223488 User submitted reviews online!!
Starve-Hollow SRA was rated 8 out of 10 based on 11 user reviews. Phone: (812) 358-3464
CGID5924

Starve-Hollow SRA

Camp Information
Sites
163
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$37



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
10   8   10   9   8   8   7   4   10   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2014
$37
LOVE, LOVE this campground! Very clean and well maintained campground. Bathhouses were very clean and shower stalls were very large. Campground host was very courteous and helpful with firewood. We stayed in site 218, which was one of the 90 degree angle sites and can see where it could be difficult especially with large campers and tow vehicles. Large sites, most have some shade afternoon or morning. Great lake with beach access. No Wi-Fi or Internet service at all, however with my iPhone with Verizon service was able to make phone calls and texts. Friend with iPhone with AT&T service had Internet and phone and text. But friend with Android with Verizon wasn't able to get anything including calls and/or texts. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2014
$36
This is a good park for relaxing, spending time at the beach, biking, swimming (lake), and fishing. Facilities are clean. Store is small and close to lake. A couple of sites are sharp 90 degree turns which made it hard for this new RVer (2nd time) to park. Thankfully a kind neighbor assisted. Staff are courteous and generous with firewood. We have already made reservations to return. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2014
$31
This is one of our favorite state campgrounds. They have both full hookup sites and electric-only sites. We stayed in the full hookup area. Sites have both paved parking and living areas. The lake-side sites are in the electric-only area and are nice, albeit busy. The restrooms/showers are clean and relatively in good repair. Most sites are nicely shaded. Be sure to visit the three-span covered bridge that is near Medora within five miles of the campground. This is the third time we have stayed here and we will return again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2013
$35
Beautiful park! We camped here in November with an end cap site to test out our 3 dogs on their first camping trip to try to keep them away from the main traffic areas. The park was awesome with large sites, 2 picnic tables, fire pit, level. and paved pads to park the camper on. Lots of trees and all campsites that are not lake front are within a 3 minute walk to the water. Only complaint is the lack of WiFi. Host was very accommodating, check-in was a breeze, and so far one of our favorite camping parks. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$26
We had a lakefront site in the electric-only area of the camp; there are no full hook up sites on the lake. This site was kind of tight for our 30' TT, and it slopes quite a bit to the lake shore. We had to use one of two picnic tables provided for one of the rear stab jacks, because the slope was too high for the jack to reach the ground with blocks. There are a few sites along the lake that have less severe slope, but most have some amount of slope. The camp was FULL of kids and families, mostly locals, and many tent campers. Walking around the camp at dusk with our dogs was a little risky, as you really watch out for kids flying on bikes. It's a very kid-friendly camp! The full hull hook up area is less noisy, fewer kids, paved sites... We might forgo the lakefront option next time for the serenity of the 'old' folks in the full hook up area! Bathrooms/showers here are some of the nicest we've seen, and kept clean. The beach shower house is very dated and is 50/60 years old and looks like it. However, the beach is large and clean and it wasn't too full, given the number of kids in the campground area. Nice walking paths, nice beach, nice showers, lakefront sites (which are rare at state parks in IN). Would have given this park a '9' or '10' had there been some warning of the tightness of our site when we booked it. You also have to get to the park via a county road, so really big rigs would be a little tight, but we saw some whopper 5th wheels at this park, so it's doable. We would recommend this park, and will go back. In fall, the colors around the lake would be pretty spectacular! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2011
$18
Really nice park but some of the lakefront sites difficult to get into. Nearest laundry is in Seymore about 18 miles but lots of shopping there too. Brown county and Louisville a short drive. Be sure to get fresh water at any of the fountains located around the park before you park in the non full hookup sites (we didn't know) also full hookup site off the lake. The road back to the State Park is narrow. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$24
Stayed here for a weekend outing with family. Campsites are decently laid out and easy to back into. Sites were about average in distance from each other. We stayed in the lakefront site which had a great view but no water hook-ups. Bath houses were fair in condition and cleanliness. The lake had a nice appearance but horrible to fish in. We took a paddle boat out only to find the lake has severe plant growth in it making it hard to paddle and even less enjoyable to fish in. The park is located in small town Indiana and there isn't much else to do locally. Overall we liked our stay and will probably return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
August 2009
$25
Nice campground: we stayed in the full hookup section for 4 nights and enjoyed our stay here. We had heard the lake and beach was nice, but it was horrible. We would not allow our young children near the lake: it was full of moss and bird feathers near the beach and smelled horrible. If they would take care of and clean the lake, this would be a 9 campground, but the lake is a mess. We don't plan on returning here. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2008
$25
This is one of our favorite parks however they have recently made a lot of changes. I will miss the peaceful non-electric area by the lake. Buy most folks will enjoy the changes I believe. They have added electric hookups along many of the lake front campsites. They have taken what was the electric area and upgraded them to full hookup sites. The electric sites are $25 and the full hookup sites are $34. These are the normal weekend prices, Holiday weekends are higher and there are some discounts available for Sunday thru Wednesday camping. Great park! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2007
$25
This is one of our favorite parks. All of the lake front campsites are non-electric. There are modern restroom and showers in the non-electric area. They have been digging out the edge of the lake so some of these campsites show evidence of this work. They tell me that it will be done and back to normal by the 2007 camping season. This place is scenic and pretty quiet. If you are looking for lots of activity and attractions, this is not the place for you. The fishing is usually pretty good on this lake. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2006
$25
Starve Hollow is a State Park. It has a beautiful lake. There are several primitive sites right on the lake. You can basically fish from your front door. We were told by the rangers that by next year, there will also be electric sites by the lake. The nature center center, lake, beach, boat house are within walking distance of the campground. The campground itself is wonderful. Lots of shade trees. All sites are paved, inc. picnic table area. The bathhouses are kept very clean. Each shower has individual changing area. This has definitely become a favorite park that I will be returning to frequently. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com