind shelter. Scattered water faucets not close to the road. I didn't use the bathhouses but the one near us was dark without a light coming on. This is a dry windy high plains location by the man made lake/reservoir with a few sites by the lake. The lake is lower and surrounded by rocky bluffs. The campground is about 7 miles off the interstate, and only one sign at the interstate directing, with several turns making getting there confusing. We were overnighting and did not see the marina. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
This could be a great place, but Colorado State parks has let it run down. I will mention a few good things first. The RV spots are close to the reservoir, quite large with many being pull through. Nice is a very nice marina on the reservoir. It seems obvious that the owners (not government employees) of the marina care, because it seems most everything they controlled was in top shape. The campground in another story. Our electrical box was broken and while the attendant said she would contact maintenance, no one ever came. The doors in the men's washroom stalls were broken and the dump station had a type of nozzle that wouldn't allow clean outs, only hose down of spills. Most of the trees were dying, even though there is plenty of water in the reservoir. There are many nice park in Colorado, but this is not one of them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$20
This park did not receive a "10" because it has pay showers, as do most Colorado parks. They did have a new hot water heater and I really think my $.50 lasted longer than three minutes. This is desert camping, but close to the expressway. There are plenty of pull through sites. Our intention was to just stay one night, but we were enjoying ourselves so we stayed three. It is well worth it to buy a Colorado state park pass, though you must buy one for both your RV and towed vehicle. True, you cannot hook up to sewer or water, but there are plenty of spigots and the spigots are threaded so you can hook up the hose to fill your tank. The wind blew strong, but I washed clothes in the excellent , reasonable laundry and hung them on the back of the rig to dry in about an hour. We camped on the weekend, but nobody was rowdy. The lake is very low, but plenty of people enjoyed it. Nice trails and bike path. We had shelter over picnic tables. I found the staff and volunteers very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2012
$20
This is not one of CO best parks IMO, however, it is still a good value for the money. It is very popular and fills up on the weekends. Yes it is dry and there is little or no shade on the hiking trails. Its the high plains. That's the way the good lord made it. The trails are easy and fun. There is a paved bike trail that runs all the way to the Pueblo River Walk. The wind can be a problem in most of the western states especially in the spring. Again that is just the way it is. This state park is convenient to the interstate. Most sites are easy to get in to. They are paved. They are large and have covered picnic tables. It is a great place to overnight. But don't expect this to be a KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
May 2012
$27
Located in the arid, high desert East of the Rocky Mountains Lake Pueblo is a blue jewel among the dun-colered mesas. The park itself is large, with multiple campgrounds. Some of the sites are close enough to easily walk to the lake for some fishing from the bank without. There are nice, shaded picnic tables at just about every campsite and there are two buildings with washers/dryers at one of the campgrounds. Finding park staff to help with an issue is almost impossible. For campers who drive in without a reservation it is an honor system check-in because there are no rangers to help you out. At the entrance to each of the campgrounds there is a building where campers are to stop and fill out info cards, stuff money in an envelope and then drop said envelope into a designated slot. You put $20.00 in one envelope for camping and $7.00 in another for a day use fee. You are expected to hike or drive up to the empty ranger station each day of your stay to repeat this ritual because they don't allow for more than one day stay on their envelopes. There is only electric at the sites, to dump or get water you have to pack up your RV and drive to the dump/water station. You will have electric only so long as a prairie dog (numerous in the area) doesn't decide to gnaw through one of the buried power cables as happened while we were there. Great place to stay if you love fishing. The campground fills up and gets noisy on weekends and the trails to hike are barren and hot, no shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
The photographs of our site (310) that were on the ReserveAmerica.com site must have been taken in the spring. There was no green grass when we arrived, in fact there wasn’t any grass. I think the prairie dogs probably ate all of it. Not a very hospitable landscape and the vegetation looked like it was struggling. Our site was a pull through and level. It’s impossible to stay on the asphalt due to the shape of the pull through. Very windy the 2 days we were here. Good 30-amp power and a good Verizon cell and Aircard signal. There was nothing in the way to interrupt a satellite signal even though there are some trees in the park. A good overnighter since this isn’t one of Colorado State Parks best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
We stay here multiple times every year! Although the weekends can get QUITE crowded, starting Sunday evening it's REALLY nice and quiet. Now that the fire ban is lifted, we're looking forward to our next trip in a week (three more this season, at least). The Park is currently going through a construction project that's added SEVERAL water "hydrants" for filling tanks in CONVENIENT locations throughout the campground, plus they've "upgraded" the dump station. NICE improvements. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$21
State Park campground is a destination for boaters. Pros: easy access to Lake Pueblo at busy boat ramp, huge sites, picnic tables sheltered by wind breaks, deserted except for summer weekends, fire pits Cons: windy, barren plain overrun by prairie dogs and rabbits, pay showers, no water hookups. If you're not a boater, skip it. Lakes are scarce in Colorado, so this one is worth the cons. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$11
Like all Colorado Parks this one charges a daily use fee in addition to camping fees. All Colorado State parks have metered showers so bring quarters. Pueblo is very popular in the summer. It fills every weekend and can get noisy. I would not camp here in the summer because of the crowds, lack of shade and heat. I have camped here off season twice and enjoyed it. The wind can be a problem in the spring. The northern lake area is best for RV's and the southern side is mainly for tents. Sites are large in the northern area and easy to get into. There is 50 amp service. There are lots of hiking trails. Many of the camp sites have lake views. The facilities are very clean but are a bit worn from heavy use. My rate reflects the seniors Aspen Park pass rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$22
This is an older campground, with 30 amp electric only. Most of the sites are not level. There is a lot of dirt and dust here, when the wind blows. Apparently, it blows all the time. The bathrooms are dated and they charge for showers. After paying the $7 entrance fee, and the $22 camping fee, it is really tacky to have coin op showers. This park is really for the local boaters. I won't be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
November 2010
$11
This is a review of the Arkansas Point campground which is on the south side of the park. Roads and sites are paved. Our site was a pull thru and was spacious. Many of the back-in sites look as though they would also have fit our 34' 5th wheel and truck as they are double wide. Sites only have electrical hookups, but water spigots are located in various locations in the loop. The dump station is easily located at the exit and was set to handle two rigs at a time. Campground was clean and appeared to be maintained. We camped during their winter season so the showers were closed and we couldn't evaluate them. Most sites would accommodate a satellite dish and over-the air antenna picked up a number of stations. Campground is on a hillside so leveling involved using blocks on one side to level. It was very quiet, in part due to the small number of other campers but also it is well away from the main highway. Rate was based on a senior resident discount. Normal rate is $20 a night for camping plus an entrance pass. Campground is about 4 miles from Pueblo, which has all the shopping, restaurants and amenities one would need. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
This is a nice State Park. It is a little tight for large 5th wheels with some low tree limbs. The sites are nice but not very level. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$26
We stayed here at the Arkansas Loop Campground. We had a beautiful campsite overlooking the marina. Our site #32 was nice and level, however as previously stated by others, some sites look quite unlevel. The sites were large and a nice distance apart. The campground was very clean and well patrolled by a very friendly and helpful staff. We stayed here two nights and would definitely stay here again. Would have given it a 10 had it had full hookups. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$26
We stay in the Yucca Flats campgrond several times a year and always have a good tme. The only downside is the small number of sites with decent shade. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
The campsites here are usually very spacious. However, there seems to be a lot of sites that are not level whatsoever and we were stuck in one of these this time. As with other Colorado state parks, you need to pay the $8 fee to reserve sites online. Usually this system works well for reserving, but on this last visit, our original site was double-booked. We were not impressed to say the least. The camp hosts were very friendly in resolving this issue. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
We camp/boat at Lake Pueblo State Park often (~8 times per summer). The YUCCA LOOP is, we believe, the best of the campground loops with VERY clean bathrooms and VERY LARGE spaces. ***GREAT*** camping with the ability to have fires in fire pits (unless there's a fire restriction). Fairly close to the marina. ***IF YOU'RE BOATING IN 2009, BE PREPARED FOR LONGER THE NORMAL WAIT TIMES TO BOTH LAUNCH AND RETRIEVE DUE TO ZEBRA MUSSEL INSPECTIONS AND DECONTAMINATION - BOTH MANDATORY. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
We agree with previous posts. Very nice park with excellent facilities, well maintained and patrolled. Becomes a little pricey when the $6.00 daily use fee for each vehicle is included. April is a great time to stay here; you have your pick of the best sites. Make sure you make reservations if you plan to stay more than 3 days. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$18
Nice state park - electric hookups only (30 amp) with conveniently located dump stations and ample restroom facilities. We stayed in the Arkansas Point section of the park and our restroom had no shower facilities. The views here are stunning and the Campground got very busy over the weekend with boaters and fishermen - we are neither. I don't know if we would stay here again as we didn't find much to do in the Pueblo area. Keep in mind that Colorado charges a day use fee for all vehicles in the park. This is on top of your camping fees and is applied to all motorized vehicles. The fee at Lake Pueblo was $6 a day. In our case (motor home and tow vehicle) an additional $12 per day. We have offset this fee by purchasing the annual pass - $60 for the first vehicle & $25 for the second - good for one year from the month of purchase and good at all Colorado state parks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2008
$18
Nice state park. $18 camping fee is addition to $6 daily entrance fee. Wide variety of sites to choose from on 2 sides of the lake. Very little shade, but each site does have a picnic table with shade awning, along with a fire ring. Bathrooms very clean and plentiful. Laundry facilities at several campgrounds in park. Both pull-in and pull-thru sites. Electric only service at each site, but 30 amp service was good. Dump stations and water located at entrance to each campground. Lake levels were extremely low, so the lake front sites were still well away and above the lake. Beautiful view of the mountains. The north side is pretty close to residential development, but enough on the other side of the hill to not see it from the campsites. We were here mid-week in April and very few other campsites were occupied, so we had our choice away from everyone. Rangers patrolled frequently. We will return, but only in spring or fall. It's probably a very busy campground during the summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2007
$18
This was a very nice park. All facilities were excellent. The staff were very helpful to us with a special request. The only thing that kept this from being a 10 was the silly Colorado rule that will not allow a camper to book for more than three nights without a reservation. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2005
$18
If you have a boat this might be a great place, otherwise I don't recommend it. It was blazing hot and the sites have NO shade. It was also very windy. Friends of ours also went boating here, but the high winds caused such waves they had couldn't safely take their kids on the water. This was after waiting over an hour to get to the dock. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$14
This is a desert/lake campground with extremely spacious sites and shaded picnic tables at each site. The showers were very clean with laundry room available. Very quiet park on a beautiful lake. Mountains in the background. Elevation 4500' which makes for moderate temperatures. We really enjoyed this park. Park rangers patrol and friendly gate workers are very helpful. Pray for rain, though. The lake was extremely low. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com