223219 User submitted reviews online!!
North Sterling State Park was rated 7 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (970) 522-3657
CGID595

North Sterling State Park

Camp Information
Sites
141
Date of Stay
September 2014
Latest Rate
$20



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   9   6   6   8   8   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
September 2014
$20
We found North Sterling State Park a bit confusing because they have three campgrounds. It was unnecessary to make reservations because there were only 2-3 campers. It's 10 miles north of Sterling so there's no traffic or train noise. There are no trees on the campground so it's very barren. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2014
$20
$20 per night was for a 50A electric site on level gravel. There is also a required park permit, which can be purchased on a daily or annual basis depending on how many parks you plan to visit in a year. There was a sheltered picnic table with a fire ring on the site. There is a dump station near the campground entrance and water spigots throughout the campground. All sites in the Inlet Grove campground overlook the reservoir where there were many pelicans in residence. If you like walking/hiking/biking there are trails and roadways inside and outside the park. The night sky is gorgeous as are the sunsets. The park was very quiet during our stay, but I can imagine that during the summer months the noise level goes up. The campground is a 12-mile drive into town where there are many conveniences including several very good restaurants. Cell phone service on AT&T is out-of-network at the campground and in town. Verizon data coverage is spotty in the campground and great in town. No Wi-Fi in the park. OTA TV was good. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$27
If you're coming for the lake; this is the place for you, as long as you only need electric. We had a beautiful lake view on the Inlet Cove. Sites are pretty short for a Colorado State Park. We were in one of the longest and it was pretty short for our 39' 5th wheel. Hard to get the trailer into a level position. GPS had some problems finding a direct route to the park and wanted to take roundabout routings. Fair antenna reception of Denver TV stations. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2012
$28
There are 3 large campgrounds at this state park. Two of them, Elks and Inlet Grove have electrical hookups. We stayed at Inlet Grove. The best thing about this park is its convenience as an overnight stop. In fact it probably is the only decent overnight in the area. It is easy to find. Convenient to the interstate and as neat and tidy as it can be. Sites are large and easy to get into. The down side is the lack of shade. There are covers over the picnic tables but these don't help much on hot days. This once was a very popular place with the boating crowd but the lake is down to half its original size. The Inlet Grove campground was originally on a point overloading the lake. Now the lake is half a mile away. The park was almost empty on a Saturday night. Unless you are arriving on a summer holiday weekend you will have plenty of choices without reservations. The $28 price includes the $8 daily use fee charged in all CO state parks. Because of the lack of shade and low water level in the lake I would not recommend it as vacation site BUT as an overnight I would stop here again if I was in the area. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
We liked this park but feel that it would be even nicer if it was not so dry and the reservoir not so low. The waterline was a long way from where it normally is and some of the boat ramps were unusable. We stayed in Elks Campground which has about 50 sites. Most are pull-throughs are parallel with the road but there are several back-ins with good water views. All sites have electric hookup. There are water hydrants scattered throughout where you can fill your tanks. There is a dump station but no sewer hookups. There are lots of ants but they did not get in. Our Verizon wireless worked well. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2010
$20
This was a very nice state park. There was a $6 day use fee in additional to the camping fee which is at all Colorado State Parks. There were many pull-through sites and back-ins that would fit our 35-foot fifth wheel and truck without unhooking in the Elks Campground. The other side of the loop had more trees than the sites where we were camped. We were in site 13. The sites had good distances between them but were not private because of the open feel to the campground. The lake is right here and an easy walk from the campground. It was a very convenient stopover. It was only about 2/3rd filled since it was a weekday. For us, it would not be a destination park but if you lived in the area, you would enjoy camping here. I highly recommend this park either as a stopover or as a weekend getaway. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2008
$20
Clean state park on lake; very open terrain with walking trails. Few trees for shade; great for whole family! But fish weren't biting! Nice "on your way" stop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
2001
$14
Good fishing in the lake. Water available close to most sites. Dump station at entrance. Quiet, roomy sites that are level. About 30 miles north of Sterling. Washers and Driers available. There are playgrounds, boat launching, boat rental, and a store at the campground. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com