223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Salt Creek Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (360) 928-3441
CGID5877

Salt Creek Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
92
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   10   8   8   8   8   5   9   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Beautiful coastal views and tide pools! The campground itself is in a historic site with WWII gun emplacements on display - a great history lesson. Site in the campground vary widely. We stayed in the wooded section of the park where there are no hookups. Sites are tight for RVs, but privacy is high due to many trees. Non-hook up sites seem intended for tenters but we chose this section of the park rather than the open bluff area with hookups. Views from the bluff area are spectacular but privacy is non-existent. The park was packed with families and kids during our visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
We have been to Salt Creek Recreational Area many times and it never disappoints. When the regular coastal fog clears, there are wonderful views of the Strait of Juan De Fuca. You can pass the time watching cruise ships and huge tankers on the horizon. A few short steps down to the water's edge is a prime place to catch the sunrise and sunset. Nearby Tongue Point also provides for breathtaking views. Don't expect Wi-Fi connectivity, the park does not provide it, and unless you want to pay huge international roaming fees from Canada, you won't have cell service most of the time. There are no sewer hookups although there is a dump station. There is a nice mix of RV and tent campers and all are well behaved. In the space where we stayed, there was ample room for slideouts, awnings, and parking for our towed vehicle. Do check their web site for specific info, as spaces vary in size and amenities. We will revisit any chance we get. We can't say enough good things about the little haven. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$26
Incredible view over Puget Sound here! If you are a bit athletic, you can even climb down to the tide pools, but be warned there is a lot of fog here. Paved roads and paved sites, although a bit close together compared to a lot of public campgrounds. (This is owned by the county.) Location is close to Hoh Valley and Neah Bay, and not too bad a drive into Port Angeles. BIG WARNING, however, is that your cell phone and mobile hotspot will likely roam into Canada from this campground. I logged in $50 worth in just a few minutes while first being told on the phone by Verizon that my hotspot could not roam and then being told it could! I turned off roaming on my cell phone, but that meant I could not get any service at all much of the time--just a slight signal occasionally. Luckily Verizon reversed my charges but I could easily have spent a lot more without knowing it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Arrived at this park without reservation on a Thursday at 11 am. As I was pulling in, another rig was pulling out and I grabbed site 7..front row on a low bluff, with full on view of Strait of Juan de Fuca..with all the boat traffic and ambiance. While many sites are reserved well in advance, there are a dozen or so sites left for first come first served. The entire waterfront row is non-reserved. Weekends were packed. Most weekdays filled by mid-afternoon. Saw several 'locals' who know the system pull a car into an open site, put their paid tag on dash then get picked up and come a day or two later with their rig. Locking up an otherwise available spot. Many families, yet quiet at night. Park gate closes at 10 pm. 14 day max stay. A nice separation of tent sites from RV sites. A large park, with mostly open RV and wooded tent sites. Concrete pad with grass strip between sites. Picnic table and fire ring. 50 amp and water. Dump station with lots of blue boys being hauled around, Playground, Hiking, and Tide pools. In my opinion, sites are snug for big rigs, as our fiver and truck barely fit without hanging into road. Width gets friendly if your neighbor is big and you both have slides. Fire ring ended up about 3' from back corner of our rig. RV sites are set in three rows, each higher than the one in front. AT&T OK about 1/2 mile from park entrance, then bounces over to Canada tower, both voice and data. Verizon Mi-Fi internet was also on Canadian towers so all were OFF in park. Satellite TV OK from most RV sites. OTA antenna was Canadian. Heavy fog some days..fog horns sounding from passing ships..you swore they were going to hit you! Great location for day trips into National Park, Cape Flattery, Port Angeles, Sol Duc hot springs, and Hurricane Ridge. Would definitely come back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$27
We stayed at Site 13, with a full, beautiful view of the shipping lane. The sites were spacious, with a fire ring and picnic table. The trails to the tide pools and bunker were well-maintained. Our entire family loved this place. We will definitely be back! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$27
This is probably one of the nicest parks on the Olympic Peninsula. It is clean and well maintained and, very quiet here. Port Angeles and Sequim are nice towns to visit and shop in. Note... Be careful of international roaming charges being applied to your Verizon bill. We caught ours in time and Verizon took care of the problem. Don't waste your time traveling any farther west with your RV. The road is difficult to drive and the towns and RV Parks (?) are run down and unpleasant. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2013
$24
We had a bad experience at this park, which has driven my rating down. But let's start with the positives first: it's a beautiful setting with most sites having a wonderful view of the Strait of Juan De Fuca. There are also nice trails for hiking and great tide pools to explore. Our problems stemmed from the staff and their policies. We made our reservation two months in advance, with 2 calls to the park manager to confirm our site and the dates of our stay. We arrived to find we'd been assigned a site other than the one on our confirmation sheet. We took the alternate site, set everything up......only to find we had no water. Since no one was in the check-in office, we finally contacted the manager by phone, only to be told that a special shut off valve had to be activated in order to get water. Fine...we wasted 90 minutes to finally learn that. But the real topper for us was to learn that several hundred middle school students were arriving the following morning for a day of marathon competition....and, oh, you won't be able to leave or arrive at your site by car between 8:00 a.m. and 2:00 p.m. because the marathon runners would be on park roads. So basically, we were stranded there for the day, unless we could get our car out of the park by 7:30 a.m. It would have been nice (and professional?) to have been warned of this in advance, especially since we talked by phone with the park manager twice earlier in the summer. Then there is the small matter of what 300++ middle school students do to park ambiance when they arrive in the school buses and basically take over everything. My advice is, if you plan to book here, inquire in advance about the possibility of events like this. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Beautiful camping in the dry camping bluff area, sites in the 50's and 60's. The hookup area sites were rather close together and not very appealing to us, but those on the bluff were secluded and nestled in the trees overlooking the Straits of Juan deFuca. We liked most of the sites in the 50's and some in the 60's which were more protected from the winds. Bring your generator as there isn't adequate sun for solar. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2013
$24
I will have to write this before I figure out what the rating should be. Negatives first. The reservation system is from the last century. Download application from Internet, mail it in with a check and wait a week for a reply. We reserved early and it worked well enough since we started very early. No sewer at the sites but there is a convenient dump station onsite. Bathrooms were pretty heavily used and a bit dirty. BUT, most of the reason for the dirt was the wonderful access to the tide pools. More on that later. There is a no-alcohol policy. My wife flaunted her nightly wine using a clear glass and no one mentioned the flagrant violation. Final negative is more odd than negative. I screwed on the hose and turned it and nothing came out. You'll have to get down on your hands and knees, open the cover and operate the water from the main valve. Not a major issue but a bit strange. Now, the good stuff. Our campsite was level and roomy enough. Plenty of room for the four slides and parking the tow was easy enough. Almost all sites can see the water. Tents were across the road from us which allowed our unrestricted view. The access to the tide pools is great, though steep rocks might be an issue for those with problems. The tide schedule is posted and we had great fun. The camp staff is very limited but was friendly and actively taking care of the facility. The camp was full when we were there with half the sites space available only. Lots of kids riding bikes but we had no noise problems and everyone seems to have gotten along well. We stayed four or five nights and had a good time. Weather was foggy and cool but OK. I would go back if in that area. I really enjoyed the closeness to the Hoh Rain Forest. We did the Hurricane Ridge trip and the trip to the actual rain forest area. What an education. Spectacular views and access. Now that I have listed the pros and cons I guess I will choose an "8". Probably a "9" except for the reservation system. You'll need to plan ahead. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$24
This was our first camping trip with our new rig. Salt Creek is close to home and we have been here many times over the years, just not in an RV. Nice, well-kept facilities. Could benefit by adding another dump station. Rate we paid was residential - a couple dollars more for non-residents. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2013
$27
This county campground is extremely popular in the summer, when reservations are highly recommended. During the off season it is quiet and peaceful. There are two camping areas. An upper area (where we stayed)offers spacious, but not at all private, electric/water hookup sites with fantastic views of the Juan de Fuca Straits. The lower campground offers more primitive sites amid tall evergreen trees. These sites have more privacy and easy access to some interesting tide pools. There are flush toilets and showers, but given the number of campsites and the popularity of the campground, it would be nice if there were more showers available. Be advised that this is a no-alcohol campground. Signs were prominently displayed that no alcoholic beverages are allowed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$25
Very nice park. We stayed in the front row of the open sites with a great view of the Strait of Juan De Fuca. There are 3 tiers of back in sites in this area with a view. Our satellite worked fine, the drive through and other sites are in the forest and not as good of a view. There are 3 sets of stairs that go down to the small beach and tide pools. We would stay here again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
Nice campground with a view of the Strait. Paved roads and somewhat narrow sites, some in the open and others heavily treed. Water and electric service only. Almost 30 minutes to Port Angeles for shopping. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$25
First a warning about cell phone use. Depending I suppose on your carrier, but for us with Sprint Data plan, our modem phone was picking up the international signal, and we were charged the extremely high rates until we were sent a warning from Sprint that is was occurring, and we turned it off. Now the good, I'm a history buff, and hiking around and exploring the old WWII bunker sites was fun. The hike to the top of Striped Peak is a "healthy" work out, but the view is fantastic. Other hikes worth checking out are the paths to the rocky shorelines and tide pools. The roads along the back-in terrace sites are narrow, as noted. My 33 ft class C got in, and with some wiggle a similar size 5th wheel got into a middle terrace spot as well. There is only one pay shower stall per gender, (25 cents for 2 minutes), but even with a large school field trip camping, I didn't find a wait at the gate. We arrived early afternoon on a Friday, and by that evening the park was 80% or so filled. This still being the slack season, I suspect getting in without reservations will be difficult in the summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$25
This is one of best settings I have ever encountered. The views are phenominal. The big rig area is divided into basically three tiers which are at different levels. The middle tier which we stayed in, site 21, with our Jayco 29QBH, could have been challenging if we had neighbors on each side. There is a short but substantial drop off to the first tier which could make backing a big rig, esp TT a little challenging without cutting a corner through your neighbors site. The reservation process is a little bit of a pain but we had no problem with a first come first serve. Just make sure and check the available sites on their web site and if there are plenty left covering the length of your stay, you should stand a good chance of getting in. I checked the day before and day of. We had reservations at Diamond Point, K & M but based on Salt Creeks photos we chose to take our chances. Sites 1-5 are nice but could present a challenge for a big rig. The remaining sites, on the west side of the area are all dry and for the most part pretty small. We could have gotten into some of the sites but not the majority. The pull throughs look to be pretty unlevel. Our site was almost perfectly level side to side. The camp host was very friendly and firewood bundles are modestly priced. Firerings are provided and are very adequate. There is a dump station but no fill station, minus water points which you can fill water cans with. Playground is nice but designed for 5 and up. Plenty of trails and open spaces. I saw four or five horseshoe pits which looked to be very well maintained. The must see are the tidal pools which are just awe-inspiring. Our weather was near perfect with not one day of rain. Closest store is in Joyce about 10 minutes away. I can't wait to bring my in-laws up here as they will really dig the ocean and WWII bunkers, which are neat to explore. Bring good shoes for the tidal pools though as volcanic rock is kind of jagged. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$29
The rate was for out of county and extra car. It is very clean and has great views. Deer every morning and fog every morning as well. The showers and bathrooms were very clean. We got very lucky driving in on a Mon to get a first come, first serve spot..phew I would recommend the reservation process, even though it's long. It seems like we saw 15-20 people a day trying to get a spot. We camped here with 2 small children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
This park is in a wonderful location. We spent the day wandering the tide pools. There is little privacy between sites and no shade where we were. However, we had a major problem. There is no office, so we followed instructions and paid for our second night by placing payment in a lock box. Our site had a "reserved" sign locked in place. We left for a few hours to go to Olympic Park and did not leave our personal possessions behind (concern about theft) but counted on our payment and reserved sign. When we got back, our site had been rented to somebody else. There was some information at the entrance saying that we should make the site look lived in to show occupancy. It did not say the consequence would be losing our site. The ranger would do nothing to accommodate both parties. A letter of complaint written to parks and rec later was brushed off. BE CAREFUL AT THIS LOCATION! Leave personal possessions behind or your site will be taken over by somebody else even if you have paid for it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This park is by far the best of all of the ones we have stayed at. The view can't be beat and your looking at Vancouver Island across the water. The entire park is outstanding. Even saw bald eagles and the sunsets are great. The only thing that needs some mention is not enough bathrooms or showers. Also be careful of your cell phone service and or wireless modem use. We have Verizon and found out we were hitting cell sites in Canada from the park. When we got home we were told we owed over three hundred dollars in roaming. The service is good in an around Port Angeles though. Check first before you use your cell phone with your company and see if you might be hitting cell sites in Canada. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
We have put this Clallam County park in our top five. Absolutely fantastic views of the Straits of Juan de Fuca and Vancouver Island, even the lights of Victoria at night. We had three rigs and reserved four months in advance, it's an archaic reservation system but well worth it. Start through their website. We stayed in sites 26, 27 and 28, these are on the top row with great views. Many things to do in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$24
This park is wonderful! We stayed only two nights but would have loved to stay longer. We were able to get a walk-up site for our 30' motorhome with no trouble: directly overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca. But by the next morning, the place had pretty much filled up so you should reserve a site if possible. Check out their web site for more info. Salt Creek Rec area is paradise for children also. Crescent beach is nearby and there are plenty of tidepools to explore and enjoy. My Verizon broadband modem worked. The dumpstation is well laid out and easy to access. We did not use the restrooms but based on how well everything else is maintained, I would imagine they are clean. We would most definitely stay here again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
This park is by far the best place to camp on the North Olympic Peninsula although your enjoyment of the park will depend a lot on the weather (it can get foggy and windy). When the skies are clear, there is no better view in the area. Watching the vessel traffic on the Strait of Juan de Fuca and seeing the lights of Victoria in the distance is really spectacular. Sites in the more open eastern portion of the park are large, mostly 40 ft plus. In addition to about 35 back-in sites, there are about 10 pull throughs that are around 50-60 ft but their view is somewhat restricted by trees. There is access to a number of tide pools to view the sea life and there are some short trails to the old WWII bunkers and surrounding areas. For children there is a wonderful new playground and softball field. All of the guests were friendly and there were no problems with noise whatsoever. The one drawback is a rather cumbersome reservation system that requires you to mail in your request or visit the county courthouse two weeks in advance. Without a reservation you should probably plan to arrive mid-week to get one of the first come, first serve spaces. You should also be aware that this park is about 15 miles west of Port Angeles so if you need to stock up on supplies plan to do so before you come out to the park. We will definitely stay here on future visits. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
This was a great place to watch the ships pass by the Strait. Was well worth the few miles outside of Port Angeles. One of the nicest places we have ever stayed in 12 years on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
We didn't actually stay here - we didn't make reservations (they need to be made 2 weeks prior to a visit) so we just tried for one of the 1st come/1st served spots, but they were full. They do save a bunch for last minute people. This was a great looking campground! One area has big open sites for trailers & motorhomes, with views. The other area is back into the trees. We were there on a Monday and it was pretty much packed - tents, trailers, motorhomes, you name it. Good times were being had by all. We'd stop again & try to get a spot. WE DID NOT STAY HERE. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$24
This is a county park, but very nice by those standards. It has 50 sites or so, each with hookups. AT&T cellular service is overridden by Rogers Cellular from Canada (across the Sound), which makes your calls, texts and data activities international; however AT&T says that they will credit these international costs since we’re really in the US. Park closes the gates at 10PM, so keep this in mind. Easy access to dump station which is included in the camping fee. There are two sets of campsites – the front set and the back set. Best sites in the front set: for back-in trailers, sites 25-32 offer great view of Puget Sound out the back window. Other sites below these back-in the wrong way and the back window doesn’t face the sound. But for motorhomes, the upper or lower sites also offer great views – but the middle row is blocked by the lower row. Many very private tent sites are also available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
I agree that this is a wonderful park. Very clean and well maintained. The park ranger was vary helpful with finding a site. The dump station was under construction when we visited, but, should be finished soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$24
What a great park! Many of the sites a located on the bluffs overlooking the Strait of Juan de Fuca, so you can sit at your site and watch big ships go by. During low tides you can climb down the access steps and visit the tide pools. The grounds were kept immaculate with lots of grass and tiny daisies all over the fields. Great playground for kids and a neat World War II bunker to visit. Fire rings are available at each site and the camp hosts can sell you some firewood if you forget yours. Showers are 25 cents for 5 minutes. If this park had sewer hookups I would have given it a higher rating. Overall, we really liked Salt Creek Park and will definitely return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
Well tended, very attractive grounds. Limited hook-ups that can accommodate big rigs with a pull-through. Some back-in sites with utilities. Level, well maintained grassy sites with good separation between sites. Dump is unique -- following the arrows requires driving through a very low tunnel (12 foot height limit), an old gun emplacement site consisting of concrete bunkers. Dump can be reached by backing in the out road, approximately 150 feet from the intersection. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
Wow. Awesome place. You can camp dry in a wooded point over looking the ocean and Canada or with hookups with almost a 180 degree view of the straight of Juan de Fuca. The park is on the East side of the point so there wasn't much fog or rain compared to cities like Forks. There is also a great play ground my kids just loved. This was a good location for our trips to the various spots of the Olympic National Park, and a short trip to Victoria. Just about every morning and evening we had deer in the grass outside our trailer. The park sits on an old WWII gun battery. You can climb in the old observation bunkers and when you dump you have to drive right through the bunker where the 16 inch guns were located. There was also a nice bay to to the west of the camp ground. We saw a whale one morning and a bald eagle every day. The only bad thing about the place was the gate was closed at 10. I had to carry my asleep five year old two hundred yards to our trailer after a long day in Victoria. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$24
Quite a few miles west of Port Angeles, but worth the drive. Spectacular view of the Strait of Juan de Fuca from your front window. Cargo, ferry, and passenger ships frequent this strait. Interior roads and sites are paved. Sites are not real level, but workable. Central dump station was closed during our visit, but was to open soon. Stayed on Site 9 in a 45 foot motorhome. Park easily handles big rigs. No reservations, so arrive early. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$22
We have been full timing for 10 years and have stayed in many types of campgrounds. In our prior experiences with county campgrounds, they have been either very bad or very good with little in between. Salt Creek is one of the very best campgrounds we have ever been to. Sites are level and easy to get into and out of; no rocks, posts, etc. Ocean views from the hook-up area are spectacular. The sites in the wooded no hook up area are mostly short, but there are about a dozen sites that would accommodate a 30+ foot rig. In order to reach the dump station, must go through a 12' 5" tunnel, too low for our 12' 10" rig. Campground host says it is possible to back the 0.1 mile into the dump station; we chose to dump at our next destination. Most RVs had Washington license plates; fellow campers were unusually quiet and considerate. No reservations-hooray! Starts to fill up mid-afternoon and full by Thursday evening for the weekend. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
A large variety of sites that should suit everyone. We were prepared to camp without hookups and that's what we chose. We had a woodsy site with stairs down to the water. Lots of hiking trails. Though our hike up to Striped Peak was cut short due to the closeness of gunshots. Camp hosts were very nice and fellow campers were quiet. There is a very nice children's play area and basketball courts. This is a well known area for tide pool exploration. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
There are 39 newly upgraded w/e sites in a meadow with a great view.There are 51 non-utility in a treed section. The rates are actually $20 for county res and $22 for non. The tent sites are $14 and $16..This a great place place with nothing to do but scuba dive,fish off the rocks,tide pool at low tide, some hiking and a lot of sitting and looking at the water. No res as yet. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com