215122 User submitted reviews online!!
Camping Transit was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (418) 838-0948
CGID5936

Camping Transit

Camp Information
Sites
200
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   9   9   7   7   4   8   7   8   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2014
$44
This is a great place to stay to visit Quebec. The sites are level with 50 amps, but have side by side hookups that can make for close quarters. The Wi-Fi was outstanding. This is just a good place to base camp but not great for fun relaxing. The staff speaks enough English to understand and answer questions. There is a free shuttle to the ferry to Quebec. We would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$33
Located a short distance from Quebec City, this park was rural enough to provide a quiet, pleasant atmosphere, yet close enough to the ferry to Quebec to make it an easy day trip into the city. The park staff were friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2013
$50
We spent 4 nights here exploring Quebec City and the area. The campground is an easy drive to the Levis ferry terminal for the convenient trip across to the Old City. We had a pull-through site towards the back of the park. Some road noise but nothing objectionable. Well spaced sites, lacks shade but level and well serviced. Very clean facilty. Laundry work well and was clean. Very friendly helpful management and the park, a mixture of English and French speakers was very friendly. The pool seemed popular but we did not use it. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$33
Large FHU pull-through sites. Close to highway and road noise could be an issue for light sleepers. We used them as a base to go to Old Quebec. Wi-Fi was fair to weak - not many people there when we stayed (mid June). Rate reflects PPA and extra charge for 50 amp. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$59
Wi-Fi was available but had to go up to the cafe to use it. Was out in the back area of the campground. Pool was closed for 3 days when we arrived due to rain. Good interior roads except there was lots of standing water after it rained. Everything is only in French. Okay, but we could not partake because of this. Did not tell us about the Wi-Fi issued until we had already paid, tried it, and found out it was out in our area. Daily trip to cafe which was a pain. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$48
A large RV park with plentiful sound from nearby high speed highway. supplemented by terrible WiFi for which customers have the privileged of paying. I complained but was offered no refund. Slow throughput was blamed on various things, including my "foreign" (as in USA) laptop. The desk clerk suggested going outside. The problem was obviously lack of adequately sized connection: throughput improved in off hours but was even slow early in the a.m. Laundry room has 3 washers and not hot water for washing; inadequately sized should the campground be full. On the plus side, it is convenient to the old section of Quebec City via a ferry that is inexpensive: $3 for senior foot passengers . A funicular at the is easily accessible from the ferry terminal to take one to the top of the hill and the main part of the old city on the St. Laurence. A Red Bus with a good, bilingual guide stops one block from the ferry terminal but one may need to buy a reservation on-line or at the visitors center at the top of the hill. Would I stay here again? Yes because it's convenient to the old Q.C. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2012
$41
Due to construction, detours, rain, and heavy traffic, we didn't arrive until after dark. The campground office was closed, but I knocked on the restaurant door and was pleasantly greeted by the owner who assigned us a drive-through site. We were delighted with the well-maintained and spacious campground. Utilities and WI-FI worked great. The laundry was clean, and the machines worked well. We stayed two nights, and would definitely stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$46
Clean, quiet, well maintained campground. Sites are small with no trees. We chose to stay here in order to take the Levis/Quebec ferry on our visits to Old Quebec City. It was a nice home base for our visit. The office personnel do not speak fluent English and therefore could not be much help with our questions. We would probably not stay here again choosing instead to try another camping experience. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
This is a very well manicured park in a rural setting approximately 20 minutes from the ferry to old Quebec City. We camped in a pull through site on Avenue 6 and were pleased with the performance of the utilities. The negatives that would keep this park from earning a higher rating from us were constant road noise due to proximity to the Transcanadian highway and the strong smell of manure from a nearby feedlot or dairy farm. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$50
Nice, clean and tidy park. Sites were very large and level, although they had little to no gravel on the lots the ground was very solid. Park was easy to get around in with a 45ft flat towing. Sites are pretty much like parking in a field with few shade trees in the center. Wi-Fi was extra but the signal and speed was great. We stayed for five days while exploring the area and would stay there again. This would be a great park to use while passing through as it is convenient to auto route 20. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2012
$49
Well, were we ever frustrated and upset. Transit Campground, which claims to be a Good Sam park, lied about their discount. To boot we are parked between the highway and dumping station for $49.00. They state they are the closest GS park to the city; hogwash! It is a 12-15 minutes drive to the ferry and you have to be there ahead then 10 minutes over, keeping in mind the last boat back is 7:30pm. There are at least 2 Walmarts closer where you can stay for free. I am standing out in the rain, propping the iPad on a dumpster by mosquitoes to write this. There is nowhere to get out of bad weather and wi-fi does not reach our camper. This place is the PITS! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$43
A quite nice RV campground in a rural setting adjacent to Autoroute 20 southeast of Levis. Not a lot of shade. All hookups worked perfect, voltage was excellent. Literally dozens of pull through level sites on grass and some gravel. Pool looked great. Had a dining hall and nice group hall. A fair number of summer residents near the front, but all seasonal sites were well maintained. The further back you are, the closer you are to AR 20, but we ran our AC so road noise did not bother us. Restrooms and showers absolutely spotless, with elevator pop French music piped in. Be sure to ask for Good Sam discount at check in. Check in was efficient, professional. Host spoke broken but effective English. Although it has nothing to do with the campground itself, an earlier comment by a reviewer below steered us to the Levis/Quebec ferry. We attempted this in the evening. The neighborhood near the ferry terminal is not the best, and we skipped it for fear of returning after dark. There were confusing parking fees, time stamps, and we never actually identified where to pay for the ride. If the locals want tourist money, it was a lousy way to do business. Nevertheless, Camping Transit is a good place to stop as far as RVing is concerned. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
This park is layed out well for an overnight stay. The services are in good locations and the Wi-Fi works well. The spaces are mainly pull-through and provide adequate space for slides etc. The main ring road is paved and all other roads are gravel with lots of potholes. Levis is a great place to stay when visiting Old Quebec. The ferry across the river takes 10 minutes and you get off right in lower Old Quebec. Parking is usually available at $6 to $10 per day depending on how early you get there in the morning. All things considered I feel the park is a little overpriced for what you get – but most things around Quebec City seem expensive. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2011
$52
The road into the park is pretty rough and about 2 miles from either exit of Rt 20. I paid, with tax, $52 for the site and they wanted to charge me extra for a dog and Wi-Fi. If you ask you can get both for no extra, but it is real pricey for what is here. The interior roads are paved where the permanent sites are but a little muddy for the transients. I would stay here again to visit Quebec City but not for any other reason. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2011
$50
We arrived here on July 1st (Canada Day) for three nights. One of the owners of the park had a very difficult time understanding English or maybe it's us as we don't speak French. They refused to accept our Good Sam Membership as he said it was a weekend. The park is quite nice with wide sites. They pick up garbage every morning. As it was Canada Day weekend and the park was full there were many RV's, Tents, etc. parked in many different directions. My personal feeling is that the $50 per night price tag is somewhat high considering they refused to accept Good Sam We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$42
Second time we've stayed here. Great place to stay if visiting Quebec (QC)... just drive to the Levis Harbor and take the ferry into the old part of QC. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$46
The camp was clean and tidy. The office was short staffed when we arrived and the receptionist was a little on the rude side when we didn't understand the language. But later in the day her attitude was much friendlier, so it may have just been overwork that led to the sharp tongue. We were very surprised and disappointed to be told that they don't honor the Good Sam discount during the summer season. Who goes camping in Quebec in the winter months?? So we'd advise looking for a camp who will honor their travel club commitment. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$40
Rate shown Good Sam discount. Site was a gravel pull through and not level. Had to position the motorhome so both electrical and sewer connections were within reach. Sewer connection in an awkward place. Didn't check WiFi as it was extra cost. The site was already overpriced. Laundry has four washers and four dryers. The dryers didn't have enough heat to dry the clothes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2009
$45
The campground was well maintained and clean. The Wi-Fi worked well. All sites were pull-throughs, very level and had gravel beds and grass. The campground was located near the road so there was road noise. We thought the price was high and they charged for showers .25 for 3 minutes. They also charged us an extra $2 because we had a medium-sized dog. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I rated this park as only average because of the large number of seasonal residents who are not terribly friendly, the high fee that we paid for a water and electric site, the not very welcoming staff, and the fact that the dump station had no flushing hose. I shall not return there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$46
This park was OK. The previous posts are on the money. It's right next to the highway. So, the noise is pretty bad. The location relative to Quebec is super. We took the ferry across and walked. Levis is cute. And the river front bike trail is super. On the down side, I thought we had reserved a 50 amp site. At check in, the gal spoke just enough English to explain that 50 amps was $5 extra. I think they charged us a buck or two a day for our dog too. I felt like i got shafted. Next time we'll camp somewhere else. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2009
$40
I agree with the previous comments. The only change is that they now provide free WiFi instead of a Good Sam discount. We were on the west edge, center row and the WiFi had low strength - only one of our computers could pick it up. Its a clean, well run park with good facilities but the highway noise is annoying during the day so I would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2008
$24
This is a very nicely run, friendly, large campground with row after row of spacious sites with gravel pads. There are a few trees throughout, so satellite users should make sure not to be placed next to one. Wi-Fi is free, but reception is spotty. Facilities are nicely maintained. It is in a rural area next to the freeway, and noise from Rte 20 is pervasive throughout. Although it didn't bother me, it did bother my friend in a less insulated rig. It's a 15 minute drive to Levis to catch the fabulous riverside bike trail or the ferry to old town Quebec. The 10-minute $2.70 ferry ($5-$6 parking) is a much better way to go into town than driving. The view is awesome. A funicular ($1.75) then takes you up to the Chateau Frontenac area to avoid walking up the hill. The campground is on the east side of Levis, about 20 minutes on Rte 20 from the bridge, so it's about a 45 minute drive into Old Quebec plus any rush hour delays, then parking is $2/hour at meters with 2 hour limits. In the lower section of town there are 5 hour meters. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2008
$36
This campground is immaculate and extremely friendly - the staff are all bilingual. Though the campground has about 40% seasonals, the management is very welcoming to transient users. They are also very busy in the summer, with a lot of one-nighters. Noise from the nearby Autoroute 20 is present, though not obtrusive. Most sites are very satellite friendly, with a good view of the southern sky. Their wifi is very costly. On the other hand, they offer discount tickets on the Levis-Quebec ferry, an excellent way to see the sights in Quebec City. The campground laundry is excellent and inexpensive. We would definitely use this campground again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$42
Gravel interior roads were easy to negotiate with our 40' Horizon towing a CRV. Most sites are grass with a gravel base pull-thrus. We were in site #209. 50 amp service was available at an additional charge of $5.00 per day. WiFi is available at $5.95 per day but did not work for the five days we were here. No cable is available but most sites have a clear sky view for satellite TV. Campground is nicely kept and the bilingual staff is very helpful. This is an expensive place to visit; beside the high campground fees, the price of everything else is sky high. A donut at Dunken Donuts costs $2.09. You need to remember the 16% taxes to most things you purchase. The fastest way to go to Quebec City is to take the ferry which is about 10 minutes away. Parking will cost you $3 to $10 on the Levis side, plus $2.70 per person for the ferry each way. You can very easily walk through Old Quebec form the ferry terminal and it is worth it. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2008
$43
RV park is located next to Autoroute 20. Noise comes from busy highway. There are some paved and gravel interior roads. Transient sites are grass & gravel. Office staff was friendly and helpful. Wi-Fi did not work during our stay. It is very busy on weekends during summer. Reservations are suggested. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2007
$32
Close to ferry and Quebec. Campground sits on interstate with no shade. Very clean with helpful staff. Plan to visit all of the nearby sites. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2007
$38
This is a beautiful park, with all the amenities one could want. (Admittedly, we did not try to use the WiFi.) There is even a small restaurant next to the office. The folks in the office speak English, and were most helpful to us. The sites are large, long, grassy pullthrus. Yes, there is noise from the adjacent highway, but it is less at night, and the closer one's site is to the main facility the better, as far as noise is concerned. I don't think the highway noise should make this nice park to be rated as a "3", as below. The campground is 10 minutes by car from the ferry to Old Quebec. The view from the ferry is awesome. We took this several different days, as there is much to see and do in the Old City. Good walking shoes are essential. Ferry "passes" are available in the office, and will give you a discount on the ferry ride(s). There is a $99.00/week special on camping for Passport America members, but this is only after Labor Day, as well as in the early part of the season. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2007
$35
Wi Fi did not work and when we asked about it they were really NOT interested. Thats the reason we stayed there. Water pressure very weak. Otherwise a clean well laid out park We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2007
$38
Nice large grassy pull through sites with 30/50 Amp and sewers. Gravel/asphalt roads with street lights. Very large in ground pool. People are very nice and try hard to speak English, to accommodate us Americans. Free, fast Wi-Fi (so far). Only complaint we have is that the campground is right next to Hwy. 20 and is very noisy. Otherwise would recommend this campground.. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2007
$36
The cleanest bath and shower I have ever seen. Pull through sites level and well drained. Limited shade. Had a half price pass for ferry to Quebec. Very friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$14
There is a special on now for $99/wk for 30 amp; $5/day extra for 50 amp; Good Sam and Passport America available but not with the $99/wk special; very nice people; English spoken; petting zoo, playground. Sites are mostly grass and a bit wet when it rains, nice laundry room with outdoor clothes line; ferry about 10 min. away takes you to old Quebec City in about 12 min. A bit out of the way but a very nice campground. Wifi is free right now as just getting set up - it works intermittently. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com