214654 User submitted reviews online!!
Gunter Hill COE was rated 8 out of 10 based on 43 user reviews. Phone: (334) 269-1053
CGID59

Gunter Hill COE

Camp Information
Sites
142
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   9   3   7   10   9   9   8   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$24
All the previous reviews are correct. The new Catoma section is beautiful, nicely spaced sites, wide roads, and sufficient for big rigs. The park has wonderful camper hosts and it is overall a very nice peaceful place to camp. All utility hook ups worked as intended with no loss of power even during a horrendous rain storm that lasted all day. The park is not close to stores so bring what you need when you come. Also, the Verizon service is non existent, thus the reason for a 9, not the parks fault. There is an AF base near by, so if that bothers you keep that in mind. We would definitely return to this park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$12
This is a delight. Almost all Corps of Engineer facilities are great, and that includes Gunter Hill. There is no Wi-Fi or cable TV hookup, but everything else is superb. The staff is very helpful and the sites are beautiful. The setting on the lake is superb. Everything is spotless. The rate is with the Senior Pass. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
The rate reflects a 50% senior discount for a full-hookup site in the Catoma Loop. This park stinks, literally. That is unfortunate since it is otherwise a very nice park, but the smell from the nearby paper mill caused what would otherwise have been a 9 to be a 3. The campground has two loops. All interior roads in the campground are paved. The newer, full-hookup loop is the Catoma loop. The sites are large concrete sites with picnic table and fire ring in a nicely designed and maintained gravel area. A few of the sites have some views of the water, but none have a really spectacular water view. The Antioch Loop is older and the sites are dirt/gravel with a rather haphazard layout. This would not be a good choice for a larger RV. There are electric and water hookups with a dump station. The positive is that it has a much calmer feel than the very-busy Catoma loop. It is also less expensive with a standard rate of $18. There are a few small hiking trails, but not major hiking or biking possibilities. Since the park is close to Montgomery, it gets a lot of local folks that stay for extended periods of time. The campground has heavy tree cover but we were able to find a hole for satellite. Verizon is spotty, but we had good phone and data at our site. We were very pleased to have selected the park when we first pulled in. We did notice a bit of what we thought was a sewer odor. However, during the night the smell became very intense, enough to be nauseating. We thought that there must be a major sewer leak. We found out the next morning about the nearby paper mill so it was toxic chemicals not sewer. As the day warmed up, the smell subsided by mid-morning. Unfortunately, this smell would be enough to keep us away from the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
This park is an excellent place to stay. There is a 14 day limit per month. The sites are paved and level. I only had to put down my jacks to stabilize the coach. All the sites are full hook-ups and my site had excellent water pressure. I did have a power surge that tripped my circuit breaker. The Catoma area is the best place to camp, the Antioc loop is very wooded, has narrow sites and is overgrown with brush. The only drawback to the park is the distance from any sizable town (Montgomery), about 10 miles. The trees prevent using my satellite dish, but the antenna worked just fine. I stayed here for a week and would come back again if I was in the area. The $12 rate reflects the Golden Age Passport rate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2014
$12
Excellent COE CG for larger motor homes. Catoma Loop has paved, full-hookup sites, some with a nice water view. We stayed at site 55, a pull-through which easily accommodated our 42' RV. Restrooms in Catoma Loop were clean and had plenty of hot water. Showers closest to our site had individual locking privacy doors. Sites on the Antioch Loop are more rustic, less level and more suited to smaller RVs. Price shown reflects Access Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$9
My rate reflects the senior discount for age 62 and up with senior access card. This is a nice Army Corps of Engineers campground with one section recently redone. Many of them have sewer connections. This is a great place to stop over for a night when traveling through Montgomery. It is some distance from I-65 but not bad at all. No highway sounds at all. No grocery stores nearby but there is a nice convenience store not far with some carryout food. The new area has paved sites for large RVs and they are very level and not close together. A dock you can walk to and boat launch. You can make reservations online through the rec.gov site. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
December 2013
$20
Only stayed 1 night here but wished we could've stayed longer, beautiful Corp of Engineers park. We had preregistered so we just drove straight to our site when we arrived, they had a little red reserved tag clipped to the post by our site. The park is clean and well maintained, asphalt roads and sites, huge amount of space between sites, all utilities worked well, we had a 100ft pull through with an awesome view of the lake. I guess the only negative for me was I had to go about 10 miles into Montgomery to get fuel, food or groceries would have been even further but most folks who use this park will not be concerned with this issue. Would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
December 2013
$11
What a great place to camp. I can't add much to the previous reviews, except that we noticed a strong sewer odor in parts of the new area. Not sure if it is always that way or they were just cleaning something out. Anyway, it lingered all night. AT&T wireless service was good with three bars of LTE coverage. Data service worked great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$11
This is a very nice COE park that has sites large enough for almost any size RV. There are both pull thru and back in sites available and many are quite long. The roads are paved and the sites are concrete. We were in the new section and we were able to use our roof top satellite with no issues. Verizon was adequate with one bar of LTE. Shopping was available in Prattville with many stores and restaurants so one does not have to drive into Montgomery. No firewood is available in the campground and we had to purchase ours at a big box hardware store. The only negative was the low hanging trees over our site which is a problem in many campgrounds. Price reflects Access Pass. We loved this place and will return sometime in the future. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2013
$22
What a pleasant surprise this place was! It was an overnight stop for us and we now wish we had planned to spend a few days more. Campground looks new. Great interior roads. Concrete site that was perfectly level. Gravel area on door side of site. Nobody at front office during our arrival at 1pm. Sign instructed arrivals to proceed to site and check in later. Because we weren't able to secure a map, it took a little driving around to find our site. There are no signs directing you to loops or site numbers once you get beyond the main gate. Our site was beautiful. Right next to the river. Very scenic. Plenty of space between sites. A really well planned campground. Thumbs up to the COE. We stayed in the Catoma Loop and would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Wonderful campground with friendly staff. Park is about 15 miles off I-65 next to a small speedway for those of you that want to enjoy some car racing on a Saturday night. Park has many mature trees and new section has paved sites with sewers. Sites have picnic tables with fire rings. Use directions provided on park website and not GPS if coming from north. GPS tried to take us down some dirt roads even with dirt roads disabled on unit. Definitely worth the price and we will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2013
$11
The campground offers a peaceful scene of trees and nature on the backwaters of the Alabama River and is situated on Catoma Creek in a forest of hickory and pine. The park is basically divided into two sections, Catoma Loop (Sites 1 – 75) (e.g. newer section) and Antioch Loop (Sites 76 - 142) (e.g. older section). The main difference that I noted was that the pads in Antioch Loop where all gravel and provide water/electric only. All sites have a gravel area for the picnic table, fire ring, and BBQ and lamp post. Both sections provide multiple bunk houses that are clean and appear well maintained. The bunk houses provide for separate flush toilets and sinks and individual shower areas. One dump station is also provided at each area. Laundry facilities are located at the larger bunk house. Multiple paved and rustic hiking, walking, and bike trails are available, as well. Gunter Hill has a pavilion on each side of the park. A full range of support facilities are available with Wally World being 15 miles away and Maxwell AFB (for authorized users) 9.5 miles away. Using Verizon I had great voice coverage and fairly decent Internet on 3G network allowing for music to stream, but I was not as fortunate with video streaming from Netflix. Red Box rental booth is located < 4 miles at a Winn Dixie store. Since Gunter Hill is a COE facility the rates are $20.00 for water/electric and $22.00 for water/electric/sewer. Of course, the geezer card will reduce these rates by half. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$11
Nice COE park, we stayed in the new section based on previous reviews. Very Nice. Level and long pads with many pull through and shade. Showers could have been better. The drain is only on the shower side but water goes around the small wall to the dressing side with no drain there so it puddles. COE loves their push button water showers, but its always a pain to push the button every 15 seconds or so. Saves water I assume. Great price with the National Parks card for seniors. We would stay here and plan on it again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$11
A beautiful COE campground. Sites by the water are back in. Beautiful paved streets and concrete pads. Table, lantern hook, etc. complement the FHU site. Rate reflects oldster discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2013
$22
This has instantly become one of our favorite parks. Similar to a state park, this reasonably priced Army Corps of Engineers (COE) park is within a beautiful forested area around a lake. As previously posted, there are two major areas within this park. The older Antioch loop is more "rustic", with some sites not level and all without sewer, but it has its own charm and we wouldn't mind staying there at all. It is also limited to 30-amp service. Some of the sites we saw that were level, spacious and very nice even for large rigs were #97, #99 and #101 which are all near the lake. Also #88, #124 and #128 were nice, but not as close to the water. There are several other good ones. We stayed at the Catoma loop, which is newer with long concrete pads, full hookups and very generous spacing between sites. Overall this is a quiet and beautiful campground off the beaten path. Showers are clean, hot and powerful. There are laundry rooms with 2 washers and 2 dryers within each loop. There is only one short dedicated walking path, but the road is quiet enough that a long walk or bike ride around the park is easy. The nearest large grocery store is approximately 9 miles away. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$18
Be very careful about the previous reviews. There are two campgrounds. The full hookup loops (Catoma) are very good. Modern, level and clean. The other campground, 'Antioch Loop', is very basic. Many sites are not suitable for large rigs. Trees and obstacles make backing into sites difficult. The majority are not level. Gravel roads have large pot holes. Our leveling was at it limits. Check the site before booking. Otherwise it's a nice park. Good facilities and a good price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2013
$22
This is a beautiful COE campground. The sites are long, level, concrete, and there is a lot of natural beauty all around. The sites in Catoma loop (where we stayed) had 50amp electric, water, and sewer. We were able to get satellite, but once the trees leaf out fully it may be a little more difficult in some sites. The camp hosts were friendly and helpful. We stayed here both on the way to and from a trip to another city in Alabama, and would definitely stay here again when in the area. Montgomery is about 20-25 minutes away, with lots of things to see and do. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$11
Rate is with senior pass. We have stayed here before but this was the first time in the NEW section. This is a huge improvement as it's now FHU and nice concrete pads. Wide sites and the pads are deep. Interior roads are nice and wide and other than the really tight turn at the entry any rig can move without worry. We'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2012
$11
Rate is with federal Senior Pass. We absolutely loved this campground. We stayed in the newly remodeled loop and had FHU w/50 amp. It was wonderful. The sites are all paved and spacious. Some are on the river. A couple very short walking trails but the paved roads through the park offer plenty of walking space. We had good Verizon signal and several OTA TV signals. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we're in this area! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$11
A very nice COE park that sets next to Catoma water way and this leads you into the AL river. The COE reworked this park and did a great job. Everything is all new. The sites are all cement, very long and wide, hundreds of feet on each side of the site, level, have 30/50 amp, water, sewer, BBQ cooked equipment, fire ring, light pole, and large table. Lots of sites are now pull through and some sites had to be 150 to 200 feet long. You could park anything in here. Sites are set on 45 deg. angle so very easy to back in. Tons of room in this park to walk or ride a bike. The park is locked at night so you need a code to get in. Staff was super nice as check in. We do not use the bathhouses but in checked them I found everything to be very clean, and setup for ADA use plus an AC system. Bathhouse had two washers and two dryers that cost .75 cents each. New playground equipment for the kids to use. Nice dump station. Park is dark at night. Verizon cell phone worked well with full bars, MiFi 4G had three bars. We had ten TV channels over the air. Sat. dishes will work on most sites but not all. Park is full of large pine, oak, and hickory trees. All the roads are new, wide and blacktop. The COE out did them self on this rework job. You may pick up a little jet noise off Maxwell AFB at times. I wish other parks were half as nice as this place. Rate per night was on our Golden Age card. Not a lot of places out here to buy anything so pack it in before you come. Super markets are around 18 miles one way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2012
$11
The COE of has done a great job of renovating or should I say totally rebuilding the Catoma Loop. This loop had been open less than a month when we camped here. Every site has a large concrete pad. We stayed in site 27 in a 38' rig and literally could have parked two rigs the size of ours, trucks included, on our site. Many of the sites are pull-through type sites. Each site has a picnic table, fire ring, and lantern post. Very easy access for big rigs. Camp hosts were quite friendly and helpful at check-in. We did not use the restrooms but they appeared to be brand new during a drive by. We did notice there were two each washers and dryers. There were two playgrounds to keep the children entertained. The COE has certainly raised the bar on the rebuild of this park, can only hope they use this model at other parks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Half of the sites have just recently reopened after total renovation. All the new sites are huge. Some are over 100' long. Every new site has 50 amps and sewer hookups. Many are on the waterfront. The sites in the older section are heavily wooded and don't yet have sewer. They are scheduled for update soon, also. This will be a real showplace when the other half is completed. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
Followed our GPS route and found the campground easily.  Avoid the GPS planned route between Hayneville and US 80 (collapsing road shoulders jostled the camper) if coming in from points south from I-65.  The earlier comment about the very poor neighborhood before entering the campground is a bit overstated.  The Montgomery Speedway is, indeed, next door, but there were no races during our stay.  Check-in was very efficient, hosts were friendly.  We stayed in the Antioch Loop.  The sites are fine gravel, with many back in sites very deep, and there were a few pull throughs.  Some litter and grill cleanout efforts needed at the sites.  Many sites are not level, especially laterally, but not uncorrectable.  A few sites in the middle of the loop had some erosion issues.  Some sites are far apart, while others are close to one another.  Picnic tables, grill, and fire ring at each site.  Waterfront means overlooking a flat, muddy backwater with a 15 foot dropoff clay bluff.  Not that pretty.  A few bugs, but it is June.  Bathrooms were tiled, air conditioned, and very, very clean.  Shower stalls each had new privacy curtains.  Roadways could use new paving.  Nice children's play area.  No public source of Wi-Fi nearby.  AT&T service picked up about one mile east on Old Selma Road.  HDTV was superb, picking up at least 15 channel over the air, including all major networks and a nice all weather channel with regional radar.  Camp hosts said the other loop would be reopening in mid June and would now have concrete pads with full hookups.  If returning to the area, we would opt for the Prairie Creek COE campground about thirty miles west, where we stayed last year with outstanding views of the whole Alabama River, so we would not come here again.   We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$10
Rate is for Golden Age. This is one of our favorite campground. Lots of waterfront sites, many are quite private, TV reception OK, Verizon phone and hot spot OK, great campground staff, convenient to golf, shopping (Prattville) and Montgomery sites. Try Jim and Nick's BBQ in Prattville. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2011
$9
One of the most beautiful COE parks we've stayed in. Small laundry, nice shower building, pretty sites, great for riding your bike in and around the park, shady, river access. Area surrounding the park is VERY poor, large town of Prattville has everything you need in the way of shopping for staying at the park. This is definitely a destination park if you want to kick back and relax and stay awhile. No sewer but there is a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$9
We found the campsites to be large and well spaced. Our site was waterfront with an absolutely beautiful view on Catoma Creek and fall trees (oak and hickory) reflecting in the water. Everyday we saw herons and snowy egrets. Some sites may be challenging for big rigs. We called the campground directly and got some advice on selecting the site and were pleased. The price for seniors is hard to beat. The bathrooms are old and worn, but clean and were heated. The downside is that it takes 20-30 minutes to get to a grocery store. Our AT&T phones did not have a single bar. There is a paper mill nearby and sometimes the wind blows the odor in the direction of the campground. All in all, we would camp here again just for the beauty. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$9
This park has two loops of camp sites. Roads are blacktop and gravel in some places due to old age. Park has the look and feel of a State Park not a COE Park. All sites are hard packed with small gravel and most are level. Did find a couple sites that were way off level. Nice views of water way from lots of sites. Coming into park a little past the gate house you have one long lane to park in and then check in. This is a plus and you are out of the road this way. Staff was nice at check in and helpful. This park is very heavy with trees. Sat. systems will not work on most sites. We could pick up a number of TV channels over the air, all poor. About ten miles back to Montgomery if you need more supplies. Site had 30/50 amps, water, table, fire ring, and the hook pole. Nice dump station on the way out of park. Nice play ground equipment for the kids. Park is very dark at night with very little lights, only at bathhouses. No noise in this park as you are in the middle of the woods. I will add that a very large auto race track is across the road that could be a noise problem and park may be full of people as well at times. Verizon cell and MiFi air card worked fair here. The price was due to Golden Age card. Gates are locked at 10:00 pm. I also agree the park needs some repair work and upgrades. The COE people needs to spend a little money here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$9
It's about 8 miles from the interstate, but the highways and roads in are easily traveled, just be mindful of which way to turn. This is a COE campground that's getting close to needing some repair. The roads do not have potholes nor do the pads, but they are getting old and it is in need of mowing, which is unusual for a Corp park. It's very quiet and the Spanish moss hanging in the trees make it very nice looking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2011
$9
The campsite we stayed is now on our top 10 list! The campground is primitive to some extent in that we only got about 10 antenna TV channels and our Verizon phones and Wi-Fi Hot Spot worked 95% of the time! (Insert Happy Face here) At the entrance gate, ask to select your own site. If you like waterfront sites, these are some terrific ones to select from. We used Golden Age card, otherwise the rate is double. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Park was well kept. Not a lot to do if you don't fish. Very rustic and primitive and more designed for the "roughing it" type of camper. Bring lots of mosquito repellent, especially in the evenings. Probably not the campground's fault but the previous occupant of our site apparently had a large dog who left lots of large "deposits" around the campsite. I probably wouldn't stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2010
$9
We loved this park! The only down side is they didn't have sewer. But otherwise, it's really beautiful. Under huge trees, and our site was by the lake. We have a 40' motor home so the hosts were very nice to pick a different site than we'd been signed up for. They gave us #15, which actually shared with another one (16?), but because they were so joined at the hip, most people who were site-shopping thought they were just one site and went on by. So we got this huge spot all to ourselves! Felt very private and spacious. They also have a nice playground and 2 new-looking washers and 2 dryers (each only $1). Many folks bring their boats and use the park's boat ramp for fishing and lounging. We biked all over the park. It's a bit out of the way but in a quiet country setting and worth it! And how can you beat the price (with Golden Age Passport - senior discount)?! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$18
We found this park by accident when we were having some work done on our tow dolly. It was a lovely park, a little off the beaten path but worth it. Sites are not all level and may take some maneuvering, but shady and ours was on the lake. Very quiet and the hosts at the gate were very nice and accommodating. We could only stay one night, but plan on making a trip back when we can stay longer and enjoy the surroundings a little more. Only gave it a seven because it did not have sewer hook up, but does have a dump station. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$18
A very clean site. We would stay here again as it's a great place to go walking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2009
$9
We and one other camper were the only campers in the park. Apparently there are two camping areas in the park and we were in the one that was primarily used for over flow. It was a great place to rest after traveling. We stayed here for two days. The rate reflects Golden Access Pass discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$18
Beautiful older park - but needs some updating (Which, I understand, is 'in the works). LOT'S of shade (makes it almost impossible to get a satellite signal, though!), beautiful oaks with Spanish Moss. Gravel sites. Unusual for a COE park - the bathroom facilities and cleanliness left a lot to be desired! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
Beautiful COE park located within easy driving distance of Montgomery and Selma. Both cities have a wide variety of Civil Rights and Civil War sites worth visiting. Campground roads are accessible to large rigs and most of the sites are heavily treed ( our rooftop satellite dish did not work here ) They do lock the gate at night and if you arrive back after closing you will have quite a walk to your site. One word of warning. The Montgomery Motor Speedway is right next door and races occur on most weekends. It can be a bit noisy for a few hours. About half of the sites are held open for first come/first served arrivals. Reservations can be made for the others with no fees or charges being incurred. We stayed for a week over spring break and the place never got full. We would definitely stay here again. The area has a lot to offer for history buffs and nature lovers. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2009
$18
A great campground! We will return when in this area. It is nicely laid out with plenty of room between camp sites. Tall trees with shade at nearly every camp site. Water access for boaters is available and many sites have water access. It is a great place to walk you dog and enjoy the country setting. We are seniors and the fee was only $9.00. We travel in a 40' coach with tow car and most camp sites would accommodate us without any trouble. There are only a couple of pull through sites but the campground is worth the trouble to unhook, if you need to do so. If you are looking for game rooms, pools, spas, planned recreation and activities, don't come. If you are looking for a beautiful setting, quiet camping, wooded area with lots of shade, big camp sites and friendly atmosphere, this is it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$8
We stayed at the Senior Pass rate. A typical Corps of Engineers campground, and I mean that in a good way. Sites are shaded by tall trees, many sites on the water, quiet, very scenic, friendly staff. The only criticism is that a few sites would be tight with slides out. We’ll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2009
$18
We have camped here twice recently. Both times with friends. The playground is very new in the primary area side. The sites were fairly good. The attendants were very nice. We rode bicycles a lot and enjoyed the nature trail. We would stay again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$16
Gunter Hill is not a bad park, just getting old and the lack of funds is showing. Our site (48) was a little beat up and in need of repairs. The bathrooms and showers were also in need of some care. The staff was very friendly. I would say that many of the staff and long term campers were retired persons. We may stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2007
$8
I agree with the last person about the 'ants', we've never had any in the motorhome until at this location. We were in site 28 which looks out on the river. It was a nice large site with some trees but we were still able to get satellite. It's a bit remote but very peaceful. There is a hiking/biking trail through the woods. We had 50 amp service, but not a good 50 amp. Our digital amp monitor went off several times which doesn't happen with 50 amp. I would recommend this park when seeing the Montgomery sites as it's only about 15 miles out of the city! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2005
$16
Spacious camp sites with lots of trees. The majority of sites are gravel back is with a couple of asphalt paved pull through sites. Each site has electric and water hookups, tables and metal pole with hooks for hanging lanterns (lights etc.). Clean camp ground and restrooms. Campground sprayed for mosquitoes. Also ants can be a problem. One complaint I had was some of the restroom sink faucets would not work. FYI: Each year the campground managers (host) bid for a position at COE campgrounds. Therefore a COE campground could change a little from year to year if a new manager is in place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
2003
$16
We stayed here while visiting Montgomery. The park is very pretty as there are lots of big trees (willows). The sites are pretty well spaced. The manager of the park seemed a little stern - making sure we followed all the rules (thus the lower rating). There are lots of roads for walking and some pretty trails between the camping areas. Note that part of the park is sometimes closed when hunting season is open for bow hunters. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com