206928 User submitted reviews online!!
Fun Valley Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 32 user reviews. Phone: (719) 873-5566
CGID594

Fun Valley Campground

Camp Information
Sites
400
Date of Stay
August 2013
Latest Rate
$44



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (River)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
3   5   2   8   3   8   8   7   1   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  no  no  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  no  yes  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2013
$44
Beautiful area but....way over priced. Long way from anywhere. Park was really run down and dirty. Don't stop here ! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2013
$58
Our rate includes a week of square and round dancing but does NOT include the "food package". The "just camping rate" looks to be about 25/day plus taxes. Assortment of sites: "parking lot", treed, level, not so level, etc. Located in spectacular valley, on a river (South Fork of Colorado, I believe). Park has stocked private fishing ponds at additional cost. A mixture of 15amp and 30amp power (some of the posts have 50amp plugs but they are not hooked up. It's a long drive from here to anywhere. Nearby towns are small and prices reflect the lack of serious competition and the short season. Our only reason for going to this park is because of the square/round dancing but lots of non-dancing campers return year after year. Beats me why, but maybe they know something I don't. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
It's a beautiful location but the facilities are totally run down and the showers are just gross. It would almost still be worth going if the people who run it and a lot if the staff weren't so grouchy and rude. They advertise Wi-Fi, but you can only get spotty service at the front office. The RV sites are not paved so it is either dry and dusty or wet and muddy. The restaurant food is poor quality and run by the rudest people. Won't go back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$71
Rate reflects nightly rate for a square dance week of 6 nights. Dancing and food is included. Restrooms & Showers were clean and the water was hot. There is no air conditioning or heat in restroom. Site was level on grass. Boards needed because on grass. Park site size is okay, but can be a little close. The access is off US 160 down a curving hill. Park roads are dirt and gravel, but not a lot of dust. Didn't try the Internet. Park is quiet and there is adequate lighting. Owners are nice and the park is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
August 2012
$45
Cranky staff- overpriced food & things are pretty run down. It seems that no upkeep has been done in the past couple years. There's lots to do which is nice but usually crowded. Wi-Fi doesn't work 90% of the time. Many of the workers are not friendly & seem almost annoyed when you ask for help or need service. Fun Valley needs a face-lift & some new energetic help. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$30
Pros: a lot to do, easy to find, very friendly staff, pretty setting,close to alot of attractions. Cons: They don't take reservations so you have to drive around to find a spot you might fit into,tight and closely spaced, more 20 amp sites than 30 amp sites and these are generally to ones that are open unless you get lucky. All in all it was a good experience and I would come back. The Wi-Fi worked most of the time and we even had ocassional cell phone service which isn't bad for the mountains. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$34
A great place to stay. Plenty of things to do for the family. Very family friendly. Some of the sites are very cramped. Many sites do not have 30 amp electrical hook ups. The Wi-Fi is spotty at best. We could not connect for the four nights we were here. Highly recommended. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$76
Price is so high because it included all meals and square dancing. Restrooms & Showers are clean. Site was level on grass. It is fairly hard with room for a forty footer and towed. Swing room can be limited and hookup is side by side which can lead to narrow living space. Park is right off 160 below the road. Main park roads are paved with the site roads dirt and gravel. It is a very quiet park. It backs onto the Rio Grande River. There are lights in places but the clear sky and moon provide the rest. Staff is friendly and the park is well maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2011
$30
Packed in like sardines and the staff (work campers) were very unfriendly. I would dry camp beside the road before staying here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$21
We were at this park for 2 months. All of the workers are very nice. They have activities going on all the time. The park is very peaceful and very secure. A great place for kids to enjoy themselves. We will definitely go back, and hopefully for the entire summer. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$50
Tried to stay here, but they would not even allow us to enter to check out the details of the park. From the road, which is the only way to preview it, it looks like RVs are packed in like sardines. I knew the original founders because I live in their hometown and they were much more accommodating folks. Current staff and owners act like they are the only place to stay and have a very arrogant attitude, as if everyone is just dying to stay there. Park appears to be well maintained and clean. Numerous activities are available, but could not view or evaluate any of these. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$26
We were here for 9 days in early-mid June. What an awesome place. Our entire family had a great time. It was getting crowded towards about the time we left. The food in the diner was great and fairly priced. We found everyone very helpful and friendly. Highly recommend the trail ride if you have time. Cell reception was very poor (AT&T), but that's not the fault of the campgrounds. We would return for sure. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2010
$25
A lot of the people camping at Fun Valley had been vacationing there every year since they were children. They knew other campers and had wonderful memories. They saw the place the way it was 30 years ago and didn't seem to realize that it had become old and rundown. I don't think the owners are putting much money back into it. The workers are people who spent many years vacationing there and are now retired and want to spend the entire summer there. If you notice the other reviews, many have been going there for years. There is a lot of potential to the place and I'm sure in it's day it was the best. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2010
$28
Back in 2003 we camped at Fun Valley and loved it. We always wanted to return, but we heard the park had run down. This year we decided to go back and we were glad we did. The resort was in great shape and wonderful. Our ten year old daughter never dreamed that Fun Valley had so many things to do. It's nice to go to a place that still has family values and doesn't stick you with high prices. This place will be a annual summer time stop for my family. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2010
$35
This campground is in a lovely setting and has nice friendly people. There are a lot of things to do in the park, however through the summer it can be very crowded, especially with kids. The rental units are not very well maintained and we do not recommend them. The camping facilities are nice, some are too close to the road so the road noise is unpleasant. The electricity available to campers needs to be updated, it is a problem in some areas. There are no good restaurants or grocery stores within 50 miles. Other than these issues, we found the park to be in a beautiful wooded area with many activities. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$18
Wonderful family oriented park with tons of things for kids to do. No reservations are taken and no money paid up front. You find a site and stay as long as you want, paying when you leave. Wonderful food, which you can charge to your site. Sites are very close together, our slide was almost touching the slide beside us and we couldn't put our awning out until the people on the other side left. It rained quite a bit and some of the sites were real mud holes, particularly in the wooded areas, which have 30 amps. Cable TV is available only in a part of the park, and it really isn't too good. Wi-Fi can be used at the lodge. It can be difficult to find a site with 30 amps, most of the open meadow area with cable is only 20 amps, which is OK if you don't need AC and are very careful about what you are running. There are many 3rd generation campers here, lots of grandparents bringing grand kids. Entertainment most nights, usually country and western. Gorgeous scenery. We will definitely come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$25
Fun Valley is a campground for all ages. You can do as much or as little as you like. I did notice a few areas the could use attention: the trailer area and the cabins could use some sprucing up after all these years. We have stayed in all accommodations through the years. Our last in a TT. We like a little rustic feel to a place, and the staff is very friendly and helpful in every need. Children are safe to be adventuresome. Fishing, horseback riding or soaking in the beautiful views can be a memory for life. Come and experience. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2010
$14
This trip was visit #5 for us and we are going back this summer. Most of the staff are retired and staying in the park. We love the location. The fishing is great and there is something for everyone to do here - horseback riding, paddle boats, ping pong, pool tables, "tubing" on the river, family friendly shows, miniature golf, bike riding, horse shoes, they even have a tram that runs all over the park to take you to and from everything. They have something for everyone to do here and the weather is always wonderful! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2009
$23
Fun Valley is a great family RV resort. The sites are all gravel or grass and they are a little close together. The park is in a perfect location on the South Fork of the Rio Grande river which flows though the property and has many beautiful huge trees. On top of that there are a dozen or so small ponds that the park stocks with fish. They have a miniature golf course, paddle boats, horseback rides, an arcade and outdoor and indoor game area. They have a cafeteria that is open for every meal every day. The downside is that it is almost too popular and things get very very crowded in July. They have a policy of not turning anyone away. If the sites are all taken they just put you in a pasture until one becomes available. They also do not take reservations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
July 2009
$27
Too crowded, pricey, rules and a two hour visitor permit limit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
Fun Valley has been my families annual summer vacation spot for over 20 years. I am grown now and the next generation is taking over the tradition. As a child, Fun Valley became my second home. I look forward to visiting every summer. My heart felt at home there. The people there are wonderful. I have never been to another place that is as warm and hospitable as the people at Fun Valley. There is a ton of stuff to do; horseback riding, putt putt golf, paddle boats, fishing ponds, innertube the Rio Grande, dance, play at the arcade, ride the train, or hike. I am sure that I am forgetting lots of other things. My grandparents used to square dance there with a live band. Oh, and they have a great place to watch live bands. I am looking forward to sharing this place with my daughter now. I am returning for the first time since she was born. She is now eight years old and even though I have told her about this place and shown her pictures she has no idea what she is in for. I can only hope that she feels the same way that I did about this place. I am sure she will. There is no place on earth that I would rather be. Anyone with a family should visit this place. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$21
The name says it all. Fun Valley is truly a fun place for young & old. Trout fishing, trolley rides, horseback riding, bike rental, paddle boat rental. Hiking, tubing, mini golf, shuttle to regular golf, live music & entertainment. They also have a well stocked store, gift shop, gas station, snack bar, restaurant, game and activity buildings & much more. The food is very good and reasonably priced. WI-FI is available only near the office. The location is very scenic and is on the south fork of the Rio Grande River. There are also 18 well stocked trout ponds on the property. We came planning to stay 3 days and ended up staying 12 days. The nightly rate listed reflects a discount on stays of 5 days or more. The many older work campers were the friendliest & most helpful we have encountered anywhere. There are a few negatives, some electric sites are only 20 amp. & many of the sites get very muddy after rain. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$22
Fun Valley is a wonderful family campground. First the positives: They have many many activities, several fish ponds on site that are well stocked with Rainbow Trout, a miniature golf course, horseback rides, a cafeteria that serves 3 good meals a day every day, a snack shack that makes hamburgers and ice cream, a small convenience store that sells grocery's, fishing tackle, RV supplies, ice and fuel, an arcade for the kids and beautiful landscaping with a stream right in front of the main building and many tall shade trees. The negatives: If you want to park close to the activities the sites are very close together, the electricity gets weaker the farther you are away from the buildings, and there is no Wi-Fi. It is also quite crowded mid summer but the crowds thin out after August 15th. All in all it is an excellent destination where you can spend weeks if you want and enjoy Colorado. It is in a beautiful beautiful location. I highly recommend Fun Valley. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2008
$25
We come for a square dance week so things are different than normal. There are multiple camping areas. We end up in the one near the square dance hall(Aspen Park) which is full hook but only 30 amp but mostly 20 amp. Restrooms and showers are in other areas so you have to walk a ways. Showers are large but the water pressure is weak. Restrooms & Showers are clean. Sites are grass and fairly level and when it rains you can get stuck. Some roads are paved but in between sites are dirt and gravel. There is no internet. Very quiet park with lights around. Owners are great and the park is well maintained although the grass may need cutting. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2008
$21
Simply put, Fun Valley is a Colorado camping icon. I have spent one week each summer at Fun Valley for the last 25 years and each time is a wonderful experience. There is something for everyone, young and old to enjoy. Features include trout fishing, mini golf, a rec center, gift shop, bike and intertube rentals, a nice restaurant, snack shack, and lots of Cottonwood-shaded sites for any type of RV. If you come to Fun Valley once, you will certainly be back again. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2008
$21
Great family oriented park. Our fifth straight year and love it more each time. Lots of great activities for kids of all ages, paddle boats, miniature golf, "real golf" outings to local golf courses, bicycles, horseshoes, stocked trout ponds + the river and many local lakes, horseback riding, regular entertainment in the Funatorium or the dance barn. Great cafeteria type restaurant with good prices. Grocery store, fuel, propane, laundry on site. Some of the friendliest people you will ever meet. This is a very large park with side by side pull through sites in the large open meadow, or there are many treed sites along the river at either end of the park. Most of these treed sites are back-ins, but some are pull through. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2007
$20
Wonderful place to spend some time with the family. They have all the amenities for the kids like mini golf, paddle boats, fishing ponds, ice cream shop, etc. The people running it are very friendly and helpful. The country style dinner was wonderful and very inexpensive. We would certainly be back. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2006
$20
Spent ten days here with my wife and daughter and we had a wonderful time! I highly recommend this place to all family oriented RV'ers. We will definitely make a return trip soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$79
As others stated, great family campground. Lots of activities for young and old alike. Secure enough that kids can be allowed to entertain themselves while the older "kids" relax. To keep things quiet and relaxed, they do have some rules about noise after hours, no riding 4 wheelers or motorcycles around the park, etc. RV sites range from open areas with side by side parking to sites back in the trees and along the river with more separation. Very good meals in the restaurant. Easy drive to other sites such as Creede, Lake City, Wolf Creek Pass, Pagosa Springs, Sand Dunes, Cumbres & Toltec Steam Railroad, etc. They do not advertise and have no official web site, although there is an unofficial one where you can get a phone number. Do a google search. It is all by word of mouth, and apparently there are a lot of mouths spreading the word. Many families have been going there for years and years. We have been there the 1st week of June the last 3 years and will be there again this year. We have been staying in cabins, but plan on a 5th wheel next year. We have been trying to get a cabin later in the year, but it is almost impossible to get a cabin. They are rented a year in advance, the day you leave from the previous year. We camped here in a Campground Cabin.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2006
$20
What a fun park. It is very rustic and sites are close together, but the overall facility is geared for everyone having fun. This park offers plenty to do for everyone including river tubing, horseback riding, putt putt golf, fishing etc. We camp at this park as often as we can. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2003
$25
We had such a wonderful time at this park. The work campers who run the park are retired folks from all over, but mainly from the TX, OK, and surrounding states. If you are looking for nice, friendly hospitality, this is the place! Cabins, trailers, and rooms for rent. Tent, and RV sites. The stocked ponds are stocked twice a week! Our kids had a ball fishing. You will not find this listed in any trailer magazine. They are a well kept secret. Most people who stay here are repeaters. Also, they don't take credit cards. However, you can bill most all activities to your site number and pay in one final bill when you check out. We found this to be quite convenient. Please don't pass this place up. You'll miss a treasure! Putt-putt golf, paddle boats, bike rental, arcade, grocery, laundry, restaurant, snack shack, domino room, funatorium, square dance/round dance hall. They rent to families only. Probably more I missed. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
2002
$20
This is the ultimate family type campground. Park has a security gate at entrance and no one gets in without a pass. Excellent in park roads. 3 good meals a day at reaonable prices in the restaurant. 17 stocked trout ponds and 1 mile or so of the South Fork of the Rio Grande river in park. Horseback riding, mini golf, horseshoes, hiking and nightly entertainemnt available. Grocery store gas and propane available in park. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com