220830 User submitted reviews online!!
Rushmore Shadows RV Resort was rated 8 out of 10 based on 58 user reviews. Phone: (605) 348-3361
CGID5914

Rushmore Shadows RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
150
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$3



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   9   10   7   7   6   8   9   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$3
The grounds were immaculate. They have activities on the weekends. We had a pull-through site that was big enough for our rig, with room for our car. When we had a hard rain and found ourselves in a mud hole, told the office and within the hour had two loads of gravel on our site, which we thought was excellent. The campground has changed hands and the new owners are making many improvements which are very evident. The restrooms and showers are tiled and updated, very nice. We would definitely return when in the area. The price is for 50 amp with ROD. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
This is a very nice "Club Membership" park. We are members and enjoyed its closeness to the attractions and price. The showers are located in the pool facilities and a separate building. The "Club House" is used for the sales presentation and is not always available. The park is well maintained, as they are trying to sell memberships. Water pressure and electric is good even with a full park. Wi-Fi at our site was good. As nice as it is, it is not worth paying the non-member price. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2014
$1
Rate reflects Coast to Coast Premier membership. We have been staying in a lot of Coast to Coast parks this summer and this by far the best. I thought we would be given a lesser spot, but that wasn't the case. We were given the biggest most spacious pull through we've ever had! The park is wonderfully maintained and everyone has been friendly. The only negative I can think of and it's minor, is the hot tub is too small and it's very heavy on the chlorine. We will for sure be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$29
Check-in was easy and staff was friendly. Good location for many attractions, but comes with a cost. There are many campgrounds to choose from in the area, and after staying here, we would probably pick another park. While checking in, we were provided a list of rules, but discovered this campground does little to enforce said rules. Very large park, which includes cabins and tent areas. Campground has large pet play area, mini golf course, and holds events for its guests. Wi-Fi was weak and not reliable. Wi-Fi only allows so many users, so we were unable to use it until other campers left the park. We complained to office a couple times, but the problem continued. DirecTV (free standing satellite) had no issue. Campground is off highway 16, but we never heard traffic within the park. Gas station is less that 1 mile from the campground, which includes diesel. Roads throughout the park are wide and easy for big rigs. Super Walmart just 20 minutes, away. Bear Country drive, Reptile Garden and Fort Hays just down the street. While here we also visited Keystone, Mount Rushmore and Custer State Park. Our price included a discount for attending a required membership meeting, and this is where our experience changed. A lady conducting the meeting made a couple scary comments; we were not able to leave the building to discuss or think about their membership, or the price goes up… but the most awful comment was made about the comment card we received during check-in. This lady states these comment cards are not considered for evaluation for non-members. It seems this campground only cares about members and if you are a non-member you will be ignored. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$62
This is a beautiful, spacious membership park located close to the areas primary attractions: Mount Rushmore and Crazy Horse. Staff is friendly. Plenty of services for members. However, nonmember transients like us who request a pull through with 50 amps and open sky for satellite reception are shunted to an area a fair distance from the park center where the sites are narrow, not very level and too far from the wifi towers to get reception. And, the price is hefty. Traffic noise from US16 not intrusive. Still, we enjoyed staying in an environment that positively reflects the beauty of the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
Had a free 3 night stay via a promotional program from my RV dealer. Campground was extremely crowded, and sites are very close together. All hookups were at the rear of the site, which makes it a bit challenging for a 5th wheel to hook up. Had a motor home in the site directly behind mine. There was about 6' between us. A lack of parking areas for the tow vehicles made for a difficult time backing into the site. TV's were parked along the narrow access road, leaving about 1-1/2 car widths to maneuver in while backing into the site. Not my style of camping, but it was free. Other than that, the staff was friendly, the campground was clean and plenty of activities if you have children. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$19
The rate reflects the on line special and you have to attend a 90 minute presentation on campground membership. Regular rate is $55. The park is not bad, but not great. The sites are gravel. The roads are paved. Everything looks a bit dated. People are friendly, but there is no help getting to your site or if you need anything. The park needs attention and they seemed focused on building cabins. The lady who does the membership presentation thinks she is a stand up comedian and would starve if that were her occupation. No TV, but the WiFi is good. I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$13
This is a big park with wide grassy, level spaces with gravel pads and picnic tables. There are many amenities, including a nice-looking mini golf course, and puzzles and books available for loan. It is convenient to lots of tourist attractions. This park recycles aluminum cans only. We stayed using Coast to Coast points plus an extra $3 per day for 50 amp service. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
Found this park on the Internet with a special $39.95 rate for 3 nights with a mandatory 90 minute sales pitch. The park is beautiful with large pull-throughs and back-ins. Restrooms are large and clean. Pool and hot tub were heated perfectly! Plenty of activities as well as walking trail, mini golf, bikes to use, etc. Large fenced in dog park, laundry area and even a clubhouse! Sales pitch was to buy into the RV park but once told not interested, they were fine --- even got free chuck wagon dinner show coupons! Found a coupon in a local paper that advertised it for $29.95 for three night and they gave me a refund! Great place. Would definitely return and recommend! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$10
We stayed here with our Coast to Coast membership, so the rate was extremely reasonable. A beautiful, neat campground with lots of room at our site. Great Internet reception! Nice quiet place to stay. Was for the most part out of the wind. We are going to stay again! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2013
$32
Rate is for the 90 minute presentation/ time share. Site was in the wide open slightly unlevel. Pool and hot tub nice. Easy to Rapid city and Rushmore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$1
We stayed here with Coast to Coast, so we paid with points. I put $3 only because I couldn't put 0 . We usually go to Hart's Ranch but they wouldn't take us because of the Labor day holiday. We found Rushmore shadows to be very nice and the staff very pleasant and helpful. The WiFi worked fair but we have our own so only used it once. This park is close to most of the attractions. Stayed 9 nights. will go back again. Verizon works not Sprint. We stayed in a motor Home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$1
Very nice, very large, RV resort with paved roads and gravel sites with large grass areas and table and 1/2 mile away from the highway. Sites both with trees or without trees. Both big rig pull through and back-in sites are wide with 30 or 50 amp water and sewer. Have both big and small sites and separate tent areas. Free un-secured Wi-Fi, but very weak in areas. A large game room and club house and heated swimming pool and spa, no exercise room. Three separate kids play area. Mini golf course in park. Very good Verizon cell and 4G signal. Satellite TV signal in most sites, but no cable TV in park. Only a few scheduled activities on holidays. Staff friendly and helpful. Accepts pets. Fifteen miles outside of Rapid City and 10 miles to Mt Rushmore. Would stay there again. Cost listed is for ROD. Accepts C 2 C, but does not accept Passport or RPI. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$29
Wasn't impressed with the tiny pool or the sites that weren't level. This was a membership type park and the sales people were very pushy and memberships were very expensive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$10
This is a delightful campground with level sites, good water and power. WiFi had a good signal but slow data transfer. Campground was full so that may account for the WiFi slowness. Access streets are wide enough. Friendly and helpful staff. Digital TV good. Convenient to Mt. Rushmore, Crazy Horse, Custer State Park and The Badlands. Nice camp store and laundry. Clean bathhouses. They had a lot of planned activities. Would stay here again. Rate reflects Coast 2 Coast rate. We stayed here in a fifth wheel. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$41
Lovely park a few miles outside Rapid City. Lots of trees, quiet, decent size level spots. Paved access streets with gravel sites and grass on each side. Picnic tables and fire rings. Pool, laundry, volleyball, basketball and small store on site. Wi-Fi is available, but signal is intermittent and somewhat slow. Satellite reception is good. Local channels are strong. Campground accommodates tents and there are cabins scattered around. Family friendly. If you sit through a sales presentation, you get free or discounted rates. We didn't partake and paid the going rate. Would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
We were delighted with this resort. It is conveniently close to Mt. Rushmore and the scenic drives around the Black Hills. Check in was friendly and casual; we were assigned a long back-in site, ideal for our 39ft 5th wheel and truck with room to spare. There was good separation from the next site and shade from tall pines behind. Satellite TV was a little tricky to set up but successful in the end. This is a large park with lots of grassland, tenting areas under the trees, pull-through sites, it does have an open parkland feel about it. Our dogs enjoyed the dog run and the "nature walk" at the edge of the property where we saw deer on several occasions. Families staying at the same time seemed to have great fun at the playground and pool. We are members of an affiliated membership RV group so the price per night is a best guess. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$52
We camped at Rushmore Shadows during the Black Hills Rally. This park was beautiful! Excellent in every way from the customer service to the impeccable well maintained grounds. Store is well stocked and laundry facilities are very nice and clean. Pool area is very clean and well maintained. We would love to go back! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$35
Staff was pretty indifferent. WI-FI 50-50, not all that good or bad. At some back in sites the electrical is in the wrong place - too far away- layout was by the village idiot! Good dog park, lots of grass. All in all- not anything you would want to buy into. Probably would stay again-maybe not. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
Stayed on a 3 night promo, the 90 minute sales spill lasted 2 hours with a lot of high pressure which made us decide against buying in. Internet is very poor, the site we had was very small, otherwise it was in a great location. I hope they continue to improve, we may reconsider. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$42
I camped here for 14 days, including the $29.95 for 2 nights/3 days deal. You have to attend a sales pitch on the first full day for a membership that ranges from $5k to $10k. There looks to be some value there for a frequent traveler, but it wasn't a good fit for me in the next year or two. The daily price is $42--high for what they offer. The camp is nice enough and the owner/manager is friendly, but in this industry friendliness is basic and most of my campgrounds have been wonderfully friendly and helpful. I felt they fell below grade here. Most of the "staff" is the sales force at the clubhouse--they're useless unless you want to buy a membership. The staff is really only at the front check-in building. The camp is lopsided, with the pool, "clubhouse" (a room with two sofas), laundry at the front of the property with all the spaces spreading out largely behind it. So a lot of spaces are far away from it. The pool is small with some picnic benches. I've seen much better facilities elsewhere for less. They have at least two playgrounds and at least two satellite shower/bath facilities. I'm not sure if those had laundry too. The Wi-Fi is useless. I am rushing to type this because it is 8:30 AM and this is the first time I've been able to use the Internet in 4 days. I expect by 9:30 AM it will be useless again. I mentioned the problems to three people, including the owner. I got the impression that Internet is that mystical thing kids are always playing with. AKA, not worth investing in. The access point IDs itself as a $50 Linksys router--that might be a ruse, or it may explain why the Internet is lousy or just unusable. The only way I can use it at all is sitting in my car at the clubhouse in the early morning or after midnight. Honestly, we have little signal at the back third of the park (lopsided park with the antennae at one end). and often we never get an IP address. No cable TV, but basic 7 channels over air. My site was very unlevel but it had three trees so I that was of more value. My auto-leveler had to lift me off 5 out of 6 of my wheels to get level. Many of the sites have no shade at all. Water pressure is good and no electrical or sewage issues. Sewage is at the back of the sites, so I needed a 25 foot sewer run. It is convenient, right on 16 and you've got sites to see in almost every direction the crow flies, which makes it ideal. I would not stay here again, except for a desperate 1-2 day stay. With fires closing roads around us, vicious storms rolling in at night, and just the need to research for things to do and good restaurants, any longer stay you really want Internet. The TV news didn't help (we don't know where "Region 23" or "Myrtle" fires mean). I also had Verizon outages at this camp. Some days I couldn't make any calls despite 4 bars. When I went into town it worked. Something must be up with the local tower. There are other camps that offer better at $42 a night. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2012
$10
Camped here on the promotional $29 for 2 nights/3 days. Asked for and got a third night at no extra charge. To get this rate, you need to listen to a membership sales pitch. For a park that is trying to be big-time, there are a number of disappointments. I was given a pull-through site without any shade trees and high winds on the hillside made using a canopy impossible. It was 100+° during my mid-July stay. My site was impossible to level and I discovered my neighbors sewage line was two steps from my picnic table. Not having cable TV was a bummer, though I had no trouble getting local broadcast stations. Camp store was grossly overpriced and it is about 15 miles to Rapid City. It is a good idea to stock up before arrival. The place is large, with long walks to amenities such as the pool and pavilion. If you are interested, cabin and tent camping is available. WiFi is OK but can become weak at times. Cell service is excellent. About the best thing about this park is it's location. It is ten minutes from Mt. Rushmore and close to Custer State Park and Black Hills National Forest. There are also any number of local attractions nearby including a petting zoo, bear theme park, farm petting zoo, and more so kids can be kept happy. But it just isn't what it it is trying to be. Certainly a decent place to camp and certainly not one I would care to visit without the discount rate. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$33
Friendly staff, nice bathrooms, great location. Wi-Fi was a little slow. Overall this was a great campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$40
Rushmore Shadows is a great campground!! I did a lot of research before selecting this place and frankly, after driving past the other campgrounds in the area, we certainly selected the right one! The campground is very clean and meticulously maintained. The staff were friendly and when we had an emergency with our dog, they were able to help me get him into a great area Vet! We will definitely stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$0
Our space (107) slopes badly toward the rear: rear stabilizer fully extended and front stabilizer barely extended 4.5” rise to bring right side up to level. Most spaces looked fairly level. All spaces are gravel with a lot of grass around picnic table and fire ring at each space. No cable. Five over-the-air channels with one network, two or three PBS, and one or two others. Power cord extended 25’ under trailer to shared hook-up box. I had always thought about getting an extension cord but never really came close to ever having to use one. I will get one (or make one) prior to our next outing after this experience. Delivered 122 volts the entire time. Sewer and water were perfectly placed for our trailer. Water was good. We do use a filter. Water pressure seemed low, but tolerable. I was too lazy to take a pressure reading, and it was mostly okay. The park is immaculate. It has the right amount of manicured grass and trees. The staff was very friendly. I used the clubhouse bathroom. It was also immaculate. No paper towels. Just a blow dryer – which I can’t stand. I did not use the showers, but they looked nice and clean. A very quiet park, even though it was “Bike Week” and the place was full of loud Harleys. We stayed here for free. We had to listen to a 90 minute, low pressure presentation on one of the camping clubs. Gated and closes at 10 pm. You get an unlock code in case you return late. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$10
Very nice, large park. Only had 30 amp available. Sites are long, but narrow. Picnic tables sit next to each neighbors sewer hookup. Nice facilities with a swimming pool, two basketball courts, large park-like grassy area, paved roads between sites. Sites are gravel. Lots of grasshoppers and crickets. The 30 amp was an issue as it was very hot and humid and we needed to run the AC pretty constantly. Laundry room was clean, but costs $2.00 for each wash and $2.00 for each dry. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$1
This is a real nice park. The location is excellent. We would stay here again and send friends and relatives. Our only complaint and that is that behind camp ground there is a house that has yapping dogs that wake you up early in morning. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$125
I stayed here for the Sturgis rally. Drove my Hog all the way from Seattle. I am a member of Thousand Trails and Resorts of Distinction but during the rally all bets are off. But that was okay. The campground is about 40 miles south of Sturgis so you are away from all the big time partying, if that is what you want. What makes this campground so good is it is centrally located to all the major rides, Spearfish Canyon, Deadwood, Mt. Rushmore etc. The campground was very well maintained. The cabin we stayed in can hold up to 5 but it would have been way crowded. We only had two and it was perfect. Inside are two bunk beds with one set having a full or queen size bed on the bottom. The cabin came with basic amenities. Microwave, coffee pot, small fridge, plastic utensils, linens, and a small flat screen TV. The cabin had AC and a small wall mounted heater. The construction was very solid and we felt secure sleeping in it. Outside was a picnic table and a fire ring. In actuality we did not spend a whole lot of time there as we were busy riding. The drive from the Buffalo Chip at 0100 in the morning was a little tiresome but knowing we would be away from all the hustle and bustle of Sturgis was good. Overall I highly recommend this campground. From what I saw of the camper sites they looked pretty level and well maintained. Excellent experience and would not hesitate to bring my rig there for a family stay. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$35
This park is well located about 11 miles from Rapid City and about 12 miles from Mount Rushmore and a little further from Custer State Park and the Crazy Horse Monument. It's a good location to go to Deadwood, Sturgis, Custer, Hill City or a lot of other close by towns. We did not use the pool or spa but understand both are heated. The park has good security and we would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
OMG - what a nice resort! The staff was very friendly and more than helpful. We spent two weeks traveling across 5 states and this was the kids' favorite resort. We traded with ROD and I can't tell you how much nicer this resort is than our home resort. I wish I could drag the owner from our resort here so they can see how one should be run! There is Wi-Fi at your campsite, a pool, basketball court, playground for the kids, and s'mores on Friday nights! This is a membership campground so understand if you are not a member or a member at an affiliate resort, you will have to take a tour. If you are considering membership, this is the nicest resort we have ever stayed at for ROD. They were obviously making improvements when we were there, which is a lot more than I can say about our home resort (which doesn't even have full hookups!) We would definitely stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2011
$1
Don't call it a time share, they'll let you know that they hate being called a time share, they are more like a membership. Anyway, it was a nice place except for a few things: they are rebuilding and by 6:30am every morning they had skidsters driving around moving dirt. Not a huge deal for us since we were up early to go see the sites and we also didn't really pay much. We called them up and got the $30 deal for 3 nights, then when we stopped in Wall Drug we got a flier that said we could stay there for free for three nights plus get free tickets (if you set this up with them, tell them you want the free deal that is on the fliers). We called them up and since we had planned on boon docking at a Wal-Mart asked them instead of refunding our money (which I figured they would refuse to do) if they would just give us the three free nights and another night for the $30 we had paid. They said no problem. When we got there their computers were down and we were told no way could they do that, once you get a deal you are stuck with a deal. We argued and were pains in the butt, and eventually they gave it to us. Their front office is very disorganized. The "tour" took about 2.5 hours (they said 90min, but if you have ever done time share presentations you know how that goes). Doesn't seem like a bad deal, but at this stage in our lives with two little kids we were not ready to commit $6,000 to a membership. Check it out if you are into the time share scene though, seems like a much better concept then the traditional time share. They have events scheduled every night for kids, but they canceled twice while we were there and one night was a BBQ with the owners that they charged $5 to attend (we passed on it). Great place for free, probably wouldn't pay what they want a night to stay there. We were packed in like sardines when the place started to fill up. No shade for us in the full hook up section. But again, free is free and it beat boon docking at Wal-Mart another night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2011
$1
Camped here as part of their attempt to sell their program. Got 3 nights free for attending a 90 minute presentation. Did not buy. But, the park is very nice and getting better (they are making lots of improvements). Our site was an older one next to cabins, but still mostly level and shaded. Very quiet location. One odd thing, the electric hook up was on the wrong side so it could be shared between two sites. Office staff said they did not know if there was a right or wrong side for utilities. Overall, would camp here again if in the area. I listed $1.00 for the fee, but it was free. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$10
Friendly office personnel. Stay was under C2C. Level back-in site with table and fire ring. Park was starting to close down for winter. Pesky squirrel dropped pine cones on coach roof and entered sewer bay and made nest of foam insulation. Great location, laundry $2 for wash/dry but cheaper than in town. I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$10
Our site was in the former storage area but we chose this because it was the only 50 amp available. Site was gravel and downhill in the front, also, not very deep but we fit just fine. The pull-throughs are very long to accommodate big rigs but not sure if they are 50 amp. The park was quiet, the staff helpful, and it is gated for security. Easy in and out location and convenient to area attractions. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
This is a very nice park. We stayed here through Coast to Coast. The staff was very helpful. It is close to Mt. Rushmore. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$15
The restroom/showers and laundry room were very clean. The pool area is nice. I did not like the camp site though. We had to back into a site at an angle. This left for little room for a picnic table without your neighbors rig in your site. We had to run out power cord through our other neighbors site to hook up. The back of out motor home was 2 feet from their picnic table. The $15 per night was a C2C price. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$10
Some of the sites are for big rigs, but about one half are small. I have a 33 foot travel trailer and the site #55 (a back in) that I was assigned was very small for my trailer. The sites in number 300's are much larger. The rate is Coast-to-Coast member rate. I stayed 7 days and will stay again the next time I am in the area, but will ask for a larger site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$10
We camped here in a 38' 5th wheel. This park is big rig friendly. One of the best campgrounds we have stayed at. We are with Coast to Coast so we only paid $10. a night. Had very friendly and fast check in; the room between sites was adequate; had free WiFi that worked great; the gravel site was almost level; there were trees galore; had great dog walking areas and great views of the mountains. It's close to Bear Country U.S.A., a great place to visit. We would stay here again. Also, please be considerate and pick up after your pet before owners will stop allowing dogs or start charging for them. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2010
$42
Very nice place, although a bit expensive. Near a petting zoo and some shops on the way to Rushmore. Peaceful and the staff is super friendly. They host special activities throughout the week for the guests which makes it even more fun. I'd recommend this to anyone wanting a nice place to hang out while in SD. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$11
We had a certificate to stay here 4 days/3 nights free to take a tour of the property. The presentation was about 2 hours; but there was no pressure to buy. We also stayed an additional night at the public rate of $42. Our site was level and our 50 amp was very good. Water pressure is a bit low. Park is clean and employees are very helpful and pleasant. Park does have some amenities and would be a good place for children. Great base for visiting Keystone, Custer State Park and Mt. Rushmore. There are many campgrounds in the area and if I were staying for any length of time I would check out the rates of the others before paying the public rate here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2009
$3
Nice park. Friendly staff. Large sites with lots of room. Grounds are well maintained. Close to some great attractions, i.e: Mount Rushmore. Will look forward to returning to area for another stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
I think RV Resort is sometimes loosely used. Nice clean park but it seems they are more interested in selling memberships than anything else. We camped here free by going to their sales pitch which I have to say is not as high pressure as many I have attended. That being said when I called for reservations I told them my wife was disabled and need as close as possible to the facilities. Also told them We had a new 38 foot 5th wheel with three slides and I would prefer a pull through site. The gentleman on the phone said to let them know that when we got there. Upon arrival we were told we had a back in site and that they were full and could not accommodate a change. The site I was in was horribly un-level between two trees with the neighboring site within 1 foot of my awning. There were level and better sites empty the whole time we were there so they could have reassigned me. Showers are old and small and not dirty but could use a good steam cleaning. This park has possibilities but they have a way to go before we would come back. Pool and hot tub area needs more supervision as it was completely unusable for adults as we got tired of chasing kids out of the hot tub they used as a swimming pool. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2009
$3
This is a membership campground...Staff was friendly and efficient. Park has strong and fast WiFi. New security gates which they close at 10 p.m., with a pass code. We stayed here using ROD. Rate shown is $3/night for 50 amp. Park is convenient to area attractions. All RV sites save 10 have full hookups...many with 50 amp. Some sites on all grass and some on gravel but all sites have grass area...Some are shaded. Dusty gravel interior roads..Nice pool. No cable but Hi Def over the air selection is good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$10
Nice membership campground. We stayed under Coast To Coast for $10 a night. Front desk crew very nice. Desi, the manager, was extremely helpful in resolving a Coast To Coast problem for us, way above the call of duty. We will stay here again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2008
$35
We did not stay after checking out the site. Park is probably good for some that belong to coast to coast or want a membership park. I called and asked if it was a membership park and was somewhat misled that it was not and to come on in. We did just that. But finding out to get a reduced price we would have to take a tour. We asked to check out the sites we could be in and was found it was a grassy field type with some mud already in the site and the restrooms would be portable potty and no showers in the area. We did not stay. And since it did rain shortly after we left we would have been in a mud hole. Will have to say the overall looked nice if it is what you want and the people in the office were very nice. Location to the sites would have been good. But not our type of rv park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2008
$35
Campground security was lax, scary abuses at the pool area and no one would come to help. A man using the garbage can as a diving platform. Crazy... We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$40
This is a park that is convenient to all of the Black Hills attractions and activities. It is also a VERY nice resort. The sites are mostly large and attractive. They have some group activities, but not many since there are so many activities offsite. We really enjoyed our stay at Rushmore Shadows. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
Obviously a lot of work has been done here since the last review was posted; the sites have been widened, new electric service at each site, and a great attitude from the staff. As busy as they were on our check-in, we were able to change our site to fit our motorhome easier with no trouble at all. The sites are neat, clean, and well maintained. This Resort is a 5 star in my book. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$20
It doesn't get any better than this. All sites have trees, concrete pads,patios, grass and trees. None of the trees are tall enough to block your sat dish. Beautiful pool with lifeguard and covered deck area. Large. Reasonable priced food service with breakfast for $3.99. Daily trash pickup, separate pet area and a large dog run. All parks should be like this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$1
After reading some of the reviews, was not expecting too much but what a nice surprise when we got there. We spent a week at this park and loved every minute. Our site was spacious for us and internet was excellent. Found park very neat, laundry facility very clean and office staff were very helpful. We found park centrally located to everything and we would definitely go back again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2007
$1
We stayed here on ROD membership.Nice park but grassy sites.Only drawback is the showers and restrooms are quite a distance from most sites.Very central to most attractions.We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2007
$1
We spent 1 week here with our ROD membership. The best thing about this resort is its proximity to Rapid City and the Black Hills. Sites are grassy and undefined. Feels disorganized. The people in the office were very helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2007
$34
Will not stay again. We think Custer State Park might be a better choice. Great if you are visiting MacDonalds Farm, Reptile Garden, or Bear Country. Sites are grass. Membership park. Located about halfway between Rapid City (grocery stores) and Sight Seeing places, about 15 to 20 miles. Staff was okay, not real friendly. Showers are free but timed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
September 2006
$30
Their web site proclaims this place as a "5 star" resort. What a joke. I have been camping for forty years and have never backed into a worse campsite. The staff was indifferent. Their web site is misleading. We will never go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2006
$35
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2006
$8
I got a free year of coast to coast when I joined outdoor adventures campgrounds in Michigan last summer. We decided to utilize this membership and take a 2 week summer trip out west. We stayed at this resort for 8 dollars a night, and I don't think it was worth that. It starts with the size of my campsite. I have NEVER seen such a small campsite. I was next to a fifth wheel with a slideout that was 3 feet away from my awning. Our plan was to sight see during the day, then relax back at the campground towards evening,let the kids swim and make a nice dinner. I felt so claustrophobic that I couldn't stand even being at the campground. I swear our site wasn't 20 feet wide and 30 feet long. No shade, no fire pit. People in the campground office said that fire pits were limited due to high fire risk. Well, I would believe that if there was anything to burn. We were on short grass, and no trees anywhere around us. Also, if there is a ring and a sand pit, a fire would be perfectly safe. Unless the campers are too close together like you are at this place. I also found the staff to be not rude, but unaccommodating. For instance, to get ice, you have to go to the counter, pay for it, get a key, go about 50 feet outside around the corner, get the ice, then take the key back. Call me ignorant, call me dumb, but I haven't been at another campground yet that locks the ice when the office is open. Seems I got to do a lot of walking around to buy their slushy ice. I don't consider that good customer service. I bought the rest of my ice at the gas station. It was also 75 cents cheaper. The pool was ok, but smaller than most other campgrounds I've stayed at, and the bathrooms were clean. The showers have a "community" changing area, which my wife didn't like, so she used the one in the camper. As did Me and the kids. I guess I was really disappointed because coast to coast rated this a 5 star resort. I hardly think so. Most KOAs would rate better than this place. It isn't a good value, and I wasn't even impressed with the location. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2004
$38
We made reservations in Mar. 04 due to our being there during part of the bike rally. We paid $30/nite before the rally, then 38 after it started. We reserved two sites, one for our 33' 5th wheel, and one for our son's 26' toy hauler. We had to trade sites with him because ours was so unlevel. And, the sites are very close together. However, it is very shady, and very well located to all the tourist attractions. Coast-to-Coast rates it a 5* resort, but I don't feel it's that good. Not bad, though. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2003
$29
This is a membership park that rents to the public c2c members can not get in but the public can HA HA HA. Picked me up a coupon at welcome center for 3 nights and stayed had to listen to their sales pitch said c2c members could get in this park on holidays just when ever you wanted to come you could get in. Said he and his wife fulltimers were c2c and had never been turned down at a c2c park GOOD GRIEF there are 2 c2c parks here and I could not get into either one of them.The other c2c park Hart Ranch also rents to the public but won't take c2c members. Internet modem in office but you have to pay to use it. Site they gave us real unlevel and sites are real close together not at all a 5 star resort as they advertize We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com