218863 User submitted reviews online!!
Caboose Lake Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (219) 261-3828
CGID5880

Caboose Lake Campground

Camp Information
Sites
115
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$31



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
4   8   5   8   5   1   7   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2014
$31
If you need or don't mind trying to sleep a few yards from interstate traffic this is a nice well maintained park. Over-the-air tv was scrambled, maybe by the interstate. The hookups are odd, spaced far apart from each other and sometimes the water spigot was quite far, I stretched 20' of hose. Try to ask to pick out a site, there are good pull throughs and the back ins are right next to the little lake, but the other side has trees and is further from the interstate. There's a playground/"beach" for kids and paddleboards, they seem to get a lot of weekend people coming to use these facilities. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
Very nice park to stay for a night or two. Road noise may be an issue because park is immediately adjacent to I-65, north exit 201, and there are many big trucks. Rate is what Good Sam members pay. Check-in was friendly, fast, and efficient. Pull-through sites may need attention to create a more level pad and fill low spots. Standing water on sites, grassy areas, and roads may be a present after a rain storm. Some water hookups are on the door side of the RV, but there is good water pressure. Wireless Internet is available for a charge. There is no cable TV, but over the air channels are available with a good digital antenna. Swimming in the small lake is allowed only at the beach, and the beach was neat and clean. From June 1 to August 31, there are many activities at the park for kids of all ages. We have stayed here many times as we traveled I-65, and have not been disappointed with the park and facilities. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
This campground is right off the freeway and is VERY noisy. That being said, the park is easy on and off the freeway and there are not many parks in this area. The sights are pull though with full hook up and fairly level. There were a lot of activities for the kids and a small lake to swim in. We would stay here again if passing thought the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$31
This park is a bit hard to rate. The ease of access is very good as it is at the intersection of an interstate and a state highway. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. The gravel sites were almost level. Free WiFi was strong. The park has a nice lake. The downsides are two: the road from the entrance office to the campsites is cluttered with a LOT of campground maintenance equipment and not appealing. The second downside the owners have no control over but it was a BIG annoyance. The interstate traffic noise was non-stop and the trucks using engine brakes on the exit made sleep difficult. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
October 2012
$15
This is definitely not my favorite campground. The highway noise is some of the worst I've ever camped near. I knew that going in, but it was so loud we couldn't sit outside. Inside the trailer it was OK because we have good insulation. There were only a few TV stations available using the antenna. There is a charge for WiFi, but our Verizon and AT&T cellular both worked fine. The lady at check-in was not overly friendly, but she was efficient. All the sites are full hookup so the "$15 fee to dump" is only for people who are not staying in the park. The sites were nice long pull throughs, and easy to navigate. We would stay here again, for one night as we passed through the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!! The lady running the show, she is nice for her first 3 sentences, but as soon as she gets your $$$ then it’s: NO SOUP FOR YOU! Unless you are into being bossed around and sent to your corner for a time out, you should go elsewhere. This place is just crazy. The facilities are right off the freeway (loud noise). They charge for EVERYTHING, including the air you breathe and use of daylight. ($15 just to use the RV dump???). Avoid this place at all costs. We pulled in and she started yelling at us the second we got out because she thought a blowing napkin in the parking lot was our trash, she also freaked out while I was backing into a slip, thinking I was going to touch her precious dead grass (which I didn't). This was WAAAAY worse than just having a bad day. You can tell this place is run like a concentration camp. I was afraid my kids might look at her and turn to stone. We couldn’t leave fast enough! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2012
$27
Nice spots requiring prepay because it is one night seems extreme. Arrived about 3:00pm. Cleaned. Other campers not friendly. Acted like we were CIA. Needs more trees and much less road noise. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$29
Only stayed over night but this campground is super clean and has spacious sites. Not a 10 because they do not allow outside firewood and the fact that it is very close to I-65. Road noise at night. Would stay again if passing through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2012
$15
Bargain price at $14.98 using our Passport America. It is a lovely, clean spacious RV park with lots of amenities for families, which do not interest us. Likely a destination site for locals. Level pull through site for our 41' motor home + tow car. Downside is that it is extremely noisy right alongside I 65 and entrance off Hwy 24. It appears that spaces across the lake are for long term RVers so overnighters get the interstate noise although there were construction workers trailers there too. Wonder why they don't plant trees or noise capture shrubs along their back fence to diminish freeway noise. We stopped only for overnight but would hate to stay longer because of the freeway noise even though I used ear plugs it is louder than a rest stop because the traffic roars continuously all night long. They charge an additional $2 for Wi-Fi which we did not need. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$20
I really love that this park is conveniently located right by I-65. It makes for a very convenient stop over for me because it is located right before you get into the hustle and bustle of Chicago. I see a lot of kids that are fishing from the lake, and a lot of the sites are lakefront sites. The cell phone signal is full bars on my Verizon phone. We needed to resupply and do laundry, and this place worked out perfectly for us. We really liked the midweek pricing which makes this place a 10 in my book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Nice park with laundry facilities that are clean and well kept, however it is immediately next to a major truck route to Chicago and other large cities. The noise from the semi's was so loud it sounded like rolling thunder outside your door day and night. There is also a metal arch to drive under at the entrance that was just wide enough for our motorhome. A wide body model would not fit through. I would give this park a much higher rating if it was not located where it is. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
The road noise from I-65 was horrendous as the park is right next to it. Owner stated W-iFi didn't reach the area we were at which is always frustrating. Why not put in a repeater? This area also had side-by-side hookups which were very, very close. For people who were using this as a destination, seasonal campground, the sites were much better. There is a pay for fishing lake with swimming allowed, although we didn't use it. Internal roads good, sites gravel and level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$14
If you like being by a lake, clean campgrounds, friendly check-in people, level large pull throughs, good Verizon phone and internet then this is the place for you. Rate reflects Passport America. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$25
This campground is a very convenient to I-65. We have a 45' motorhome and were pulling a truck and had no problem navigating our way around the campground. We had a very long pull through and did not have to disconnect. Our site was fairly wide with some landscaping but no large trees so we had excellent satellite reception. The Wi-Fi did not work on our site but we have a MiFi card with Verizon which worked great. I did not hook up to sewer because I would have had to disconnect the truck and move it in front of the motorhome. It's a very nice campground and I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Very well laid out park. Nice level, long, gravel sites. Back in next to the lake and pull through on the outside row. Some water connections are on the curb side so you may need a long hose. The lake is clean and has fishing for a fee. Lots of activities on the weekends. Laundry is clean and has 3 washers and 3 dryers. The west side sits right next to I-65 so there is a lot of traffic noise. We got used to it pretty quickly. All facilities were very clean. The owner is very friendly and helpful. The rate shown was for a weekly rate. A very well maintained campground. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$26
A clean and well kept campground. Extraordinarily friendly hosts/owners. The previous comments about being close to the interstate (real close!) are accurate. I found it to be white noise and it did not take away from the experience for us - especially at night when the AC noise drowned it completely. Pull through sites are VERY long, but they are on the narrow side. Some of the hookup locations are in awkward places in some sites (water hookups are "between" sites, so for one rig the water is on curb/doorside, and on the other it will be in the typical street-side location). We had to buy more water hose and our sewer hose was stretched to the max but made it. Camp store had an assortment of all hoses you would need if you were short. Man-made lake is very clean and is quite nice. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$24
Very nice, modern campground. Little tight around entrance. Ice cream social. Built around a private lake. One part next to expressway. Wi-Fi had to be purchased and was unfriendly to FireFox. No hot water in laundry, but probably a temporary situation. Very friendly, efficient folks. We would return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$26
This is a NICE park! It is conveniently located next to I-65 and open all year. The check-in process was very quick, and we were parked on a site that had good satellite reception and wireless internet. It looks like all the sites have satellite reception. It had clean restrooms and great service! I would recommend this campground to anyone traveling any time!! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
What may pass as a "5 star" campground in central Indiana would be considered nothing more than a convenient rest stop by most. The so called lake, no doubt, was created by the Indiana DMV when they excavated to create the freeway overpass immediately adjacent to the park. It's very conveniently located for us as an overnight stop over and we've used it many times for that purpose, but we'd never use it as a destination. We've found the owners to be friendly, and you'll find pull through sites to fit the largest of rigs. The location of the hookups is very weird on many sites, however, being widely spread apart. I'll either have to use an extension cord to reach the power post, or I'll need 30' of sewer hose, should I need to dump. In many of the sites the sewer pipe is so far towards the rear of the site that once I pull far enough forward to get our toad out of the road, again, I'll need 30' of sewer hose. There is one bath / shower building and it's a LONG way from the majority of the pull through sites. I agree that the park is kept clean. Also, be aware that if a lot of rain is expected, some of the pull through sites will turn into 'lakes'. In conclusion. A great and convenient over night stop, but doesn't meet our standards for a place to spend time. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
Clean; neat; great landscaping; pond use only by permission; owner runs a "tight ship" to keep it clean and pet clean. Downfall is there is no shade and I-65 noise from trucks going to the truck stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$30
This is a refreshingly nice stopover near the interstate. Sites were clean, utilities were easy to use and all the sites sit around a pretty little lake. I would definitely stop here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2010
$24
Good for an overnight stay only. Receptionist told us they had Wi-Fi but when we tried to use it we could never get connected. There was no TV reception available using an antenna. Cable would be an excellent addition for over nighters. Because we were arriving after 7:00PM when the office closed we had to give our credit card number in advance. Receptionist said we could pickup our credit card receipt the following morning after 10:00AM when the office opens. This was very inconvenient because we were leaving at 9:00AM. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$22
We have camped here for the last 5 years. Mostly what is said is true. Freeway noise is and can be annoying. You can camp on the other side of the lake closer to the office. The owner is mostly friendly. This used to be a Passport America park with weekends available. Now the owner switched it to Sunday thru Thursday and no June,July,August. Which really stopped us from going more often. I e-mailed the owner about this but I guess that is her right. There are seasonal campers there. Gets windy a lot. Also be ready for the charge for fishing her private lake. I would camp there again but it isn't to me the jewel that the owner thinks she has. It is the closest campground to us in Northwest Indiana. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
Sites are reasonable, but small. Bathrooms and showers were not available when we went to use them. Lots of interstate noise as it is right by the exit for two truck gas stations and one smaller truck station. All sites are at the mercy of the sun. Managers are nice and businesslike. It is clean and neat. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2010
$13
Overnight stop on our way out of Indiana. Easy in, easy out, close to truck stops and I-65. Has good pull through spots, would have stayed longer to rest up if time was available. Yes, traffic noise from I-65 is somewhat distracting, but with the ACs on, I never really noticed. The staff was very friendly. If we ever have the need, we would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$12
We paid $12.50/night using Passport America. This is a good one-night stop, but we wouldn't want to be here longer, although some people are. Like others have stated, the highway noise is terrible but we have the air on, so inside we don't hear it much. We are in a pull-through next to the highway. The gravel sites are narrow but there is a 10' grass section alongside. Trees are small so there's no shade. Plus, new pine trees are planted right next to the parking area so when they get bigger they will scratch the RVs. The roads are gravel. The park seems to be kept up nicely and the small lake has clear water. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2009
$24
We have made this another of our must stop in places along the way. Although the highway noise is quite loud, the park itself is so nice that you can over look the noise if you stay on the highway side. We have been here twice now and will continue to go back as an over night kind of place. Our last trip here I didn't get to do any fishing, but watched a "long term" resident catch a really large cat fish. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Friendly staff, good overnight stop. Sites are level. Wi-FI works well. Lots of noise from I-65. You have to share water with another site. We weren't told that when we checked in, but when we got to our site we found that we had to stretch the hose under the motorhome to the right side of the rig to get to the water hookup. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2009
$40
Yes, it is noisy from I-65, but if you get a site in the "A" area, it is not bad. The sites are wide, level and grassy. We found the owner to be very friendly and very accommodating. We have camped here before and would do so again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
No great attraction. The I65 noise is to the point of being unbearable. No shade, open level sites. The office help was punctual, not quite mean but not friendly either. You pay for everything at this campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$30
No shade on sites. Interstate noise. Great landscaping and clean park. Small sites, but adequate for those on the move. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2009
$85
This park left a lot to be desired for our family. The owner/ manager was Extremely rude to us and our children. We did not know about the noise from the interstate unit later; it is very bad. Dead fish were laying all over not being cleaned up; the stench is unbearable. We asked to move to another site; management was unwilling to work with people on this issue. We were here as a family unit with my husband working and with children We were not able to sleep because of the interstate noise. Check it out before you pay a weekly or monthly rate. THERE ARE NO REFUNDS at all, so if you have to move due to the noise, you're out the money. As far as activities for the kids, I was told there was a lot of planned ones, bit I have yet to see any or have a sheet showing them. Bring a lot of extra money; every thing costs extra. Fishing has a fee, paddle boats and so on. They have a food concession, but go elsewhere; it is a waste of money. For chips and chili you get six chips and a spoon of chili for $2.25. Overall this was a very bad experience. I would say look else where. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
This is a seriously good stopover park to take a break from the road. Great people, really nice Passport park. Highly recommended after 7 years full timing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2008
$31
Easy access for big rigs. Well kept campground & friendly staff. I would have given this place a 10, but because of the road noise 24/7 from I-65 it got a 9. Noise wasn't TOO bad, just always in the background. BIG catfish & bass in the private lake that you can eat is a plus! Lot's of DVD rentals available in the office. If you stay longer than a couple of days, ask for a lot as far from the interstate that you can get, or a pull in that faces the lake. Two truck stops for fuel within 1 mile. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$12
Nice campground, noise from highway. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$25
We stayed for about a month, would have stayed longer but was transfered to another job. Chris takes pride in her Campground and does her best to see every one enjoys their stay. It is very clean, the laundry room and shower rooms are the cleanest i have seen at any campground. We will stay there whenever we are in that area, and would recommend it to everyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2008
$25
A good place for a winter stop over as the water lines are heated. Staff was pleasant and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2007
$24
The park is ok but their is old mobile homes on site that need to go to the dump. Old equipment setting around that is over 100 yrs old with trees growing out of it. The Manager was very rude and you can't bring firewood in to burn, won't be back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2007
$13
We have stayed at this park 4 or 5 times. We've never had a problem with the staff. The time before this stop, we were given a site that was underwater. Told the office and got another spot, no problem. Will stay again handy, clean and easy access, even though I don't care for the covered entrance. BTW Lake = Pond. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2006
$13
This is a very interesting park. It was very clean. They always say location location location. The good news about this park is it is close to the interstate. The bad news about this park is it is close to the interstate. Some of the sites are right next to the interstate fence. It was the off season when we stayed there so we didn't have a chance to take advantage of all of their facilities. We would stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$22
This is a nice campground. Close to the interstate. It is a little noisy with the interstate next to it. It is good for a overnight stop. We have stayed there several times going North. The owners were nice people to deal with. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$38
We had a reservation for a pull through so we would not have to unhook the toad but, when we got to the campground, the road turned both right and left in front of the office. There was no one in the office, even though it was mid-day, and it was three hours before anyone showed up. Of course, since were no directional signs, we took the wrong road, and had to unhook. There was a note on the door for us to proceed to our site, but no map. We had to guess where it was. When we got to the site, we noted immediately there were no bathrooms or showers on our side of the lake--only a foul-smelling porta potti. You had to walk almost half-mile to the nearest bathroom and shower. To avoid unhooking again, we had to walk almost half-mile to the office, when they finally opened, to register and pay our bill. It was extremely noisy here as the majority of the sites backed up within 150 feet of a major interstate. Not a good experience at all and we won't stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2006
$24
This is a new Campground. The trees are small so there is little shade. The highway is directly next to it so the sounds of the semi's are loud all day and night. If you run your air-conditioner it helps to drown out the sound. The sites were neatly groomed and in good order. Our fire-ring had a watermelon in it, that hadn't been cleared up from the previous campers. We had requested a 50 amp site and they accompanied us to a site, but once we got to hooking up the electric: the site next to us was using the 50. So, we went back to the office and they escorted us to another site. People weren't terribly friendly. However, they did have fishing, boats, etc., (for an extra fee) available. Some of the seasonals were a little "run-down". I don't think we'll return to this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com