221618 User submitted reviews online!!
Bruneau Dunes State Park was rated 8 out of 10 based on 14 user reviews. Phone: (208) 366-2844
CGID5937

Bruneau Dunes State Park

Camp Information
Sites
112
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   7   9   7   8   8   7   10   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2014
$27
We liked this state park very much. It is located out in the middle of nowhere so shopping requires some planning. There really is no place to park at the Visitor's Center with your RV. We had a reservation so check in was not required. The campground loops are located a mile or so from the Visitor's Center. We stayed in the new section which is wide open with few trees and is much better for a big rig. Site was level and utilities adequate. Very nice dump station with easy access. Did not check out or use the bathhouse. Verizon cell/mifi worked fine. We arrived on a Saturday for 3 nights and by Sunday, we were the only campers in our loop. For those with military benefits, Mountain Home AFB is about a 25 mile drive and has a nice BX/Commissary. We would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2014
$27
Very well maintained, clean fully functioning facilities. A bit eerie for us pulling in late to be the only campers, but high summer on a weekday is off season as it is the desert and hot. Great amenities with 2 lakes with fish, an Observatory, programs available on weekends, and a decent little visitor's center. Then there is the amazing 3 plus dunes it is named for. The kids went "sand boarding" and had a great time on the dunes on rented boards. Good facility and a gem of a find for our "breather day" We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2014
$32
We stayed at the Broken Wheel campground, which is the older of the two. The advantage is there are some trees that provide limited shade. It was 100 degrees when we were there. A little pricey for what you get. The bathrooms and showers were adequate as were the connections. The picnic table was full of bird poop. There are sites with shelters for the picnic tables. If you are going to visit, visit when the observatory program is available. This is worth the trip. Also, go on the scorpion hunt with the park ranger, at night. They are luminescent with UV light. My kids loved it! Do not go in the dead of summer - too hot to enjoy the dunes. A bit too pricey. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$18
Spacious back-in sites in Broken Wheel campground; many have a bit of shade. Many sites also have wind/weather shelters over the picnic tables; others have a fairly large sand "patio" where the table and fire ring are located. A few sites will accept big rigs. (The other campground in the park has all pull-throughs but they are much less spacious and not many will take big rigs. No shade there either, but they have a good view of the dunes.) Bathhouses are typical state park fare - older, concrete, a bit shabby but kept as clean as possible. Shower offered plenty of hot water and a private changing area, which works for us. The astronomical observatory in the park, open weekend evenings, was most interesting, and kids especially will enjoy sliding on the dunes. There's a small lake in the park which allows boats and - I believe - fishing. Popular place on weekends; quiet on weekdays. Can be hot and/or windy. We will definitely come again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$28
Nice older park with a pond, the dunes to hike/play upon, and an observatory. (Check the website for programs; we were there during a full moon, so no night sky viewing.) We stayed in the older section, with the trees and shade, and once the day cooled off, enjoyed a peaceful stay. Not very dog friendly, given the burrs and other prickly things, but there was an area of the desert with a rather homemade sign that said "Off Leash Dog Area." Not on a bet would I let my dog loose there, given that we'd just walked the nature trail and read about the scorpions, badgers, and other native creatures that the off-leash dog could encounter! Again, seems like Idaho state parks are kind of over priced at $28.32 for a night, but an interesting place we might stay at again if we pass through this way. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$40
This park is really wonderful. Not at all crowded when we arrived. It was the perfect spot to watch the storm that was rolling in. Very spacious sites, well cared for and a wonderful path connecting the two campgrounds. The planetarium was not open when we were there...but we would have most definitely visited it. Sunrise lit up the dunes creating some beautiful photo ops!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2013
$23
Nice desert campground. Trees and grass at the Broken Wheel campground. Orient rig to get sun or shade as you prefer. About 100 deg on our first trip in 2013. Our rate includes a $5/day credit for having Idaho's State Park "Passport". We agree with prior reviews. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$23
This is a nice state park situated in a unique geological area. There are two areas to camp in. The older area has big trees for shade, but the sites are smaller. The new area has room for bigger rigs, but hasn't any shade. It's a short drive or a walk through the desert landscape to the dunes, which are pretty awesome and fun for kids to climb and slide down. Because the park is away form any big city lights the star gazing is fantastic! Bruneau Dunes is a peaceful, quiet and beautiful place to camp. We would definitely stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$23
A sweet spot off the beaten path! We stayed in the older camp ground which has plenty of shade trees and grass, nice views of the horizon. Well groomed and maintained. Sites have grass between them. Clean sandy trails to walk to the lake to fish or to the observatory which also has a a picnic area. The campground fills up on the weekends with locals who reserve in advance; midweek we were able to get in with no problem. Beware the cheat grass, which is dangerous to dogs; keep your pet on the sand or gravel areas. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2010
$22
Very isolated park about 20 miles from Mountain Home and the nearest Wal-Mart etc. Big dunes and a public observatory with slide shows and a speaker. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2010
$22
This is a nice quiet park to camp in. The sites are spaced apart, which is nice. There is not a whole lot to do, but it is a nice place to relax. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2010
$24
This is a nice State Park Campground. We stayed in the newer section as the older treed section was full. There is no shade in the new section so in the summer this could be incredibly hot. The restrooms and showers are also new, well maintained and very clean. Utilities worked fine and there is a nice well maintained dump station with multiple slots as you leave. It's a bit windy here which is why the Bruneau Dunes formed here. There is a nice small visitor center and gift shop on site. Great hiking opportunities on the dunes and around the adjacent lakes. Keep your eyes open for critters when hiking. I had a snake surprise me, though avoided an incident. Fun place to visit though. Just great natural wonders. Went down to the town of Bruneau and turned east out across the Air Force Bombing Range to the Bruneau CAnyon overlook. Incredible view and worth the trip though it's a dirt road that can be a bit rough. Take a truck. Access is open to the public. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2007
$20
This is a great campground for families. Kids love the sand dunes and we had the opportunity to see the show at the observatory (A Must See!) The new sites have no shade and had some stickers in the gravel sites. The older camp sites fill up much faster as they have shade. I intend to camp again, but either in the late spring early summer or late summer early fall as it gets very hot. We camped in a travel trailer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2006
$18
This state park is 18 mi. SW of Mountain Home and not really on the way to anywhere. However, if you come here you find 2 very nice CG loops, one added only 2 years ago. Sites are level, well maintained, but have little visual separation between sites. Sites are not close together however. Dump station is nearby. Park offers desert hiking on and around the dunes, limited boating, and seasonal access to an observatory. This park is on the Idaho State Park reservation system which is one of the most user friendly reservation sites around. Reservations are seldom needed however. There are no stores nearby so stock up before you come here. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com