218884 User submitted reviews online!!
Happy Land Campground was rated 8 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (807) 473-9003
CGID5920

Happy Land Campground

Camp Information
Sites
100
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$38



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   8   8   7   7   7   6   9   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2014
$38
Rate shown is with Good Sam discount. Our site was a level grass/dirt pull-through that included a table. Good privacy from other sites, but not suitable for satellite reception due to trees. There are more open sites available. All hookups worked fine. No cable TV, but found 1 channel off the antenna. Wi-Fi was strong and internet access was fast. Laundry had 2 washers and 2 dryers. Each was $2.50 a load. Wife said they were clean and above average. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2013
$40
Very quiet, private sites. Wi-fi is good. If you are a big rig then turning into the site can be very tight. I suggest driving towed vehicle to site and checking it out prior to trying to pull in. We are 45' and did alot of wiggling around before we could get into the site. They could have chosen a better one for our size. Once in here it is great!! Wild raspberries and Saskatoons growing right outside our door. We did not check out pool, etc. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$30
Nice people, clean washrooms, clean showers. One of the nicer shower rooms I've used while camping. Easy to find, fairly quiet for a tent, and fairly private sites with a great campground map. We were just here for an overnighter and it was great for that. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$46
No problems to report about this RV Park, except it was too pricey for what we received. The site was fine, the power was consistent and the water pressure good. I agree mostly with the comments below. Would consider an alternative RV park or campground next time due to price/value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$36
As has been mentioned in previous reviews the RV area in this campground is separated from highway by several roads of manufactured homes. Most of these residences appear to be inhabited by seniors, so there is little noise generated from this neighborhood. Unfortunately, road noise is still a problem, although truck traffic becomes relatively light in the evening and on weekends. Most of the sites are separated from each other by large bushes, which offer privacy. Additionally, most of the campground is shaded by large trees. I used the park as a base for exploring the Thunder Bay area. If you stop here, be aware that it is a 1/2 hour ride in to the city of Thunder Bay. The rate given is in U.S. dollars and includes taxes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$40
Very quiet park. Some "residential" manufactured housing up front, but doesn't really detract. Some grass, weeds and branches could use attention, but we did see the owner working on smoothing the roads. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$39
Paid $39 with Good Sam rate. Pricey. Sites are nice to pull into, but not very long. Okay, friendly park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2011
$35
This was a nice park about 15kms outside of Thunder Bay. It had a pool and hot tub which opens at 5pm. We don't use the facilities wherever we travel as we are self contained and prefer to use our own in our Motor Coach. If you are using a Telus HSPA Wireless Device you will not have any service in this area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$38
Happyland is located about 10 miles west of Thunder Bay on the trans Canada Highway. Sites are level, and most are heavily wooded, providing good privacy. Some may be a bit narrow for both slides and awnings. There is a rail line fairly close to the park, but I was awakened only once by a train during our 3 night stay. There are a fair number of seasonal guests here, but most seem to be in a separate "residential" area. This is a very nice park and I would definitely stay here again. Just a couple of minutes west of the park is Kakabeka Falls which is the second biggest in Ontario (Niagara is #1). We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$38
Very nice park but a bit pricey, very friendly operators. Easy pull throughs. Well kept, great trails for dog walking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$35
This was a very green and pleasant facility, however it's quite a ways (16 miles) from the city of Thunder Bay. Nevertheless, it IS just down the road (2 km) from the Kakabeka Falls Provincial Park, a stunning attraction that is second only to Niagara in Canada, I believe. The campground also has a very nice dog walk area that doubles as a great hiking trail for 2.5 km. The owners appear to be making significant improvements in the property and everyone I spoke with thought the place was improving. Level sites with good hookups. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$39
This is a nice but pricey park near the falls, with wide level sites that might not be long enough for huge rigs. Lots of trees, so satellite TV reception may be difficult. Free Wi-Fi with a strong signal. There are nice hiking trails at the back of the property going through the woods. Overall it's a decent park, but a bit expensive for my tastes. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$35
Happy Land Campground is an ok park. We occupied a large pull-thru (site 36) with full-hook-ups (30 amp). Because it's quite wooded, we were not able to lock onto a satellite connection for the internet, but were able to lock onto the satellite for TV reception. However, they do have reliable free Wi-Fi that reaches at least as far as site 36. It looks like mostly full-time and/or seasonal residents. However, the residential area is segregated from the "over-nighters". The park is just off highway 11/17 and there is some road noise, but not terribly intrusive. We chose this place for its proximity to Thunder Bay and we would camp here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2008
$40
My visit did not start well. When you enter the office is to the left and has a red lettered sign saying pull up. After check in you have to go around a tree back to where you came. To do this, if you have a big rig, you will have to disconnect. Then as you enter park you will see the small black lettered sign saying "big rig parking", so when you go in stay right. Just a hint to the owners all important signs should be the same color and size. Site was do able in my 38 footer but not the largest I've ever had. OK one nighter but next time might try the KOA on other side of town. You are about 14 miles west of Thunder Bay at Happy land. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$39
Easy access to park and to our site. Tight area were you check in at the office. Quiet park in a grove of trees. Nice to find a 50 amp park in Ontario. We would sty here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
This park is a little ways outside of Thunder Bay, but it is one mile from beautiful falls that are well worth visiting. We have a 37 foot Class A and it was a little tight driving through the park, but nothing to worry about. Very well shaded lots. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2007
$32
Nice park, only drawback from our point of view was the limited access to satellite connection - most of the sites are quite shaded. We would stay again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2006
$29
Large pull-through sites with plenty of trees. 50 amp is $4 extra. WiFi in the immediate area of the office only. Very, very attractive park, with room for any size rig. Pleasant manager. Small laundry (2 washers and 2 dryers that cost $2.25 per load). Great trails through the woods, where an unleashed dog can go undetected. Would definitely stop there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com