214909 User submitted reviews online!!
Peaks of Otter Campground was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (540) 586-7321
CGID5898

Peaks of Otter Campground

Camp Information
Sites
144
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$16



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   4   7   4   6   9   8   3   7   3   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  yes  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2014
$16
Flush toilets and a dump station are the only facilities in this no-hookups National Park campground. Most sites are not level and very few could accommodate our 30 foot trailer. Luckily, we arrived on a Sunday when only a few campers were present and found a pull-through that was reasonably level. Many sites are reservable but unless you know in advance which site is suitable for your needs, I would forgo reservations. The campground is heavily wooded and hilly. A road leading onto the Parkway lines the campground and you can hear the cars go by. On many of the sites, the picnic table and fire ring is either up or down a steep incline from your site. On the plus side, we saw deer walking through the campground and the Peaks of Otter Restaurant is close by which offers a Sunday buffet. We came for the buffet and while it was good, it was not exceptional. We much preferred other Blue Ridge campgrounds, i.e., Mt. Pisgah and Linville Falls, over Peaks of Otter. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2013
$8
We stayed here two nights in small fifth wheel. The sites are very small and very old and surface is deteriorated. Bathroom has NO LIGHTS and we had to go up the hill through other campsites to get to it or walk a mile around on the road. Very shady and damp. This campground needs to be remodeled. It rained and was foggy on the Blue Ridge Parkway, so we left. About 20 miles to Roanoke, VA. We would not camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$8
Our $8 rate is based on the senior pass holder rate for National Parks, non-senior rate is $16. We camp in a 20' Class "B" so if you're the owner of a 40' class "A" this review will probably not be of any use to you. There was an abundance of sites available when we pulled in here in October, almost all the sites on loop "T" were pull through but almost none of them were level. With our short little 20 footer I was able to find a spot that was almost level and we could live with. Our picnic table and fire ring were down the hill from the site with no steps and the ground and leaves were wet so we did not try to use it, some of the sites had uphill walks to their tables almost none of the sites had all the amenities on the same level as the rigs. The bath house was no where in site from our parking spot so we did not use it and can't rate it. All in all we found it a very pleasant camping experience and enjoyed the break from wallet busting RV park rates. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2010
$8
I'm sorry to disagree with the previous reviewer, but we were very disappointed in this campground. We have stayed at many NPS & NFS campgrounds and did not expect "amenities" such as electric, etc. However, we did find that it was NOT level, pull-through sites had very short radius's, and the pavement needed resurfacing several years ago. We would not camp here again. Sorry NPS, you need to upgrade this facility!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$12
This is a very wooded campground along the Blue Ridge Parkway located at milepost 86. The high peaks of the mountains can be seen from the campground and lake. There is no swimming here. There is a bus that, for a small fee will drive visitors up to the top of Otter Peak. From up here the view is outstanding. Campground is very rustic and quiet. At night it is pitch Black here. Two things this park has are Deer that will walk within 3 feet of you, and the most persistent Raccoons begging for handouts at night I have ever seen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$16
Peaks of Otter is an outstanding campground for families with children. It's an NPS campground of the old CCC type, as are all the other Blue Ridge Parkway federal facilities. These facilities were originally designed for car camping back in the 30s, and indeed loops A and B are very nice for this purpose. Loop T was adapted for RV use. There are about 50 sites in loop T. My motorhome is 28 feet and could fit in almost any of the spots. I can think of maybe ten sites in the loop which could accommodate a diesel pusher. Being an NPS facility: there are of course no games, pool, etc., but for ranger programs, exhibits (i.e. the nature center and Johnson Farm), kid-friendly hikes, fishing, and all the other things NPS is known for, it's more than adequate. The camp bus operates to the top of Sharp Top mountain and it's well worth the price of admission. Peaks seems fairly lightly traveled. It's south of the Shenandoah NP crowds and I have never seen the campground full except during mid-October. Strange, because I have traveled the Blue Ridge Parkway many, many times by RV and consider it the best in-park facility. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2008
$16
We had a great time at this campground. Just remember it is a "camp" ground. No electric no water, mostly private, woodsy, sites. I could see where improvements could be made. Fix up picnic tables, a little gravel here and there but all in all a good camp area. We like to be in the woods with wildlife and lots of shade trees. Fire pits are in good shape. Roads into and around the park are paved and in good shape. Dump station works well and is graded properly. Lots of hiking only trails are available. Camp store and gift shop are well stocked. One of the few restaurants on the Blue ridge parkway is located near the campground and serves very good food. Great trip, just be prepared to be self contained! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
June 2007
$16
It's too bad. To see our National Parks fall into this sad state. This park has so much potential, but is so badly outdated that it was almost completely vacant during the 4 days we were there. Nearly half of the sites are closed, apparently because no one uses them. Picnic tables are covered with moss and rotting. All the sites are small, and not well maintained. The rest rooms were not cleaned once during our four nights there. There are no showers, no electricity, minimal ranger programs, excellent hiking, a pretty lake, but a very unpleasant and unhelpful camp host. Perhaps he likes the park to himself, which he is getting, and our tax $$$$$ are going for this??? It's sad to see. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
Love the Mountain top location. Deer walk through your site. It's an older CCC campground so the site will not accommodate some of the larger units. I can get into about three with a 32' trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
September 2006
$16
Limited facilities. Ideal for tent camping. Sites too small for many RVs and unlevel. Maintenance is minimal. Sites full of broken limbs/leaves, and in the trailer section erosion and overgrown sites. Grass is cut and comfort stations clean. No showers. No Cell phone and TV coverage. CG usage is less than 50% most all summer. Ranger interpretive programs primarily weekend daytime plus Sat. night. Visitor Center, trails and nearby lodge facilities. Very quiet CG. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com